Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Executive Style Apartment in Lovely NE heights home

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 10 nights


About the property

Sunny mother in law quarters - quiet, safe and spacious - dogs welcome

Welcome to my (semi-) basement apartment in a very lovely quiet and safe Northeast Albuquerque neighborhood. This 1700+ sq ft apartment is very spacious & comfortable. There is a private entrance via back gated yard with a small yard. It is very cheerful and bright with many ground-level windows.

When walking in to the apartment, it opens to a large living area & kitchenette. This living combo is one open room for living (sofa &tv) dining a kitchenette. The kitchen area has a dark granite counter top; oven, refrigerator, dishes, new pots and pans, mixing bowls, toaster, microwave and a dishwasher. Yep, the sink is small, it is a bar sink size and can't be changed because the counter top is granite.

The ground level windows makes this basement apt very bright and sunny. All furnishings are cleaned after each guest.

There is a brand new washer and a dryer (full sized washer and small apt sized dryer). There are 2 king size bedrooms, and one bath; there is also a chaise sofa suitable for a child and a full sized futon. But please know there is only one bathroom and it is only accessible though the blue bedroom.

2 walk in closets. Furnished. Very private and good

neighborhood just south of Albuq Academy.


large flat screen TV, and Internet included. There is a place to park one vehicle off the street.

Very private entrance. Children are welcome! Playpen/crib available. Child swing outside. Some pets welcome. Owners live in main house on premises. Chicken on premises, but no rooster! Chickens do cluck, but you can share our fresh eggs!

Find me on Facebook at Casa de Torraco.

Please note: WOLF = yes, MEOW = NO.

More Details

Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, Some American Sign
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 28, 2017

About Lisa

The owners are professional people in Albuquerque & they love the service industry. Lisa will be your hostess as hospitality is a treasured gift of hers and making people feel loved and welcomed is her goal. She has 2 dogs and 2 chickens that have access to the common yard, they are friendly and love visitors. You will enjoy the fresh eggs gifted to you by our hens! Lisa has 2 sons, both in middle school that will help in hospitality. Let Lisa know how her family and can make your stay a pleasant one!

Lisa purchased this house in 2006

Why Lisa chose Albuquerque

Albuquerque has great weather 360 days a year with beautiful blue skies and wonderful food & people! The property entrance is private and safe, and the unit is very spacious with 1600+ sq feet.

What makes this house unique

The first level apartment is fully private from the owners upstairs home. However the owner is close enough to help you with amenities.


Academy Estates East House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Stove ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Music Library ...
  • Television ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Executive Style Apartment in Lovely NE heights home
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews

Very spacious accommodations in a nice location and great host

  • 5 of 5

I booked Lisa's place for an extended stay while in Albuquerque for training. I made the right choice!

Lisa's description of the place was very accurate, I knew exactly what I was getting including the small kitchen sink, owner's dogs, bathroom location etc. Part of my attraction to Casa de Torraco was the homey feeling while reviewing the listing and I wasn’t disappointed. I was able to spend some time with Lisa and her boys, they are a very charming family and always made me feel at home.

Lisa was very easy to work with coordinating the stay. She was quick to respond to my questions and was kind enough to talk a couple times over the phone to help me identify household goods I may want to bring with me.

The apartment overall is very spacious for a two bedroom. The bedrooms are HUGE and it was really great having walk in closets in both bedrooms! As mentioned in other reviews the beds are soft and firm. My preference is a softer bed so I made my room the street facing bedroom (which also has the bathroom attached to it). I did sleep in the firmer bed as well when I had company and was quite comfortable on that also. The one furnishing that was not in the apartment on my arrival that I could really use was a desk (I was in town for training, much of which I would do in the apartment). Upon mentioning that to Lisa she was able to bring one down from her place that she was not using at the time. Problem solved!

She was also very responsive to other suggestions to improve the “livability” for long term guests such as myself (i.e. a hamper and lights in the storage area).

Overall I am extremely pleased with my stay. The apartment was exactly as advertised and Lisa was more than accommodating making my stay comfortable. Casa de Torraco will be my first choice on subsequent visits to Albuquerque!

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very comfortable stay

  • 5 of 5

This has been the best accommodation ever in the city of Albuquerque. Lisa is a wonderful host. She treats you as a family member. The apartment has everything anyone can desire. Very spacious and clean. The kids had a great time away from home. The pool and chickens with fresh chicken eggs were a huge bonus. Lisa provided even a baby high chair for the little one. The location is fantastic. It is a walking distance to two large shopping centers if anyone loves walking. The neighborhood is super friendly and quiet. Lisa is very flexible and easy to work with. I hope we will be back.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lots of space, sweet owners, missing attention to detail

  • 3 of 5

The apartment is spacious. It has some nice decorative features. I really liked the owner and her sons. Great closets.

BUT... Well, the big issue was cockroaches. I was joined in my bed, and there were others.

The lighting in the main bedroom is really bad. I think a basement apartment needs good light. The pots were flaked Teflon which is toxic.

One of the chairs in the bedroom has a broken leg. The sink needs a strainer. The fridge crisper tops were gone, which made it harder to store stuff. It could use some kind of surface area for laptop use. We used the ironing board.

So it could use attention to detail. Some areas were top notch. Others neglected.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Safe Secure Family Friendly Albuquerque Mother-in-law Apt

  • 4 of 5

Lisa was a great host during our 5 weeks here. She was attentive to our needs and quickly responded to any questions or requests. The apt was clean, well furnished when we arrived. The living room and both bedrooms are spacious. We slept in both beds and found we preferred the firmer mattress in the room without the bathroom, but we are not complaining about either one. The water pressure is powerful in the apartment. It took us a couple days to get used to it. The shower has a low flow head, so it isn't so powerful. The stove is a nice GE electric model that has high BTUs. It took us a few tries to understand its settings. The oven works really well. I roasted turkey legs in it with no issues. There are two things about the kitchen that surprised us, but turned out to not be issues. There is no exhaust fan above the stove, but there is a window behind that can be opened. The other surprise was the size of the sink. It's not really a kitchen sink; it's more of a bar(?) sink. Our first reaction was, "Oh. Wow. How can we use this to wash dishes?" Well, it turned out that you can wash dishes, but you have to think about what you're doing with bigger pots and pans. There's a great dishwashing machine if you don't feel like hand washing dishes. We were here for five weeks and didn't have a problem with it.

The bottled water is delicious! There's nothing wrong with the tap water, but after a week or so, we decided we preferred the bottled.

The clothes washing machine was delivered the day before we arrived, and the dryer was delivered a couple days afterward. Honestly though, the air in Albuquerque is so dry that we hung our clothes in the closet overnight and awoke to dry clothes in the morning. How cool is that? Where we live in OR, clothes would get moldy overnight, but not here. LOL!

The wifi was great. We do not watch TV, so I can't comment on hers. It's not hooked up to cable, but there is a disk player and an antenna.

We didn't use the pool, but Lisa offered to let us use it several times. If you get a chance to meet them, her kids and the dogs are very friendly. We felt more like relatives than boarders. :-) The AC really cranks. We usually turned it off by 10 pm.

The entry way is very safe. The entire neighborhood is safe. We took lots of walks after the sunset and never once felt insecure. I'd definitely recommend people stay here.

What else? It's a quiet neighborhood - no loud cars at night.

Thanks for a great stay, Lisa!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This was my first time renting from VRBO and couldn't have picked a better place! The owner was very responsive and provided all you could need for your stay. My family had a fabulous time and I look forward to many more trips in the future. A huge Thank You to Lisa & Family for the accommodations!

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Disappointing rental

  • 2 of 5


Spacious. Bedrooms large, plenty of room to move around

Great location, close to shopping, Starbucks and downtown

Beautiful backyard! Small place to sit outside in garden

Felt safe with rear entry in back of home


Refrigerator with freezer

Dogs friendly, so were the chickens

Wi-Fi worked great once owner reset it


"Red" bedroom window faces backyard. Dogs woke me up at 5 am and chickens at sunrise

"Red" bedroom bed is extremely uncomfortable. If you like rock hard mattress, this one's for you!

Shower terrible, very low water pressure

TV reception spotty, only able to get 3 channels

Kitchen not set up for cooking. No mixing bowls, no microwave, no toaster, no basic spices (not even salt), very odd silverware, spoons either baby size or soup size, electric stove old, burners either blazing hot or completely off

No dryer as promised

NO spare linens. Very disappointing. Both beds had only one thin comforter. Definitely needs linen closet full of blankets, spare sheets, pillows. When I requested a blanket, I got a white stained coverlet.

Carpeting in kitchen, felt dirty and not sanitary

Tiny kitchen sink, difficult to rinse dishes or cutting board

Overall, cannot recommend this rental. While the location is great, the amenities are sup-par

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry you had such a miserable stay. You, on the other hand, were lovely. Hope things pick up for you. Please recall, that you only booked the room for 2 people and you had ample linens. But when you arrived with 5 people I did not turn the extra guests away, nor did I charge you for the extra guests. I scrambled to get extra linens for you, because I only planned for 2 guests not 5. I explained that I did not plan for linens for the extra people, I think its awful of you to now use that against me. Moreover, there was a microwave, mixing bowls, and a toaster. Salt and pepper and chili powder were in the cabinet, along with the coffee, tea, sugar and other basics. The silverware is all matching and of an expensive quality. I believe what you made you bitter is that I had a pink "fight for a cure" ribbon on your door and "fight for a cure" flowers and cups in the home to support your daughter in her fight against breast cancer. I am sorry you were offended by that, but I figured since you told me four or five times that you were in Albuquerque to support your daughters fight against breast cancer that you were open about the cancer. I regret I misread your openness about the cancer. I think you are bitter that I acknowledged your daughter's cancer, but then again, why wouldn't I when you discussed it every time we spoke? Well, a lesson learned for me. I won't go out of my way for anyone in the same manner I did for you. I wish you and your family recovery from the traumatic effects of the cancer. I will pray for you all.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Albuquerque International
Nearest Barpub
0.08 Miles
Horse & Angel
Nearest Golf
1.4 Miles
Arroyo Del Oso Golf (public course)
Nearest Train
7 Miles
Los Ranchos Rail Runner Train Depot
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1.3 Miles
Quarters Steak house
Nearest Ski
7 Miles
Sandia Ski basin
Nearest Beach
770 Miles
San Diego, California
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Academy Estates East House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Balloon Fiesta
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 16 2017
10 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.18%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties