Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!! 2.5 BLOCKS FROM BEACH & DOWNTOWN!!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 980 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4, totally new floor to ceiling renovations

Perfect LOCATION!! If you are looking for a beautiful town on the Gulf Coast to spend some time at the beach, then Ocean Springs may just have that quaint little town atmosphere you are looking for! This cottage is about location, location, location!! The beach and downtown are both within 2 & 1/2 blocks of the cottage. The summer sun is beautiful here, the sand and beach chairs are ready, grill is ready to be fired up on the back porch, Tatonut is making the best donuts ever, and the restaurants are serving up great menus!

This beautiful little cottage has been totally renovated from floors to ceiling and boasts a brand new fully equipped kitchen, appliances, bathrooms & fixtures along with a new stackable washer/dryer. The location is perfect for your family beach vacations or weekend getaways and ready for your enjoyment and pleasure as you spend time around the beautiful and quaint town of Ocean Springs, Mississippi. You can enjoy the back porch where you can relax outside listening to birds and watching butterflies. The dining and living room give comfort and relaxation after a day at the beach, exploring downtown, or trying your luck at the casinos. The master suite has a queen bed and master bathroom that also houses the stackable washer/dryer unit. The guest room also has its own private bathroom.

Butterfly Cottage is a private home located in a quiet neighborhood near the downtown Historic Ocean Springs. I have enjoyed getting to know our neighbors who are fun and interesting people whose friendship, privacy and quiet enjoyment of their homes and community are very important to us. Please treat our home and neighbors with the same respect you would your own. We hope you enjoy your stay.

More Details

Owner
Cynthia Hokenbrough
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

About Cynthia Hokenbrough

My daughter married a long time resident of Ocean Springs. They settled into a quiet life here on the Gulf Coast this past decade and invited me to come enjoy this wonderful little town. I fell in love with the relaxed life style and warm winters, but it also is allowing me to enjoy the cultural experiences of Walter Anderson Museum, Shearwater Pottery, and the entire historic Ocean Springs community. Front Beach and Fort Maurepas Park, ONLY 2 blocks from Butterfly Cottage, are just a few of my grandsons and my favorite places to play, ride bike, and relax. And at the end of the day, walking less than 3 blocks to downtown we can enjoy some of the finest restaurants and shopping on the Gulf Coast!

Cynthia Hokenbrough purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Cynthia Hokenbrough chose Mississippi

This cottage is easily at the center of all the activity and experiences Ocean Springs has to offer. One can easily walk to the center of town in one direction and to the beach in the opposite direction. Everything is very close and convenient.

Amenities

Ocean Springs Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 980 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathrm - toilet , shower
    Guest Bathrm - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bath towels are provided on all daily or weekly rentals. Rentals LONGER than 1 week will be offered use of cottage towels with a fee of 15/weekly or 35/monthly.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedrm - 1 queen
    Guest Bedrm - 1 queen
  • Bed linens are provided on all daily or weekly rentals. Rentals LONGER than 1 week will be offered use of cottage linens with a fee of 35/weekly or 75/monthly.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!! 2.5 BLOCKS FROM BEACH & DOWNTOWN!!
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 17 reviews
5

A little piece of paradise in Biloxi

  • 5 of 5

We were there for a few days visiting my son who is stationed at Kessler AFB. We absolutely loved the Butterfly Cottage. We most definitely will be back for a second stay. Thanks so much for allowing us to make priceless memories with my son and my family. If you are ever in Biloxi be on the look out for this little quaint cottage. It is a little piece of Paradise in Biloxi.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words about your stay at out little cottage! I'm happy you enjoyed it; I know you must be so proud of your son! Congratulations to him and your family on his service to our country. Please thank him for his service for us! You are welcome to stay at Butterfly Cottage anytime! Hope to see you in November! Thanks again, Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it

  • 5 of 5

Precious place .we loved it

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at Butterfly Cottage!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay at the Butterfly Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Great location, especially if you have young children. There is a large park just across the street. The cottage is updated very well. Very clean.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words! I'm so happy you had a good time! Look forward to having you stay again! Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Decatur, AL
5

Treat yourself and book a get away at Butterfly Cottage!

  • 5 of 5

Butterfly Cottage is the perfect place for your trip to Ocean Springs or the surrounding area. It is sunny and bright with everything you'll need. An adorable, well-equipped kitchen allowed us to make coffee and breakfast for a leisurely start to each day. We had a hard time deciding whether to sit on the front porch and watch the joggers and bikers traveling by or to relax in the privacy of the back porch. The hammock beckoned but unfortunately on this trip we didn't have time to linger there. Very comfy beds. Sparkling clean bathrooms with plenty of hot water with good pressure. The location could not have been better. We could have walked easily to downtown with plenty of restaurants and shops. Cynthia was extremely easy to communicate with and gave good instructions about getting into the cottage as well as what to do when we left. The listing description and pictures are very accurate. My only complaint is that we didn't have enough time to enjoy the cottage. We had a wedding in Pascagoula so were bouncing back and forth most of the weekend. Hillyer House is a fabulous gift shop/gallery right on Washington Ave. Down a couple of blocks you'll find the Walter Anderson Museum of Art. While you're there, consider buying a Gulf Coast Museum Pass which gives you entrance to 8 museums for $35--a great deal. We visited the Maritime & Seafood Industry Museum in Biloxi for the first time and it's fascinating. We also spend some time at the Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art in Biloxi and the Visitor's Center. We had lunch at the Government St. Grocery--fabulous burgers and cold beer. The Bayview Gourmet restaurant has a great brunch with lots of choices of various eggs benedicts, omelets and quiches as well as regular breakfast food. Watch the sun set over the bayou at McElroys and check out their chargrilled oysters. So much to do and so many great places to eat and shop in Ocean Springs and you can walk to most of them from the Butterfly Cottage. My husband and I loved our stay here and we will definitely be back. We definitely recommend it. Thanks Cynthia for sharing your vacation home!

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Dodie, you are so sweet! I am so happy that you had a wonderful time! Thank you so very much for the complimentary review! Ocean Springs has so much to offer and the cottage is located right in the middle of it all. So lucky to be able to share our little cottage with guests like you! You are welcome anytime so please come back!! Thank you again! Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Butterfly Cottage

  • 5 of 5

The Butterfly Cottage was absolutely perfect for our visit to Ocean Springs. Proximity to downtown, beach, expressway is great. the cottage has everything you need for home away from home. It was perfect for my Mother who is 88 and cannot handle stairs, long walks, etc. and the walk in shower was very much needed. Mom's only suggestion was: Please install a hand held shower head for those who cannot stand, but have to sit while showering. the cottage was clean, light and bright, very cheery, the beds were comfortable as well. It was so nice having the dining area for family visiting time. the back patio was nice and peaceful. Although the neighboring houses are very close, there was never any issue with noise or being disturbed by anyone. Note: the ice maker in the refrigerator was not working at all during our visit. Just like to mention one safety issue, the privacy fence at the end of the driveway makes it impossible to see approaching cars or bicycles when backing out. i finally just started backing into the drive as that was a little safer viewing when pulling out of the drive. the end panel needs to be lowered slightly for safety measures. I would definitely stay there again, it was perfect! Bayview brunch on Sunday was delicious. I almost did not go, as i had read many mixed reviews, but was glad that I gave them a chance!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for all your suggestions! I'm glad you had a nice stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gladewater, TX
5

Very impressed with the beautiful cottage, very comfortable and location is perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Shortly after arrival we were greeted by the maid asking if there was anything we needed for our stay, so thoughtful and gracious! The home has been updated throughout and is extremely clean and bright among the many perfectly placed art crafts giving us that comfortable home feeling. Cynthia is very attentive to assuring the guests are supplied with the necessities, and kitchen ware needed for our stay. This trip to Ocean Springs was a true enjoyable occasion for us and the "Butterfly Cottage" proved to be a bonus. Thanks Cynthia for your thoughtfulness and dedication to your guests.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Awe, thank you so very much, Bill and Carolyn! It was so nice getting to know you via email and phone conversation! I'm happy you had a wonderful time with your family able to come to a central location like Ocean Springs to visit with you. I hope to have you stay at Butterfly Cottage again sometime. Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Gulfport Biloxi International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
SOS, The Grocery, Mezo's
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Gulf Hills Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
Interstate 10
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Many down town restaurants
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Front Beach
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ocean Springs Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Cruisin' the Coast
Sep 30 2017 - Oct 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$165
 
 
Peter Anderson Festival
Nov 2 2017 - Nov 5 2017
2 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
Christmas Weekend
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$135
 
 
New Year's Weekend
Dec 29 2017 - Jan 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$135
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$110
$750
$2,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Cleaning $90
Tax Rate 9.0%

Check-in is flexible and check-out is by 10:00 am.

NO PARTIES - The renter must be a least 21 years of age and other adults cannot rent property on behalf of underage guests. There will be no exception. Any special occasions or events must be disclosed at the time the reservation is made and is subject to Owner's advanced approval. Any special occasion or event that would require street parking or that would be disruptive to neighbors in any way is not permitted.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties