Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

OceanFront Condo! 2 BDR / 2 BA Affordable Indulgence!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 972 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 2 Bath oceanfront affordable luxury condo!

2 Bedroom, 2 Bath oceanfront affordable luxury condo!

Kanai A Nalu Unit #319

The view from the lanai is stunning, sunrises are amazing, the sound of the surf is soothing, and the beach, just steps away, is perfect for swimming, snorkeling, playing, long walks (4-5 miles to Sugar Beach if you like), and treasure hunting (seashells).

We also own units 419 (VRBO#602491) and 402 (VRBO#428018) should you need additional accommodations or if 319 is not available for your dates.

This condo (Kanai A Nalu Unit #319) comes with all the comforts of home inside - air conditioning, full kitchen (refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, oven, microwave),coffee maker, toaster, blender, dishes/utensils/pots/pans, washer/dryer, hairdryers, cable TV, sound system, and more! The master bed/bath includes a king bed and bathroom with shower. The guest bed/bath includes twin beds that convert to a king and a bathroom with a tub/shower combo.

The grounds around the complex include a community pool, gas and briquette grills, ample parking, elevators. Within walking distance are restaurants, shopping, marina, miniature golf, and groceries. Centrally located on the island many attractions are 15 to 30 minutes away by car.

The overall feel of the condo, the complex, and the general area of Maalaea Bay is laid back, friendly, and comfortable - just what a perfect vacation should be!

Tax ID# 183-770-9312-01

More Details

Owner
Jim Walters
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 13, 2018

About Jim Walters

Love visiting Maui, striving to be best in class for condo rentals - also part owners of unit 402 - Washingtonians ~ a Cougar and a Husky ~ love our teams!

Jim Walters purchased this condo in 2014

Why Jim Walters chose Wailuku

We LOVE this property! Oceanfront is spectacular, but it is the long beach walks that we most enjoy! We also own 2 other units at Kanai A Nalu (419 & 402) - let us know if you need additional options.

What makes this condo unique

Oceanfront, beach steps away, whale watching in season is incredible, comfort, comfort, comfort!

Amenities

Wailuku Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 972 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , King bed easily converts to Twins if necessary
  • Both bedrooms are suite style with adjoining bathrooms
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
OceanFront Condo! 2 BDR / 2 BA Affordable Indulgence!
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
Lake Ozark, MO
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in #319, at Kanai a Nalu, March 16-April 12, 2018. The Condo was nicely decorated, the furniture and beds were comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed. WIFI and TV worked well. The view from the lanai was spectacular. The pool area and barbecue was well set-up, and very enjoyable too. Dealing with owners was easy and pleasant. Saw whales, enjoyed being close to the harbor, and location is convenient to everything on Maui. Loved the keyless entry. Couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Indianapolis, IN
5

Many small details that added up to make our stay memorable

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at Kanai a Nalu several times previously although this was the first time in this particular unit. The owners did a wonderful job of renovation and updating and in the process added many little nice touches that helped make this our favorite unit of the three that we have stayed in over the past 3 years. While most units have ceiling fans, this one had five (BR1, BR2, Living area, and both bathrooms. Plus there were two floor fans and two more table top fans. The AC unit looked brand new, but we never got a chance to use it since the weather was "cool" and breezy (did we mention that fans?) Watching whales on the lanai was one of our favorite things to do. The washer and dryer were large capacity which meant that we did not have to wash as many loads as with smaller units. While we did have some initial confusion about the electronic locks it all got sorted out and the liberation from not having to carry a key around with us every time that we left the condo was in itself a big addition to the "relaxation factor". The super easy access to the beach from this complex is another positive feature as there is an uninterrupted beach walk for over 3 miles and it could go further if one just goes around the stone jetty and keeps going toward Kihei. But the 3 mile mark gets one to the Sugar Beach Bake Shop with its wonderful freshly made malasadas. For a real treat, order filled malasadas; but, they have to be ordered the day before you pick them up. The condo has another nice feature regarding the second bedroom. Many units in this complex have an open walkway from BR2 to the second bath, which can be awkward for two couples; however, this unit has a pair of doors that can be closed for extra privacy when walking from BR2 to the bath (a nice touch). This unit also has plenty of bath and beach towels, beach chairs and a few additional beach items. The kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans, silverware, cooking utensils, dishes, cups and glasses and miscellaneous appliances. We had good experience with the unit's WiFi and there are two large flat screen TVs with an On Demand feature that allowed us to keep up with some "critical" TV shows that we missed in the evenings. Finally, for those that haven't stayed in the Maalaea area previously, this is a quiet, and less expensive area of Maui situated about half way between Lahaina/Kaanapali and Wailea with easy access to Kihei and Kahului.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many Thanks for your kind remarks about the condo, additional information about the area, and helpful hints for other guests. We are glad to hear you enjoyed Kanai as much as we do. We hope you get to visit again soon! Aloha~ The Walters'
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ideal condo, ideal location, packed with anything you might need.

  • 5 of 5

This condo is incredible. It is a perfect centrally located location so you can get anywhere on the island easily. The best part is that your balcony is very close to the ocean. Listen and watch the waves anytime from the balcony. The condo was beautifully decorated and amazing items that show no detail was overlooked. The condo has everything you need for a very relaxing stay, even a few boogie boards. This was my first trip to Maui but I can't wait to return and will stay here if it is available. The condo was very clean and picking up/dropping off the key was easy. The owners will email you with detailed instructions on how to get to the condo and how to get the key. Very well organized. These owners have thought of everything, it is impressive. You will not be disappointed in this rental.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great view and location!

  • 4 of 5

We had a fantastic time in Maui. The condo was in a perfect location to go on short excursions to the various beaches for the day. The view from the condo was prime; listening to the waves every night was relaxing. Thank you for sharing your condo with our family.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tacoma, WA
4

The view can't be beat!

  • 4 of 5

I've been staying at the Kanai for nearly 40 years. Every unit has the same floor plan. Some have been updated, some are pretty close to the original design. The biggest disappointment to this stay was the lack of beach access. The retaining wall has taken quite a beating, and there were tons of rocks all along the front including at the stairs to get to the beach. You could access the beach from the property next door. I really appreciated the lack of clutter, and helpful notes posted thru out the condo. I stayed in the second bedroom. The wicker dresser and nightstand had a really strong musty almost moldy smell to them. Humidity will do that to wicker furniture, but this was especially bad. The screen door lock was often challenging, and the oven door handle was very loose. Easy fixes though. The views are amazing, and because you are so close to the water when you sat in the living room, it felt as though you were on the water. This is the first trip where there were so many sea turtles out front. I guess they were an advantage to the rocks, as I believe they feed off of the algae on them. The pool has been retiled since we were there 3 years ago. I always enjoy the plentiful chaise lounges and how nicely the grounds are kept. The location is ideal as you aren't far from Kihei or Lahaina. It's worth getting up early to see the sunrise!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for submitting your review and for your comments. We really do appreciate all comments good or bad. That is the only way we can continue to offer a home away from home setting for all of our guests. We agree that the view is simply spectacular! We were just at our unit a couple of weeks before your stay. We experienced the rocks on the beach first hand. Unfortunately Maui had a couple of big winter storms with some big Kona winds. Those winds took 3 feet or more of sand from the beach straight out to the ocean. The good news is the Trade Winds are back. We have some friends staying there now and they say the beach is back to normal. Hopefully it stays that way for many years (until the next big storms). I am sorry to hear about the musty smell from the nightstand. It wasn't like that when we were there a few weeks ago. My guess is the guest before you must have been putting wet/damp swim suits or towels in the drawer. We will be back again in 4 weeks and we will take care of it if there is still a issue when we arrive. We have alerted our house cleaners to this issue to see if it is something they can fix. Again many thanks for your review and feedback. I will also check into the screen door lock and oven handle. Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Quiet and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

The Kanai A Nalu condo was perfect for our family of 4. The views from the lanai are spectacular, with no intense sun glare as the unit is south facing. We enjoyed the pool, the BBQs, walks on the beach, and the kids could play in the ocean and body board in close proximity. We never used the AC, as the breezes kept the condo at a nice temperature. Falling asleep to the sound of the waves each night was definitely a highlight. The close proximity of the harbor is convenient for boat tours, and there are a few restaurants in walking distance. The central location means you aren't too far from any part of the island by car. The owners were great with communication and always responded quickly to emails/voicemails. We are already trying to plan our next trip!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Kahului
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Beachbums
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Maalaea Bay Harbor
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Mauna Lani
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Beachbums, Oceanside, Cafe del Vino, General Store
Nearest Beach
Maalaea Bay
Car: recommended

Within 15 minutes of picking up your luggage you can be settling into your vacation at 319 Kanai A Nalu. Conveniently located yet peaceful and quiet there is much to do within walking distance - the aquarium, Buzz's Wharf for all ocean excurions, shopping and great restaurants. Other great experiences are also a close drive away - 3-golf courses within 10 minutes; 15 minutes to Kahului; 10 minutes to Kihei and another 5 to Wailea; 20 minutes to Lahaina and 30 minutes to Ka'anapali. Bus service is a 5 minute walk to Malaaea Bay Harbor and costs as low as $2 all day.

Driving Directions to Kanai A Nalu 319:

1. Head directly out from the airport. You'll be on Dairy Road.

2. Dairy Road becomes Hwy 380. Continue west about 8 miles until it ends.

3. Turn left on Hwy 30, called Honopiilani Hwy.

4. About a mile later, bear left at the green highway sign for Ma’alaea Village. You'll be on Ma’alaea Rd.

◦ Alternate route: if you miss the turn (or prefer to turn at a traffic signal), continue on Hwy 30 about 1/2 mile further. At the traffic light, turn left (Kapoli St). Then right onto Ma’alaea Road.

5. Turn left onto Hauoli Street (it says 'Rd' on the attached map).

6. Continue 1/2 a mile to 250 Hauoli St. It's just after the 3rd speed bump.

7. When you see the 'Kanai A Nalu' sign (white letters on a blue background), turn into the driveway and turn left then right following the parking lot to the other side of the complex.

8. Unit #319 is in the building now straight ahead (opposite side as driveway entrance, same side as driveway exit) – closest to the ocean, with steps on the left. The southeast elevator is near the back (street side) of the complex, just to the right of the ground floor unit #113 and through the breezeway. The luggage cart and/or grocery baskets should be waiting there for ease of transporting luggage and groceries to the upper floors.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Departure Cleaning $145

All payments will run through the VRBO/HomeAway website via credit card. Follow the website booking and payment instructions.
Deposits/Cancellations:
A deposit is required upon booking which includes the service fee, tax on the rental rate @ 14.42%, and 50% of the rental rate and cleaning. 30 days prior to arrival, final payment for the remaining balance which includes 50% of the rental rate and cleaning is due.
Cancellations may be made up until 60 days prior to your arrival for 100% refund. Cancellations made under 60 days of arrival will be non-refundable.
Booking Rules:
A credit card is required to guarantee a reservation. As renters, you are responsible for any damages caused by you or your guests to the unit, items within the unit, and adjacent common areas.
Supplies:
Your unit is supplied with a starter kit which includes laundry detergent, dish washer liquid, dish soap, trash bags, paper towels, tissue paper, and toilet tissue. You will need to replace them as you need them throughout your stay. Your unit is also equipped with sufficient bath towels, beach towels, hand towels, dish towels and wash cloths. Please utilize laundry facilities or the washer/dryer within your unit, to wash them as you need them.
Check In/Out:
Check-In time is after 3:00PM and Check-Out time is before 11:00AM. Late check-outs will only be available at the cost of a full night’s stay, and organized at the time of booking.
All units Non-Smoking:
Any evidence of smoking within the unit or lanai area will result minimum charge of $400. Designated smoking areas are available on property.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties