Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful trullo with private pool in rural setting - family friendly, sleeps 6

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,614 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom, 2 bathroom trullo with private pool and panoramic views

Mandorleto is a beautiful, spacious (150m2) trullo flanked by traditional lamias and panoramic views of ancient olive groves and medieval towns perched on the hills of Valle d’Itria. The 2 Ha (5 acres) private property with century-old olive trees, fruit trees, and local flora lies on a hill 5km from Ceglie Messapica, the gastronomic capital of Puglia. The location is peaceful, very private and only a 10-minute walk from Seppunisi farm where you can buy local mozzarellas, cheeses and other fresh dairy products 7 days a week.

A highlight is the swimming pool area overlooking the olive grove and surrounding countryside. There is a spacious terrace where you can soak up the sun on comfortable sun beds or relax in the shade of the gazebo on warm summer afternoons. The gazebo has a stone table that comfortably seats 8 that overlooks the pool and courtyard in front of the trullo making it an ideal location for both day and night entertainment.

Mandorleto was fully renovated in 2012 using traditional materials to create an authentic trullo experience with modern comforts! Small archways, hidden alcoves, and domed ceilings give a mystical ambiance that only a trullo can generate. All floors are made from ‘Trani’ marble, a honey-colored stone from local quarries. Windows have mosquito netting, traditional outer grills and shutters that can be left open at night to let in air. Walls up to 2m thick ensure that temperatures inside stay pleasantly cool during hot summer months.

With 3 double bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, Mandorleto can comfortably sleep 6. A baby cot and high-chair can be provided upon request. The living room with 2 sofas, lounger and fireplace are located in the main trullo. Bathrooms have walk-in showers, a bidet, toilet, and washbasin. The spacious kitchen is bright and fully equipped for gourmet cooking. There is a dining table that comfortably seats 6 and double-doors that lead to a terrace with large stone table for outdoor dining and entertainment. The BBQ area is next to the terrace, a laundry room with washer & dryer is behind the kitchen and there are free Wi-Fi and secure parking for your use.

More Details

Owner
Robert and Ina
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, french, german, italian, dutch
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 21, 2018

About Robert and Ina

Robert and Ina are proud owners of Trullo Mandorleto since 2010. After traveling around the world for many years we finally found our piece of paradise in Puglia that we want to share with other travellers seeking relaxation amongst olive trees and everything else this beautiful region has to offer.

Robert and Ina purchased this villa in 2010

Why Robert and Ina chose Ceglie Messapica

We immediately fell in love with Puglia during our first visit in 2010. The color contrast of green olive trees, dark red soil and azure blue sky was spectacular. Ceglie Messapica, known locally as ‘città della gastronomia’ for its excellent cuisine, is perched on a hill and surrounded by ancient olive groves and medieval towns, an ideal location for a trullo holiday home. There are over 60 excellent restaurants serving local dishes at affordable prices within a 10 minute drive and famous towns like Alberobello, Ostuni and Martina Franca as well as beautiful clean beaches are all less than a 30 minute away.

What makes this villa unique

Mandorleto with its 3-cone trullo, ‘lamias’ and Mediterranean garden, perched on a hill 300m above sea level, is the home away from home we fell in love with. The 2 Ha (5 acres) property with century-old olive trees, almond trees and local flora is very private and peaceful. The swimming pool with spectacular views of Valle d’Itria, summer breeze and sound of crickets is the place to be on warm summer days and at night when the stars and milky way seem to be within arm’s reach.

Amenities

Ceglie Messapica Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1614 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Town
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , bidet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Space for a cot which is available upon request
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Bedroom can be converted to 2 single beds up on request
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful trullo with private pool in rural setting - family friendly, sleeps 6
average rating of 4.866667 based on 15 reviews
5

Attractive venue with superb views

  • 5 of 5

Overall a fantastic holiday. The accommodation ticked all the boxes for us, communication was perfect from booking to our arrival. I can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else should we visit Puglia again. The local farm shop is a dream for breakfast yogurt and local cheese, not forgetting the local wine too! Very happy memories, thank you.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Tom, it is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you will keep many happy memories of Trullo Mandorleto and the farm shop down the road! It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we hope to see you again when you come back to Puglia. Kind regards, Robert & Ina.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
France
5

Welcome to Puglia!

  • 5 of 5

We spent 1 week in the Trullo and it is exactly as seen in the pictures, both inside and outside. The views are fantastic as well. The trullo is very spacious and the outdoor space is perfect for lounging.

We followed a lot of the owner's advice for stores and restaurants and it did not disappoint. The local farm down the road is a great place to buy local products.

Thank you for the wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at trullo Mandorleto and that our information about the region and tips for restaurants and shops were helpful! The local farm shop down the road is indeed unique, especially the burrata which is a specialty from Puglia. We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope to welcome you and your family again to Trullo Mandorleto in future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Cold, uncomfortable and very remote

  • 3 of 5

We are two couples and were taken to the property by the agent Haley who briefly showed us around but couldn't get away quick enough. You would never find this place without a Sat Nav and there are metal shutters and locks on all of the windows and doors which did not fill us with confidence due to the remoteness of the property. If you are of a nervous disposition do not consider staying here. There was a log burner in the kitchen and when I asked about logs she said we could either forage around the garden for some or we could buy some but could not tell us where to get them. We eventually found some stacked round the back of the property. There was another log burning fire in the lounge which hardly threw any heat out at all and for the first 2 nights we sat on the sofas with our jumpers and jackets on. The bedrooms and bathrooms were so cold to the extent that when using the shower the steam from the water filled the bathroom so the window had to be open defeating the object. The beds were so hard and none of us had a good nights sleep for the whole 10 days. Eventually we asked Hayley if they could provide some portable heaters for the lounge and bedrooms. She provided 2 heaters that only took the chill off the lounge and one of the heaters kept tripping the circuit breakers so could not be used. We spent every evening sitting on uncomfortable dining chairs in the kitchen as this was the only place which was warm as the log burner in the kitchen was very efficient. We have stayed in villa's for the past 12 years and considering the price we paid, which is not cheap, we believe the price did not justify the cost. The owners provided us with good information before we booked the property but did not take care of the heating sufficiently enough to enjoy all of the facilities that we paid for. We have given the property a 3 star rating but considered giving a rating of 2. This property may be acceptable in the summer months but in early October was not at all suitable. In summary we were very disappointed and dissatisfied with the property and strongly urge the owners to make the necessary improvements or do not take peoples money in October.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Alan, we are so sorry to hear your stay was uncomfortable due to unseasonal cool evenings and lack of winter heating in our trullo. We had guests in October 2016 when evening temperatures were normal and they loved their stay (see review) showing that mid-October can be wonderful. Unless we can find a good heating solution for the main trullo, we agree with your advice not to rent our home to guests after the first week of October (currently rental stops end October). We are very proud of our home and the many excellent reviews we received so the last thing we want is to disappoint our guests who cannot enjoy the holiday they deserve and paid for. Thank you for your honest feedback and please be assured that we will take your remarks very seriously! Kind regards, Robert & Ina
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful location and characterful property

  • 5 of 5

We have had an amazing two weeks at Trullo Mandorleto. Lovely spacious accommodation ( we were a family of four with young adult children) and a very inviting pool. The covered area was much appreciated for relaxing in the shade. Friendly communication from owners and we found Hayley (from the management company) really helpful and easy to contact for information. Would highly recommend this property and also the stunning area and surrounding towns. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Katrina & family, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Trullo Mandorleto and that you appreciated the amount of space it offers for a comfortable family holiday. We understand it was very warm during your stay so you must have enjoyed the breeze from the valley when you spent time in the pool/gazebo area. This is when you realize how fortunate we are that our property is located on a hill! We are glad Hayley was easy to contact and helpful with providing information - they are doing a wonderful job taking care of our guests. We hope you returned home relaxed and with good memories of your holiday in Puglia. Hopefully we can welcome you and your family back as our guests in future! Kind regards, Robert & Ina
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Posto splendido !

  • 5 of 5

Posto splendido !

La casa molto pulita e ben curata, la cucina funzionale con tutti gli accessori necessari per organizzare delle belle cene all'aperto.

Abbiamo passato una bellissima settimana facendo bagni in piscina e visitando i paesini nei dintorni, molto belli da vedere con dei ristoranti dall'ottima cucina Pugliese.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

lovely property with great character

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay at the property description is accurate and it is well maintained.

Very comfortable, lovely setting, quiet with out being too far from the local towns.

Highly recommend

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Richard and Valerie, it has been an honor having you and your daughters as our guests for the 2nd time in a row! You obviously enjoy our area and lovely views of the countryside which is indeed peaceful and within easy reach from local towns. Thank you for your visit and hopefully we can welcome you back for a 3rd time. Kind regards, Robert & Ina.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Kilometres
Brindisi
Nearest Train
9 Kilometres
Ceglie Messapica
Nearest Restaurant
3 Kilometres
Pascarosa
Nearest Beach
27 Kilometres
Villanova Ostuni
Car: necessary

The location is ideal for day trips to the seaside and visits to neighboring towns like Ostuni “the white city”, Alberobello the UNESCO town with over 1000 trulli and elegant Martina Franca, all within a 15-30 minute drive away. Though somewhat farther afield, the cultural town of Lecce, the ancient sea port of Gallipoli and the spectacular southern coastline with its crystal clear, turquoise colored waters of the Adriatic and Ionian seas are also within easy reach.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $229.83

No additional mandatory fees

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties