Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Walk to the Beach, Stroll Around the Lake, Relax Under Tiki Hut

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 0 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 BR, 2.5 Bth, walk to beach

Walk to the beach. Not a short car ride, not a short bike ride – leave your car home, no need to look for parking. For those who want it all – to enjoy the beach as well as the comforts of home, get the best of both worlds – walk to the beach during the day, relax in exclusive South Lake private home at night.

Just steps over the bridge and you’re on the sands of Hollywood beach. Soak in the Florida sun, swim in the warm Florida waters. Take a beach break and stroll the famous Hollywood Broadwalk, relax and enjoy a margarita or cappuccino in one of the beachfront cafés along the Broadwalk. Eat, drink and enjoy – and then walk to your private home nestled in exclusive South Lake. When you get home take a stroll around beautiful palm tree-lined South Lake and million dollar homes. Barbeque in your backyard, relax with a glass of wine under the Tiki Hut or watch a movie on the giant 70” TV.

In the evening, eat at one of the many fine restaurants (Italian, Greek, Spanish, Thai, Chinese, French, Japanese, Argentinian, Peruvian) in beautiful downtown Hollywood only 5 min away. Or visit Fort Lauderdale 15 min away, or South Beach 30 min away.

Activities within 5 min: golf courses, kayaking, rollerblading/biking on broadwalk; cruise the intercoastal waterway on the Water Taxi. Within 15 min: gulfstream horse racing and casino, hard rock cafe and casino, mardi gras dog racing.

Modern, 3 BR, 2.5 Bth house, large private fenced in yard, porch with large Tiki hut for sitting and BBQ outside. 2 car garage. Every room has flat screen TV, with 70” TV in LR. Free cable and Wi-Fi. Washer/dryer.

More Details

Amenities

South Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen
  • Flat screen TV in each BR, Pack n Play for infant, Queen sofa bed in LR
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Walk to the Beach, Stroll Around the Lake, Relax Under Tiki Hut
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
4

Nice, but needs some details attended to, and a bit overpriced

  • 4 of 5

The good:

- The location is superb. Super easy access to the beach/boardwalk. Quiet, safe neighborhood. Awesome.

- Owner/property manager were responsive and kind.

- Outdoor tiki hut is fantastic and a great place to relax.

- Beds and furniture were all comfortable.

- Kitchen is well-stocked with cookware, etc. We did purchase a filtered water pitcher to stay with the house.

Could use work:

- There are two thermostats in the house, which is not at all obvious (nor explained). The one in the kitchen is visible and we assumed that handled the whole house. The 2nd one is not obvious, and we finally discovered it on the 3rd night of our stay after having temperature issues.

- 3 of the 4 patio lights did not work. They were fixed during our stay.

- The rainfall showerhead in the east bathroom is non-functional.

- It was great to have a pack n play for our baby, but it is old and very stained.

- It was also great having the 4 bikes, but 2 of the bikes have flat tires that need new tubes, and one of the others has some serious chain/gear troubles that could use some attention.

Aside from the thermostat, these were all very minor issues. However, I think the house is a bit overpriced given some of the lack of attention to detail. Hence the 4 stars instead of 5. We would stay again if these are addressed and/or the price lowered a bit.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our house. I am glad you enjoyed the house, and we appreciate your kind comments. I am sorry you had a couple of inconveniences, and although the issues you raise are minor, I would like to respond for the sake of future guests. We try to make your stay as perfect as possible, and we pride ourselves on being accessible and providing first class service to our guests. That is why we retain Greg, a full time local property manager, who as you noted came by several times to address the light bulbs on the patio and the shower head, which had some hard water deposits blocking the spray holes. In both cases Greg remedied the situation within 2 hours of being notified. As to the thermostat, we do have 2 separate A/C units and zones so guests can control bedrooms separately. We have had guests tell us they enjoyed having the two zone system with the split bedroom layout and separate thermostats; no one has ever said they did not see the thermostat but we will point it out to future guests from now on as part of the welcome orientation to the house. Though the pack and play is not new, it is clean and serviceable, but since you found it unsuitable, we have replaced it with a brand new pack and play. The bicycles are our personal bicycles. We try keeping them in working order, and will fix flats and let guests use them, but we do not advertise them as being part of the house because we cannot ensure that they will be in proper working order for each guest. Thank you for bringing to our attention the issues you experienced, it will help us make future guests' stays better. And if you visit Hollywood again, please keep us in mind, we would love to have you as a guest again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great home for a family.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this home for a week at Christmas with our 4 adult children. We love to cook as a family and we sure weren`t disappointed with the kitchen. Very well equiped.

This place was exactly what we were told it was.

We were welcomed with a great basket filled with munchies, which we appreciated very much. The owner was very accessible and answered all our questions and more.

This property is in a beautiful area and very quiet. It`s also a short walk to the beach so you don`t have to worry about parking.

They even have beach chairs you can borrow.

This is a great place to spend a vacation.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful experience for all of us

  • 5 of 5

Is not only about the house's location, and by the way, Its location is one of the best. It is how well has been. The house was sparkling clean, and geared up for all of us to enjoy it to the max! Beautiful patio with Barbacue, bathrooms and kitchen recently updated, but up to the details of providing beach towels, chairs, and parasols. Louanne and her husband are by far the perfect hosts for anyone who comes there and they will make sure to make your stay as convenient and as delightful as possible.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Dallas, TX
5

Great place for a family visit

  • 5 of 5

We have sons on each coast and they wanted to go someplace warm for Thanksgiving week. AND..the Cowboys were playing nearby against Miami! So this was a perfect solution for us so that we could have privacy as well as a kitchen and gathering area. Very nicely decorated with comfortable beds. Kitchen was well-equipped. While some people may think the walk to the broadwalk and beach is far...it's a 10 minute walk if the drawbridge isn't up. Great location to many restaurants (GiGi's was awesome) on the beach as well as in town. We would definitely stay here again. They had bikes and beach chairs available but we didn't use them this trip. And lots of towels for the beach and house use. Loved being able to grill outside and sit in the tiki hut.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2015
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beach Haven

  • 5 of 5

Our family enjoyed a very relaxing week in this beautiful and comfortably furnished home. It was so cool and clean to come back to after a day in the sun! We particularly enjoyed the tiki hut, whether it was for morning tea or while sipping a drink during a short afternoon rainfall. The location is a very convenient walk to the beach and also a short distance to some fabulous restaurants in downtown Hollywood. The owners were very hospitable, leaving a packet of helpful information about the home and general area. They were also very quick to respond to a minor repair which was needed. It is very clear that they take a lot of pride in the home and are determined that guests have a very positive experience during their stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bahía Blanca, Argentina
5

Super casa de playa

  • 5 of 5

Estuvimos 9 dias en Hollywood Beach y la pasamos genial, fuimos 2 familias de 4 personas, eramos 4 adultos y 4 chicos. La distribucion de la casa nos permitio hacer de todo, desde desayunos y cenas en el tiki , hasta comodos almuerzos en el comedor con aire acondicionado. Los elementos de playa no falta nada, reposeras y sombrillas para todos. La caminata a la playa, son 500 metros aprox se hace bien con un carro para llevar casi todo. La ubicación es super tranquila y con calles llenas de palmeras y vegetacion. La cocina esta super equipada, lo mismo que el lavadero. Todos los cuartos tienen excelente tv, muy apreciado por los chicos.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Owner

Luanne
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, some Spanish, some Italian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
February 16, 2018

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood Intl Airport
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Hollywood Beach

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $75
Tax Rate 11.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Please note VRBO's quote includes Broward County tax, but does not include the 6% Florida State Sales Tax; after booking you will receive an additional payment request for the 6% Florida State Sales Tax.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.