check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Dog-friendly family retreat with private hot tub close to beach

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

At just a stone's throw from a lakeside beach, close to skiing, and boasting a private hot tub, Chalet Dakar is a dog-friendly getaway for the whole family.

From here, you can hop into the car and reach prime North Lake Tahoe skiing, hiking, and Nevada gambling within 10 to 20 minutes. You can even walk to Carnelian Bay Beach in 15 minutes! At the home, spend afternoons with a game of horseshoes in the backyard or even shoot pool (there's a hidden table under the dining room table)!

In the sitting room, everyone can gather apres-ski on the cushy couches for a movie on the flatscreen TV, while flames pop and crackle in the wood-burning fireplace. You can even stream music over your phone with the WiFi.

The fully-stocked kitchen includes plenty of counter space, a gas stove, and more to make dinner for the whole crew. Check out the retro vinyl flooring!

If you want to take your meals outside (and save the dining table for pool), there's a charcoal grill and bench seating around the deck. Be sure to take a nice long soak in the private hot tub for ultimate relaxation!

Here, you have seven beds and three cozy bedrooms, sleeping a total of eight guests. On the main floor, parents and kids might like sharing the queen-twin bunk bed, which blends into the woodsy theme with its quaint frame.

Upstairs, you'll find two bedrooms tucked under the vaulted ceiling. There's a queen-size bed plus a twin bunk in the master bedroom and in the third bedroom, another queen and two full-size beds.

Whether you sleep upstairs or down, you'll have easy access to bathrooms. The one on the main floor includes a walk-in shower. The upstairs one has a jetted tub under the vaulted ceiling, giving it a private spa feel.

If you need a washer and dryer, you'll find a set right off of the kitchen. And, if you can't leave home without your dog pal, bring him along, though please note there is a nightly fee.

Once you're set to ski, snowboard, snowshoe, or just make a snow angel and have a mug of hot cocoa, head out to your choice of resorts! Northstar is only 15 minutes away, while both Squaw Valley and Alpine Meadows are both 25 minutes from your door.

Spring and summer are also fun in Tahoe. Only eight minutes away is North Tahoe Regional Park where you can play a round of tennis and enjoy lots more outdoor activities.

If you have hikers in the group, after a quick 20-minute trip are trails at Burton Creek State Park. Locals like the accessible summit of Mount Watson, which has amazing see-it-to-believe-it views of the lake.

This property is also very close to Carnelian Bay Beach. In just 15 minutes you can walk to the shore (or take a three minute drive if it's too cold). There, you'll find a a dog-friendly area, the Old Post Office Coffee Shop, and Waterman's Landing, a restaurant where you can also launch your kayak or paddle board.

Adults will enjoy a night out at the Tahoe Biltmore Lodge and Casino, just 10 minutes away across the Nevada state line.

Dakar Chalet is the perfect retreat for a large family or a group of friends (and dog) to share a perfect North Lake Tahoe vacation!

More Details

Property Manager
Vacasa, CA - Lake Tahoe
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
January 21, 2017

About Vacasa, CA - Lake Tahoe

Thanks for considering a Vacasa home! We provide full-service management for privately owned vacation homes, and like to think that we offer our guests the best of both worlds: the unique experience of staying in a one-of-a-kind vacation home, with the peace of mind that comes from knowing that the home you book for your special vacation is cared for by professional housekeepers and property managers.



Vacasa began in 2009, simply because our founder and CEO Eric wanted to find a better way to share his wife’s family’s summer home in Long Beach, Washington with guests as a vacation rental. Eric and his early team worked to build Vacasa on the premise that local employees can do what they love most (taking care of guests, homeowners, and properties), while the hands-off tasks of vacation rental management—things like marketing, filing taxes, and maintaining a website—could be handled by a specialized central support team.



Our passion is connecting travelers with the unique experience of staying in a vacation home, and we would be honored to be your host. Please contact us with any questions about this home—our team is standing by!


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

Dog-friendly family retreat with private hot tub close to beach
average rating of 4.368421 based on 19 reviews

Homey A-Frame in Great Location; our trip coincided with major snowstorm

  • 3 of 5

This is a nice family house with great room/kitchen layout. Pros: Location. The big table that converts to a pool table is an awesome feature for kids. Well-stocked kitchen and lots of sleeping space. Nice fire place. Lots of books, videos, games. CONS: Decor is a little tired and beds have VERY firm mattresses. Puzzles missing lots of pieces. Big shade in living room broken. Hot tub water smells odd. Called management for help locating fusebox; told me property manager would call me but he/she never did. Our time there coincided with major power outage so we didn't enjoy it as we had hoped we had no heat/electricity for 30+ hours.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: It’s great to hear about the wonder things you were able to enjoy at Chalet in Carnelian Bay. We apologize for the conveniences you may have faced with losing power. Our local operations manager was able to address the concerns you had from your stay. A full cleaning was done to the hot tub, and games were replaced as needed. We are currently looking into an upgrade for the shades in the living room, so check back for an update when that has been complete. We hope to have you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

We love this place.

  • 5 of 5

It's been our pre-Christmas getaway two years in a row.

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good value in a great location.

  • 4 of 5

Good value in a great location.

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very poor experience

  • 1 of 5

I rented this property through VRBO but they're account manager was Vacasa.

Let me begin by saying I have spoken with roughly 10 Vacasa team members including 1 local affiliate over the last 48 hours and everyone has been incredibly kind, patient, and helpful. Due to that this very frustrating and unacceptable experience has been made tolerable, so thank you. Please also note the following factors: I am 8 months pregnant, traveling from Sacramento with my 5 year old daughter, husband, dog, and father who is visiting from Washington State.

10/14- Called Vacasa to see about an early check in for next day or to see if we would be able to book an additional night and come up 10/14.

Was told by gentleman in guest services that he could not guarantee an early check in but we could rent the house one night earlier for an additional $161.?? including taxes. I told him I would call right back.Called back and spoke with a women in reservations, about 15 minutes after the first call, to book the additional night but was told although she could see the notes and quote from guest services, the home was not available and she did not why or how he was able to tell me that.She apologized, we were disappointed but understood. We hoped to get an early check-in the next day.

10/15-Left Sacramento at 1030 the next morning hoping for an earlier check in and arrived in North Lake Tahoe around 1230pm.

We had to kill 3.5 hours unless emailed by housekeeping (someone from vacasa told me to keep checking my email)

After getting groceries we headed to the house for our 4pm check in. (5 year old "starving and cold" at this point}

Arrived at Carnelian Bay rental at 4pm and entered the home. Upon entering we found it dirty.

Dirty floors

Soot around fire place (trap w/ashes was packed full)

Crumbs and food on counter tops

Food in sink

Garbage's full

Dirty laundry in all bathrooms

Unmade master bed and bunks

Personal belongings from previous renter (a watch)

Bathroom toilet had feces left behind :/

After trying to reach the local Property manager to no avail Vacasa found me an alternative rental. We were finally settled and able to eat dinner at 8pm.

Bottom line is I am not sure about the rental location but my overall experience was a challenging one.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are incredibly sorry to see that this guest had such a rough beginning to their stay. A missed clean like this is very rare, and we greatly appreciate this guest's patience in this unfortunate situation.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful Experience

  • 5 of 5

Ample space for all our crew of 4. Could easily house double that. Well cleaned and maintained with great customer service when needed.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fun place!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time here. It wasn't as close to Gar Woods as hoped (wedding) but an Uber was just a click away. No problem. The furnishings and decorations were outdated but we loved them. Nice walk to a couple of restaurants and coffee places not to mention mini golf!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability


  • Major Credit Cards Accepted. Taxes and fees are not included. Rates and availability calendars may change until time of booking.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Carnelian Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties