Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful oceanfront apartment with 2 Free Kayaks! 30 min to downtown.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 2 loft style Bedrooms, 1 bath/ steam ocean front views of Indian Arm

This fabulous waterfront apartment on Indian Arm in North Vancouver is just 30 minutes from beautiful downtown Vancouver, the cleanest most beautiful city in the world!

Located on Indian Arm, a 10,000 year old fiord in a West Coast rain forest, the community of Woodlands is one of Vancouver's best kept secrets, not many people know we are here and we like it that way! Woodlands is one of Vancouver's oldest summer communities which consists of waterfront homes accessed by a 5 km country road which winds its way through the forests of Mt. Seymour, a provincial park, well known for its snowshoeing, skiing, golfing, hiking, and mountain biking, so don't forget your bike! Woodlands is much less crowded than Deep Cove and gives you that remote feeling without being remote.

There is an 80 foot cement deck with gazebo and bar-b-q which for your own use. There is a 50 foot dock which holds the kayaks and rowboat as well as 2 gravity chairs, perfect for sunbathing. The dock is shared with the owners to access their boat. Watch seals, seabirds, yachts, and fish boats make their way up Indian Arm to the beautiful Wigwam Inn, a private yacht club with a scandalous past! Across from the Wigwam is the majestic Granite Falls Marine Park.

Bring your scuba gear as there is excellent diving right out the front door! 2 kayaks and a Walker Bay rowboat are available free of charge. Spend an afternoon exploring the many marine parks home to black bears, bald eagles, and two salmon runs a year. Power boat rentals are available at Seycove Marina in Deep Cove.

The picturesque village of Deep Cove is just around the corner. It is home to beautiful gift shops, including Ahoy which is Herschel Backpacks flagship store, the designer lives nearby, many restaurants, as well as the forest hike to Quarry Rock Lookout and Baden Powell Trail which stretches for 50 km, all the way to Horseshoe Bay. The Seymour Art Gallery, Shaw Theatre, Northlands Golf Course, Seycove Marina Boat Rentals, Arm Reach Bistro, Parkgate Community Centre and Library are all close by. Come and experience waterfront living at its finest without breaking the bank, only a 50.00 cleaning fee and 100.00 refundable damage deposit, one of the least expensive on any vacation rental website. 4 day minimum in July and August. Most suitable for 2 to 3 adults or 2 adults and 3 children. One queen bed and 2 double. 4 night minimum over Christmas Holidays and March break. Check in is 3pm and check out is 10 AM. Elaine is available for guided tours of the lower mainland, the Sea to Sky whistler run, the Fraser Valley Wine belt, so you can taste away! 150.00 a day includes a comfortable ride in a 740IL BMW, the old James Bond car!

Keywords:waterfront

More Details

Owner
Elaine Minichiello
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

About Elaine Minichiello

Elaine and Tony have been married for 20 years and have 2 grown children. Elaine is originally from Halifax and lived on the ocean in St Margaret's Bay, Nova Scotia. She came to Vancouver and obtained her Bachelor of Social Work Degree as well as a Chartered Herbalist diploma.Tony is a city boy born and raised in Vancouver. He has been a financial advisor for 35 years.Together they did an extensive renovation on the property after it was sold to them by the Rubbermaid heiress who moved on to build on Cortes Island. They have been doing vacation rentals in this location for 16 years.

Elaine Minichiello purchased this apartment in 1999

Why Elaine Minichiello chose Vancouver Coast & Mountains

We both really wanted to be on the water and as we could not move to Nova Scotia because of Tony's work, we set out to find a waterfront home close to downtown Vancouver and found it on Indian Arm, North Vancouver.

What makes this apartment unique

The best part about staying here is the view as well as the deck and the dock! There is also a gazebo and barbq The apartment feels like you are on top of the water. The apartment is very spacious and comes with lots of extras like the kayaks, life jackets as well as countless books, magazines and a few children's books and toys such as lego. We are happy to show you how to use the boats and to show you the trails on Mt Seymour. West Coast photographer, Andy Chamberlayne's, work is featured throughout the apartment. I honestly do not think you will find a nicer place in Vancouver and it is affordable for families.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Had a wonderful stay, very relaxing and beautiful. Lovely sunrises everyday at breakfast! As well as the kayaks and swimming. Perfect start to our 3 week trip
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 17

Map

Car: necessary

Woodlands is a quiet waterfront neighbourhood 30 minutes away from all the hustle and bustle of Vancouver. There are 3 local ski mountains nearby. Cypress, Grouse and Mt Seymour which is your backdoor with 100's of different trails for hikers and mountain bikers. Scuba dive site right out the front door! Fee use of kayaks, rowboat. Hike the Baden Powell trail to Quarry Rock and Deep Cove then reward yourself with a Honey's donut at Honey's or artisan coffee at Cafe Orzo or lunch at Arms Reach Bistro. Browse the local art gallery and gift shops as well as the other well curated shops in Deep Cove.

Amenities

North Vancouver Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Quiet hour 11 pm. Renters must sign waiver upon arrival. Max 2 visitors on the property at a time. Visitors must sign waiver.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1) Bedrooms are 1 upstairs loft style queen bed and 2 double beds off the living area on main floor loft style
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
The apartment has a steam room, BBQ, 2 kayaks, a rowboat and crab trap for guests to use. We are close to hundreds of hiking and mountain bike trails on Mt Seymour. There is scuba diving right out the front door. Snowshoe and ski Mt Seymour, Grouse or Cypress, all within half an hour of the house. Close to HWY 1 just 35 minutes to the heart of downtown Vancouver and 1.5 hours from Whistler. Get the wilderness feel with the convenience of the city. 4 night minimum in July and August.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(58 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful oceanfront apartment with 2 Free Kayaks! 30 min to downtown.
average rating of 4.8448277 based on 75 reviews
5

So beautiful & tranquil

  • 5 of 5

Great place. Absolutely loved it ! Can't wait to come back ! The pictures don't do the place justice. Nice & spacious. The double bed upstairs was an absolute treat, with the views of sea. The first few days it was so clear but sadly the smoke from the fires made it quite hazy but it didn't take away any of the beauty. My son enjoyed the kayaking & it never got that busy out on the sea. Driving was easy around the area & the local shops about 10-15 mins away , where you can pick up a steak or two & cook it back on the BBQ. Scrummy!!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay and that you got to relax after such a long journey. Most people have a hard time tearing themselves away to do any sightseeing in and around Vancouver as this is such a lovely spot, everything else seems second best. For those thinking of booking the bed upstairs is a queen bed. with 2 double beds downstairs. Perfect for a family of 4
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing get away

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this cute home. Hosts Elaine and Tony were helpful and suggested activities during our stay. The house had everything we could possibly need. The beds were comfortable and we all enjoyed a good night sleep after fun filled days. The icing on the cake were the kayaks and crab trap. We caught crab everyday as well as a starfish! I highly recommend this rental.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Extraordinary location on the water at the end of a beautiful west coast rain forest road .. yet so close to the city amenities .. truly memorable.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, serene and right on the water!

  • 5 of 5

Two weeks here in 2016 and now two weeks in 2017. We loved it so much we had to come back and it didn't disappoint! This is a place to come to just enjoy God's creation of sea, sky, ocean tides, otters, seals, sea gulls, a great blue heron, Dungeness crabbs and even a whale spotting. Tony and Elaine are the most gracious hosts ever and their place is comfortable, and fully equipped. We enjoyed three crab dinners from trapping off the dock, kayaked to Deep Cove and Twin Islands, and made awesome day trips to Granville Island, Lonsdale Quay, and Gibsons Island by the BC ferry. How could a place feel so remote and yet have easy access to all of these wonderful places? Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Beautiful except not handicapped accessible, tons of stairs

  • 2 of 5

Sadend how our trip abruptly ended after we asked to extend our stay. The owner urged us to pay cash for two extra nights instead of using the website, which showed the property available when I checked. Friday evening during our dinner we were greeted by owners and another family who they told us had reservations. We were asked to leave asap. The owner proceeded to enter the unit and personally clear all our groceries from the refrigerator. Our privacy was completely violated and our children didn't understand why they were packing our belongings for us. In 15 minutes our entire vacation was packed in our vehicle and we were asked to leave as our dinner continued to cook on the grill. We were refunded the cash we had paid for the extra nights and one free night. The owner then promised three future nights free. It would be my preference the three free nights be applied to this trip as both the owner and I know, we will never feel comfortable staying there again. We purchased hundreds of dollars in groceries and rental supplies including two out of country crabbing and fishing licenses that combined cost us $100. The owner took responsibility for not checking the rental calendar, but never said said I'm sorry. When she could see fright in all of our eyes she simply said "deep breath" as she handed leftover pizza to my son and said "cold pizza for the road". Overall disappointed

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well, this is disappointing. There are 15 stairs from the driveway to the suite. This guest made the mistake of looking at the calendar and seeing 2 nights free when in fact they were booked since June and I made the mistake of not double checking and took full responsibility. I discussed the matter with her husband who was very understanding and offered to help pack. I refunded them a night and offered them 3 free nights for next years hockey camp, almost 900.00 in compensation. This guest does not mention she was allowed to have 2 extra guests stay over when the maximum is 4 people. Of course I apologized a million times and I said to her sons as they were leaving how much fun it was watching them enjoy the kayaks and that they has three free nights for next year. I would never say cold pizza for the road under any circumstances. It was an unfortunate mistake on both parts, she in not reading the calendar correctly and me for not double checking. It is a shame that she will not return as the kids had so much fun.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ideal relaxation spot for visiting Vancouver

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing time we had at Elaine and Tony's beautiful home. It was an ideal getaway from the busy city for our family, including our two young children. They had so much to do and explore both inside and outside the house, and it was lovely to be able to bbq and cook our own meals at our leisure. We took daily trips around North Vancouver and downtown -- the travel was easy and it was always so nice to get back 'home' at the end of a busy day. We always slept so well to the sound of the water.

It was definitely a treat for the adults to go out in the kayaks every morning (and even a swim!) We're looking forward to coming back when the kids are a bit older so they can try the boating and hiking more too. Thank you so much to our wonderful hosts!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our place is really great for families of all ages. Its an inexpensive way to experience life on the ocean in a west coast forest yet it is so close to the city. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $40.52
Damage Deposit $81.04

A waiver needs to be signed upon arrival for use of the kayaks and the property. Long weekends 3 night minimum

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties