Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Uniqe experience, discover Iceland, apartment in city centre Reykjavik - unit 1

Bedrooms 1
Space 592 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 nights



unit 1

Privacy, private entrance, no tiring steps to walk up after a long day out. Clean, comfortable and spacious, high ceilings. Free to park if you have your own car but so easy to be with out a car. Bus station just few m away. Walking distance to everything Reykjavik has to offer. Great location for pick up/drop off for your day trips.

About the property

Laugavegur, Centre, Reykjavik

This lovely 55m sq, this one bedroom apartment is both comfortable and clean. Only one step up, the ground floor has special double, noise reduction glass in windows and high ceilings. We are happy that now we can offer our guests unlimited download and the best speed Fiber Optic WiFi connection available in Iceland. Our unit is in a great location to be on foot. Situated in the heart of Reykjavík. Easy access to all the attractions of the city center. We are only few m away from Hotel Hlemmur Square where the price is over 1.800E pr week in June for 15 m sq double room, or at Hotel 101 Reykjavik few m away where the prices are from 2.600 Euros pr week for a 40 m square. Supermarket open 24/7 shops bars and restaurants just few steps away. Few minutes walking and you have all the main restaurants, a wonderful warm outdoor swimming pool with hot tubs and steam bath, the national theater, cinemas, museums and tourist information. Apartment with fully equipped kitchen and a nice bathroom and is fully fitted to accommodate 4 people.

This should come to no surprise, but Iceland is number one on the Human Development Index and has been vote the most livable country in the world.

From our powerful nature to the streets of Reykjavík, Iceland is literally bursting with energy like never before. That’s why now isn’t a time to stay away, this is a time to get closer.

Clean and safe: The capital city of Reykjavik, with its 190,000 inhabitants, is probably one of the cleanest and safest cities in the world. Its plentiful resources of geothermal energy ensure clean air and unpolluted water giving both citizens and visitors a unique sense of liveliness and contentment. Reykjavik has become recognized for its pure energy, thriving culture, sparkling night-life and creative atmosphere.

One of the benefits of visiting a small city is that you never have to walk very far to get to where you’re going. With its long easy-going main street (Laugavegur), Reykjavik offers diversity to tourists at a friendly pace with quaint boutiques, book stores, galleries, delis, cafes and restaurants dotting the historic downtown area.

This should come to no surprise, but Iceland is number one on the Human Development Index and has been vote the most livable country in the world.

Land of contrasts: The island of contrasts, where heaven and earth meet, and where the Sagas of the Vikings were written, a land of glaciers, erupting volcanoes and the magnificent midnight sun. In Iceland you will find everything you need to make your vacation, conference or incentive successful and memorable. Hotels, conference facilities, support services and modern comforts are as good as anywhere in the rest of Western Europe. There is a multitude of bars and fine restaurants in Reykjavík.

More Details

Berta Gudjons
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, Icelandic
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 27, 2017

About Berta Gudjons

I am born and bread in Iceland. A Yoga teacher and a mother of 3 children. Now I live part of the year in France . I love to be in Iceland as much as possible. The longer I stay in a foreign country the more I see how special and beautiful my own country is. So clean, so pure, so save and so much space for everyone.

Namaste! Berta

Berta Gudjons purchased this apartment in 2002

Why Berta Gudjons chose Reykjavik

Great location both to explore what this beautiful city has to offer and for your drop offs after your trips outside the city. Free parking if you have your own car. You will love the center of Reykjavik, so full of life and very creative. Being able to walk everywhere, easy shopping for food will not only safe you money but a lot of time. Only few minute walk and you are by the sea overlooking the bay and our proud and joy the mountain ESJAN. You can easily jump on a bus if you want to go out of town. The bus station is only few meters away. In this apartment I have created a cosy and warm home away from home. A place I love to stay my self when I am in Iceland.

Our flat has the perfect location to enjoy everything the city has to offer. This area is on the edge of postal code 101 the most-central area/postal code of the city.It will give you the opportunity to walk to everywhere and still be in a comfortable distance from the party zone and night life area.

Grocery shops just few m away open 24/7 . Free parking at the back of the building

Reykjavik is an extremely nice city full of culture, good restaurants and sights - and close to wonderful nature. The city's populations is small (only 122.000 in the city itself, 202.000 in the metropolitan area), but as an European capital there is a lot going on within and around the city. We live in walking distance from many of Reykjavik's best known landmarks, museums and restaurants - and right by the harbor with its great view, seafood restaurant, micro-brewery, bars and cafe's. From the harbor/port area you can also take the ferry out to Viðey island, do various sightseeing tours on boat and and go whale watching. There are good walking & running paths that go from our neighborhood along Reykjavik's beautiful shoreline. One path takes you out of the city to the Grótta lighthouse (30 min walk, there is a hidden hot tub there by the sea) and another through the city (by Harpa Concert House) and so much more...

What makes this apartment unique

Privacy, private entrance for unit 1 and entrance through community entrance for unit 2. No tiring steps to walk up after a long day out. Free and easy parking if you have your own car, but here it's also so easy to be with out a car. So easy to get picked up and dropped off after your day trips out of Reykjavik. This location makes it so easy and convinent to enjoy on foot everything Reykjavik has to offer. Please join my Facebook page name: Reykjavik centre holiday rentals, where I share my favorite photos and links in Iceland.

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing


Note: minimum rental 7 nights. To confirm your booking we ask you to pay 30% by Paypal and the rest 4 weeks before your arrival + security deposit of 200 € which are returned to you not later than one week after your departure, minus any possible damage.

Note : cost of cleaning in the end of your stay and cost of linen + towels is 70€ for 2 pers and 90 € for 3- 4 pers.


Hlíðar Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (detached)
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 592 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • Unit 1 offers a bath tub with a shower. Unit 2 offers only a shower.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 child bed , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • a child's cot available on request. a pull out sofa in the living area
  • Television
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Singles
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Ground floor(one step up) entrance from Laugavegur. This lovely one bedroom flat is situated right in the centre of Reykjavík by Hlemmur bus central. Warm and welcoming, the flat is fully fitted to accommodate 2 to 4 people. Plenty of free parking behind the house. We have two units in the same buidling, similar size and decoration. Unit 1 has a bath tub/shower. Unit 2 has only shower. The area around has many interesting sights within walking distance, for example: Laugavegur, shopping street; Hallgrimskirkja, Iceland's tallest church; Kjarvalsstadir, museum/gallery; Asmundarsafn, sculpture museum; Laugardalur, valley; a seaside walking path; and many more... Within 2 minutes walking distance you will also find a lovely cafe, a delicious pizzeria, a supermarkets nearby and a free car parking is behind the house.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

unit 1
average rating of 4.4210525 based on 19 reviews

Clean, Cool, Classy and near the sites in Reykjavik.

  • 5 of 5

Great little cleanervous apartment just out side the trendy part of Reykjavik. The owner is very kind and the accommodations are perfect for a young family (though 4 adults were a little squished). It is near enough the main roads that you can explore the sights just outside of Reykjavik with ease as well!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Dea for your positive review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. Welcome again. Bless, bless as we say in Iceland
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location, location, location...excellent!

  • 4 of 5

Our trip to Iceland was wonderful. The apartment was exactly what we needed for 5 nights. It was comfortable & within minutes walking to stores and restaurants. Parking (although an icy parking lot) was free! Using our GPS updated with Iceland maps, it was convenient to drive to all major attractions, including Blue Lagoon, Golden Circle, Black Sand Beach, Grotta Lighthouse (where we saw the Northern Lights!). We had our breakfast there every morning. I was happy with the electric hot pot for tea and the press coffee maker. The electric converter in the tv cabinet worked better than my converter (mine was square and wasn't long enough for the circle). Before leaving the US, I was concerned about the warmth of apartments in chilly, windy Iceland. It was hot and we learned Icelandic people just open the window to let in some air (like your Grandmothers old apartment buildings!). The cold water is delicious! The hot water (everywhere) does have a sulphuric smell but you enjoy that it stays hot through your long shower! I would recommend this apartment.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quaint, Great location

  • 4 of 5

Adorable, clean apartment right within walking distance of the city center. Berta was a pleasure to rent from, she answered any questions I had promptly and pleasantly. Free parking behind the building was an added bonus, as it is very tough to find a space if you rent a car! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive review. Such a pleasure to have guests who are enjoying them self. It makes us so greatful and wanting to improve for the future.always welcome back
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice location but BEWARE OF OWNER!

  • 1 of 5


1. Nice location in downtown Reykjavik

3. The apartment itself is fairly easy to find off of the main street.


1. The "bed" as called in the property description is more like foam pads lying on a floor with a wooden bed frame around them. Uncomfortable does not begin to describe it.

2. The water is extremely unpredictable. You will have moments in the shower that the water will unexpectedly change from comfortable to boiling hot. I literally got first degree burns from the water. So when you shower, be prepared to have to jump out of the tub at a moment's notice.

3. The shower handles get hot like a pan on the stove. You actually have to use a towel or pot holder to turn the hot water faucet off because it will burn your hand. I had a blister on my finger from this mistake.

4. The information the owner gave us was outdated which caused stress and confusion. Anyone who travels abroad can understand something as simple as planning on having a local phone or access to internet is critical in getting around and making your stay a pleasant one. The owner had apparently upgraded the internet which is great, but didn't tell us and didn't give us any indication of this in the actual apartment. No problem because we can just call her from the local phone, right? Wrong! There is no local phone. She got rid of it and again didn't tell us.

4. There is apparently free parking "around back" according to the owner. This free parking is down a dark alley which is nearly impossible to find. It took us 2 days and a parking ticket before we finally found the parking she was referring to. Also, beware because it does get full and then you are SOL. And good luck figuring out any of the parking meters unless you speak Icelandic.

5. 3 of the 5 nights we were there, random people were trying to get into our apartment at late hours of the evening (turning the door handle, peaking in the windows, squatting in front of the door, banging on the door, yelling at the door, etc.). I’m not sure if the owner double booked the apartment or what, but it made for lousy sleeping and a stressful stay! We emailed the owner about this and she just sort of blew us off.

6. Front of the apartment (including the bedroom) are all windows facing the sidewalk/street from your waist up. So if you feel like a little privacy, I wouldn’t recommend this place.

7. BEWARE OF OWNER!! The owner likes to give negative reviews to renters without any explanation.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Joseph, You are the only guest I have given a negative review in 14 years of hosting. It's sad when people can not be correct and have the need to be nasty, tells a lot about you. You warned me that you would give me a bad review because I gave you one. We will not be part of your personal war. You should know why you got a bad review. If you read your email you got before you arrived I explain about the new wifi, instructions are inside the flat, the first thing my guests see. No one has ever had a problem finding the parking space, it's straight behind our building, how complicated can that be? Also you can find a drawn map in the flat where to find the bins, and parking. People love and appreciate this location, the flat and our effort in offering everything you might need.. We are grateful for all our lovely guests we have hosted for 14 years and the great reviews we get. My best wishes.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Spacious, well located, comfortable stay in Reykjavik

  • 5 of 5

I loved this roomy and comfortable apartment in Reykjavik. It is well located at the near beginning of Laugavegur, i.e. Where you want to start walking on Reykjavik's main street.

Easy parking behind the building.

24/7 market across the road.

Lovely Thai restaurant directly across the street.

Tv channels are few but internet connection is excellent.

I didn't use the laundry facility but apparently there is access to one.

Check out the lovely store on Snorrabraut called AFF Concept Store.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay and your positive review. Always a pleasure to hear our guest are happy. Thank you for being the perfect guest. Welcome again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh, NC

Good for the price

  • 4 of 5

Because of the lower price for the area and for Reykjavik, in general, I will give this property a 4-star. If it cost more, I would have given it a 3-star.

The location was great. It is right at the edge of downtown, so less pedestrian traffic, but still very close. You can see the bus stop from the front door. The property's front door opens up right onto the street, which is a trade-off between convenience and a little more noise. This means that you can hear people walking by and the buses. We didn't mind it that much, but it might be a problem if you have more difficulty sleeping. The fact that it is right on the street also means that the windows are are a type of foggy material that makes it so people can't see in. Also, only one window opens, and it is in the bedroom, which prevented some air circulation. We found the apartment quite warm because of this, so Berta brought us a fan, which was so kind of her. With the fan, it was much more comfortable.

I am very concerned about cleanliness. The major things were very clean - linens and the toilet. But, I did think that the apartment could have used a deeper cleaning before out arrival - the cabinets in the bathroom had residue on them, the counters had some sauce on them, the coffee table needed to be wiped down, the wall adjacent to the stove had a lot of food stains, the top of the range head had a lot of dust, and dust bunnies. The good thing is that the cleaning supplies were there, so I was able to take care of this. I voiced this concern to Berta, and she was very concerned, so I'm guessing that this will be attended to in the future.

One major disappointment was that the internet did not work while we were there. This was a bummer and inconvenience for us, as we brought our computer so we could look up tour and city information and also watch some netflix at night to unwind. Berta said she was fixing this, unfortunately it didn't get fixed during our time. We were bummed because we thought this would be included in the price we paid.

A couple of other notes: There was no red chair like in the pictures. There were only 2 bath towels and 2 hand towels and one kitchen towel provided, which was a bit of stretch for a week. The laundry is through a different door in the building and in the basement with other properties' washer and dryers, and we didn't see any dryer designated to our property (even though the property description says washer and dryer), so we didn't do wash.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay and for giving us 4 stars. People love our location and we have not got any complains about noise though we are set next to the main street. We do have a special double glazing with noise reduction in all of our windows. You can open 3 windows in our flat, I am sorry to hear that you could only find one window to open. I was a little surprised to hear about the heat, first time we have had that complain. We take pride in offering well cleaned accommodation, in 97% cases we get it right. I am sorry you were unsatisfied. I looked at the stain you mention, it did not go away with cleaning product, it needed painting. We do offer WiFi fiber optic unlimited download, we offer the highest speed we can have in Iceland. I am sorry it was not working for you. We love making our guests happy, we do everything we can to make the stay comfortable but we are not cable of offering 5 star service for our low budget prices. We are grateful for all the gratitude and good reviews we receive from our guests and we will continue to progress and do better in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
42 Kilometres
Keflavik airport 40 min. away
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
Nearest Golf
6 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
3 Metres
Ban Thai, Yummy Yummy Thai food, Hlemmur Suare
Nearest Ski
50 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
15 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

This cosy,clean and well maintained apartment is located on the main road in Reykjavik 'Laugavegur' but on the quieter end. Away from the noise from the night-life, still situated in the heart of Reykjavík with easy access to all the attractions of the city centre. The closest supermarket you can view from your entrance door open 24/7 Few minutes walking and you have all the main restaurants, a wonderful warm outdoor swimming pools with hot tubs and steam baths, the national theatre, cinemas, museums and tourist information. Easy, free parking if you want to rent a car.

Comparing price on accommodation in Reykjavik : our unit's are over 50 msq. price for one week in high season, for up to 4 people is around 910€ . Price in a 3 star hotel only few m away your pay over 1.800€ for double June

Stands Out

What makes Iceland stand out as a venue is its unique natural beauty and absence of pollution. Dramatic volcano and glacier scenery-and conversely, action packed incentives are there waiting to be enjoyed by visitors. Reykjavík, the capital city is next door to nature. Iceland is only about a 3-hour flight from most European cities and 5 hours from the North American.

Other Activities: Family Park in Laugardalur is just 10 min. walk

Golf: Iceland not entirely white, it’s greener than you think.

People always say those Vikings were pulling a fast one when they called us Iceland and not Greenland but now we have even greater reason than ever to be called Green Iceland! Over 70% of our total energy consumption is from hydro- and geothermal sources and Reykjavik was the site for the world’s first commercial hydrogen refuelling station, opened in 2003.

Continually looking for the next big thing, we are extending Iceland’s green credentials from land to water, with Reykjavik whale-watching company - ‘Elding – adventure at sea’ unveiling the first commercial vessel to trial the use of hydrogen in April. Shame it isn’t helium, we could have had some macho sailors with high- pitched voices.

Ski: Hiking n Iceland

The Hengill/Nesjavellir area in South Iceland is an outdoor sports paradise, with a variety of 160 km of marked and challenging hiking and biking trails in a region of high-temperature geothermal areas, hot springs, volcanic craters, lava fields, rivers and lakes. Besides hiking and mountain biking, you can also go fishing on Lake Þingvallavatn (Iceland's largest lake), visit Þingvellir National Park, tour the Hengill geothermal power plant and go horseback riding


You might like these similar properties