Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

CONTEMPORARY UNIT ON THE BEACH/CENTRAL AIR

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom/2 Bathrooms with sweeping panoramic ocean views

Situated on Keawakapu Beach, consistently voted as one of the best beaches in all of the Hawaiian Islands. Unbeatable and unobstructed ocean views. Unit 412 has been completely rebuilt, all new contemporary furnishings. The kitchen has everything you need, 2 coffee machines, blender, barware, electric candles for the lanai.

Excellent swimming and snorkeling off our point, it is some of the best on island, paddle boards, kayaks and all beach/snorkel equipment can be rented reasonably on site.


Owner
Kathy Somerton
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About Kathy Somerton

This is us enjoying the sunset whale watching cruise on the Kai Kanani, which is known for their Molokini snorkeling, and whale watching tours. They depart three miles down the road from Makena Beach. Our other favorite things to do while on Maui include kayaking, bicycling and golf at the beautiful Wailea courses which are only a few miles from the condo.

Kathy Somerton purchased this condo in 2012

Why Kathy Somerton chose South Maui

We chose this property because we believe Keawakapu is the best family beach and it is continuously voted as one of the most beautiful beaches as well as the setting for multi million dollar homes down its half mile plus length. And most of all we like the warm sunny weather for which the Kihei/Wailea area is well known.

What makes this condo unique

The Mana Kai recently underwent a multi - million dollar renovation of the exterior, restaurant, bar, and lobby area, as well as a complete remodeling and expansion of the swimming pool. As of October 2013 we completely rebuilt and customized unit #412. Larry is an award winning California and Hawaii architect and we hired a local interior design firm for purchase of all new contemporary furnishings.

All floors were replaced with crema bottocino tile, the kitchen was expanded and top of the line appliances were added including a Sub-Zero refrigerator. All new bathrooms, toilets, showers and tub as well as an upgraded air conditioning system for the entire unit was installed. The front bedroom unit has a King size bed (luxury mattresses utilized by Four Seasons and Grand Wailea Hoolei Resorts) have been selected. The back bedroom has two Extra long twin beds which can be pulled together and utilized as a king as well; and a second full size bathroom.

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , All new cabinets, fixtures and tile
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , all new tile, fixtures, cabinets and appliances
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Bedroom One has the lanai overlooking the beach and ocean
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 2 Twins or together as a King Bed/partial ocean view
  • Two Bedrooms, sleeps 4, One King Bed, Two Twin Beds Bedroom One: King Bedroom Two: 2 XL Twins
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Surf Shop also rents beach chairs and umbrellas as well as surf and boogie boards and the equipment listed above. (We also have an owners closet which has a few beach chairs and soft coolers for the beach.) The activities Desk: Conveniently located off the lobby level can make all arrangements for luau's, whale watching, snorkel and scuba trips or boat trips to Lanai and Molokini.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

96% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
CONTEMPORARY UNIT ON THE BEACH/CENTRAL AIR
average rating of 4.862069 based on 29 reviews
Houston TX
5

Great Condo

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable stay for family of 4 including two teens. Nice location to drive to Wailea, Lahaina, Hana, etc. Beds were comfortable. View was great. We loved opening up the doors to the lanai for the fresh ocean breezes. Outdoor closet stocked with boogie boards, snorkel gear, soft coolers, sand toys, noodles, and beach chairs. It was very nice to have the onsite small grocery store, water sport rentals, restaurant, and yoga studio. Nice reef for snorkeling just in front of property. Every morning staff were cleaning pool area and grills. Property was pristine. Loved Maui and this condo. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

This is the best beach in the world! The unit was clean and updated. Had all of the amenities in order to cook your own meals. The one thing it needs is some kind of drying rack on the back patio to hang wet towels and swimsuits. Other than that, it was perfect!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jason and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Maui on our wonderful Beach. We agree with you regarding the drying rack and when we were on Maui in July we did try to find one without much luck. When we get back in November we will most likely order something fromAmazon. Again thank you for taking time to give us a nice review; we truly appreciate hearing from our renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful girls getaway!

  • 5 of 5

My mom, myself and daughter spent 9 wonderful nights staying in this wonderful unit at Mana Kai Maui. The condo had every amenity one could need. The ocean view was priceless. I had to contact Kathy a couple of times and she was quick to respond. Mana Kai is located in a very nice area with plenty of dining options. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it will definitely not be last time to visit! Thank you for sharing your little slice of paradise with us.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

My stay was awesome

  • 5 of 5

I walked in and there was champagne and a card welcoming me and my soon to wife into this beautiful condo by the beach. The condo looked exactly liked it did on the pictures. It was clean, comfortable, all the appliances were up to date and our view was amazing. The only minor issue was the construction but there were signs posted saying when and where the construction was taking place so it didn't bother us much at all. Besides we came to Maui to get married and enjoy ourselves not sit in the condo all week so the construction was completed about time we arrived back to the condo from our daily adventures. Kathy was very understanding when it came to how we wanted to make our payment arrangements, her response time was top notch, and she is very professional. I will be recommending this particular condo to my friends and family. Thank you Kathy.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful condo on the water!

  • 5 of 5

This property was the perfect start to our stay in Hawaii. With two teenagers, it was the perfect size and had everything we needed. It was clean and ready for us when we arrived. The owners did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. Communication with the owners was easy and immediate. The beach towels and chairs were very helpful. I would highly recommend this property for its location to activities and oceanfront views. Snorkeling was a favorite activity and the equipment was available right on site and very reasonably priced. Our pictures swimming with a sea turtle will always be treasured! Happy hour at the restaurant was great too. Having a designated parking spot was perfect too! We really enjoyed Mana Kai and would love to return.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
1

Beautiful condo and location but....

  • 1 of 5

I’ll start with the background. This was my 2nd time suing VRBO. The 1st visit was for a stay in Kona a few years back and it was flawless. I was looking for a quiet place to celebrate my 50th birthday when our plans to go on safari in Africa fell through for personal reasons. My husband, 5 yr. old son and I live in San Francisco and were looking for a quiet place to relax. Away from all the people and noise that come with living in a big city. The Mana Kai condo looked perfect. The pictures on the website are pretty accurate. The furniture’s is a little worn , but otherwise the place looks nice and well maintained. The grounds are well manicured and the condo faces a gorgeous beach that’s very kid friendly and clean. The sunsets are stunning. The pool is very nice and there are lots of shady palm trees for respite from the Maui sun. The condo itself is one of I’d say 50 or more condos in a building that was built maybe in the 70’s. As a result, there is a lot of remodeling going on in different units.

We arrived on a Saturday and on Sunday a sign went up in the elevators indicating that remodeling would commence on 6 units Monday through Wednesday of that week. The list included everything form “hammering demo all day” to “exterior AC enclosure’s concrete jackhammering” . Incidentally, the remodeling went on all day and into Thursday. The note advised it would cease at noon.

We were not advised of this by the owner before we arrived.

The condo we were in was on the 4th floor. Even though all of the units in question were located on other floors, the noise and vibration from the demolition was noticeable and bothersome. So much for peace and relaxation! If I would have known about this we would have stayed somewhere else.

When I reached out to the owner about the noise and how frustrating it was, she claimed she has no prior knowledge of the remodeling going on. Her exact words, “ I just received the notice about the construction yesterday. I have no control over when individual owners decide to remodel & and with 90 different owners, they almost never notify us until the last minute as to who is doing what.” She offered a free night for my trouble. I went back to her and told her it was not enough. My 50th birthday was essentially ruined. At the end she refunded me 25% of my stay,. In my opinion, if there was even the slightest possibility that remodeling was going to be an issue, she should have never rented the condo.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry this guest was disturbed by construction, but as with most of Hawaii, summer is both very active and construction season for property owners, and timing of noisy renovation work is very hard to predict. The Mana Kai is owned by 98 individuals. The site manager tries his best to keep other owners apprised on their neighbors' construction activities, however they set their own schedules and their contractors frequently deviate from schedule, so it is nearly impossible to predict when annoyances will occur. The site manager does, however, post advisories and also enforces restrictions as to hours during which construction is permitted, so that early mornings and evenings are quiet. Recognizing these potential disturbances, we, as do most other owners, set our summer rates considerably lower during construction season. In this case, we would have notified our guests as soon as we were notified of the construction schedule had they not contacted us first. We then agreed to a substantial rental refund. We believe we did the best we could and as much as could be expected to recognize and mitigate the inconvenience to our guests. Kathy & Larry Somerton
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Kahului, Maui
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Wailea Old Blue
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Pi'ilani Highway
Nearest Restaurant
5 Palms
Nearest Beach
Keawakapu

Fitness Center, Board Room and Business Center available on-site. Convenience store, activities center, beach equipment rental and restaurant on ground floor.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $250

For stays less than 5 nights there will be an additional charge of $150. for housekeeping.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.