Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Summerland Ocean-View Cottage

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

Shimmering ocean views anchor this bright, open 3-bedroom, 2-bath vacation rental in a prime Summerland spot.

From the main living area, to the front porch, to the king-sized master bedroom, the Pacific Ocean is never far from view. And the beach isn’t far either—a 10-minute walk brings you to the sandy shores of Summerland Beach. A 5-minute walk and you’ll find the antique shops, restaurants and cafes of Summerland, a seaside town just as quaint and lovely as it sounds.

Note: The property is a flight of stairs down from the road parking to access the vacation home. The home is on the mountain side of the coastal 101 highway.

Warm hardwoods on the floors and slanted ceilings create a one-with-nature feeling. California sunlight spills into all of our home’s corners…including the gleaming, fully equipped kitchen with all the appliances and utensils you need to skip the restaurants and work some culinary magic at home. To make it easy, Cantwells Summerland Market is just a 5-minute walk away. A bottle of wine from a local vineyard adds the finishing touch to your meal.

When it’s time to eat, take your pick: dining table for 6 and countertop seating for 2 adjacent to the kitchen? Or outdoor patio dining for 6 in the ocean breeze? Whatever you choose, be sure to save room for s’mores toasted to perfection at the fire pit out on the deck.

The home’s 3 bedrooms include an ocean-view master (with king-sized bed) and two other bedrooms, the second guest room with 1 queen and our other bedroom with two twin-size beds. Two full bathrooms, one has a shower/tub and the other with a walk-in shower keeps mornings from getting hectic.

Another not-to-miss Summerland spot, Lookout Park, is also just a 5-minute walk away and provides panoramic, cliff-side views of the Pacific rolling onto shore. Don’t miss it. We also highly recommend Summerland Beach Café, which serves delicious burgers and breakfasts.

All of this, just 5 miles south of Santa Barbara!

Please note: there is a long term renter in the studio which is located above the house.

The Turn Key Advantage

Our property is TurnKey Rental Certified. All photos, amenities, calendar, and rates are 100% accurate. We supply shampoo, soaps, paper products, and hotel-quality towels and linens to all our guests.

We make it easy to stay with us! Drive straight to your rental and access the rental with a unique lock code that we give only to you. If early check-ins or late checkouts are possible, we will let you know.

When you book, we will send you our mobile app with directions, lock code, and instructions. We’re available 24 hours a day with live help.

All Turn Key Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. Each reservation includes applicable taxes, a cleaning fee, and a Property Damage Protection insurance policy.

More Details

Property Manager
TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
June 22, 2017

Amenities

Summerland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 1 King bed, 1 Queen bed, 2 Twin beds
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

Summerland Ocean-View Cottage
average rating of 4.3913045 based on 23 reviews
5

Lovely home, great accessibility to Summerland and Santa Barbara

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in the Summerland Ocean View Cottage! The home is beautifully decorated and very well-kept. Basic supplies - like laundry detergent, garbage bags and coffee filters - were provided, which was great. Easy walk to Summerland shops and restaurants and local beach. Porch and patio provided a great place to relax. The only downside is the traffic noise, but we got used to it pretty quickly.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Brenda, Thank you for the compliments, and we love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! You were perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. Please come stay again anytime! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice House But Noisy

  • 4 of 5

This house was nice, clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked and they leave you with small shampoo and conditioner bottles in the bathroom. There were plenty of toilet paper, and a roll of paper towels. The only thing lacking, there was very little dish washing detergent left for us. But plenty of dishwasher and laundry detergent. There's a nice patio area outside the house with a nice fire pit thing. The property management are very responsive to issues. This house would have been great if not for the 2 things below.

Here are a couple of things to be aware of:

1. This house is near the Hwy and is really noisy even with all the windows and doors closed. At one point we had to decide whether to put up with a very warm house or open the windows to cool the house and endure the roar of the car traffic. The bedrooms are on the back of the house so it's not as bad but then I sleep with ear plugs so that helps immensely.

2. The tenant lives above the back part of the house, above the bedrooms. So if the hwy doesn't keep you sleeping the tenant will. He gets up at around 6am and seems like he walks around in circle above you in hard soled shoes on hard surface floors, for like a half hour. We almost asked him to walk around in socks.

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Anna, Thank you so much for the review, and we are happy to hear that you had a nice stay at our place. That being said, we do apologize if some inconveniences occurred. We have since had noise reducing rugs put in the upstairs unit, we have a fan in every room so that you can still have air circulating with the windows closed and the listing description states that the home is right off of the 101 freeway. We'll also make sure there is always dish soap and a sponge provided. It's great to know we offered helpful service when you called us on our 24/7 hotline, though. We thought you were perfect guests, and are hopeful you will come stay again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy & comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Charming home with beautiful well kept yard/garden. Plenty of room for 6 adults. Great location. Beach access just down the hill. Upstairs renter & traffic noise noticeable but not annoying. Would recommend gardener work on a weekday instead of weekend. Difficult to enjoy great outdoor space with interruption of gardener mid-morning. Would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Leslie, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will look into the possibility of scheduling the lawn maintenance a little later in the day. You were perfect guests, and we are hopeful you will return again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Just a little surprised

  • 4 of 5

Summerland cottage was nice and clean and well equipped. We were not expecting to have an upstairs tenant that got up very early every morning. They weren't excessively noisy but we hadn't been to told someone was living there.

We had equipment issues with the fire place that required a special key and fiddling around to make it work. Once we got it going though it was very pleasant and helped to heat the place. Our oven took forever to reach temperature and I don't think it really ever got as high as we wanted. The back bedroom plug-in heater didn't work without giggling the cord so we didn't use it. The bedside lamp in that room also had no way to turn on(switch broken off). Disappointing for the late night reader. Several light bulbs were out including one nightlight. We made do.

It might be time to do a complete refresh on this property to be sure everything is in good working order.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lynne, thank you for taking the time to provide us this review! While we are so glad you had a nice stay in our home, we do apologize if some issues came up. We are a bit confused that you mention not being aware of the upstairs tenant, as we do mention that in our listing description. With regards to the other issues you mentioned, we have since replaced those light bulbs and lamp, made sure the heater is working, and have instructions for the fireplace listed within the TurnKey tablet provided in the kitchen. Thanks for letting us know about those issues, as it helps us to make our great rental become a perfect one. If there is anything else we could still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Feels like home

  • 4 of 5

This is my second time renting this beautiful Summerland Beach Cottage. The cottage is very relaxing. From the serene porch and living room views to the relaxing area beside the firepit. I would have liked someone to tell me that the 101N freeway is right in front of the cottage and the noise from the cars and trucks is noticeable as well as the man that lives in a room above the cottage as we were startled by loud footsteps or exercising upstairs very early in the mornings. Just having that presence should have been conveyed. In my first stay, I was alone the first night and certainly didn't know that anyone would be staying on the property. Lovely and quaint is this cottage.

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Debbie, thank you for the review, and we are so happy to have you back for the 2nd time! That being said, we do apologize if there was any confusion about the listing either time you stayed with us. Within our About the Property description, we do mention that our home "is on the mountain side of the coastal 101 highway" as well as that there "is a long term renter in the studio which is located above the house." It is great to hear that you found our place to be lovely, and we thought you were wonderful guests as well. Please come stay with us again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego, CA
5

Summerland Fan!

  • 5 of 5

I feel so fortunate to have come across the Summerland property listing while looking for a perfect place to gather with family and friends in the Santa Barbara area! The photos accurately capture the beautiful view and charm of the cottage. Clean and well stocked. Space for all. Host thought of everything and was responsive. Loved the little town just down the street, great shops and restaurants. Lovely home and highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. City and state taxes will be added to all reservation rates. Each reservation also requires a cleaning fee, and the standard Property Damage Protection policy.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties