Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Hawaiian Family surf and sun Vacation

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful views large house with AC across from Sunset Beach- King Bed in Master

* * * P l u m e r i a H a l e * * *

Directly across from Sunset Beach, Plumeria Hale is a large nicely furnished home with A/C in the bedrooms, located on an avocado, banana and plumeria farm. With sweeping ocean and mountain views you will feel the special ambiance of this place as soon as you step in the door.

Beautiful Sunset Beach is just across the street - less than a 5 minute walk to the waters edge. The cul de sac location is very quiet and private, sharing the private road with just 3 other homes. There are 3 bedrooms- Master bedroom has a new king bed! 2nd bedroom has a new Queen bed and third bedroom has 2 twin beds. There is a futon in the large, enclosed lanai room. The bedrooms each have air conditioners. There are 2 full baths and an outdoor shower. 3 New flat screen TVs are in family room, living room and master bedroom. Plumeria Hale includes tropical style furniture, appliances, solid oak floors, complete bathrooms; including tile shower, bathtub, and a washer and dryer. We have 4 adult bikes available as well as beach chairs and umbrellas snorkel sets. Their is a stand up paddle board as well for guests use. 2 car carport can fit up to 4 cars .

Many people inquire about a swimming beach. Sunset Beach is beautiful and calm in the summer but once October comes there can be a strong shorebreak through April. There are many other beaches closeby on the North Shore that you can swim at anytime of the year

Check out out You-Tube video of a bike ride to the beach. You get to the beach in about 1 minute on a bike! Its under links and videos on this website.

You can find fresh bananas papayas, limes, avocados ( July- Oct) and mangoes on the property! Lots of flowers to make the famous plumeria leis.

If the calendar shows open it is open you don't need to inquire if its open just hit bookit!

This property is owner managed

Here is the youtube link to bikeride to the beach from Hale Plumeria:

http://www.youtube.com/embed/emUDSkxwgnA?rel=0

More Details

Owner
Ann Franzmann
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 12, 2017

About Ann Franzmann

Aloha, we are Kama'aina (born and raised in Hawaii) and we also live on the North Shore. We purchased this acre as a place to retire one day because there isn't a more beautiful property or beach in all of Hawaii.

Ann Franzmann purchased this house in 2004

Why Ann Franzmann chose Haleiwa

This magical property located on an acre of fruit trees has sweeping views of Sunset Beach. Just a short walk to the waters edge.

What makes this house unique

The winter world class surfing and whale watching, are unbeatable. The summer snorkeling and swimming in the crystal waters are amazing. The year round sunsets, shell collecting, biking, beach walks provide relaxation and exercise all in one.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just wanted to thank you for the chance to stay in your house. Everything was perfect and we had a blast. The North Shore is truly magical. I hope we left everything in order.



Thanks again to you and Dan,



Dennis
Dec 2009
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Haleiwa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • queen beds(2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) Port a crib available, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 4 bicycles
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
High Speed Internet, Coffee Maker, Bikes, & Crib (if requested)

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
20% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Hawaiian Family surf and sun Vacation
average rating of 4.542857 based on 37 reviews
5

Perfect location and great house

  • 5 of 5

We stayed a month and loved it. The house was bigger than I thought and had everything we needed. Best of all was the location, just a 2 minute walk to sunset beach. Neighbors were nice. Thanks Ann for a great stay. See you next time. Mark and Nancy

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Spring, Tx
4

Overall the house was great and our stay was awesome!

  • 4 of 5

I'm not giving 5 stars only bc of the cleaning of sand. We went as a group of 5 women and I am taking their suggestions for this review. The house was great, the grounds were perfect, loved the location to the beach and the Coffee stand.We really loved our stay. Our only criticism is the cleaning of the place before we left. The instructions were to leave no trace of sand, (no evidence of)or we would be charged additional cleaning fee. I'm assuming the owners either have had a problem in the past or are trying to avoid a problem and so I understand the concept, however we paid a cleaning fee. Having to vacuum and sweep the whole house before we left (3 of us cleaned for an hour) just in fear we may be charged for a grain of sand seems unwarranted. My suggestion would be to reword maybe? If the standards are that high then maybe lower the cleaning fee or raise and include sand cleaning? Bc we did not wear shoes inside, always rinsed off before coming and still managed to get sand on the floor..we were at the beach..some sand is to be expected, it's unavoidable. Also the front door is tricky to lock, some may not mess around with it long enough to figure out the trick to it. Maybe fix? Or explain how to lock it. Like I said we loved the place, just wanted to give some constructive criticism for the future and possible improvements. If we ever decide to stay on the North Shore again I would love to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Shelbea I’m sorry you mistook the checking out details. We are really not that picky when guests leave the place with normal sand and wear. The sand policy Isnt as you thought and yes it’s because we had guests leave buckets of sand in every bed and bath. Thank you for your comment we will adjust the wording. There is a hose to wash off feet directly in front of the door. You probably cleaned it better than it’s ever been cleaned and I’m so sorry. I can see where the wording may have been confusing. I’m glad you enjoyed the house and you were an amazing guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mt. Juliet
2

Semi-private surf shack in mediocre condition that is NOT at all quiet!!

  • 2 of 5

Firstly, if you book this property, you will DEFINITELY be woken up by MANY roosters EVERY morning between 4:30-5:30 am. I am highlighting this first because it seriously compromised our vacation - so much so that we left earlier than planned and ended up paying another $350/ night to stay in a different VRBO. In my opinion, the rooster issue is so bad that omitting any mention of it in the listing is tantamount to falsely advertising this property. We reached out to the owner in a kind email explaining that we had to leave because of the roosters and asking her if she would consider a partial credit since we would need to pay to stay elsewhere. She never responded. As the owner of a VRBO in the Nashville area, I would never ignore an issue like this; I would be profusely apologizing to my guests, if not refunding them. I find it unacceptable that my message was not even acknowledged.

Now on to the actual house. It is a cute surf shack on a property with other rentals, but the house is run down & attention to detail is lacking. With a few tweaks and upgrades (in addition to acknowledging and dealing with the roosters), this could be a decent place to stay. The most positive thing about the property is the beautiful backyard with fruit trees. The house is close to the beach, and a sliver of ocean is visible in the distance. There is also a neat outdoor shower. The owners left shampoo, condiments and some pantry items, which was a plus. There were enough towels and linens/mattresses were in pretty good shape. Washer and dryer are available. There were two beach chairs, beach umbrellas, snorkel equipment, a surf board and bikes. However, the beach chairs were mildewed and the bikes are rusty and barely serviceable. While another reviewer called this house clean, I would say that it is tidy but only "surface clean." For example, in the master bathroom, the toilet had rings and the grout in the shower had a pinkish tinge (algae?). There were fans in a couple of rooms and AC units in the bedrooms, but all were full of dust and in need of a cleaning. AC units were old, loud and kicked on and off all night, also compromising sleep :(

For a group of surfers looking to get up at the crack of dawn to hit the waves or a group of college kids needing affordable accommodations, this VRBO could be suitable. I, however, regret that we chose this property and we would not recommend it to friends/family looking to stay on the North Shore.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very surprised at this inaccurate review by a fellow VRBO owner. Guests never contacted me until I mentioned I had a death in the family and was leaving on a plane and wouldn't be available. Then they left an email right before their last nite asking for a one nite refund because they were awoken by the roosters. The review says semi private. The whole house is private. The reviews says other rentals. There is one other small studio away from the main house. The property is an acre. The reviews say the bikes are barely serviceable. 3 bikes are bikes are new and purchased within the last 7 months. The other 4 bikes have rusty handlebars because we are close to a beach but I went over there as soon as I read review and they are all full of air and in working condition. See photos of bikes taken that day in the photos. There is 4 new beach chairs and 2 umbrellas at the house. The AC units are less than 3 years old.This is an older farmhouse. The grout has darkened and there are some stubborn stains but it is clean, spacious, has comfortable beds, linens and nestled in a special valley across from Sunset Beach. Plus an affordable nightly rate. Yes there are roosters all over the North Shore. Biking on the bike path you will see them everywhere. Im sorry they bothered this guest. The other guests haven't had a problem closing the windows and turning on the AC.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home, very clean, comfortable & well stocked! The location of the house was great- we enjoyed riding the bicycles all around the area and to the beautiful beaches. We would definitely return & stay there again.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great place, large space.

  • 3 of 5

We had a great time relaxing on the North Shore for our family vacation. Walked 3 minutes to the beach to catch the amazing sunsets and watch the surf. Just a 10 to 15 minute drive to Haliewa, our new favorite surfside town. A bit touristy, but lots of great eateries. Invited friends from Kapolei to an evening BBQ and had plenty of space to enjoy being together. The kids had their own space. Really worked out well.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We had a good time but there were some issues with the house!

  • 4 of 5

Well situated and plenty of space for our family (6 adults). We liked the space and the fact that there were lots of comfy chairs which enable us to all fit around the small dining table. We were however, disappointed in the items supplied in the kitchen and did leave some notes on the stove and the knife rack. We especially worried about the stove oven which seemed to spray out large yellow flames which seemed dangerous to say the least! The burners did as well, as if they had not been adjusted. We also own a VRBO house and many of the items we consider basic were not included. Overall we felt the place was in need of some TLC! (a small example was that the bottom sheet on the master bed was ripped.)

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for bringing the stove issue to our attention. The stove is new and wasn't adjusted properly for the gas. We have had it serviced and adjusted. New items in kitchen as well.!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Waterfalls, Biking on bike path

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Taxes, rental & cleaning $200

Preferred method payment: directly thru VRBO, cashier or personal check.

* Surcharge for additional guest over 6.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties