check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Private lush 2 Acre Mountain Home Maui Permitted#STMP 2013-0001 many amenities

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Description

Makawao House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 3 & 1/2 Bath, lanai views, private, and close amenities

Our Maui home is permitted with the County of Maui #STMP 2013-0001. The upstairs has a master bedroom with a king mattress and bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub separate from shower. Secondary bedroom upstairs has a queen and full mattresses with a secondary 3/4 bath. The kitchen has all kitchen amenities with dining room seating for 10 adjacent to outside lanai seating for four to eat and enjoy the distance ocean views. Upstairs parlor with TV, Cable, Stereo, and Internet. Downstairs has two bedrooms each with queen mattress and their own parlor, sitting area, TV, Cable, game table, and stereo with 3/4 bath and 1/2 bath.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Tasey Miyahira Owner/Manager
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 9, 2016
Call Owner

About Tasey Miyahira Owner/Manager

I grew up here on Maui by Mama's Fish House on the beach of Kuau with many fond memories of spear fishing, catching lobster, and grilling our catch on the beach. One day, me and my buddies were watching Don Ho singing, 'Tiny Bubbles' at Mama's Fish House as young boys peeking in the window. As I grew, I went hunting for deer and pig upcountry. Then I knew this land up in the clouds was my piece of paradise. The tranquil cool breezes, lush greenery, and rainbow skies were for me.

Tasey Miyahira Owner/Manager purchased this house in 1991

Why Tasey Miyahira Owner/Manager chose East Maui

Our piece of paradise is this peaceful mountain home. We work all day or play all day and return to relax at our piece of paradise with beautiful views. There are close amenities, shopping, and activities.The elevation keeps it cool and green year round. We enjoyed growing flowers and planting different fruit trees.

What makes this house unique

Our best holidays at our home is about family coming together grilling and visiting outside our carport with the cool breeze. There is a private drive for our kids to run, bike, and play with no worries. The sunsets, rainbows, and ocean view from the lanai at breakfast or early dinners. The den downstairs is great for the kid's movies, games, and stereo. The upstairs den, TV, and stereo for our other family. In the master suite, TV or a quiet peaceful Jacuzzi tub for the adult night to enjoy and relax.

We love our small town amenities and activities, open green mountain pastures, the cool breezes, and the view from the lanai. All about the Hawaiian Aloha.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

Private lush 2 Acre Mountain Home Maui Permitted#STMP 2013-0001 many amenities
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 27 reviews
4

Beautifully Peaceful Upcountry Retreat

  • 4 of 5

There were 6 of us staying at the Maui One rental home. It was a great fit for us. Lots of great gathering space, a good size kitchen for all of us to work in, and plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms. We were so pleased with the location, with it's great view from the deck of Makawao farms and the mountains and north shore in the distance. It was quiet and restful, and when we visited the more touristy locations in Lahaina and Napili we were thrilled we'd made this upcountry choice! You'll enjoy great island breezes here to keep you cool, as well as the lovely sounds of nature surrounding you.

It seemed that everything was within easy driving distance from the house, like the airport, Costco and Target, which were all 20 minutes away. The house was within walking distance of downtown Makawao for both grocery and souvenir shopping. We lucked out and happened to be there for the third Friday of the month, when Maui Fridays comes to Makawao, with its street fair and live music. The location puts you much closer to Haleakala, so you don't have to get up as early as the west coast tourists to go see a beautiful mountain-top sunrise. The Highway to Hana starts very near to the rental. And if you want some spa services, there's The Maui School of Therapeutic Massage in downtown Makawao for very inexpensive student massage. Or go just 10 minutes out of town to the amazing Ho'omana Spa Maui for luxury treatment from the professionals.

The house was very much as described by the owner. There were several washers and dryers for laundry in the carport, well supplied bathrooms, and basic kitchen supplies. (Though I thought it was cruel on the first morning to find a coffee pot without even a starter pack of coffee for us to make!!) My one negative would be that the downstairs apartment was VERY musty and damp smelling when we arrived. I wouldn't have been able to sleep down there, so I was glad I ended up upstairs. We had to open up all doors and windows to air out the downstairs to make it breathable. Not so much of a problem with the cool weather we had, even in August. Be aware you will need to climb stairs to get into both the downstairs and upstairs living areas, so if you have anyone in your party incapable of that, this is not the place for you.

We had no interaction with the owner other than initially setting up the rental, so I can't speak much on that front. Tasey was very professional and helpful in her email communications.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, Many mahalos for your review of our home. We strive to keep our home at a five rating. I wish you would of emailed or called at check in, our crew are minutes away. We would of gladly came to repair or fix the problem. Our goals are to maintenence, clean, and replace all linens as perfect as possible for each guest. While we respect all guest's privacy during their stay at our home. We will work harder to improve. Mahalo, Tasey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dallas, Texas
5

More than we imagined!

