About the property
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay1 - 14 nights
2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6
This home is perfect for those looking for a truly private and tranquil retreat or a base camp for adventure. It is tucked away in the quiet Queen's Bath neighborhood, though still close to beautiful beaches, shopping and dining. This Hawaiian-style home has open plan living with vaulted ceilings and louvered windows that allow the island trade winds to naturally cool the inside. The expansive lanai extends living to the outdoors, with lounging, barbequing and dining in the tropical garden paradise. Luxuriate in the double person hammock under the shade of the mango tree. Snorkel the reef at Hideaways or hike the trail to the waterfall, steps away from Nalu house. After playing in the ocean, enjoy the secluded outdoor shower. Each bedroom is unique, with the entrance to additional sleeping quarters, The Twilight Room, through the garage. 'Nalu' means wave in Hawaiian and this home epitomizes the spirit of 'Aloha.'
5 night minimum stay; other minimum stay may apply seasonally. As with most homes on Kauai, this vacation rental is not air conditioned.
<strong>TAT # TA-066-215-9360-01</strong>
Oceanfront Realty International, Inc.
- Response time:
- within one hour
- Calendar last updated:
- May 22, 2018
Local Services & Businesses
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
Disappointing property in need of maintenance
Although the property is conveniently located in an active golfing community with miles of walking trails, the listing is misleading as the property has signs of wear and tear not visible in pictures.
-Comfortable king bed
-New coffee maker
-Located in active living community
-Floors had to be swept and carpet vacuumed upon arrival. Medicore cleaning by property management company.
-Scuff marks/dirt on kitchen walls.
-Left side of toaster not functionional.
-Kitchen lights flicker when washing machine on, possible sign of larger electrical issues in house. Several kitchen light bulbs are burnt out.
-Dryer purposely does not heat as it is not connected to 220 volt power outlet. Clothes must be hung to dry in garage.
-Moldy odor in 2nd bedroom from damp blankets in closet.
-Third bedroom is located in garage with owner's vehicle present.
-Stained/worn carpet in master bedroom.
-Set of snorkeling goggles are broken (missing glass visor).
-Moldy front window sheer curtains provide minimal privacy from street traffic.
-Minimal internet speed (5 Mbps DSL)
-Backyard patio dirty and worn.
-Awkward main bathroom shower: no backyard window privacy and large step to enter bath
-2nd bathroom shower doors and shower head leaking, leaving bathroom floor flooded after every shower.
-Limited backyard patio privacy as neighbor's driveway and car garage abuts to property.
-Noisy 5 am Wednesday garbage pickup.
-Excessive VRBO booking and cleaning fees.
Overall, the property is worn and appears to have been neglected by current owners. I would not recommend this property for a couple's vacation. It is best suited for a family with children on a beach vacation who don't mind a worn and dated property.
Aloha Richard, and mahalo for your review. We're sorry that you were disappointed with our home. Please note that although it was posted throughout the home that any problems found must be reported to the managing agent, you didn't inform us of any problems at all. Since our housekeepers guarantee their work, had you told us that the home wasn't sufficiently cleaned we would have sent them back. Had you reported the toaster not working it would have been replaced within 24 hours. We replaced it after we read your review. We are looking into the flickering lights you mention, but we were unable to locate any burnt out bulbs in the kitchen. Of course the dryer isn't plugged into a 220 volt outlet, because it runs on propane; we were not informed that you needed the tank refilled. As indicated in our description of the home, the extra sleeping quarters are indeed in the garage. We were unable to locate the carpet stain you mention. We don't provide swim goggles; they may have been left behind by a previous guest, and they have been disposed of. The lanai is not dirty; it is a water-sealed wood, open deck. We are unable to locate any leak in the shower head. Because this is a house in a residential neighborhood, there are indeed neighbors next door. Please note that the owners perform maintenance on the house every year.
Comfortable and quiet
This was a perfect rental for my family of 4, young children 9 and 11. The outdoor shower was wonderful for when we came back from a day at the beach where the kids can shower and not make a mess in the house. There were boogie boards to use in the garage and the backyard was perfect to hang out in when it wasn't raining. Other than not having sugar for our coffee that first morning (we went to Costco and didn't want to buy a jumbo sized sugar for only 8 days) I'd say this was a near perfect. I am already planning our next trip and hope to stay again.
Aloha Marcia, and mahalo nui loa for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the home and its amenities. We're sorry about the lack of sugar, but we have to remove most food items between guests since ants and other vermin can quickly become a problem in our tropical environment. Foodland, just down the road, sells smaller containers of sugar than Costco. We hope you do visit again, and we offer a 10% discount to repeat guests as added incentive.
Beautiful location, very nice Vrbo, comfortable, roomy, and well appointed.
Good value, huge washer/dryer, comfy beds. Rather non private bathrooms could result in over exposure. Great yard and deck. Really good experience, would recommend. Buy groceries anywhere but Princeville, pricey and really crowded. We enjoyed mini hike to defunct Club Med. Don't miss Hanalei. Great, fun farmers market.
Excellent location fully equipped house
Nice place in the north of Kauaï at walking distance from Queens bath. The house is very comfortable, fully equipped and have a great terrace. It would have been great to have air conditioning but there are fans in every bedroom. The house is close to a grocery store and the neighborhood is very quiet. The outside shower is awesome.
Aloha Martin, and mahalo nui loa for your review! We're pleased that you enjoyed the house, its location, and amenities. We invite you to stay with us again, and as a repeat guest we'll discount your rent by 10%. We'd love another opportunity to host you!
Wonderful location in Princeville North Side
Very quiet and private home. Appreciated the amenities of the kitchen and multiple water / beach accessories. There are two bikes which we used to tool around the community and watch sunsets.
Multiple fans which helped to cool the house since there is no AC.
Great location for the beaches, grocery store and shopping.
Aloha, and mahalo nui loa for your comments. Weʻre glad you enjoyed the amenities and convenient location of the house. We hope you'll take advantage of the 10% discount we offer for return guests; we'd love the opportunity to share our aloha again!
Very nice place
Nalu is a very pretty house will a lot of accomodations. We really liked our experience, we were close to the nicest spot such as the Queen's bath and Hanalei Bay. Downsides were the lack of A/C, it was very veryyy hot!! The showers were a bit dirty and had a used soap in it.. I would recommend this place for everyone that wants to stay on the north shore, there is also wi-fi and a phone that we can use. Nice place!
Aloha KarolAnne, and mahalo for your review! We’re happy that you enjoyed the house, its amenities, and proximity to beaches. Guest satisfaction is very important to us so we are concerned that you found the shower dirty; our housekeepers guarantee their work, so they would have returned to re-clean had you notified us at the time.
Most homes on Kauai don’t have air conditioning, relying instead on the trade winds and the generally mild climate. However, this has been a record-breaking hot summer, with high humidity and little breezes, so it has been uncomfortable for all of us.
We hope you’ll visit us again; we offer a 10% discount to repeat guests.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees