Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Downtown Luxurious B&B

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,680 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bath Modern Home with a large yard seconds from downtown.

Whether you are a tourist, business traveler, outdoor enthusiast or exploring chattanooga with loved ones or friends and family this 3 bedroom 2 bath pet friendly, disabled friendly B&B will be an elegant comfortable home base and retreat for your visit to Chattanooga. The bedrooms are furnished with comfortable furnishings. One bath features a large tub shower combination and the other in suite bathroom has an open stone clad shower with two shower heads. It is a roll in shower with a hand shower and will work for all ages and abilities. Located in the exciting Southside arts and entertainment district, this posh and architecturally stunning home is close to restaurants, bars, parks, mountains, the riverfront and lookout mountain. The property includes off street parking for 4 cars. Perfect for wedding parties, honeymoons, corporate travelers, business meetings, anniversaries, reunions, climbers, bikers and luncheons. This unique property will delight your senses and provide a convenient relaxing stay.

-Sleeps 7 (counting a roll away bed)

-Large Living Space

-Handicapped friendly

-Off Street parking for 4 cars

-Private Lawn and Large Porch- perfect for fun and games

-Storage for your gear

-Breakfast food available for $25 per day for a group of 4.

-Large yard and covered porch that is perfect for games and relaxing

This home was previously the Lay Low Lounge and Southside Beauty Shop. In 2013 Architects Craig Kronenberg and Heidi Hefferlin bought the property and completely renovated the building creating the Lay Low B&B.

The living room features large flat screen TV and sound system. We provide free EPB wifi internet & cable and provide access to Netflix and movies on demand.

We live in the neighborhood and can give you recommendations on neighborhood places to shop, eat explore.

More Details

Property Manager
Devon Kronenberg
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2017

About Devon Kronenberg

Craig and I are both architects and we live across the street. We love architecture and our neighborhood. Our business, Hefferlin + Kronenberg Architects, is located 5 blocks from the Lay Low. We have designed and built 21 town homes and renovated many buildings in the Southside area. We moved here from Los Angeles California in 1996. We have two sons who live in Chattanooga and the often work with us. We have many artists in the family and their work is featured in the Lay Low. In our free time we enjoy traveling, hiking, horseback riding and hanging out in the Southside.

Devon Kronenberg purchased this house in 2013

Why Devon Kronenberg chose Southside Historic District

Beautiful, comfortable, convenient, posh, private, great lawn and place to play

What makes this house unique

Because the home is designed by two architects the enviroment is stunning. Careful thought was given to every detail including a unique kitchen and bathrooms, lots of glass and custom built in furniture built from salvage antique lumber. The building is set back from the street which give privacy and provides a great front yard a place to play badmintton, party with friends and enjoy. Because the house is all on one level is easy for elderly guests or guests with special needs. The large porch is a nice place to enjoy the outside and yet be sheltered from the sun and rain.

The location is close to the freeway and public transportation such as the free shuttle and the bike share.

Amenities

Southside Historic District House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1680 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Large multiple head Stone shower, with roll in access
  • Custom tile work and beautiful sinks are featured in both bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , with love seat and night stands
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , built in cabinets have storage and a desk
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , In Suite bath
  • All beds have headboards. All bedrooms natural light and nice spacious closets.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The large lawn provide space for games such as corn hole, Badminton and more. It is also great for hanging out with friends. Publix, whole foods and Food City are all within a short drive away for all your food needs and water tower park has outdoor Ping Pong just 4 blocks away. Breakfast food can be stocked in advance upon request and provided for guests to cook including: eggs, milk, locally coffee, muffins and , fruit.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(65 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
13% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Downtown Luxurious B&B
average rating of 4.7384615 based on 65 reviews
5

Awesome home and great location!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was awesome! We loved the open concept and the indoor/outdoor living. The yard and patio was great for hanging out during the day and having drinks at night. The location is perfect for walking around downtown. Would definitely recommend!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Feedback from our guests is the most important part of our marketing. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope you come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house!!

  • 5 of 5

It fit perfect for our trip!! Close to everything and loved the neighborhood. Very safe!! Walked to dinner twice.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have lived in the Southside for 14 years. The nieghborhood is fun, safe and in the entertainment district with lots of options for activities. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Urban perfection

  • 5 of 5

What a fun place to stay! Great location - perfect indoor and outdoor space for visiting.

Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our top priority is for a fun and comfortable experience for our guests. Thanks for sharing your satisfaction with us and people visiting the site. We look forward to seeing you in the furture.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Eclectic accommodations downtown

  • 4 of 5

Pros: outstanding location walking distance to anything you could want. A lot of cooking utensils available. Very roomy for two families. Spacious and relaxing patio.

Cons: unfortunately there were crumbs on and under the large table. I unloaded the dishwasher on our arrival. The previous guest failed to trash the coffee grinds which were molded. I read a review wherein another guest recommended a softer pillow-top mattress which I agree. My daughter-in-law mentioned the rugs could use a cleaning/shake. Instructions were to strip the beds and put used towels in the tub on check out (I believe this should fall under maid's cleaning duties). Conflicting instructions of where to leave keys on departure. We were offered a $50 credit on another stay should we return (we were only in town for a double wedding).

*I accidentally left my muffin in the microwave when we departed at 5am but I notified our host.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing the Lay Low for your stay. We value your input and will work with our cleaning staff to address your comments. In the future note that the rental agreement asks you to notify us upon arrival if you have any problems. If you had called us we would have been happy to take care of your complaints. We are a local family owned business and your satisfaction is important to us. Because we are close by we can be very responsive. Thank you again for your business and we hope you come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect for a weekend getaway

  • 4 of 5

The house was well set up for a long weekend getaway. The home was well appointed and easy to cook in. We used the grill and thought the location was great. Easy to walk to everything.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for selecting Lay Low and providing a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything was clean, unique, and very upscale in feel

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our trip and Lay Low. The location is very convenient and is close enough to everything while being far enough away to provide some peace and quiet. We hope to visit again in the future. We had no issues at all and would recommend to others. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
9.4 Miles
Chattanooga Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Clyde's On Main
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Moccasin Bend Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-24, I-27
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Grocery Bar
Car: not necessary

Southside Chattanooga is a walkable residential and arts district in downtown Chattanooga. The Southside is filled with restaurants, bars, coffee shops, art galleries, and much more. Free and inexpensive public transportation connects you to the rest of the city.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $65 + Tax
Cleaning fee $100 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 17.5%

red wine spills will be charged $100.00

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.