  • 5 of 5

Private and lush are certainly accurate descriptions! The pictures cannot do it justice, though they are good. It was perfect for our 8 family members, ages 4 - 69. There was plenty of space for gathering, and nice spaces for when we needed our privacy. The beds were comfortable; the bathrooms, very nice. (The master bath might have been the favorite room in the house!) The kitchen was very well appointed, just had a little trouble finding everything. Love the balcony for early morning coffee and sunset picture taking, and every time in between. The yard was lovely. (A tree that has both limes & lemons? How did that happen?!?) Wish there were better lighting in the family room/great room. A little dark there when the sun goes down. We used the garage for hanging wet towels almost daily. Washer and dryer were greatly needed and appreciated. The Superette Grocery Store down the road was very limited, but adequate, and lots of fun to shop in. What am I leaving out? Being out, away from the crowds and noise, was exactly what we needed to unwind from busy days. Hearing the cows and goats, looking out over the yard to the fields next door, was so relaxing. We would stay there again in a heartbeat, and cannot recommend it highly enough. Thank you for helping to make our time in Hawai'i a lovely experience!

Baldwin Beach was great for our family.

Mama's Restaurant was fabulous! A truly special experience! Go. Worth the $$$

The Old Lahaina Luau was a highlight.

Pa'ia Fish Market--very crowded, but very good; generous servings

Shopping in Pa'ia--crowded, parking is hard to find; eclectic & fun

Road to Hana--a must do. Ate at Hana Farms; limited menu but delicious.

Kamaole III Beach--good waves, good beach, accessible

Cafe O'Lei--nice menu, delicious

Maui Ocean Center--great for kids, pretty neat for adults, well done, educational

Haleakala Volcano--easy to moderate hiking, great views of unique crater

Lahaina--Great shopping, parking is available but pricey

Coconuts Cafe--great fish tacos--GENEROUS servings

Iao Valley--limited parking, short easy trails, lush

Maui Grown Coffee Store in Lahaina--a must for coffee lovers

Serpico's Italian Restaurant--good, but not great Italian food, close to the house, friendly service

TikiTiki Thai Restaurant--average Thai food, not spicy enough, friendly service, very close to Superette

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo, We appreciate our guests and aim to please.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

We had a GREAT time at the Mountain Home! All that we needed was there at our disposal. The beds were confortable the kitchen stocked with what we needed. We would absoutley stay here again!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your stay. We are delighted to please all guests so they may experience the island aloha with comfort, clean, and relaxation. Many Mahalos to our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and peaceful property in a great location.

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time here. Had a group of 8 and found there to be plenty of space and all of the amenities we needed for a comfortable stay. The house is beautiful and the landscaping and fruit trees on the property are wonderful. Thanks for everything Tasey!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, spacious home

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful house with plenty of privacy which is a commodity that can be difficult to find when renting vacation homes. Also ample room for parking and maneuvering vehicles if traveling with a group that uses the max occupancy of the dwelling and has a need for room for a couple of cars. That also can be difficult to find when vacationing. Will definitely stay there again in the future if I need a house in Maui.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Enjoyed our stay

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Tasey for the opportunity to stay in your house, this was our first family trip to Maui and the house was spacious enough for all 9 of us to stay and not run over each other. The place was very clean and the neighborhood was really peaceful. This is the first time we rented a house and my adult children said they liked the experience better then staying in a motel, even the fancy ones.

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kahului
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Casanova, Makawao
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Pukalani Golf Links
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Haleakala Hwy
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Makawao Steak House, Pollies' Mexican, Hailemaile
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Kanaha Park and Ho'okipa Park
Car: necessary

Golf, hiking, atv, winery, biking down volcanoe, zip lining, road to Hana, waterfalls, tennis, walking paths, shopping, arts and crafts, Foodland, Famous Kamoda's Bakery, Makawao Steak House, Mama's Fish House, and Local Bars

Photos

Rates & Availability

Makawao House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring Break
Feb 27 2017 - Apr 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$329
From
$329
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,100
 
 
Holiday
Apr 13 2017 - Apr 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$329
From
$349
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,100
 
 
Holiday
May 24 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$329
From
$349
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,100
 
 
Holiday
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 13 2017
2 night minimum stay
$329
From
$349
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,170
 
 
holidays
Aug 31 2017 - Sep 10 2017
2 night minimum stay
$339
$2,170
 
 
Holiday
Oct 5 2017 - Oct 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$339
From
$349
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,170
 
 
Holiday
Nov 13 2017 - Nov 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$349
From
$359
Thu,Fri,Sat
$2,310
 
 
Holiday
Dec 14 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$359
From
$369
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,373
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$319
From
$349
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,093
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $250
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 13.25%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Makawao House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2377 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 13 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Master
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom with jacuzzi bath and stand alone shower
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 double , Parents with children or older couple
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Bedroom with 1/2 bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Downstairs Bedroom with plenty of room port-a-crib
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • tennis
Notes:
Private two acre peaceful home on Maui. Close to golfing, hiking, horseback riding, biking, water falls, ATV riding,zip lining, winery, Lavender Garden and more. The surprise side of Maui; the side our family loves.

Partner Offers