Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Perfect Beach House! Amazing Sunrise/ Moonrise, Swim, Snorkel. White Sandy Beach

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, Outdoor shower, (Sleeps 6-7)

At Hale Ho’onanea, the House of Relaxation, discover your peaceful retreat, discover your kid inside, discover romance, and discover you. Set on 85 feet of private, pristine white sand beach, this clean, exceptionally well-appointed home offers classic, Hawaiian country living. This cozy and warm traditional Hawaiian beach cottage is centrally located in Punaluu, between Kailua Town and Historic Haleiwa Town, on the Windward side of Oahu. With its perfect location, Hale Ho’onanea offers a full compliment of diverse activities conveniently located nearby. Experience one of the island’s best kept secrets for yourself.

Wake up early to be rewarded with a perfect Hawaiian sunrise directly in front of your private beach. Comfortable trade winds and incredible coral reefs encourage you to take in a memorable snorkel or an easy swim in the warm and crystal clear water. Relax on the cozy lanai with your favorite book and enjoy the sounds of the exotic tropical birds and the trade winds blowing through the towering palm trees.

Just steps from the inviting Pacific Ocean, let the soothing sounds of the waves wash away any remaining stress. As the sun passes behind the majestic Ko’olau Mountains, just yards behind the house, relax along the beach in one of the comfortable chairs, with your favorite beverage, and toast to a perfect day at Hale Ho’onanea.

Many new upgrades abound throughout the interior of the house. Exotic, solid bamboo flooring, as well as improvements in the kitchen include: a new glass top range, refrigerator, washer and dryer and microwave. There are new remote controlled, split air conditioning units in each bedroom, as well as two remote controlled ceiling fans, one in the family room and one in the kitchen.

Each bathroom has newly installed toilets and sink fixtures. After a fun day of play in the surf and sand, rinse off in the outdoor shower. For entertainment there is a DVD home theater with surround sound in the Family Room.

Each bedroom in Hale Ho’onanea offers a spacious, peaceful environment to relax and get a restful night’s sleep. The Master Bedroom has a wonderfully comfortable Simmons Beauty Rest Pillow-top Queen bed, large dresser, hanging closet, alarm clock and a large picture window which looks directly out to the ocean. Slide the drapes open before you go to bed and let the morning sunrise be your wake-up call. Close the drapes in the afternoon, set your ideal temperature with the remote controlled A/C, and slip blissfully into a paradise nap.

Perfect for two little ones, the “Sky” bedroom, Ke Aouli, has two bunk beds with four super comfy memory foam mattresses, two large windows looking out to the ocean and up to the mountains as well as remote controlled air conditioning. The “Coral” bedroom, Ako’ako’a, has a Simmons Beauty Rest Queen size pillow-top bed, windows looking up to the majestic Ko’olau Mountains, remote controlled air conditioning and a half bath.

Let your friends and family know just how much fun you are having with access to high-speed, wireless internet throughout the house. Make reservations at a local restaurant or sign up for surfing lessons with the free, “local call” phone service. If quality time alone with the family is a must, then prepare a delicious meal in the fully stocked kitchen and eat outside on the backyard dinning table, just feet from the ocean. With a teak wood table and chairs, enjoy a truly unique experience right along the beach.

Hale Ho’onanea sits on the northeastern side of the island of Oahu, in the rustic fishing village of Punaluu. It is centrally located just 50 minutes away from Honolulu International Airport, Waikiki and Kailua Town. Classic Hawaiian country living best describes this area of the island.

Hale Ho’onanea is a vacation escape that will provide you with the relaxing, fun, peaceful, romantic getaway of your dreams. The experience of a lifetime is awaiting your arrival.

More Details

Owner
Kerry Smith
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

I can finally write Aloha without feeling like a dork!!



Kerry we had such a wonderful time at your home in Hawaii - how did you ever leave???!! It was a fantastically well appointed space and far exceeded our expectations. I couldn't believe how many towels you had - hehe! It was perfect. The most wonderful experience was showering outdoors - the weirdest most exhilarating experience for people from Canada that are used to being covered 24/7.





I wanna be Hawaiian when I grow up!! All of us were scanning the newspapers to see if we could find jobs there. The locals were fantastic. Just down the street we were taking to the people who owned the market and they heard we were from Canada. Turns out they visited the Rocky Mountains situated 2 hours from where we live! Small world. Can't say enough. about the locals - they were awesome!!



Really weird how some gas stations didn't have bathrooms. Another cool thing was how they served rice at Mcdonalds - being filipino it was very appreciated but odd nonetheless. LOVED LnL Drive Inn - food was fabulous. Favorite beach close to the house was Wamanea Beach (I think I spelled it right.......)



Took some getting used to the pace of life the locals had. I've already referred a couple of people to your house and I strongly discourage people from resorting it in Waikiki - this was definitely the way to go. We will absolutely book you again next time.





Many mahalos!!!



Gerry Liggayu
Oct 2007
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Hauula House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • There is also a wonderful outside shower to rinse off all the salt and sand from your play time in the Pacific blue.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Coral bedroom has it's own half bath with breathtaking views
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master bedroom has an amazing view of the Pacific Ocean.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 bunk bed , Blue room has views of both the ocean and mountains
  • Simmons Beauty Rest Pillow-Top Queen Beds (2), Bunk Beds with four memory foam mattresses (2)
Entertainment:
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

Perfect Beach House! Amazing Sunrise/ Moonrise, Swim, Snorkel. White Sandy Beach
average rating of 4.32 based on 29 reviews
La Canada Flintridge
5

WOW! Great place for families

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to hawaii and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Property was clean and cozy. Beds were comfy. We used the kayak and watched the sunrise each morning from our bed. The kids ran out each morning in pj's to play in their ocean back yard. Cottage neighbors are other residential homes, so location was nice and quiet. We had a wonderful private beach to swim in, gentle enough for the kids. Found a few fish swimming around. It was great. I would highly recommend this place for families. BBQ'd outside once, but got a bit too windy in the evening to use the fire pit. Locals told us summer winds are much calmer. Overall really great experience.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2007
  • Stayed: Feb 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
22 3
4

Great cottage on the ocean

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was well equiped, just like home away from home. The front porch needs a few repairs in order for our footing to feel safe, so we never really used the porch, but that actually did not matter. Very clean and convenient location to everything!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Unfortunately: Awful bathrooms, no lounging and no toilet paper.

  • 1 of 5

We stayed at the house during the month of Jan. 2017

Things that were positive:

• Very nice bedding in the master and guest bedroom

• Nice towels for use in the home and at the beach, great washer and dryer with detergent.

• It is very nice to walk out the back door and be on the beach, beautiful walk up and down the beach. They had 3 boogie boards.

• Close to the PCC & a few local restaurants in Laie

• Decent kitchen supplies, silverware, knives, toaster, microwave. However, there was no mixing bowls for things like pancakes.

• The owner responded to our emails and questions, and Billy stopped by during the wind storm to see if we had power

Things that were not positive:

• The overall condition of the house is BAD!

• The deck needs to be completed replaced. The arm-rail isn’t stable, you will put your feet through the deck by just walking on it, some parts are replaced by ply-wood, and you need to have shoes on your feet at all times or you will end up with splinters.

• We had to reset the WIFI twice

• If you want to sit down in the house, the furniture is hard and uncomfortable. No good lounging.

• The BBQ is super small and rusty

• There was NO kayak, or lounge chairs like in the pictures. The beach chairs all had cracks. (VERY DISAPPOINTING)

• There is a hole in the floor in the half bath which emits a sewer smell.

• Paint is coming off the walls in the bathroom and windows. Sides of the shower are coming off. They have tried to caulk it, but it is not working.

• There is mold in the shower, black and green. Smelled awful which they made worse by trying to cover it up with good smelling scents. Think worse than a Super 8 Hotel bathroom!!!

• There was NO toilet paper at the house, and we had to go buy our own!

• Ants in the kids room and a friendly but annoying at times cat. Our kids loved the cat but he/she did try to get in the house every time we opened the door.

• Water shoes or sandals are a must for the beach!

We would not recommend this house for your Hawaii stay. The bathroom is almost unbearable! We paid hundreds of dollars a night and it is by far the worst bathroom we have ever paid to use! It needs major updating.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1
4

Quiet and Relaxing piece of Paradise

  • 4 of 5

We had a great vacation. Would definitely stay here again. The property could use a little maintenance in the bathrooms, deck, and some other minor issues. The beds and the beach were absolutely the best part of this rental. Quiet neighborhood and relaxing private piece of paradise!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Fantastic!!

  • 5 of 5

My family - 5 adults have just spent the most amazing 10days at this beach house. The house really was perfect. Three rooms with lots of space. We ate outdoors by the beach each day. Touring around the North Shore was certainly a highlight. Kerry was so obliging and so easy to deal with. Would highly recommend this accommodation. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Awesome beach cottage but dirty

  • 4 of 5

Pros:

On the beach

Surrounding area is rural and quiet

Awesome shaved ice within walking distance

Good WiFi

Stocked with most essentials (paper towel, toilet paper, towels, vacuum cleaner, cookware, utensils)

Has body boards but snorkel gear is broken

Security system

Beds are comfortable

All communication with the owner/manager was great

Cons:

Not well kept. The railing on the porch and deck are falling apart and are a bit dangerous

Slow plumbing

Very dirty like yucky...the baseboards are gross and in the bathroom I never felt like I got clean because the shower smelled of mildew so badly

On a busy road

I would only recommend this beach cottage if you contacted the owner and made sure it would be clean before you arrive. I gave it a 4 star because the only downside (that I cared about) was the cleanliness.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1

Map

Nearest Airport
29 Miles
Honolulu International
Nearest Golf
11 Miles
Turtle Bay Resort
Nearest Beach
One step down from our beautiful backyard

Historic Haleiwa Town is a 30 minute drive up and through the North Shore, the most famous surfing destination in the world. Kualoa Ranch, the location of several Hollywood movies, is a scenic 15 minute drive down Kamehameha Highway, which runs along the ocean. Kualoa Ranch offers hiking, horse back riding and ATV tours throughout the year. Turtle Bay Resort and Spa is a 15 minute drive up the coast; here you will find two Champions Tour Golf Courses and a Five Star Spa. In addition, the Polynesian Cultural Center is located just five minutes from the house. Famous for its interactive educational exhibits as well as one of the best Luau’s on the island; it is a must see. If you prefer to stay close to home and go by foot, there are several breathtaking hiking trails to enjoy.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hauula House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring Season
Mar 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$350
$12,000
 
 
Memorial Day Week
May 23 2017 - May 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Summer Season 1
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$350
$9,000
 
 
July 4th Week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
Summer Season 2
Jul 9 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$350
$9,000
 
 
Labor Day Week
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Thanksgiving Week
Nov 23 2017 - Nov 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Holiday Season
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 15 2018
7 night minimum stay
$450
$12,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,750
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 13.95%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties