Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Become A Sanjuanero II - Old San Juan Downtown Cristo St. Lush Garden view

Bedrooms 2
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

2 bed/2 bath, 800sq ft, max 2 couples + 2 singles (add #485553 for up to 13)

SOLD OUT FOR SAN SE 2018. Inquiries will not be answered. We cannot block out the dates since they are not yet set.

The 800 sq. ft. Garden Apartment is built around the tropical garden on the first floor of the building (No access) but you are in the treetops, and if it rains you'll have the thrill of the sound of the rain falling in the jungle.

The living room, with 18 ft ceiling, is full of tropical plants and recessed behind a massive arch, then open to the sky above (except for security poles high up, so no one can “drop in”).

Each bedroom has its own bathroom, satellite TV, Ceiling Fan and air conditioner. 1 Bedroom has a Queen bed, the other has a double and a twin with roll out trundle and a little dressing room before its bathroom. There is a set of doors between the bedrooms that you can choose to leave open or keep shut. (see photos)

The apartment has a small fully equipped, eat in kitchen plus, microwave, toaster, coffee maker & ice machine. Also laundry with washer/dryer and iron & board; plus a hair dryer in each bathroom. It has. Ceiling fans & WiFi throughout, and a phone for free local calls.

Minimum stay – 3 nights

Up to 4 persons - $200 p/nt or 1250 p/wk

Additional persons $25 p/nt each, up to 6 person max

Groups of more than 4 persons who are not parent/child, or over 40 yrs of age must pay a fully refundable dammage deposit of $500.00.

You can find your groups exact total price on the rate card (Photo #19)

If you have a larger group, (7-13 persons) add our other apartment, just across the hall, VIBRO listing 485553, Become a San Juanero I, which gives you the entire 2nd floor of the building.

See the rate card for the special price for both apartments for a full week. and contact info, on the last photo.

We require a 25% deposit to confirm the reservation.

Your balance will be charged to that same card by 6pm the day of your scheduled arrival.

There is a one time Cleaning fee of $80.00, and 7% tax.

For questions, please e-mail, telling me how many singles and couples are in your party.

Enjoy the Romance of Old San Juan's cobblestone streets, conquistador forts and legendary cultural events, shopping and nightlife from your own 16th century Institute of Culture authenticated restoration, approved & licensed by the Tourism dept., on the most famous & secure block in Old San Juan, in the middle of the gallery/shopping district surrounded by historic monuments; bustling during the day, and quiet at night.

The building is surrounded by historic monuments. We are 1 block north of the Cristo Chapel, Pigeon Park, and La Fortaleza (the Governor’s Mansion) so there are 2 policemen on our corner 24/7.

One block west is the Plaza de Armas, where you'll find cafes, drug stores, grocer, a stop for the free trolleys that go around San Juan, and a taxi stand.


Finding parking in Old San Juan can be challenging. On street parking is free, or there are several pay parking lots within a few blocks. (see map in our large photo #20) Unless you're planning on exploring the Island, you won't need a car. Old San Juan is only 8 sq. blocks, and we are right in the middle. For local trips there are cabs on the next corner, or you can call one.

More Details

Linda Williams
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 12, 2017

About Linda Williams

This is your Concierge squad! We are downstairs every day 10am - 6pm, to answer your questions, address your concerns, and offer you recommendations.

You'll be calling Boveda and speaking to any of us to pay your deposit. When you arrive, one of us will take you upstairs to your apartment.


Catedral Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Village ...
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Full, large
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • churches
  • festivals
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Check in time is 4pm, Check out time is 11am If these times are inconvenient for you, you may leave your bags with us 10am - 6pm


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Become A Sanjuanero II - Old San Juan Downtown Cristo St. Lush Garden view
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews
Cincinnati, OH

Great location, but much lacking inside

  • 2 of 5

This apartment is located in a great spot, walking distance to everything you want to see: museums, bars, restaurants and music venues. Convenient location is about all this place has going for it. There is no window, not one! There is only one open area (grate like) on top that lets light and mosquitoes through during the day. The fixtures are old and dirty, much of them below par. The fridge, stove and other small appliances are fairly old and easily fall apart when touched. Pots and frying pans were difficult and unsafe to use due to some of the non-stick surface pealing off. There was only one dull knife making any kind of cooking or simply cutting fruits and veggies in this unit a daunting task. I would not stay in this place again!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! The employees told me you were scandalaised by finding lint in the back of one of the kitchen drawers, but nothing like THIS! Fixtures and apliances that "Fall apart when touched"? I guess you're justifying the fact that you broke off the entire front of the refrigerator drawer. I do wish you had told us about this, since these parts have to be ordered and can take months to get here. "No windows at all" - The conquistadors did not use windows as we know them. They used pairs of 8 foot doors, each with 5ft X 18in louvered windows in them. You can open & close the louvers for light or privacy. There are 3 sets of these doors in the apartment, with glass behind the louvers to keep the air conditioning in, and the view is to the interior patio of the building. The kitchen has an entire wall of louvered windows, which you can open. The louvers here do let in salt air and dust all day, every day, and this does take a toll on anything metal. I'll check the pots & pans. There is a knife sharpener which is pretty easy to use. The open area you refer to; you neglect to mention is 30 ft X 12 ft. over the interior patio. The apartment has no street view, but every room in the apartment opens to this interior patio of the 1st floor, which is filled with giant trees. No one has ever noted lack of light or air. The "grate like" poles (not cris crossed), are 40 ft above the apartment, spaced every 12 in., over the interior patio. They are for security, so no one can "drop in" from the roof top. We don't usually have mosquitos in the winter, and we will be adding a screen accross the top (where the poles are), in the spring. I guess leaving sand everywhere, unflushed toilets with a variety of unpleasant things in them, and towels, stained beyond repair are your way of showing your displeasure. Well, I'm sorry you were so unhappy with the apartment, and I hope it didn't spoil your trip. If you visit the tropics again, I'd suggest you avoid renting in Old San Juan, or anywhere near the beach, because the conditions you mention are endemic to these places.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Recommend with some reservations

  • 3 of 5

We stayed in the Gallery Apartment for four nights in February 2015. We read all the reviews we could find prior to booking, and there were few surprises. First the positives: the apartment is in a great location. It’s close to shopping, restaurants, and a couple of bars. The small balcony afforded a wonderful opportunity each night to have a glass of wine and people-watch those on the street below. Another positive? The apartment is quite large, with more than enough room for the two of us. We could have put the space to better use had we had extended family with us. Another plus for us was the air conditioning, although we only used it one night we were there. It appeared to work quite well. The fans were welcome, too. The wifi worked fine. Finally, on the list of positives was the safety factor (we felt quite safe in the area in general, and with the locked gate and upstairs location.)

Now for the negatives: first, as another reviewer noted, the apartment furnishings are worn and a little dingy. We were warned beforehand, so it wasn’t a surprise, but the place needs some TLC. Bed linens are old, the shower curtains and futon covers need replaced—that sort of thing. (The towels were new and there were plenty of them.) In addition, know when you stay here that the toilet plumbing is apparently barely functional, so not even toilet paper can be flushed. I realize this is Old San Juan, but if this is something you don’t want to have to deal with, you’ll probably want to stay elsewhere. One final note: there is a steep, winding staircase from the living level to the upstairs bedroom, as well as a staircase to the unit itself.. Luckily, there is a bathroom upstairs, so we didn’t have to navigate the stairs to the bedroom at night, which would have been quite difficult for my husband.

Would I recommend this apartment? Yes, primarily because of the location and because there’s plenty of room to spread out. If you want the services of a nice hotel, you’ll probably want to stay elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First, let me clarify, this review is not for the Garden apartment, even though it wound up on this page, so future guests don't go looking for the balcony, because the Garden apartment doesn't have one. It's for the Gallery, our other apartment. I'm glad you had a generally positive impression and enjoyed yourselves, but I must say a few things in my defense. The listing does say the apartment is a 2nd floor walk up, and that the apartment itself is 2 levels. The stairway to the 2nd level has 1 right angle turn. which I wouldn't really call "winding". Each level has a 9 ft ceiling, so yes, lots of steps. The plumbing works fine, you just can't put gobs of paper or some "other things" down the toilet. I suspect we had left the cautionary note up from the San Sebastian weekend, when we had 7 girls staying there, which is often a problem. It's not a building specific problem. I'm sure you saw similar cautionary notes in the finest restaurants in Old San Juan. You'd be amazed what people try to cram down the toilets! I'm surprized about the futon covers, as they were replaced less than a month ago, from the "Innovation" factory in Denmark, to be sure they were a perfect fit and quality, so it was dissappointing to hear that you found them dingy. I will get new sheets. That's a result of my own personal preference for well broken in sheets. I always find them softer, but I can see that people may prefer them crisp. I'll also get new shower curtains, although we always launder them between tenants so there's no residue. These 2 things are helpful. It is good to hear peoples' suggestions and I thank you for that and all the good things you said about the apartment.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Wonderful Location in Old San Juan

  • 4 of 5

We had a very nice time while vacationing for a week in Old San Juan...the Garden apartment was very quaint and would have been nice to have a television in the living room, but both couples retreated to our bedrooms to watch TV in the evening when we got in. Over all the Garden apartment had all the conveniences of home. Linda and her staff were very friendly and helpful...we did alot of walking and discovering many sites and eateries. Once you've experienced San Juan.... it's an adventure of it's own! We like to visit other ports and Caribbean islands... so we may be back to explore other parts of the island we didn't get to this visit. Transportation around the island is an experience it self! Thank You Linda for your wonderful hospitality!

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed yourselves! Thanks for your lovely review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Outstanding apartment and amenities

  • 5 of 5

I have another review for the other apartment, the Gallery Apartment, but this review is for the Garden Apartment. Both are absolutely outstanding!

This apartment has a comfortable and pretty living room that overlooks an outdoor garden ... very relaxing and pretty. Two full bathrooms and two spacious bedrooms. Kitchen has everything you need and there is a washer/dryer available -- wonderful to have while on vacation.

Perfect location to go just about anywhere. Five minutes to the beautiful Princess Walk and a slightly longer walk to the El Morro Fort. Everything you need is a short walk away, including some of the best shops -- check out the shop below the apartment. Great stuff and super friendly staff.

Completely safe location, close to the governor's mansion so there is a cop posted on the corner 24/7. Wifi works great as does everything in the apartment. We've been to places that advertise and then we're disappointed, but not this place. Everything is as advertised if not better. You will not be disappointed. You have your privacy and your places to hang out together. We rented both apartments and had plenty of room.

The owner, Linda, is incredibly nice. Her and her staff made us feel so welcome and comfortable. I recommend this place very highly. Everything you need is close by.

If you like waffles and tea, try Waffle-era, just a two minute walk away. Barrachina restaurant is around the corner and has great food -- my favorite was the whole red snapper. Don Ruiz coffee shop, near all the museums and a five minute walk, was outstanding. We also really liked Cafe Berlin and Cafecultura.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Readers, I would heed these guys restaurant tips because they spent their entire 2 weeks exploring Old San Juan, leaving no cobble stone unturned. Thank you so much for your glowing review. See you next Christmas!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Austin, TX

Tropical, Historical, and Great Location

  • 4 of 5

This apartment was exactly what we were hoping it would be! The open air living room has a tropical feel and is nice and bright. We visited during July, and had some concerns about heat and mosquitoes. We did not see bugs of any kind, and though the living room and kitchen were warm during the late afternoon, they were delightful for coffee in the morning or cocktails before dinner. In the evenings it was also a nice place to chat, play cards, or read (if you are not out salsa dancing!) The air conditioned bedrooms were a welcome retreat after a long day of sight-seeing. This is an amazing location with a grocery store around the block as well as multiple bars/restaurants and shops close by. We enjoyed meeting Linda (the owner), and learning a bit about the building's history. This is not a fancy modern hotel, but it is an authentic Old San Juan apartment, which we considered to be even better.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

We stayed in both apartments. Enjoyed our stay there.

  • 4 of 5

Great location in the heart of old San Juan! Walking distance to everything - restaurants, supermarket, tourist info and tours. Linda and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the larger apartment first. Its attraction is the balcony looking out to the bustling street, busy with tourists all day but quiet by bedtime. Then we moved to the Garden Apartment. It's attraction is the wonderful tropical feel to it - most of the apartment is open to the courtyard below and the sky above - only the bedrooms are air conditioned. How often do you stay in an apartment with lush live palm trees and when it rains it rains inside the unit? Don't worry, it doesn't rain on the floor, it's just passing through to the courtyard below.

One caveat for people with disabilities - the building is 300+ years old, and the ceilings are very high, so the steps going up to the second floor can be a bit challenging to someone like me with leg problems.

If you're looking for 5 star accommodations, this isn't it. It's very clean, eclectic and fun.

We enjoyed our stay very much and you will too. We'd absolutely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Marty. Great having you guys here!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
LMM International
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
10 steps in any direction
Nearest Ferry
0.05 Miles
Catano Ferry, to Baccardi Plant (5 blocks)
Nearest Restaurant
0.02 Miles
10 steps in any direction
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Capitol Beach (see Other Attractions & Activities)
Car: not necessary


Old San Juan is not beachfront, but i'is where everything else is. Most people choose to stay in Old San Juan because this is where everyone comes at night, so traffic coming into town then, can be a nightmare. It's easier to get in & out of town during the day to go to the beach. That way you can return, shower, maybe take a nap before going out again. Then after dinner, or whatever, you just have to walk a few blocks and you’re home, instead of hassling with traffic & finding a cab.

The nearest blue flag beach, is a long walk, or a 5 min cab or bus ride. We have a picture among ours here(#23) There are nearer beaches, just a few blocks away, but Escambron is the nicest. It is a well maintained, free, clean, safe, beautiful beach; the only one with a lifeguard. Unlike the hotel beaches, it gets sun all day, and there are plenty of palms for shade.

The beach is part of a very interesting park with historic battlements & part of the old walls of the city. From the beach you see both forts.

Early mornings the women’s water aerobics group meets there. Very friendly group, you can work out with them for free. There is an outdoor snack bar that also serves drinks cheap, and a reasonable restaurant with outdoor terrace and indoor air-conditioned dining room, serving local food.

You will not find a better beach in San Juan.


Rates & Availability

Catedral Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

Rates shown are for up to 4 persons. $25 additional for each extra person up to the maximum of 6.
7% occupancy tax
Cleaning fee $80, per stay
Monthly rates available off season only (5/1-10/31). Please inquire.
Deposit 25% of room rate to confirm reservation, credited to total payment, due on arrival.
Deposits are refundable if cancelled 3 months before scheduled arrival.
Reservations made within 1 month of arrival must be prepaid and are nonrefundable.
We accept Visa & MC only.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties