Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

3 Bedroom Queen Anne Victorian

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Beautifully furnished Townhouse with private garden in a quiet neighborhood near Golden Gate Park. At center of San Francisco and surrounded by excellent public transportation, a perfect retreat for relaxing between excursions to all the famous sites in and around the San Francisco area. And best of all, just around the corner, a fabulous grocery/deli with all a family could wish for only steps away.


Owner
Noni Storm
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

Amenities

Richmond District House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

20% Complete
45% Complete
22% Complete
2% Complete
8% Complete
3 Bedroom Queen Anne Victorian
average rating of 3.6571429 based on 35 reviews
3

Adequate/convenient location

  • 3 of 5

Plusses: Location near museums at Golden Gate Park, good master bed and linens.Nice bistro and market nearby

Minuses: tired decor throughout, challenging kitchen, needs new rugs, upholstered furniture and paint and some ceiling and wall repairs.

Good place to crash if you are spending most of your time in the City, but not a place you will want to ‘hang out’ for long.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Small but her cute home in good location.

  • 4 of 5

We happen to arrive on the hottest weekend San Francisco has ever seen and therefore staying in a house with no air conditioning was very hot! There were a few fans that helped a little but during the day it was impossible to keep the heat out. We very much enjoyed our stay but recommend bringing your own fans to keep the house cool.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Good location - but neglected and dirty home

  • 1 of 5

This home is in a great location with restaurants, grocery stores, and Golden Gate Park all within .5 miles. The beds were also pretty comfortable and the downstairs landlord was accommodating as she completed two loads of laundry for us. HOWEVER, this apartment is not kept up and is very dirty. We agree 100% with everything in the prior review by Jacqueline P. We rented this house the following week and saw everything she mentions in the review including the dirty drawers, closets, and ants. By looking at the molding, floors, carpets, light fixtures, etc., it is clear that there is never any major cleaning done. All of the furniture is old and, based on the rest of the house, you have to assume is also never cleaned. We were asked to take the linen off the beds before we left and were grossed out by the mattress pad we had slept on all week. Based on the multitude of stains, it clearly is never washed. A couple of things the prior review didn’t mention is that the back door to the patio is rotting and falling apart and the window in the upstairs bathroom is broken and appears to have years of dust on it. We tried using the downstairs shower once during the week – but never used it again because it was so uncomfortable. The shower curtain only goes half way across because there is a wall built on top of the 2nd half of the bath. My husband and I each killed some very large bugs in the downstairs bathtub also. With a good, thorough cleaning and some upkeep, this could be a great property. However, in its current state, I wouldn't recommend this rental to anyone – it is not a pleasant place to stay. The owner replied to a review in July and said that “the cleaners and our caretaker have been notified and will be taking extra care in the future”. Clearly this didn’t occur prior to our stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Poor Condition

  • 1 of 5

The pictures here must be very old because they are not indicative to the condition of this property. The "cleaners" had just left when we checked in. The place was disgusting. Garbage in closets/dresser drawers, under beds (things such as Oreo cookies, sanitary napkin wrapping, garbage and debris) laying around. Dirty/used towels on the closet floor and broken furniture and junk in closets (we lived out of our suitcases), the back deck was too dirty to even sit on the chairs/use the table (we ended up cleaning the balcony ourselves just to have a place to sit outside). There were dust balls/dirt all over, stains on comforters. The back yard was overgrown. The balcony is not secure, the deck moves as you walk on it and the railings all around wobbly. It is very unsafe/unstable. The shower upstairs feels like you are going to fall through it. The paint is peeling all over the home, water damage to the ceiling (under the above-mentioned shower) with plywood screwed onto the ceiling (looks terrible), filthy doors/walls, holes in walls. Some electrical outlets don't work. Ants all in the kitchen (food and crumbs in kitchen drawers and cabinets). We have stayed in other SF homes and the excuse of it being an older home is not acceptable. It simply is not maintained. There are some wonderful qualities to this home that seem to be hidden by the uncleanliness / lack of maintenance to the house. We contacted the owner the morning after check in and her response was to blame the cleaners but she asked me to meet with the caretaker and point out the damages. I responded that we would be busy for a couple of days but her caretaker was welcome to go in but I didn't see the need for me (the renter...I'm not a contractor) to point out the obvious. I gave her the benefit of the doubt that since she wasn't local she may not be aware and offered to email her the pics if she would provide her email address but I never heard from her again and we were there for a week. (She did send someone to hose down the back yard on our 5th day there). We paid a $140 cleaning fee, $59 house damage fee and $125 service fee, plus daily rent for a house that needs so much attention. I wouldn't rent this house (especially with children due to the instability of the balcony railings) without confirmation that the damages to this home are addressed. The only good thing about this house was the location.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Tulsa, Oklahoma
5

Lovely home and great location !

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed you home. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

More unkempt than charming...

  • 1 of 5

We booked this house for our stay in San Francisco because of the great reviews - what we got was the total opposite of what we were expecting. I think back in the day, this Victorian home had lots of charm and beauty...but today it needs some MAJOR TLC.

#1 Cleanliness. The house needs to be thoroughly cleaned - from the carpets to the walls to the bathrooms. The carpets were so dirty that we had to wear our shoes at all times. There were dust bunnies everywhere - on the ceilings and in the fans left out for use. The downstairs bathtub needs to be re-caulked. The upstairs bathroom door didn't close fully because the wood was warped. The walls need a fresh coat of paint. There was a board patching the living room ceiling. The ceiling paint in one of the bedrooms was chipping. There is a difference between dirty and old...a house can be old but still be kept in clean conditions.

I wish I could share the pictures of the house we took to show the conditions we saw. It's a shame that VRBO/Homeaway doesn't allow pictures to accompany reviews.

#2 Comfort. We had a family of 6 and there weren't enough towels for us to use. When the owner was notified, she told us there were additional towels in the closet but when we searched there was none. We were also told laundry facilities were in the lower unit (where the caretaker lives) and that we would need to schedule a time to do laundry. We pay for certain conveniences and scheduling to do laundry on someone else's schedule is inconvenient - especially when there aren't enough towels for 6 people to shower in one day. The TV quality was so bad that we couldn't watch it.

#3 Parking. There is none for the house. If you have a car you have to find parking on a different street and make sure to move the car before getting ticketed or towed.

We were booked for 3 nights but decided to leave after the first due to the unkempt conditions. I reached to the owner to see if she would provide a refund (I know...wishful thinking!) but she never even acknowledged my email, let alone respond to it.

My husband summarized the house perfectly when he said, "this place reminds me of a frat house" where things are cared for in a sloppy and superficial manner instead of meticulously.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Point Reyes National Seashore
"Still unspoiled, this beautiful section of the Northern California coast offers close -up vi..."
Osteria Stellina
Cheese Factory
"Never failed to stop here on our way to Stinson Beach holidays...still the best French chees..."
Point Reyes Books
"Always good to have a book handy if rain drops start coming down"
Muir Woods National Monument
"A magic place you will never forget. Feed your spirit soothe your soul with a quiet walk thr..."
Sausalito
"Tiny hillside town at the edge of the Bay - just off the Golden Gate Bridge as you enter Mar..."
Mill Valley
"Unique shopping area with really interesting restaurants - a very special village in a beaut..."
California Academy of Sciences
"Possibly the most interesting Natural History museum in the country - with a diverse list of..."
Japanese Tea Garden
"For the whole family, gorgeous for grown-ups - a photographers paradise - yet really fun for..."
Stow Lake Boat & Bike Rentals
"So much fun for all ages - nothing like a paddle boat for a little harmless exercise - and,a..."
Strybing Arboretum & Botanical Gardens
"Huge! a few worlds worth of plants and examples of gardens so be prepared to walk a while. I..."
de Young Museum
"Once upon a time there was an elegant, understated and beautiful building on this site- not ..."
Legion of Honor
"After the Musee D'Orsay in Paris, my favorite museum in the world. Like the d'Orsay - it is ..."
Car: not necessary

Within walking distance to all the best attractions in Golden Gate Park and a wonderful gourmet grocery is just around the corner in our same block - both a real plus for families sightseeing in San Francisco.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $140
Damage Insurance $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties