Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Mtn Views, pool, hot tubs 50" TV, recliner, ground unit, wildlife

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Baby Bear Tracks is a wonderful mountain retreat only 3 miles from Gatlinburg

NOTE: Our complex here at High Chalet didn't get any fire damage and the areas surrounding our complex are still beautiful. The ski resort is still nice as it was and we invite you to come see! Downtown shops and most park trails are still as they were before the fires. Please come support our local economy, we depend on our visitors and appreciate you so much!

This is a beautiful vacation condo we call Baby Bear Tracks! It is easy to get in and out with no steps at the end of the porch or else 4 small sidewalk steps at the front of the porch. If you have trouble going up and down steps then you will appreciate this unit. I stay in this unit most of the time when I am up on the mountain because I love to watch the bears. A mama bear and her cubs visit regularly and flocks of turkeys also call this complex home. The trees were recently cut back to reveal an awesome view of the mountains, Gatlinburg and the Gondola going into Ober Ski Resort. There are two bedrooms with queen beds that are quite comfy. We purchased this unit in April 2015 and are so excited to be sharing it with others. We are doing all we can to make this a special place for our guests so that they will want to visit time and time again. Ask about our military, senior, law enforcement and other discounts. Also if you have a larger group and want condos close together, contact me for information on also reserving other units in the complex that belong us or to our friends.

Sit on your balcony first thing in the morning to enjoy a cup of coffee and the views of the mountains. Watch as wild life, (which may include bears) roams through the complex (typically late afternoon). I counted 18 turkeys one morning and have seen several bears at one time.

Enjoy the pool (in season) and relax in a nice warm hot tub. Nestle into the comfy recliner to read a book or to surf the web (free internet). As you unwind from a day of sightseeing or shopping enjoy the cable channels or a movie on the big screen TV. Bring your favorite movies to play on the Bluray/DVD player in the living room. The new instant start electric fireplace will lend a nice atmosphere for your evening!

The condo is next to The Smoky Mountain National Park, and it is just a short drive down the mountain to the entrance where you can experience the beauty via an auto tour or by hiking one of the many trails to a waterfall, or to panoramic overlooks. Spend the day in Gatlinburg where you will find boutiques, fudge shops, dining, shows, museums, and a great Aquarium. Nearby Pigeon Forge hosts Dollywood Theme Park and a splash park, outlet shopping, live shows, museums, helicopter tours and amusement fun for kids of all ages!

High Chalet Condos are in the Chalet Village area near the top of Ski Mountain and they offer beautiful mountain views as you walk along the grounds. The condo is only about a mile from Ober Gatlinburg which offers year round family fun and it is a short 15 minute drive to downtown Gatlinburg. Be aware that bears often cross the road so drive carefully. The road is winding and is steep at times so be sure to be alert when going up and down. You get used to it I promise. Once in the complex you will find plenty parking near the entrance to the walk way to our unit. There are four short steps down the walk to get to our ground floor level unit, or if you go to the end of the building there are no steps.

If you need a larger condo we also have a 3 bedroom nearby, at vrbo 653549 If you check there, you will see that we have excellent reviews! We also have 2 other 2 bedroom condos down the street at The Summit if this one is not available please see vrbo 484195, and vrbo 721605 We aim to keep all of our units nice and clean. Check in is at 4pm and check out is at 10 am. This gives our cleaning crew time to get things fresh and clean between guests.

More Details

Owner
Karen Hoblit
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About Karen Hoblit

As a child growing up in middle Tennessee one of my favorite things to do was to go to the Smokies! I used to love wading the creeks, hiking up trails to waterfalls and watching candy makers stretch taffy in the candy shops in Gatlinburg. It was like being in a fantasy world. It took us away from all the chores at home and school.

As an adult I have traveled to many places both in and out of our country and I still rank the Smoky Mountains as one of those places where you love to come back to, over and over again. There is always something new to see and experience. It takes me back to a slower time where people were more into nature and just sitting on the front porch soaking up the view.

Karen Hoblit purchased this condo in 2015

Why Karen Hoblit chose Gatlinburg

This is a small quiet complex high above the crowds of Gatlinburg. You can enjoy the mountain scenery and wildlife up here, yet be within a few minutes of downtown. The property grounds are well kept and most of the units are privately owned rather than vacation rentals so there is much less traffic coming and going into the complex.

What makes this condo unique

The beauty of the Smoky Mountains is always changing, some mornings the clouds drift below you while you sip coffee on the balcony yet other days you may see a bear or two wandering along the parking lots. It is a world away from the busy rat race of daily life and a quiet retreat for families and couples.

Amenities

Chalet Village Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • The bedrooms are each equipped with a flat screen TV with cable. One person is allowed to sleep on the sofa if you have 5 in your party. I have slept there comfortably myself. :)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The High Chalet is located a short drive up the mountain near Ober Gatlinburg. It only takes a few minutes to get to the downtown strip in Gatlinburg and is close to the by pass. The road up to the complex is one of the first to be cleared in case of bad weather. You may even see a bear family on the grounds but if so, be sure to avoid them and do not feed them. Spring and summer are the best times for sightings.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
13% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Mtn Views, pool, hot tubs 50" TV, recliner, ground unit, wildlife
average rating of 4.793103 based on 29 reviews
5

Amazing views

  • 5 of 5

The condo was wonderful! Plenty of space for the four of us. Really got to enjoy the pool and hot tub at the complex. Will most definitely be staying again!! Karen made everything seamless and easy.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so happy that you enjoyed our condo! We do all we can to make it homey and comfortable. I look forward to having you stay again! Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Nice accomodations

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful view. Loved the condo decor. Great yard to walk around. Loved having an outdoor pool and hot tub!!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice feedback, I am so glad that you enjoyed our condo. We aim to please and hope you will come back again soon. :) Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Condo with mountain views

  • 4 of 5

The plave was great and very comfortable and homey. There were bears that we could watch almost nightly in the backyard, which was really cool. Only complaint was that the knives were really sub par (only 1 steak knife to be found) and there was no strainer in the kitchen, which was a bit of a problem when cooking noodles. Other than that, the place was great and we would recommend it!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice comments. The bears have been plentiful this year due to the fires last year. We enjoy watching them from a distance. I only provide 1 sharp knife for safety purposes since young children stay in our unit quite often, however I could have brought you some upon request since I was staying in the building next door, you just needed to ask. There are plenty butter knives however. I will add a strainer right away, that is a request we have not had before and we appreciate your suggestion especially since that would make our rating go down from a 5 star to a 4 star.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

This perfect condo sits atop The mountain with breathtaking views. Everything about it was clean and very comfortable. This is sure to be our family go to each time we return.

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We aim to please and go the extra mile to make our condo homey so that you will feel like it is your own. We have had quite a few bears in our neighborhood this year and they have been very exciting to watch from a distance. The mountain views change daily depending on the weather so I am always taking pictures! It is a whole other world compared to staying down in the towns. I live up here in our smallest condo half the year and never tire of the beauty of the area! Thank you for your nice review and I look forward to your return! Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful view, easy to find, everything you need for a perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5

On our first day, we saw 2 big bears and a momma with 2 cubs from the back deck! What a big surprise and an awesome experience! The view is beyond measure, morning, noon and night!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I know that must have been exciting to see the bears! They tend to wander through just before dark this summer. It is a whole other world on top of the mountain! I hope you will make our place your home away from home for years to come. Many thanks, Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved Our Stay

  • 5 of 5

Very clean, well equipped and quiet condo. The views are beautiful.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I try to stock all items I think guests will need and we also use the condo a lot when our family comes up to the mountains. This is one of our favorites since it is on the ground floor and has easy access for taking groceries in and out or if someone is not able to handle stairs. I hope that you will come again sometime and that you will tell your friends about our home away from home! Thank you so much! Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

This condo is located up near Ober Gatlinburg, only 3.7 miles from the main street in Gatlinburg and the entrance to The Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge area is teaming with things to do including live shows, water parks, skiing, tubing, hiking, go carts, arcades, shopping, mountain arts and crafts, festivals etc... No matter the season, there is always something fun to do!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.