Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Lovely house close to beautiful beach

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,033 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 1,5 bathrooms, sleeps 6

At about 1 mile from the gorgeous beach of Xcalacoco you will find the neighborhood of Balam tun. It's a gated community with 24/7 security, parks/ playgrounds, soccer/basketbal/volleyball courts, small supermarkets and a restaurant. The people that live there are very friendly and will make you feel right at home.

Our house has 3 bedrooms with an equal number of comfortable king size beds, providing sleeping space to a maximum of 6 people. The bedrooms are fully equipped, as is the rest of the house. You will be left wanting for nothing.

Some features of our house:

- Wifi internet

- Satellite (smart) TV

- Laundry machine

- Combination microwave

- Air conditioning in all 3 bedrooms (updated in June 2017)

- Ceiling fan in every room

- Private parking

- 24h/day security in gated community.

- Supermarkets/ playgrounds/ restaurant/ laundry place and Oxxo convenience store (open 24/7) within 100 meters from the front door.

- Hurricane protectors at every window

- Baby playpen/ bath and seat available if requested

- 2 bikes come included with the rent

- Hydraulic pump for excellent water pressure

- Optional cleaning service provided at affordable rates

The manager of the house (Paula) is always close by to assist you immediately if you happen to run into any problems during your stay.

More Details

Property Manager
Ferdinand van Meurs
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, spanish, dutch
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 31, 2018

About Ferdinand van Meurs

I am Dutch, married to a Mexican wife with whom I have two lovely daughters. We are living in the Netherlands right now, but visit Mexico at least once per year to meet up with the family. Needless to say, we always have a great time there.

Ferdinand van Meurs purchased this house in 2010

Why Ferdinand van Meurs chose Playa del Carmen

We decided to buy this house, because we are thinking about moving to Playa del Carmen one day. It has an incredible beach nearby and is a bit removed from the hectic city center.

What makes this house unique

Our house is located in a street that ends in a playground for kids, making sure there is hardly any traffic. We love it so much we bought another house very close to it. Also, some of our previous guests decided to do the same and become part of our cute community.

Amenities

Playa del Carmen House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1033 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • The bathroom downstairs consists out of a toilet and a sink. Upstairs there is a toilet, sink and shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Lovely house close to beautiful beach
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
Blokker
5

Always great!

  • 5 of 5

We love Mexico and ever since we are retired we have traveled there many times. Sometimes we stay in a hotel/resort and sometimes we rent a house like this one. In Playa del Carmen, Ferdinand and Olga's place has become our first choice. We have been there a couple of times now and have gotten to know a few very kind people that live in the same street. But we also love the cute house itself, it feels very Mexican and looks prettier everytime we come.

For some people the house might very well be a bit too much away from downtown Playa del Carmen, but for us that is one of the reasons why we like it. Besides, you are only about 10 minutes removed from the centre. The little community is cute too and has a few stores for your groceries, a tasty restaurant and laundry place. The house has a laundry machine too, but we usually don't bother to use it.

The beach nearest to the house is very pretty, even if for us it is seems like it is getting further away each time we go there. 1 mile sounds about right, but for people of our age, it is quite a walk. We still do it and you can see a lot of things, on our latest trip we saw a monkey on the road. But we also take the bikes, with baskets that allow us to bring some drinks and snacks. When we are very lazy we take a taxi. Also, the beach chairs have served us well.

The house is clean, complete and at this price it's a steal. We highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Muchas gracias Johanna, it's always great to have you as our guests as well. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We stayed a month and a half in Playa. House was plenty big and all three bedrooms had king sized beds. Kitchen has all the things you need to cook at the house. Saves money when on a long visit. The beach closest to us is a 20 minute walk. Nice beach and pretty quite. If you are looking for lots of people, head to the 5th Ave. area beaches. Lots of places to choose from. Taxi's cost anywhere from $5 US to $8 US. We did figure out the Collectivo bus. You catch it at the highway across from the Coca Cola factory. Get the one that ends in CENTRO. Cost 9 pesos each person. (,50 cents US). It goes by the Mega and Walmart grocery store. You can stock up there and get the little things at the 2 convenience stores right by the neighborhood. Very friendly place, and SAFE area. Loved It.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Chris! It was wonderful to have you as our guests for so long and you are of course always welcome when you are planning another Playan winter. :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Not well taken care of house

  • 1 of 5

Sadly we did not have a good stay at this house. The caretaker Paula was not there when we arrived which made things start off on the wrong foot. When we entered the house we found a huge wasps nest on the balcony upstairs. Paula was still there so someone came to fix it, we thought it was nice that it was resolved but over the next few days we noticed more and more things either broken or ill maintained items. The bottom toilet wasn't flushing, the toilet seats were full of stains, the bathroom door was broken and would open with the slightest touch, kitchen sink gets clog, leak from the ceiling over the kitchen sink, no AC in one bedroom, the AC another room was SO LOUD we had to switch rooms with a stronger sleeper.

In terms of amenities, pillows were few and incredibly lumpy and flat. The kitchen basics were not there, like salt and pepper. It reminded me of a college kitchen, full of mismatched cups and plate wares, broken wine openers, missing utilities like scissors or a decent size kitchen trash bin. It would be fine for a group of my friends and I, but bringing my family for a christmas holiday, I was embarrassed.

While all these things are small in there nature adding them up made quite a difference. We've used other rentals many times and I have never been to such a poorly maintained home. While the host answered our concerns to fix the broken things they wanted to have people over the house to fix items while no one was home... which was not an option for us. When people showed up to fix the bathroom, 3 people came in, and my family was tired from a day at the beach and wanted to shower. While it's great to have someone come over to fix these items after the toilet was 'fixed', they just reconnected the broken piece with the same plastic piece that came off instead of replacing it with a new one, they said they could come back later to fix the rest when we were done using the bathroom. We never called them back, we just stuck it out because it was better than feeling like you're in a construction house, we preferred our privacy. If you're coming with a group of friends and just need a place to crash this is your place. If you want to have a lovely vacation with your family find another house.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear reader, ... I'm afraid that for you the damage is done. I can tell this by the few people that already thought the destructive review above was helpful information. And I don't blame them. We have however gathered over 100 reviews on the various websites we advertise on and you have found the only bad one. I don't expect you to verify this, but it would place things in perspective for you. I could easily give you my view on this particular guest and provide many examples to prove my case, but it's going to be a 'her word vs mine scenario' and actually, ... you would probably be having a hard time believing the things she has said and done during her stay. I still have trouble believing it myself. So the only thing I will tell you is this: If you would choose to stay in our house and afterwards you would read this review again it's almost certain that you will be just as puzzled by it as I have been during this whole experience. I myself and our house manager will go above and beyond before and during your stay to make sure you are 100% happy with the choice you made. Many guests, including many returning guests, have had a wonderful time there and you are very welcome to do the same.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 3
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

Great location in the heart of the Mexican Riviera. We felt right at home in a safe well appointed neighborhood. We were very well taken care of by Ferdinand the property owner and Paula the on- site manager. We highly recommend any of Ferdinand's properties and would rent from him again.

Dr. Erin Thompson, RN BSN MBA DMgt

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Erin and you are of course always welcome to return to one of our houses. And please continue spreading the word among your friends and family. :) Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wellsville, KS
5

Great local neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

Ferdinand, the owner, is very caring and sincere. He would answer all of my many questions via email quickly prior to our visit. We were fortunate to get to know him and his family when they stayed four houses away in their other casa they just renovated.

This is in a typical Mexican neighborhood, with a lovely park and walkway runs through middle. Street sweepers keep the sidewalks and streets clean and prune plants. There are some homes in the area that are in need of paint and repair. Nice local Mexican restaurant and market right at entrance of Balum Tun. It was 1-1/4 mile walk to beach.

There is construction of a new mega resort next to Princess Hotel, we would walk this way past construction toward Coco Cabanas Pizza (very good pizza and fish). The beach is not crowded here and not as Rocky. Other way to walk is to public access past

Azul Fives. Beautiful beaches. Ferdinand provides beach towels and chairs, even a cooler and bikes. When we had minor problems, Ferdinand would see that they were taken care of. Our one problem was getting gas man to leave gas without us paying. Paula, the manager, is to take care of. Also, have to get used to the Mexican 10 minutes (means next day) and their banos. We enjoyed our stay here. Also, to get to Playa or Cancun or Tulum area was easy, just get on a collectivo at the Highway. Tell them Coca stop, Coca cola plant is on corner of highway where you get on or off. Good ADO bus to Merida. So, location is fine. You can get taxis also. Overall, the home is as listed. Good washing machine. Thanks, Nancy

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely and detailed review Nancy! It was great to have met you guys and I wish one day we can pick up where we left off. Just return to Playa sometime, I know we will! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver, CO
5

EXCELLENT!

  • 5 of 5

Easy to get to, has everything you need, extremely close to the beach and downtown Playa, gated. Paula, the manager, was amazing and very accessible if I needed anything. Quiet and felt very safe! Awesome taco place right outside the gates!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Muchas gracias ! I am glad to hear the house left you wanting for nothing. We will try to make it even more comfortable for when you return though. :)
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Kilometres
Cancun international airport
Nearest Ferry
8 Kilometres
Ferry to Cozumel
Nearest Beach
1 Kilometres
Xcalacoco

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $35.34

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.