check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Lovely House In Gated Community 24/7 Hour Security, Enclosed Sunny Back Yard

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

2 Br, 1.5 Ba, Sleeps 6

- Fully furnished; sunny private backyard; garage available

- living room/dining room

- den

- eat-in kitchen, garage

- dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, microwave

- Cable TV, Internet, wifi

- Transportation, supermarket within a few-minute walk

- Banks, restaurants, entertainment, downtown Heredia within 1 mile

- 20 minutes by car to San Jose and Airport

- nearest beaches 1 hours (Jaco, Punta Leona...)


Property Manager
Ingeborg Reinecke
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, german, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 12, 2017

About Ingeborg Reinecke

Hi there, I was born and raised in Hamburg, Germany, emigrated to New York, and that's where I live. I like Costa Rica and use my house for frequent visits.

Ingeborg Reinecke purchased this house in 2005

Why Ingeborg Reinecke chose Heredia

My house was built in 2005, is conveniently located within an 8-min. walk to the bus stop w/connection to virtually all of Costa Rica, and to Automercado within a 10-min. walk.The weather in near-by Atenas,was quoted by Nat'l Geographic second best in the world. My private backyard can be enjoyed 24/7: take in the sun, have your meals, and at night entertain your family and friends in a softly lid atmosphere.

What makes this house unique

I love the convenience: Two supermarkets up the block, Papa John's Pizza, the gated community with friendly guards. Never have to worry about the safety of my house. Restaurants are within walking distance, the bus stop within an 8-min. walk. Automercado, famous for its international foods, has a low-fee ATM.

And, of course, my private sunny backyard with its newly installed soft lighting to enjoy evenings outside the house.

Guestbook comments from the manager

The guests clogged up the toilet in the main bathroom with sanitary napkins, broke a window lock and locked themselves out of the guest room. They called my manager and myself in the middle of the night and expected immediate response, though this coincided with Christmas Eve. Besides, they speak absolutely no Spanish. I would not host them again.
Jan 2017
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Lovely House In Gated Community 24/7 Hour Security, Enclosed Sunny Back Yard
average rating of 4.5 based on 11 reviews
5

Lovely, cozy house

  • 5 of 5

I loved the house, we fell in love with it. You will feel so cozy inside. It´s fully furnished so you don´t have to worry about anything. I felt like being at home. A very quiet neighbourhood which is close from bars, malls, restaurants and supermarkets. It has a lovely garden and two bedrooms (a master bedroom and a two-bed bedroom). I truely recommend this place to anyone looking for renting a beautiful house in the city. You will feel like being at home. Finally, the landford is a very nice person, easy to talk to and open to help you to find places you need to go.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Munich, Germany (Bavaria)
5

Residencia Santillana del Mar, Casa 15c, San Francisco de Heredia

  • 5 of 5

An excellent and quiet location near San José. We spend very nice

vacations there. My impression mas first class.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

You get what you pay for

  • 2 of 5

The property was not what we expected. There were several huge coach roaches that were throughout the Condominium and we had to exterminate so I believe the place had an infestation that should have been taken care of prior to us taking occupancy of the property. There were windows that did not lock and the owner was not always reachable. The manger of the property would not return phone calls so if we had a problem which we had several such as the toliets not flushing properly or if a door was locked and we could not get in we had to wait and call security to get someone to open the door. The security was good an extremely helpful. But the furniture on the property was dated and not comfortable to sit on. We were so unhappy that for our 10 day trip we left after 7 days of disappointment in the place and checked into a hotel. The owner did not even check on us after we cleaned up and made sure the apartment was in the shape we left it in we recieved. I expect a refund for the days we did not use as well as a security deposit but we will see if the owner will do the right thing. I would not recommend this property for a family visiting Costa Rica wanting to take advantage of the sights of Costa Rica. Too far away from San Jose where the hotels cater the tours. In the end you get what you pay for. Dissatisfied constumer.The people of Heredia were wonderful and I enjoyed this part of the trip, but not this place.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I would like to reply to my dissatisfied customer as follows: I do realize now that the client would have done better checking into a hotel in San Jose, where the personnel speaks English and travel arrangements can be made. The guest speaks absolutely no Spanish, and his frustration is understandable because personnel in my gated community only speak Spanish. Now to his claims: 1. Regarding roaches: My house had just been thoroughly fumigated and I have well-founded reasons to doubt his statement. 2. Regarding windows “that did not lock”: Granted the window locks in my house are different from the ones in the States, however they were in working order …. until he broke one of them. 3. The toilet not flushing: This happened because the guests threw sanitary napkins into the toilet. Costa Rica has the septic tank system and a sign in my bathroom alerts clients not even to throw paper into the toilet. There is a second half bathroom which should have been used in the meantime, rather than calling my manager and me in the middle of the night.. 4. “A door was locked:” Neither my manager nor I understand how the guest managed to lock himself out of the guestroom. However, there is another sleeping facility upstairs that would have sufficed for that night for that guest. 5. The guest called my manager and me at 1:00 am at mid-night without having an emergency to justify this imposition. Also, unfortunately, this whole situation coincided with Christmas Eve, when neither my manager nor I were reachable. However, both issues were taken care of as soon as it was possible. 6. Location: My guests love the location, because restaurants, shopping, busses are within a short walking distance. San Jose, by public transportation, may take one and a half hours, depending on traffic. By car it may take 15 – 20 minutes. I hope the guest had a more enjoyable 2 days of his remaining trip, but his early departure does not justify a refund, however, I gave him a 50% discount on the lock repair bill.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richland, WA
4

Relaxing home!

  • 4 of 5

First, the best part of staying in this home was the communication with the owner from the time of our initial inquiry right up until departure. She was wonderful and very helpful! The home is truly her home and well outfitted with everything you need. We especially appreciated the lovely backyard retreat and being able to use the full-size washer and dryer. The location is good, just minutes from the airport and main access roads for getting around. There were three grocery stores (love Auto-Mercado!) within a couple miles. Only the two of us stayed so we were able to spread out our stuff and get organized after several weeks of travel but the home would easily accommodate another couple. The manager lives nearby and was very responsive. She is quite good using "google translate" since our Spanish is weak and she speaks little English. It was a pleasant stay.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We can not expressed in words how just right this beautiful home was for us three. The home was just like an extension of our home. It is neat, center place where we wanted to go. It has all the cooking gears, dishes, dishwasher, washing and dryer machine, studio room with wifi, juice extracter, iron and ironing board and many other things. There were many market places to go get grocery. Another thing I would like to mention that this fine home is logistically situated; near and easy to go to the international airport, near to car rental (I rented a car from Payless Car Rental which I would highly recommend).

The bottom line: Excellent place to stay and I personally will rented again in my next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Loveland, CO/US
5

Jeff and Jane

  • 5 of 5

Heredia is a great place to visit and this condo is very close to easy and inexpensive transportation (bus). The condo itself was so well equipped it was like a full house exchange - for example, washer/dryer (and happily the instructions for the w/d were in English!), dishwasher, iron and ironing board, pressure cooker and a juicer (great for those oranges from the farmer's market!). One evening a storm took out the power in the area, and we were happy to have the condo's flashlight and candles/matches.

The condo was large, clean and well maintained. In fact, the first day we were there the maintenance man, William, came to introduce himself and ask if we needed anything.

The wi-if was excellent as was the cable TV.

We really enjoyed the upper level which was very comfy and provided lovely views of the hillsides and city lights. One thing to note is that this complex is on San Jose's flight path - not a big deal, just something to be aware of.

Heredia has an excellent farmer's market on Saturdays - we spent HOURS wandering around the stalls. Close to the condo are three major grocery stores within walking distance and a Walmart about a mile away.

We did rent a car for day trips which was helpful, but not necessary.

The neighborhood was safe and the condo complex is secured and has a gate keeper. We met a neighbor and enjoyed tea with him one morning.

We greatly enjoyed our stay, and recommend this property. 😃

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Juan Santamaria (San Jose)
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Main street towards airport
Nearest Train
500 Metres
Nearest Motorway
8 Kilometres
Pan American Highway (1)
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Main street toward airport or Heredia centro
Nearest Beach
100 Kilometres
Jaco, Punta Leona
Car: not necessary

THE COSTA RICAN TIMES has a write-up on my house (http://www.costaricantimes.com/a-perfect-home-base-costa-rica-vacation-rental-in-heredia/33647).

Train to San Jose (20-min. ride) stops within 500 meters

Ojo de Agua, w/ Olympic size fresh water pool (no chemicals),recreational and kiddie pools within 10 min car ride or 20 min. bus ride. (Inquire with me for bus schedule).

El Palacio in Heredia centro has Olympic size pool and other sports activities.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mercedes House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High Season
Dec 1 2016 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$55
$325
$1,325
 
 
Low Season
Apr 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$50
$295
$1,225
 
 
High Season
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$55
$325
$1,325
 
 
Rainy Season
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$55
$295
$1,225
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$55
$325
$1,325
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $40
Refundable damage deposit $125

I require a rental agreement signed by the primary renter. The agreement is in Spanish, and I supply an English translation, if needed. Please read my write-up in THE COSTA RICAN TIMES by copying the following link into your browser:
http://www.costaricantimes.com/a-perfect-home-base-costa-rica-vacation-rental-in-heredia/33647
Though parking in front of the house is safe, garage parking is available for a fee of $100.00 p/mo or $30.00 p/week

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Mercedes House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , This is a half bathroom with toilet and sink
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , This is the master bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Guestroom w/bunkbeds (bottom double, top single)
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Upstairs den features a futon that sleeps 1
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
Notes:
Several volcanoes can be reached by car (Irazu, Poaz), also canapé rides (cable cars taking you across, high above the rain forest) are offered. There is horseback riding at Ojo de Agua.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers