Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury fisherman's cottage by the sandy beach in Looe, Cornwall includes parking

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 699 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Visit Museum Apartments Looe for information on parking.

You couldn't get closer to the beach in Looe unless you sit on it. This self-catering, two bedroom holiday home has everything you need for a romantic holiday or short break. There is a double bedroom, a single bedroom and a double sofa-bed so it can sleep up to five people. The bathroom has a full size bath with a shower over and a walk-in shower. You will find everything you need for a perfect vacation in the restored Cornish fisherman's cottage, including dishwasher, washer/dryer, wifi, etc. Everything is crisp, clean and beautifully decorated and furnished featuring Cornish slate floors and window cills and some lovely artwork. The massive stone walls will keep you will be cool in summer, warm and cosy on winter evenings spent sitting around the gas log effect stove on the beautifully comfortable leather sofa. If you decide to take the car out you will only have to walk a few yards to the dedicated secure parking spot.

Take your wallet and shoes if you are planning on walking further than the glorious sandy beach.

Forget the car and spend time walking the coastal paths to Polperro and beyond or visiting St George's Island. Watch the fishermen bringing their catch to market at high tide. Eat in one of the many highly acclaimed restaurants or enjoy a pint and some shanty songs. Get to know how friendly the locals really are. Spend time on the glorious safe sandy beach, secure in the knowledge you can be back home in one minute if you need to dodge a shower, take care of little ones or just have a cup of coffee. At night time you may just catch the sound of the waves breaking on the beach at high tide, but nothing else.

More Details

Property Manager
Paul Newson
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 20, 2017

About Paul Newson

My wife and I run this small holiday business from our home office just outside Bath. We own all

the properties we let and that currently includes two cottages in beautiful Freshford near Bath; one

one bedroom cottage just outside Bath and The Old Museum in Looe, Cornwall.

We have designed the business on our own experiences of travelling and staying in holiday

apartments. Here are our main principles:

• Be as responsive as possible to any email communication from the customer. We try to

answer all emails within the hour.

• Offer interesting, historic buildings in a beautiful and relaxing environment.

• Offer locations that work well without a car.

• Try to make the properties as close to a “home from home” as possible.

• Work hard to keep the standard of maintenance as high as possible.

• We pay a bonus to our housekeeper if the words “spotlessly clean” appear in a review.

• Make the business of booking as simple and straightforward as possible.

• Trust our guests.

• Provide enough information to enable guests to find the property easily.

• Make the check in as simple as possible.

• Provide a stress-free holiday from beginning to end.

Why Paul Newson chose England

This apartment is for you if you enjoy:

Being within one minute of beautiful sandy Looe beach.

A location two minutes from the shops, restaurants and pubs.

Staying in an almost traffic free area.

The sound of the waves breaking on the sea shore.

A car free holiday.

A cosy and warm home from home

Walking the coastal paths at any time of year

Areas of outstanding natural beauty within walking distance

Staying in a proper working fishing town with friendly locals

High speed WiFi connection with download speeds of up to 35 MB

What makes this cottage unique

I have known Cornwall all my life and I chose Looe because:

It feels like a real place with a fishing industry and work outside the tourist and second home business. Most of the homes in Looe are occupied all year round so the pubs are lively on a Friday night and the Fore Street can have a buzz about it on a Saturday morning.

It is possible to arrive in Looe by train.

It not very far inside Cornwall shaving an hour or more off the tail end a long drive from up-country.

I chose this particular property because:

I loved the idea of being so close to the beach.

It was so quiet at night.

I liked the privacy of being one row back from the sea front.

I loved the thick solid construction and the history of the building.

I could see it working well for short Winter breaks.

I felt there was enough to do in the area to keep occupied for a week without using the car.

Amenities

Looe Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage (terraced)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 699 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort
  • Rural
  • Town
  • Village
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • The stylish art deco bathroom has a walk-in shower, a full size bath with a shower over, heated towel rail, shaving mirror, shaving socket, stool and bathroom cabinet. All quality towels are provided and include large bath sheets.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single
  • The double bedroom has an hotel quality double mattress and quality duvet, bedside tables with side lights, bedside rugs, built-in double wardrobe, full length mirror and hair dryer. Quality 100% cotton bedding and luxury towels are provided. Bedroom two: Bedroom two has a comfortable single bed, bedside table with side light, bedside rug, double wardrobe, full length mirror and hair dryer. Egyptian cotton bedding and luxury towels are provided. The single bedroom has a wardrobe, side table with light, full length mirror and hair dryer. It also has a cube bed with bedding provided (requested on booking form) for an additional guest.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Singles
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

Luxury fisherman's cottage by the sandy beach in Looe, Cornwall includes parking
average rating of 4.5588236 based on 34 reviews
5

A little piece of luxury

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 4 days, what a delightful place this is, weather was rubbish and we opened the door to a beautiful cozy cottage. Basically bring yourselves and your food. Everything is there that you need and I am fussy. Very clean, comfy bed, lots of hot water, and warm. Extremely close to shops, pubs and restaurants. Parking and collecting keys was a doddle. I've just checked to see when it's next available as we plan on returning soon.

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Stoke on Trent
2

Needs cleaning

  • 2 of 5

Stayed in the cottage for two weeks in Aug with wife and 3 kids. Good points; Great location only meters from the beach, and right in the centre close to restaurants/bars/shops. Good size for a old cottage. Good sized bathroom. Parking space close by.

Now the bad points; The whole cottage needs a really good clean top to bottom. We found dust that had been there months. A shoe behind the fire!! The floor was filthy and after seeing the mop in the cottage you can see why! The freezer door falls off every time it's opened. The hot tap in the bath falls off every time it's used. The smoke alarm goes off at the slightest thing...opening a packet of smoky bacon crisps near it I think would even set it off. The walls are quite marked and would benefit from being painted.

All in all a good cottage poorly managed. We wouldn't stay here again. The cleaner did come in for a wipe around when we complained but must of only been in 20 mins as cottage was still dirty. Contacted the owner regarding getting some money back as we felt it wasn't hygienic and nowhere near the standard it should of been, but got completely ignored. You can't ignore your cottage is filthy.

We have photos to back up all of our points.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We did have an issue that we have now dealt with.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
5

Old Museum Cottage, Looe Cornwall

  • 5 of 5

What a lovely cottage, spotlessly clean and tidy with excellent kitchen facilities.The bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious and the added car parking spot was really good. Restaurants, shops, bars tea rooms all within one minute even the beach and fishing all within just a few steps from your door. We really enjoyed our stay and we are already looking forward to our return.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The old museum excellent

  • 5 of 5

The old museum cottage is a lovely place to stay, very clean and nicely decorated. Everything we needed was there, couldn't ask for more, wouldn't change or add anything, location was ideal. Miss Marples did lovely snacks, would definitely recommend .

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the cottage. Fantastic location in the heart of Looe and steps from the beach. Well equipped kitchen and appreciated having a parking spot close by.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The old cornish museum,fantastic place

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay in the old Cornish museum,well equipped,clean and very close to a gorgeous beach/town. Fell in love with Looe and the surrounding area.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Plymouth
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Salutation Inn
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Plymouth
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Nearest Train
500 Metres
Looe
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
Plymouth
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Trawler on the Quay
Nearest Ski
400 Miles
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Looe
Car: not necessary

South Cornwall - reckoned to be Britain's most beautiful and interesting coastline - is a land of steep wooded rocky chines which lead inland from the sea along stream and river valleys. Villages spill down these craggy inlets to the water where there is often to be found an old fishing harbour, always massively defended against the rolling Atlantic winter storms, and in today's more gentle political climate usually home to yachts and fishing boats, rather than the sea-reivers, smugglers and wreckers of yore.

Mewing buzzards ride ladders of air above the craggy igneous Cornish landscape, as farmers work their herds in what is the balmiest climate in the British Isles, due to the gentle wash of the Gulf Stream along its shores. The local history is rich: the Spanish Armada may have failed in its mission, but South Cornwall saw the only successful invasion since William the Conqueror when the Spaniards briefly invaded the county. The little-known Stannary Parliament at nearby Liskeard

Other Activities: Shark fishing, seal watching, whale watching and bird watching

Photos

Rates & Availability

Looe Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Sep 9 2017 - Sep 22 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$771
 
 
Special without parking
Sep 23 2017 - Sep 27 2017
5 night minimum stay
$117
 
 
Autumn
Oct 3 2017 - Dec 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$145
$762
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 5 2018
3 night minimum stay
$220
 
 
List
Jan 6 2018 - Jul 20 2018
2 night minimum stay
$145
$762
 
 
List
Jul 21 2018 - Sep 7 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,160
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,160
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Please check my own website www.theoldmuseumlooe.co.uk for short breaks.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties