check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Casa Isabella: 2BR Jungle Home Near The Famous Dominical On The Pacific Coast

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Casa Isabella: 2BR Jungle Home Near The Famous Dominical On The Pacific Coast

This is a centrally located home, affording you complete privacy in the Southern Zone of C.R. with fruit stands within walking distance, although, depending on the time of year, you can pick your own on the property. Supermarkets, restaurants, gift shops, swimming/surfing on the Pacific Coastline, Banco de C.R. with an ATM all within a 15 -20 minute drive. Very close by is hiking or horseback riding to Nauyaca Waterfalls. Their office is within walking distance from the house. In Dominical, which is a 15 - 20 minute drive away, is an Information Center that can direct you to any adventure in which you might be interested It is a 40-45 minute drive to Manuel Antonio, with many restaurants, swimming and it's famous National Park. The house is situated on 10-11 acres of land. In the back of the house is the valley and the jungle at its finest. Juan is the gardener and he has created trails through which one can hike. He will take you out at 5 a.m. and guide you if you so choose. He knows the land and the animals like the back of his hand. 5 a.m is 'the time' to see animals: armadillos, capuchine monkeys, pizote (coati), wild pigs and others. One cannot guarantee you seeing these animals but when you do it will be the thrill of your life. I know it has been mine. You will also hear Howler monkeys every morning. Juan only speaks Spanish but definitely makes himself understood. Hand gestures are a great thing! If Juan does take you out, a tip would be much appreciated. Miriam is his wife and she is the manager of the property. She does speak English and will attend to your needs and answer any questions that might come up. The house is surrounded by a tiled patio with hammocks and a breakfast nook. There are many species of birds around the house, including Toucans. There are also oropendolas which are beautiful and make the funniest and strangest sounds. They are usually seen and heard early evening and the Toucans are around in both the mornings and evenings. The front of the house offers you mountain views and at 4:40 to 5:30 there is a flock of white birds that fly by religiously. The breakfast nook faces the butterfly garden and watching the hummingbirds in the mornings is also delightful.

Details about the house: the 2 bedrooms each have a double size bed with night stands with reading lamps on each side, a leather rocking chair in each. There are no closets but there are shelves and attached areas in which to hang your clothes. The larger bedroom has an open bamboo armoire for clothing and a sliding door that gives one access to the front patio. There is bamboo shelving in the bathroom for all of your toiletries and there is both a shower and bathtub. The kitchen has a full sized refrigerator and stove/oven. There is a toaster, a coffeemaker and a blender. All dishes and pots and pans, eating and cooking utensils are provided. The kitchen also has a washing machine and dryer for your use. The living room has 2 sets of sliding doors leading out to the front and side patios. There is a landline telephone, and internet/wireless is available. Housekeeping services are not included but if you wish someone to clean Miriam can arrange that for you. The cost will be $35 in cash.

More Details

Owner
Alice Spears /owner
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 13, 2016

Reviews

3.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Casa Isabella: 2BR Jungle Home Near The Famous Dominical On The Pacific Coast
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews
4

Very well, 7 out of 10

  • 4 of 5

The house is beautiful, and the location is perfect. It is well within the mountain, very private. No one close to bother or disturb.

With this properly adressed, I have a few comments:

1. Hot water is pretty shady. We could never achieve the right water temperature, it was always either extremely hot or extremely cold.

2. Communication with the owner was none. As long as we stayed, even when we experienced some problems with the electrical system, the owner never made any attempt to contact us. It was all through Miriam, an extremely nice lady who lives nearby the house.

Although she is the one responsible of dealing with guests, I personally find the lack of interest of the owner a little bit dissapointing.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Costa Rica - Our surf holiday

  • 4 of 5

We felt we were in a traditional and rustic accommodation. The location was fantastic for surfing being a short drive from the beach. The gardens and noise of the jungle was something we will never forget.

This accommodation is definitely value for money. Discovered the comfort of hammocks during our stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Not a bad choice, but not nearly as enchanting as the overview makes it seem

  • 2 of 5

My family and I had an extended stay in Costa Rica, and stayed at Casa Isabella for a week and a half at the end of our trip. The layout of this house was perfect-we really loved the wraparound terrace and the open feel of the house with the all of the glass sliding doors and windows. The terrace was a great place to relax, have meals and enjoy the garden and beautiful view.

However, I did feel that the overview of Casa Isabella makes it sound much more enchanting then it really is. First of all, we were disappointed to find that the garnder is not available to do tours of the property as advertised. This was a bummer because we were traveling with an avid gardener and on of the reasons I was drawn to this house. Also, the ammenities of the house were sparse and dismal. The dishes were remnants-missmatched plastic odds and ends and the bath towels smelt like mold and were tattered; the utensils and applianced were also sparse and there weren't any hand or dish towels to be found.

I wouldn't describe the house as dirty, but it was dusty and was in dire need of a deep cleaning. The floors and surfaces were dusty; around the stove there were grease stains and the cabinets felt sticky. Also, there were other people's possessions laying around, which made it really hard to feel comfortable in the space.

Overall, I wouldn't advise against staying at Casa Isabella-it still is a good value but I do think that a few minor changes would yield a much better experience for visitors.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so disturbed, shocked, mortified and appalled by this review. I am so sorry that you had to experience this. I am also very appreciate that you wrote this review because I would never have known about the condition of the house. This description of the house must have evolved over time and unfortunately, we were not informed. That in itself is disturbing to us. The people that I have hired I implicitly trusted. I am a long distance homeowner and I am retired. I do not operate like this and I do not live like this. I spoke with the manager and all complaints and concerns were seriously and immediately addressed and rectified. I know this to be true because I spoke with the current guests. Thank God I received your information before they arrived. Thank you. And again, I am sincerely sorry. Alicia P.S. I would, lastly add, that prior to your stay you requested additional days and, as is required, you never paid "prior to your arrival". I have been honest in my responses to you. I will also be honest now and say that your decision not to pay for additional days, speaks clearly to your character. That is sad, as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Harrow, ON
5

Quaint Jungle House

  • 5 of 5

What a fabulous time we had at Casa Isabella. Great communication with the owners. The house is close to all the popular beaches and a few secret locations if you can find them. Everyone is friendly and the area is completely safe for families. Hoping to return soon!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Harrow, ON
4

Quaint Jungle House

  • 4 of 5

We just spent 11 days in this house and had an incredible time. Short drive to several beaches and beautiful, but winding, roads through the mountains. One suggestion is bring a DSL converter for you computers to access the free wifi. Great restaurants are close and everyone we met were extremely friendly. Safe and great place to stay. We would definitely revisit this location.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Scott. It was fun communicating with you. I am delighted that you had a great time. Particularly because it was your honeymoon. By the way, the problem with the wi-fi was fixed. :o) The very best to the both of you.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Map

Car: recommended

There is the Information Center in the town of Dominical.

They can essentially supply you with information about events in the area and activities in which you may be interested in doing. They also have local bus information, taxi info, restaurants, different beaches, gift shops, car rentals, where to rent bikes, scuba diving and snorkeling equipment, horseback riding, deep sea fishing, etc. Ventana beach is one of my favorites for swimming, as is Nauyaca Waterfalls for swimming, horseback riding and hiking.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dominical House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$100
$650
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $35

Maximum # of guests is 2. Additional guests are $10/guest per night. Bring sleeping bags for additional guests.
You will also notice that there is no definitive price for monthly rentals. This will be negotiable.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Dominical House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties