Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

OceanFront Condo! 2 BDR / 2 BA Affordable Indulgence!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 972 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 2 Bath oceanfront affordable luxury condo!

2 Bedroom, 2 Bath oceanfront affordable luxury condo!

Kanai A Nalu Unit #319

The view from the lanai is stunning, sunrises are amazing, the sound of the surf is soothing, and the beach, just steps away, is perfect for swimming, snorkeling, playing, long walks (4-5 miles to Sugar Beach if you like), and treasure hunting (seashells).

We also own units 419 (VRBO#602491) and 402 (VRBO#428018) should you need additional accommodations or if 319 is not available for your dates.

This condo (Kanai A Nalu Unit #319) comes with all the comforts of home inside - air conditioning, full kitchen (refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, oven, microwave),coffee maker, toaster, blender, dishes/utensils/pots/pans, washer/dryer, hairdryers, cable TV, sound system, and more! The master bed/bath includes a king bed and bathroom with shower. The guest bed/bath includes twin beds that convert to a king and a bathroom with a tub/shower combo.

The grounds around the complex include a community pool, gas and briquette grills, ample parking, elevators. Within walking distance are restaurants, shopping, marina, miniature golf, and groceries. Centrally located on the island many attractions are 15 to 30 minutes away by car.

The overall feel of the condo, the complex, and the general area of Maalaea Bay is laid back, friendly, and comfortable - just what a perfect vacation should be!

Tax ID# 183-770-9312-01

More Details

Owner
Jim Walters
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2017

About Jim Walters

Love visiting Maui, striving to be best in class for condo rentals - also part owners of unit 402 - Washingtonians ~ a Cougar and a Husky ~ love our teams!

Jim Walters purchased this condo in 2014

Why Jim Walters chose Wailuku

We LOVE this property! Oceanfront is spectacular, but it is the long beach walks that we most enjoy! We also own 2 other units at Kanai A Nalu (419 & 402) - let us know if you need additional options.

What makes this condo unique

Oceanfront, beach steps away, whale watching in season is incredible, comfort, comfort, comfort!

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Kahului
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Beachbums
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Maalaea Bay Harbor
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Mauna Lani
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Beachbums, Oceanside, Cafe del Vino, General Store
Nearest Beach
Maalaea Bay
Car: recommended

Within 15 minutes of picking up your luggage you can be settling into your vacation at 319 Kanai A Nalu. Conveniently located yet peaceful and quiet there is much to do within walking distance - the aquarium, Buzz's Wharf for all ocean excurions, shopping and great restaurants. Other great experiences are also a close drive away - 3-golf courses within 10 minutes; 15 minutes to Kahului; 10 minutes to Kihei and another 5 to Wailea; 20 minutes to Lahaina and 30 minutes to Ka'anapali. Bus service is a 5 minute walk to Malaaea Bay Harbor and costs as low as $2 all day.

Driving Directions to Kanai A Nalu 319:

1. Head directly out from the airport. You'll be on Dairy Road.

2. Dairy Road becomes Hwy 380. Continue west about 8 miles until it ends.

3. Turn left on Hwy 30, called Honopiilani Hwy.

4. About a mile later, bear left at the green highway sign for Ma’alaea Village. You'll be on Ma’alaea Rd.

◦ Alternate route: if you miss the turn (or prefer to turn at a traffic signal), continue on Hwy 30 about 1/2 mile further. At the traffic light, turn left (Kapoli St). Then right onto Ma’alaea Road.

5. Turn left onto Hauoli Street (it says 'Rd' on the attached map).

6. Continue 1/2 a mile to 250 Hauoli St. It's just after the 3rd speed bump.

7. When you see the 'Kanai A Nalu' sign (white letters on a blue background), turn into the driveway and turn left then right following the parking lot to the other side of the complex.

8. Unit #319 is in the building now straight ahead (opposite side as driveway entrance, same side as driveway exit) – closest to the ocean, with steps on the left. The southeast elevator is near the back (street side) of the complex, just to the right of the ground floor unit #113 and through the breezeway. The luggage cart and/or grocery baskets should be waiting there for ease of transporting luggage and groceries to the upper floors.

Amenities

Wailuku Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 972 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , King bed easily converts to Twins if necessary
  • Both bedrooms are suite style with adjoining bathrooms
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
OceanFront Condo! 2 BDR / 2 BA Affordable Indulgence!
average rating of 4.75 based on 8 reviews
5

Ideal condo, ideal location, packed with anything you might need.

  • 5 of 5

This condo is incredible. It is a perfect centrally located location so you can get anywhere on the island easily. The best part is that your balcony is very close to the ocean. Listen and watch the waves anytime from the balcony. The condo was beautifully decorated and amazing items that show no detail was overlooked. The condo has everything you need for a very relaxing stay, even a few boogie boards. This was my first trip to Maui but I can't wait to return and will stay here if it is available. The condo was very clean and picking up/dropping off the key was easy. The owners will email you with detailed instructions on how to get to the condo and how to get the key. Very well organized. These owners have thought of everything, it is impressive. You will not be disappointed in this rental.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great view and location!

  • 4 of 5

We had a fantastic time in Maui. The condo was in a perfect location to go on short excursions to the various beaches for the day. The view from the condo was prime; listening to the waves every night was relaxing. Thank you for sharing your condo with our family.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The view can't be beat!

  • 4 of 5

I've been staying at the Kanai for nearly 40 years. Every unit has the same floor plan. Some have been updated, some are pretty close to the original design. The biggest disappointment to this stay was the lack of beach access. The retaining wall has taken quite a beating, and there were tons of rocks all along the front including at the stairs to get to the beach. You could access the beach from the property next door. I really appreciated the lack of clutter, and helpful notes posted thru out the condo. I stayed in the second bedroom. The wicker dresser and nightstand had a really strong musty almost moldy smell to them. Humidity will do that to wicker furniture, but this was especially bad. The screen door lock was often challenging, and the oven door handle was very loose. Easy fixes though. The views are amazing, and because you are so close to the water when you sat in the living room, it felt as though you were on the water. This is the first trip where there were so many sea turtles out front. I guess they were an advantage to the rocks, as I believe they feed off of the algae on them. The pool has been retiled since we were there 3 years ago. I always enjoy the plentiful chaise lounges and how nicely the grounds are kept. The location is ideal as you aren't far from Kihei or Lahaina. It's worth getting up early to see the sunrise!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for submitting your review and for your comments. We really do appreciate all comments good or bad. That is the only way we can continue to offer a home away from home setting for all of our guests. We agree that the view is simply spectacular! We were just at our unit a couple of weeks before your stay. We experienced the rocks on the beach first hand. Unfortunately Maui had a couple of big winter storms with some big Kona winds. Those winds took 3 feet or more of sand from the beach straight out to the ocean. The good news is the Trade Winds are back. We have some friends staying there now and they say the beach is back to normal. Hopefully it stays that way for many years (until the next big storms). I am sorry to hear about the musty smell from the nightstand. It wasn't like that when we were there a few weeks ago. My guess is the guest before you must have been putting wet/damp swim suits or towels in the drawer. We will be back again in 4 weeks and we will take care of it if there is still a issue when we arrive. We have alerted our house cleaners to this issue to see if it is something they can fix. Again many thanks for your review and feedback. I will also check into the screen door lock and oven handle. Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Quiet and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

The Kanai A Nalu condo was perfect for our family of 4. The views from the lanai are spectacular, with no intense sun glare as the unit is south facing. We enjoyed the pool, the BBQs, walks on the beach, and the kids could play in the ocean and body board in close proximity. We never used the AC, as the breezes kept the condo at a nice temperature. Falling asleep to the sound of the waves each night was definitely a highlight. The close proximity of the harbor is convenient for boat tours, and there are a few restaurants in walking distance. The central location means you aren't too far from any part of the island by car. The owners were great with communication and always responded quickly to emails/voicemails. We are already trying to plan our next trip!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Juneau, Alaska
5

Comfortable home base.

  • 5 of 5

The KANAI A NALU condo in Maalaea Bay was a comfortable home base for exploring Maui. The kitchen held everything we needed for preparing meals, and the bedding and towels were of high quality. The location is right on the ocean, and we enjoyed the sound of waves crashing on the sea wall. Just out the door and to the side is one of the longest beaches on the island. You could walk to Kihei if you wanted. Maalaea Bay harbor offers many activities, and we enjoyed a fantastic whale watching trip offered by a small family-run company that also offers fishing trips. There are several choices of good restaurants walking distance from the condo, ranging from the Beach Bum restaurant to the high-end Saltimbocca. If you are looking for a relatively quiet location, away from the hubbub and crush of other tourists, this is a perfect spot. I would highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2015
  • Stayed: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Alberta, Canada
5

Guest Book Comments

  • 5 of 5

"Aloha, Jim & Lindi, We lover the apartment, its views of Molokini, Haleakala, and the jet-lagged sunrise we saw. A great big Mahalo for all the amenities. S, R, D, J

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2015
  • Stayed: January 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Booking $50
Departure Cleaning $145
Tax Rate 14.42%

$200 deposit required at time of reservation (applied to balance of full payment)
Credit Cards accepted/Deposit confirmation sent within 24 hours (weekends excluded)
Rates subject to Hawai'i State Taxes (14.42%)
All bookings incur a $50 service charge plus an additional one time cleaning charge of $145
Full payment required 30 days prior to arrival
Christmas bookings to be paid in full by October

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties