Built in the late 1700's by Japheth Washburn, The Gott Farm is one of the original platted properties of Wayne, Maine. The town was incorporated in 1796. The Farm's cattle pastures once covered the eastern hillsides of Lake Androscoggin, comprising several hundred acres. Gott Farm has been continuously inhabited for over 200 years. The Gott family owned the farm for three generations until the Lawrence family purchased it in the 1950's. In the 1960's the Lawrence family sold the farm to Nathalie and Rhyno Stinchfield. They lived here for 30 years, until a few years after Rhyno’s death. Nathalie was determined to sell to respectful new owners. W.A.P. John and Julie Ritter became the delighted stewards of this wonderful property in 1997 and have loved and nurtured it ever since.
For the designer/craftsman couple from the Midwest, the Gott Farm has been an ongoing renovation project: originally as a summertime experience for their twin daughters, now as a special place of rest and relaxation for families and small groups. To learn about all the wonderful things to do in Wayne and our part of Maine, go search for "wondrous wayne" and you'll find a comprehensive list of nearby activities and day trips!
With 10 acres and 450 ft of lakeshore with stone fence lines that vector deep into the woods, the farm continues to be a serene retreat from a hectic world.