Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Casa Isabella: 2BR Jungle Home Near The Famous Dominical On The Pacific Coast

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Casa Isabella: 2BR Jungle Home Near The Famous Dominical On The Pacific Coast

This is a centrally located home, affording you complete privacy in the Southern Zone of C.R. with fruit stands within walking distance, although, depending on the time of year, you can pick your own on the property. Supermarkets, restaurants, gift shops, swimming/surfing on the Pacific Coastline, ATM Is south on pacific coast hwy in Uvita.

Very close by is hiking or horseback riding to Nauyaca Waterfalls. The Nauyaca office is within walking distance from the house. In Dominical, which is a 15 - 20 minute drive away, is an Information Center that can direct you to any adventure in which you might be interested It is a 40-45 minute drive to Manuel Antonio, with many restaurants, swimming and it's famous National Park. The house is situated on 10-11 acres of land. In the back of the house is the valley and the jungle at its finest. 5 a.m is 'the time' to see animals: armadillos, capuchin monkeys, pizote (coati), wild pigs and others. One cannot guarantee you seeing these animals but when you do it will be the thrill of your life. I know it has been mine. You will also hear Howler monkeys every morning. Juan is our gardener and only speaks Spanish ebut definitely makes himself understood. Hand gestures are a great thing! Miriam is his wife and she is the manager of the property. She does speak English and will attend to your needs and answer any questions that might come up. The house is surrounded by a tiled patio with hammocks and a breakfast nook. There are many species of birds around the house, including Toucans. There are also oropendolas which are beautiful birds and make the funniest and strangest sounds. They are usually seen and heard early evening and the Toucans are around in both the mornings and evenings. The front of the house offers you mountain views and at 4:40 to 5:30 there is a flock of white birds that fly by religiously. The breakfast nook faces the butterfly garden and watching the hummingbirds in the mornings is also delightful.

Details about the house: the 2 bedrooms each have a double size bed with night stands with reading lamps on each side, a leather rocking chair in each. There are no closets but there are shelves and attached areas in which to hang your clothes. The larger bedroom has an open bamboo armoire for clothing and a sliding door that gives one access to the front patio. There is bamboo shelving in the bathroom for all of your toiletries and there is both a shower and bathtub. The kitchen has a full sized refrigerator and stove/oven. There is a toaster, a coffeemaker and a blender. All dishes and pots and pans, eating and cooking utensils are provided. The kitchen also has a washing machine and dryer for your use but they are getting old and will soon need to be replaced. But they are still usable. The living room has 2 sets of sliding doors leading out to the front and side patios. Internet/wireless are available. Housekeeping services are not included but if you wish someone to clean Miriam can arrange that for you. The cost will be $35 in cash.

With all this wonderfulness, I am obliged to let you know that there is one downside. The main road cannot be seen from the house and as I said previously there is total privacy but the noise from trucks can heard. Some guests are concerned and others are not. For those concerned I have suggested bringing earplugs so that your sleep is not disturbed.

More Details

Alice Spears /owner
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 5, 2017


Platanillo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Books
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Good! 3.8/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

16% Complete
66% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Casa Isabella: 2BR Jungle Home Near The Famous Dominical On The Pacific Coast
average rating of 3.8333333 based on 6 reviews

Very well, 7 out of 10

  • 4 of 5

The house is beautiful, and the location is perfect. It is well within the mountain, very private. No one close to bother or disturb.

With this properly adressed, I have a few comments:

1. Hot water is pretty shady. We could never achieve the right water temperature, it was always either extremely hot or extremely cold.

2. Communication with the owner was none. As long as we stayed, even when we experienced some problems with the electrical system, the owner never made any attempt to contact us. It was all through Miriam, an extremely nice lady who lives nearby the house.

Although she is the one responsible of dealing with guests, I personally find the lack of interest of the owner a little bit dissapointing.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your input. I take what you say seriously. I apologize for my delay in this response. I continue to learn how VRBO works. I live in NYC and Miriam kept me aware of all that was going on, as she always does. The problem with the water was a brand new issue and has since been remedied. If you look at my website, I clearly state that Miriam is everyone's contact while in Casa Isabella and everything is referred to her. This is her job. I will consider adding to the website: if a guest wishes to speak with me, she can be told and she can set it up. You and I had significant and long communications through VRBO prior to your arrival. Actually, I thought it was pretty wonderful. To say that I am disinterested is so very far from the truth. Given our many dialogues, I was a bit shocked by your comment. I am sorry that you went through this unpleasantness. Alicia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Costa Rica - Our surf holiday

  • 4 of 5

We felt we were in a traditional and rustic accommodation. The location was fantastic for surfing being a short drive from the beach. The gardens and noise of the jungle was something we will never forget.

This accommodation is definitely value for money. Discovered the comfort of hammocks during our stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Not a bad choice, but not nearly as enchanting as the overview makes it seem

  • 2 of 5

My family and I had an extended stay in Costa Rica, and stayed at Casa Isabella for a week and a half at the end of our trip. The layout of this house was perfect-we really loved the wraparound terrace and the open feel of the house with the all of the glass sliding doors and windows. The terrace was a great place to relax, have meals and enjoy the garden and beautiful view.

However, I did feel that the overview of Casa Isabella makes it sound much more enchanting then it really is. First of all, we were disappointed to find that the garnder is not available to do tours of the property as advertised. This was a bummer because we were traveling with an avid gardener and on of the reasons I was drawn to this house. Also, the ammenities of the house were sparse and dismal. The dishes were remnants-missmatched plastic odds and ends and the bath towels smelt like mold and were tattered; the utensils and applianced were also sparse and there weren't any hand or dish towels to be found.

I wouldn't describe the house as dirty, but it was dusty and was in dire need of a deep cleaning. The floors and surfaces were dusty; around the stove there were grease stains and the cabinets felt sticky. Also, there were other people's possessions laying around, which made it really hard to feel comfortable in the space.

Overall, I wouldn't advise against staying at Casa Isabella-it still is a good value but I do think that a few minor changes would yield a much better experience for visitors.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so disturbed, shocked, mortified and appalled by this review. I am so sorry that you had to experience this. I am also very appreciative that you wrote this review because I would never have known about the condition of the house. This description of the house must have evolved over time and unfortunately, we were not informed. That in itself is disturbing to us. The people that I have hired are implicitly trusted. I am a long distance homeowner and I am retired. I do not operate like this and I do not live like this. I spoke with the manager and all complaints and concerns were seriously and immediately addressed and rectified. I know this to be true because I spoke with the current guests. Thank God I received your information before they arrived. Thank you. And again, I am sincerely sorry. Alicia P.S. I would, lastly add, that prior to your stay you requested additional days and, as is required, you never paid "prior to your arrival". I have been honest in my responses to you. I will also be honest now and say that your decision not to pay for additional days, speaks clearly to your character. That is sad, as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Harrow, ON

Quaint Jungle House

  • 5 of 5

What a fabulous time we had at Casa Isabella. Great communication with the owners. The house is close to all the popular beaches and a few secret locations if you can find them. Everyone is friendly and the area is completely safe for families. Hoping to return soon!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Harrow, ON

Quaint Jungle House

  • 4 of 5

We just spent 11 days in this house and had an incredible time. Short drive to several beaches and beautiful, but winding, roads through the mountains. One suggestion is bring a DSL converter for you computers to access the free wifi. Great restaurants are close and everyone we met were extremely friendly. Safe and great place to stay. We would definitely revisit this location.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Scott. It was fun communicating with you. I am delighted that you had a great time. Particularly because it was your honeymoon. By the way, the problem with the wi-fi was fixed. :o) The very best to the both of you.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Petit paradis

  • 4 of 5

Belle petite maison avec tout le confort nécessaire, bel extérieur, idéalement située pour visiter les alentours!!!

Le seul problème est le bruit de la circulation.

On remercie Alicia la propriétaire pour sa gentillesse

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Car: recommended

There is the Information Center in the town of Dominical.

They can essentially supply you with information about events in the area and activities in which you may be interested in doing. They also have local bus information, taxi info, restaurants, different beaches, gift shops, car rentals, where to rent bikes, scuba diving and snorkeling equipment, horseback riding, deep sea fishing, etc. Ventana beach is one of my favorites for swimming, as is Nauyaca Waterfalls for swimming, horseback riding and hiking.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $35

Maximum # of guests is 4. We consider 2 people renting the house to be the original guests. Any additional people above these two will be considered additional guests and it will cost $10/night/additional guest. Casa Isabella comfortably accommodates four, in terms of beds and rooms, but because water is sparce in C.R. and the cost of all other utilities being used by more then two, we have no choice but to state prices as above. Bring sleeping bags if there are more than 4 people staying. Any questions please feel free to contact us.
You will also notice that there is no definitive price for monthly rentals. This will be negotiable.

Low season from April 3 to November 30th. Price per night/$80; minimum nights-3

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.