Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Downtown Luxurious B&B

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,680 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bath Modern Home with a large yard seconds from downtown.

Whether you are a tourist, business traveler, outdoor enthusiast or exploring chattanooga with loved ones or friends and family this 3 bedroom 2 bath pet friendly, disabled friendly B&B will be an elegant comfortable home base and retreat for your visit to Chattanooga. The bedrooms are furnished with comfortable furnishings. One bath features a large tub shower combination and the other in suite bathroom has an open stone clad shower with two shower heads. It is a roll in shower with a hand shower and will work for all ages and abilities. Located in the exciting Southside arts and entertainment district, this posh and architecturally stunning home is close to restaurants, bars, parks, mountains, the riverfront and lookout mountain. The property includes off street parking for 4 cars. Perfect for wedding parties, honeymoons, corporate travelers, business meetings, anniversaries, reunions, climbers, bikers and luncheons. This unique property will delight your senses and provide a convenient relaxing stay.

-Sleeps 7 (counting a roll away bed)

-Large Living Space

-Handicapped friendly

-Off Street parking for 4 cars

-Private Lawn and Large Porch- perfect for fun and games

-Storage for your gear

-Breakfast food available for $25 per day for a group of 4.

-Large yard and covered porch that is perfect for games and relaxing

This home was previously the Lay Low Lounge and Southside Beauty Shop. In 2013 Architects Craig Kronenberg and Heidi Hefferlin bought the property and completely renovated the building creating the Lay Low B&B.

The living room features large flat screen TV and sound system. We provide free EPB wifi internet & cable and provide access to Netflix and movies on demand.

We live in the neighborhood and can give you recommendations on neighborhood places to shop, eat explore.

More Details

Property Manager
Devon Kronenberg
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 18, 2017

About Devon Kronenberg

Craig and I are both architects and we live across the street. We love architecture and our neighborhood. Our business, Hefferlin + Kronenberg Architects, is located 5 blocks from the Lay Low. We have designed and built 21 town homes and renovated many buildings in the Southside area. We moved here from Los Angeles California in 1996. We have two sons who live in Chattanooga and the often work with us. We have many artists in the family and their work is featured in the Lay Low. In our free time we enjoy traveling, hiking, horseback riding and hanging out in the Southside.

Devon Kronenberg purchased this house in 2013

Why Devon Kronenberg chose Chattanooga

Beautiful, comfortable, convenient, posh, private, great lawn and place to play

What makes this house unique

Because the home is designed by two architects the enviroment is stunning. Careful thought was given to every detail including a unique kitchen and bathrooms, lots of glass and custom built in furniture built from salvage antique lumber. The building is set back from the street which give privacy and provides a great front yard a place to play badmintton, party with friends and enjoy. Because the house is all on one level is easy for elderly guests or guests with special needs. The large porch is a nice place to enjoy the outside and yet be sheltered from the sun and rain.

The location is close to the freeway and public transportation such as the free shuttle and the bike share.

Amenities

Southside Historic District House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1680 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Large multiple head Stone shower, with roll in access
  • Custom tile work and beautiful sinks are featured in both bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , with love seat and night stands
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , built in cabinets have storage and a desk
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , In Suite bath
  • All beds have headboards. All bedrooms natural light and nice spacious closets.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The large lawn provide space for games such as corn hole, Badminton and more. It is also great for hanging out with friends. Publix, whole foods and Food City are all within a short drive away for all your food needs and water tower park has outdoor Ping Pong just 4 blocks away. Breakfast food can be stocked in advance upon request and provided for guests to cook including: eggs, milk, locally coffee, muffins and , fruit.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(55 traveler reviews)

Downtown Luxurious B&B
average rating of 4.7636366 based on 55 reviews
5

Absolutely loved Lay Low

  • 5 of 5

This place was perfect for our family of 7. Convenient, comfortable, fun place even for the teens. Great amenities, well stocked kitchen and gas grill worked well too. We had everything we needed and the front porch was just wonderful. We all loved the modern decor. A very special place we'll remember always. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We work hard to provide a great experience for our guests and we value your imput. Thanks for choosing Lay Low and we hope you come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for sharing your home, we enjoyed it!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to give a review. Your feedback is very valuable. Hope to see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

The Lay Low was perfect for our family vacation. It is just as the photos portray. It was spacious, comfortable and the location couldn't have been better. We walked to the farmers market, the Chattanooga Choo Choo, hopped the free shuttle and loved coming home to the front porch. Our local Chattanooga family came over to hang out with us, play corn hole, and grill out. We will certainly use the Lay Low again.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We value your input and are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We love the Southside too. Please come back and stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Overland Park
5

Couldn't be better!

  • 5 of 5

Great location for walking, drinking, dining, Finley Stadium. It was perfect size for our family reunion. Plenty of parking. Enjoyed many hours on the patio. Visiting kids had good size yard. The inside looked just like the pictures and was comfortable. Ultra modern decor and our perfect style! We will hope this is available next trip to Chat! All amenities acceptable. Comfortable beds, lots of towels and kitchen "stuff". The owner was always accessible within the hour and took good care of us before, during and after!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

We enjoyed our stay and loved the location

  • 3 of 5

The home was quite nice. Unfortunately we did have some issues. When we first arrived the home looked great. After being there for several hours we noticed the chairs at the large table were very dirty with crumbs in most. The cloth chairs at the small table were pretty bad with what appeared to be animal hair and could use a cleaning. There were gnats coming from the garbage disposal which kept them in the house the entire time. The directions on the app and paperwork are conflicting. One says to do something one way and other other says something different. We paid a cleaning fee so we are not sure why we would still need to do a lot of the check out procedure items. Also the shower in the master bedroom is really nice but is not functionally realistic. The floor, toilet and most of the bathroom became completely soaked with each shower.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay at the lay low. We wish you had contacted us about the issues as we would have been more than happy to help. Check out procedures are common for vrbo/--------. I have stayed in many, and each and every one had check out procedures very similar to the ones at the lay low. The shower in the master bedroom is highly handicap accessible that is teh reason there is no curb. We have never had a problem with that shower before however we will have it checked. We are proud to be able to accomdate the disabled. We are working to coordinate all the rental information and have revised our rental agreement. VRBOs are for the most part, family owned and the owners would be more than happy to eradicate any issues guests may have as they come up. Largely to avoid bad reviews tarnishing their vrbo rating. Thank you for your comments and we will work to ensure that issues like this don't arise for future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Peachtree City, Georgia
5

Conveniently located, impeccable accommodations and well appointed!

  • 5 of 5

Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
9.4 Miles
Chattanooga Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Clyde's On Main
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Moccasin Bend Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-24, I-27
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Grocery Bar
Car: not necessary

Southside Chattanooga is a walkable residential and arts district in downtown Chattanooga. The Southside is filled with restaurants, bars, coffee shops, art galleries, and much more. Free and inexpensive public transportation connects you to the rest of the city.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Southside Historic District House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Nightly Rate
May 18 2018 - May 21 2018
4 night minimum stay
$400
From
$400
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,312
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$275
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,575
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee $100 + Tax
Pet Fee $65 + Tax
Tax Rate 17.5%

red wine spills will be charged $100.00

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable