Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean waves, whales, snorkeling, hiking, swimming in a tropical peaceful setting

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Not to forget to mention you pay 1/3 of the price for those properties right on

This home has been totally remodeled and is brand new with a large kitchen and a beautiful Mango breakfast bar, high vaulted ceilings, windows all around, airy and open and spacious. Also has Wi-Fi. One bedroom has a king and 2 bedrooms have a queen and the extra room has a futon for more. Large living room and covered lanai-deck. Wi-Fi. On site washer and dryer upstairs which is coin operated, {only 4 quarter}s. Plenty of room for parking. The home is in a beautiful, safe and quiet neighborhood called Vacation Land and just a 3 minute walk to the world famous Wai Opae tide pools. (best snorkeling in Hawaii) Close to Uncle Roberts, black sand beaches and all that Puna has to offer and everything you need for a fabulous vacation. This area has been ranked #8 in the world for snorkeling and has black sand beaches, hot ponds, Uncle Roberts, and many other attractions close by. There are two floors on this beautiful home and this listing is for the upper floor. If you have more guests, the entire home is available up to 12 guests!

Just some reminders: Please keep fans and lights off in all rooms when not room. Night lights are provided as it does get dark here.

I encourage people to put their compost in the compost containers under the sink and when full, empty in big compost bin under banana trees between the 2 houses.

The 2 large trash cans for garbage (other than cans and bottles that i recycle) plastic, etc. are downstairs next to the lanai. I empty garbage on Tuesdays.

Guests have use of a coin operated washing machine and dryer on 2nd floor lanai so when shopping, remember laundry soap, etc.

For the least expensive food, I recommend shopping in Hilo as it has Safeway, KTA, Sack n Save and Cost u Less (great for bulk.) For health food stores; Abundant Life and Island Naturals. The best deals are at Cost u Less and local farmers markets which are in Pahoa and Makuu Market on Sunday. There are farmers markets in Hilo on Saturday and Wedesday. Keaau also has a health food store and a Food Land. Pahoa has a very expensive health food store, another Island Naturals and Malama Market as well.

Please treat my home very pono...it is a very special place that deserves respect and to be kept clean.

Enjoy your stay here in beautiful special Hawaii.

I am next door or a call away and ready to help you in any way I can and to answer any of your questions.

We also have the ability to rent both floors of the duplex upon request.

wifi is dsl broadband and works great!

Thank you and Aloha, Arya

By the way Malio means 'dawning of the light" . I just learned this. It is perfect! sleeps 6, 3 bedrooms with 2 kings and one queen!.Regarding Rubbish Removal, please see directions in house. thank you.

More Details

Property Manager
arya azadi
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 16, 2017

About arya azadi

The owner (Arya Azadi) is an artist who works in India and China and is in Hawaii part of the year. Her work is showcased all over the world including her homes and others on this island. All is for sale. She has renovated this house with her exquisite taste.

arya azadi purchased this house in 2014

Why arya azadi chose Kapoho

Kapoho iss a very quiet and safe neighborhood. One feels quite removed from the world and its chaos. The weather is absolutely lovely and the ocean and tidal pools are right around the corner so when I want to be in the ocean it is a 5 minute walk. Waiopae Conservation is one of the worlds best areas to snorkel and swim as it's clean clear waters are home to some of the most diverse collection of incredibly colorful fish, octopus seals, sea cucumbers, crabs, sea urchins, coral...a wonderful under water world indeed! This home is a brand new renovation and is very spacious, clean, modern, and open. It has all the comforts of home with the amenities one would want to find within your Hawaiian get-away.

You will love this spot in paradise. It is heaven. very quiet, peaceful, safe and one can hear the ocean waves all night.

What makes this house unique

Walking distance to the tide pools. Listen to the waves crashing, birds chirping, coquis singing, whales breeching in season while being in a tropical paradise .Beautiful quiet location, on a very quiet street. Enjoy the artwork the owner has put within the units which are for sale! It is 1/3 of the price to stay here versus houses around the corner on the ocean. and further more, Malio means 'dawning of the light" . I just learned this. It is perfect!

Map

Nearest Airport
26 Miles
Hilo
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Pahoa
Nearest Golf
26 Miles
Hilo
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Pahoa
Nearest Beach
11 Miles
Kahena Black Sands, Pohohiki Beach, Champagne Pond
Car: recommended

We are in the heart of Puna. Lava tree state park is 2 miles away. The hot pond are just one mile away, Wai Opea tide pools are just 2 minutes by foot. Black sand beaches, Uncle Roberts, Lava lighthouse wet cave, several farmers markets. The property sits in Vacation Land with its tranquil setting, perfect weather, and friendly people.

Amenities

Kapoho House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Noon / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , in main room area
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , in master bedroom en-suite private style
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 queen
  • Living Room with couch sleeps 1
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Ocean waves, whales, snorkeling, hiking, swimming in a tropical peaceful setting
average rating of 4.0 based on 6 reviews
San Francisco
1

Worst VRBO I have EVER come across. Disgusting-- I took pictures. You've been warned.

  • 1 of 5

I am a fellow VRBO owner, and avid user of the site. I have stayed in many VRBOs over the years. I work in commercial property management, and have consulted many people on how to build a successful rental through VRBO.

Arya's house was filthy. As a matter of fact, had I known that by staying there the first (AND ONLY) night we were, "accepting the rental agreement," we would have loaded our kids, our luggage, and the $500 worth of food we purchased at Costco back into the car, and driven to a hotel in Hilo. For the rates being charged, this place is a joke. The bathrooms were disgusting. Pubic hairs on the toilet seats, and fecal spray still on the inside of the bowl. Old toothpaste on the back of the sinks. Unidentifiable flaky "stuff" in the corner by the sinks. Hair in the corners of the bath and shower. I took pictures of all of this to use in a small claims case that isn't worth my time after court fees, I'm told. Wretched stuff. I wouldn't let my kids use the toilet until I did my best to clean it. We were supplied 3 towels for a house that sleeps 7. They were old, and smelled like they had been stored under a house. There was one kitchen towel, which smelled terrible, and appeared slightly used. The kitchen counters were not clean. My wife ran her hand across one, and it came up with brown dirt on it. There was 1 tired, stinky sponge. The kitchen sink still had a small amount of food particles in the drain. The couch was unusable due to springs sticking up into the cushions so badly that I nearly jumped through the roof upon "taking a seat." The floors, surprise, were filthy. Worse, were the two beds with only linens on them, and upon peeling back said linens, we were elated to find black staining on the mattresses. I couldn't make this stuff up.

Arya came off as nice on the phone at first, but upon seeing the property, deemed my high expectations heresy. I stand guilty for using her dirty sponge to wipe down her glass tables where my children ate breakfast. I also put a box, and some empty bottles in her trash cans. This made her very upset with me, but frankly, I was confused, as when I spoke to her on the phone about cleaning the unit, she told me, and I do quote, "Don't worry about it. Leave it and I will take care of it." I thought by doing these things, I would in fact help. VRBO won't let me discuss how Arya charged me, but lets just say I was not given any sort of refund for this nightmare of a house, despite only staying 1 night.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: all i can say is i feel sorry for these people...Truly.May they find peace and solace somewhere. All you future guests have to do is read other reviews from very happy people. Of course I have not changed, neither has my lovely home. i was told that the wife is from here and that they found a free place to stay with friends so left leaving my home. i was only told this. I never even met them . I do not know the facts. I called Vrbo and told them I have guests at this time who gave me 24 hours notice that they were coming and now have left after staying one night. what should i do please. they told me return their damage deposit and since you turned other guests away, you should keep the payment for thier stay since you lost out. so i did as VRBO guided me. end of true story I did have a new experience however. Alll their food left in the compost bucket i gave to my chickens as i always do. this is the first time that thier food was not touched by one chicken, dog, or cat, (pink bread, white rice, fruit with one bite taken from each???) ok enough truth imparted! a happy, content, fortunate, grateful Arya
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Breezy, tropical getaway.

  • 5 of 5

We spent 4 days in this beautiful part of Big Island. We loved the close access to wonderful snorkeling. The apartment was open and spacious and beautiful. There was always a cool breeze blowing. The frogs and the birds chirping may take a little getting used to - but I loved them. Great place to get away from the commercial, touristy Hawaii. Loved the weekly market on the road to Hilo. Would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you so much cheryl. you are most welcome indeed anytime in the future. True aloha, arya
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Peaceful Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was actually next door at Arya's second home. Staying here was like staying with family! Arya was so warm and welcoming, it was a delight to stay here. The accomodation was excellent, beds comfortable, and had everything we needed. Arya supplied us with fruit regularly! A lovely neighbourhood and a short walk to the Tide pools made it an ideal location. We loved the Ahaluani Park in the morning, Tin Shack Bakery in Pahoa, and the lovely people we met. Thank you Arya for such a wonderful time!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: you are forever welcome and i so appreciate your lovely lovely gratitude. you are an inspiration dear friend. arya
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Tastefully simple oasis in the heart of paradise

  • 5 of 5

Staying at Arya's coqui haven was a real treat for me and the family. Our accommodations on the second floor were spacious, light and airy. Sort of like being in a treehouse , surrounded by the sounds, smells and sights of the tropical rainforest. The lush, green neighborhood is peaceful. Coqui frogs sing us to sleep at night, bird songs and the cackles of neighborhood chickens bringing a sparkle to the day. One chicken even layed an egg on the lanai for us every morning. Mongoose scurry across the streets and geckos quietly watching on the walls. The amazing tide pools full of beautiful fish are just a minute walk away. Fresh yummy tropical fruit everywhere you look. Great location for exploring volcanoes, black sand and rocky beaches, and numerous fantastic shoreline hikes. Arya is lovely, the perfect host; cheerful and happy to help if you need anything, and respectful of your space. I really appreciate her sharing this little piece of paradise with us.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful, stylish retreat

  • 5 of 5

Arya's place was lovely and the sounds of the coqui in the evening and the birds in the morning a welcome bonus. The proximity of the tide pools made morning adventures an easy delight; the chance to swim in a tropical fish store was a short walk away! I highly recommend the location and the home if you are after peace and quiet and the natural beauty Hawaii offers so generously.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you prissy for your sensitive and appreciative perspective. i am so happy that you enjoyed it here! the moon is full and the waves are crashing so majestically....come again! love arya
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

alright for the price

  • 3 of 5

Overall we were content with our stay over 4th of July weekend.

Just a few things I wanted to share with upcoming renters:

==Manager lives downstairs of unit. Which for us wasn't a problem at all, but some might not like that (as it is not mentioned in this listing) Dennis is a very nice man. He keeps to himself and we barely even knew he was there. He also let us have friends over and we did get some sort of loud. Popping fireworks on the 4th wasn't a problem either.

==Lighting is very poor in kitchen area. I advise you to cook before the sun goes down!

==Laundry on site is coin operated

==I'm hoping that this problem was fixed, the fridge wasn't working properly so a lot of our food ended up going to waste (BUMMER)

==Floor was very dusty and there wasn't a proper cleaning tool (dust mop) for the type of flooring (hardwood). Dennis did provide us with somewhat of a broom, which did work ok.

==This is a beautiful house. The beds are super comfy, so is the couch. The counter top is a beautiful Mango wood slab.

All in all I would stay here again (granted fridge is working) because for the price all other details were minor. Well maybe some wouldn't think so, (we are local and we could adjust) Some travelers might not fancy the haves and have nots.

I also have some tips for the owner/manager but it will not fit all in one review. I will try to post another.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: just for future travellers. dennis is long gone and he was never the owner. i am . i must say all right for the price is a pretty shabby expression for this peaceful lovely abode.
Did you find this review helpful?
16 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Refundable damage deposit $300
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 13.96%

above 2 people there is a nominal fee of $20.00 per person per night.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties