Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Mtn Views, pool, hot tubs 50" TV, recliner, ground unit, wildlife

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Baby Bear Tracks is a wonderful mountain retreat only 3 miles from Gatlinburg

NOTE: Our complex here at High Chalet didn't get any fire damage and the areas surrounding our complex are still beautiful. The ski resort is still nice as it was and we invite you to come see! Downtown shops and most park trails are still as they were before the fires. Please come support our local economy, we depend on our visitors and appreciate you so much!

This is a beautiful vacation condo we call Baby Bear Tracks! It is easy to get in and out with no steps at the end of the porch or else 4 small sidewalk steps at the front of the porch. If you have trouble going up and down steps then you will appreciate this unit. I stay in this unit most of the time when I am up on the mountain because I love to watch the bears. A mama bear and her cubs visit regularly and flocks of turkeys also call this complex home. The trees were recently cut back to reveal an awesome view of the mountains, Gatlinburg and the Gondola going into Ober Ski Resort. There are two bedrooms with queen beds that are quite comfy. We purchased this unit in April 2015 and are so excited to be sharing it with others. We are doing all we can to make this a special place for our guests so that they will want to visit time and time again. Ask about our military, senior, law enforcement and other discounts. Also if you have a larger group and want condos close together, contact me for information on also reserving other units in the complex that belong us or to our friends.

Sit on your balcony first thing in the morning to enjoy a cup of coffee and the views of the mountains. Watch as wild life, (which may include bears) roams through the complex (typically late afternoon). I counted 18 turkeys one morning and have seen several bears at one time.

Enjoy the pool (in season) and relax in a nice warm hot tub. Nestle into the comfy recliner to read a book or to surf the web (free internet). As you unwind from a day of sightseeing or shopping enjoy the cable channels or a movie on the big screen TV. Bring your favorite movies to play on the Bluray/DVD player in the living room. The new instant start electric fireplace will lend a nice atmosphere for your evening!

The condo is next to The Smoky Mountain National Park, and it is just a short drive down the mountain to the entrance where you can experience the beauty via an auto tour or by hiking one of the many trails to a waterfall, or to panoramic overlooks. Spend the day in Gatlinburg where you will find boutiques, fudge shops, dining, shows, museums, and a great Aquarium. Nearby Pigeon Forge hosts Dollywood Theme Park and a splash park, outlet shopping, live shows, museums, helicopter tours and amusement fun for kids of all ages!

High Chalet Condos are in the Chalet Village area near the top of Ski Mountain and they offer beautiful mountain views as you walk along the grounds. The condo is only about a mile from Ober Gatlinburg which offers year round family fun and it is a short 15 minute drive to downtown Gatlinburg. Be aware that bears often cross the road so drive carefully. The road is winding and is steep at times so be sure to be alert when going up and down. You get used to it I promise. Once in the complex you will find plenty parking near the entrance to the walk way to our unit. There are four short steps down the walk to get to our ground floor level unit, or if you go to the end of the building there are no steps.

If you need a larger condo we also have a 3 bedroom nearby, at vrbo 653549 If you check there, you will see that we have excellent reviews! We also have 2 other 2 bedroom condos down the street at The Summit if this one is not available please see vrbo 484195, and vrbo 721605 We aim to keep all of our units nice and clean. Check in is at 4pm and check out is at 10 am. This gives our cleaning crew time to get things fresh and clean between guests.

More Details

Owner
Karen Hoblit
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About Karen Hoblit

As a child growing up in middle Tennessee one of my favorite things to do was to go to the Smokies! I used to love wading the creeks, hiking up trails to waterfalls and watching candy makers stretch taffy in the candy shops in Gatlinburg. It was like being in a fantasy world. It took us away from all the chores at home and school.

As an adult I have traveled to many places both in and out of our country and I still rank the Smoky Mountains as one of those places where you love to come back to, over and over again. There is always something new to see and experience. It takes me back to a slower time where people were more into nature and just sitting on the front porch soaking up the view.

Karen Hoblit purchased this condo in 2015

Why Karen Hoblit chose Gatlinburg

This is a small quiet complex high above the crowds of Gatlinburg. You can enjoy the mountain scenery and wildlife up here, yet be within a few minutes of downtown. The property grounds are well kept and most of the units are privately owned rather than vacation rentals so there is much less traffic coming and going into the complex.

What makes this condo unique

The beauty of the Smoky Mountains is always changing, some mornings the clouds drift below you while you sip coffee on the balcony yet other days you may see a bear or two wandering along the parking lots. It is a world away from the busy rat race of daily life and a quiet retreat for families and couples.

Amenities

Chalet Village Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • The bedrooms are each equipped with a flat screen TV with cable. One person is allowed to sleep on the sofa if you have 5 in your party. I have slept there comfortably myself. :)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The High Chalet is located a short drive up the mountain near Ober Gatlinburg. It only takes a few minutes to get to the downtown strip in Gatlinburg and is close to the by pass. The road up to the complex is one of the first to be cleared in case of bad weather. You may even see a bear family on the grounds but if so, be sure to avoid them and do not feed them. Spring and summer are the best times for sightings.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

Beautiful Mtn Views, pool, hot tubs 50" TV, recliner, ground unit, wildlife
average rating of 4.7727275 based on 22 reviews
4

Homey, cute condo for a small family

  • 4 of 5

We loved staying here. The view was nice and everything was very homey and comfortable. It was quiet and peaceful. The only thing that we would like to recommend is to have more toilet paper available.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so happy that you enjoyed staying at my home Angela. We try to make it as comfortable as possible. I normally stay in this one when I go up to the mountain since it is on the ground floor and still has a wonderful view of Mt. LeConte. You should have had 4 rolls of toilet paper. We provide 2 rolls per bathroom to get you started which is standard according to my cleaning company. If you needed more for the three days you were there, there is a market/deli a couple miles down the road and I also suggested several stores in the rental agreement.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cornelius nc
5

Beautiful view

  • 5 of 5

My stay at this condo was very relaxed, the view beautiful with many colors of the fall season, very clean, and no noises. I enjoyed it a lot and hope to return next fall. People help the owners take care of this condo if you plan to return in the future. Thanks to the owners for letting us enjoy their place.

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are so welcome and I am happy that you enjoyed it. I just spent this past week there and did not want to leave to go back to Texas. It is a world away from the daily rat race of working and life's usual obligations. I look forward to having you stay again next fall!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing View

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time staying at Baby Bear Tracks! The location was great, just 15 minutes from downtown Gatlinburg with a gorgeous drive down the mountain. The condo was perfect for our needs. I loved the comfy recliner. Very clean and comfortable. We saw a bear on our first night! We hope it is available on our next visit!

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your nice review, I am so happy you enjoyed your vacation! This is such a pretty season up on the mountain with the trees changing colors, the mountain views change with each passing day. I look forward to having you stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Madison, TN
5

Beautiful view

  • 5 of 5

We certainly enjoyed our stay here. It was so nice we didn't even go out except to get dinner. Would sit outside and look at the lovely view of the mountains from the deck. The couch and recliner were both comfortable and loved the big screen TV.

The electric fireplace was nice on the cool nights. Karen supplied all the necessary dishes and silverware. There were more than enough for a week so only had to run the dishwasher once.

The only thing I hated was we didn't get to see any bears, but it was October so I guess they were hunting for a den. Did see some wild turkey.

We ate at the Apple Farmhouse Restaurant and Golden Corral and Cracker Barrel.

The views driving up the mountain to get there are incredible. But do get there before dark the first day.

Thanks for everything.

Marilyn

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice comments Marilyn, it means a lot to me that our guests are comfortable and enjoy the condo and the views. This is such a colorful time of the year, the trees are turning with reds and yellows all over the mountain and it makes the sunrise even more impressive from the patio. I hope you will tell your friends and that you will come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay in the Smokies!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was extremely clean and comfortable with an amazing view. The owner is very responsive and helpful. This was our first time in the Smokies and it turned out to be an amazing trip. The owner provides detailed welcoming instructions via e-mail. If it is your first time in the Smokies and you are not used to the mountain roads, my best advice is to follow the welcome instructions with driving directions up the mountain to the condo. I followed my GPS which was the steepest route and it was a tense ride down every time we left the condo! The only downfall was the people staying int he unit above us were noisy one night and were up until after midnight which made it hard for us to sleep. I have no compliants of the condo or the owner, it was an amazing vacation and very comfortable place located above Gatlinburg. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your recommendation Tiffany, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes the GPS will take you on a scary route. I'm not sure why. It took me several trips up there before I finally discovered the nice way using the by pass and the main roads. I hope you will come back and stay again. We strive to make our guests feel right at home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place.

  • 5 of 5

Clean condo with a great view. Quiet location close to öber Gatlinburg and downtown Gatlinburg but far enough from the crowds and noise. My wife and I enjoyed it very much and would love to come back.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing my condo Daniel, I stay in this one most of the time when I am up there since it is on the ground floor but still has a nice view of the mountains and the tram. I am so glad you all enjoyed it and hope you will come again some time! :) Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

This condo is located up near Ober Gatlinburg, only 3.7 miles from the main street in Gatlinburg and the entrance to The Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge area is teaming with things to do including live shows, water parks, skiing, tubing, hiking, go carts, arcades, shopping, mountain arts and crafts, festivals etc... No matter the season, there is always something fun to do!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Chalet Village Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring shoulder
Apr 18 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$100
 
 
high season
May 30 2017 - Aug 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$100
 
 
fall shoulder
Aug 22 2017 - Sep 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$100
 
 
Fall Colors
Sep 26 2017 - Nov 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$100
 
 
Holiday Season
Nov 22 2017 - Jan 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$120
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$100
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $60 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties