Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Welcome To The Gecko Bungalow! Cutiest Lil' Cottage In The Caribbean!

Bedrooms 2
Space 600 sq ft
Property type cottage


About the property

Free Airport Pick-up & Drop-off! 2br Bungalow w/ 2 queen beds sleeps 4 easily!

You'll Love this Terrific 2 bedroom, really cool Gecko Bungalow!

Sleeps 4 comfortably w/ 2 queen (website hidden) in each room. Kitchenette setup w/ fridge to hold all your snacks, drinks, or fresh catch of the day. Patio, BBQ and large fenced yard with fruit trees. Pets OK! Safe and quiet residential area. Free WiFi

Ideally located to be your "Home Base" for all of your vacation excursions!

Need a rental car? We offer a fully insured Kia Sportage for our guests!

FREE Airport pickup and drop-off

Take a look around our Terrific lil' two bedroom, really cool Gecko Bungalow that we painted with fun Caribbean colors and even a hand painted surf mural in one room. The Gecko Bungalow sleeps 4 comfortably, 2 in each room. Separate AC in both rooms so you don't roast and comfortable queen size beds also. It has a tiled bathroom with shower and a nice kitchenette setup with a good size refrigerator to hold all your snacks, drinks, or catch of the day. Patio and BBQ right out the door that you are free to use anytime, and a large fenced yard with fruit trees. Pets OK! Terrific location to be the home base for all of your great vacation excursions!

We can comfortably accommodate 4 persons here in the Bungalow. If there is one more in your party, we have a terrific single, twin bedroom in the main house with its own bathroom. Just let us know and we can work out that arrangement, No Problem! After all, the more the merrier, right!

Let us know if you would like to have snacks or refreshments ready and waiting in the fridge for your arrival. All beverage products (Sodas, Ice cold Belikin beers, wonderful Local Wines and Liquor are available), fresh fruits, chips & salsa, cheese, goodies…really anything you can think of, we can have waiting. For your convenience, this will be billed separately at cost plus a 20% fetching fee.

If you would like us to prepare a hearty, homemade breakfast on the patio we will be more than happy to provide that also for US$15.00 per person per day.

Secure your dates and confirm your reservation, we accept full payment through (website hidden) at (email hidden)ll Us for more info at (phone number hidden) in USA or (phone number hidden) in Belize.

Guest Access

Secure, safe parking out front and use of all of the grounds, patio and gas BBQ. Cable TV and Free WiFi for your enjoyment!

Make yourself at home! Pour a drink and relax on the patio! We'll probably have one with you! :)

Interaction with Guests

Get the Best out of your vacation!!! We're here to help you in anyway we can and to offer Tons of great advice on when and what to do (and what to avoid!) Just Ask!! We have been here nearly 5 years and have loved exploring this beautiful country.

Your Hosts, Michelle and Scott Lyons, relocated from Boise, Idaho will be here to visit with you. We will help you with anything you may need. We are fun, friendly, and energetic and absolutely love it here in Sunny Belize. Come for a while, make some new friends, have a terrific time, and make some really great memories before you have to go back. We're certain you'll return. You really must come and visit! You'll love it here. Call Us for more info at (phone number hidden) in USA or (phone number hidden) in Belize.

The Neighborhood

The Gecko Bungalow is nestled at the back of a culdesac in a terrific Safe neighborhood called Lake Gardens! Treat your stay as your very own Home away from Home!

Getting Around

We are located about 2 miles from the Phillip Goldson International Airport (but you will never hear any planes!) We are happy to provide Free courtesy pick up and drop off for you during your stay. Just send us your flight information before your arrival.

The Gecko Bungalow is about 15 miles from the heart of Belize City, in the town of Ladyville. From here you are 1.5 hours away from Corozal Belize and Chetumal Mexico, just over the border to the North. Three hours to the South, enjoy the sands of Placencia and another hour past that to beautiful Punta Gorda.

Nearby adventures include AltunHa Mayan ruins with fantastic photo opportunities at the top of an ancient structure and Bacab Eco Park where you can horeback ride, river kayak, or lounge by a gorgeous pool and have lunch. Just a bit farther is Lamania Landing. Hop on a boat and tour the river until you land at one of our larger Mayan ruin villages, Lamanai. Enjoy a served picnic and take a guided tour. About 30 minutes from the Gecko Bungalow you can visit the Zoo or Baboon Sanctuary. Plan your day right and also enjoy a cave tubing adventure and an exhilarating zip line excursion! A short drive to the city and you can hop a boat to one of our islands for a day trip, or take a backpack and spend the night so that you can snorkel at the Hol Chan Nature reserve and Shark Ray Alley! For our nature lovers, take a drive to the Botanical Gardens at Cockscomb Nature Preserve or explore the jungles in San Ignacio....So much to see and do, let us help you plan your itinerary!

Other Things to Note

You'll probably need a rental car unless you want to tackle the local bus system. If you ever wondered where the old school buses in the states go to here! They're not real comfortable and make frequent stops.

Because of this, we can offer exclusively to our guests a fully insured Kia Sportage 4WD for you're use.

Competitive rates are dependent upon length of stay but do start at a flat rate per day. We don't charge any hidden fees the other guys charge do!

More Details

Michelle Lyons
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2018

About Michelle Lyons

Michelle and Scott Lyons, relocated from Boise, Idaho will be your hosts. We will help you with anything you may need. We are fun, friendly, and energetic and absolutely love it here in Sunny Belize. Come for a while, make some new friends, have a terrific time, and make some really great memories before you have to go back. We're certain you'll return.

Michelle Lyons purchased this cottage in 2010

Why Michelle Lyons chose Lake Gardens

The Gecko Bungalow, close to the Airport, is the perfect Base Point of location to get to virtually all of your inland aventures easily and saving time. We are just closer to most everything you will go to see such as Cave Tubing, Ziplining, Bacaab Eco Park, Mayan Ruins, the Zoo aand a myriad of other inland Ladyville is safe, nice and hassle free.

What makes this cottage unique

The Gecko Bungalow is nestled in a quiet, Safe neighborhood at the back of a nice culdesac. We are Very close to the airport yet just far enough away that you never hear the planes. FREE AIRPORT Pick-Up & Drop-Off. We will be happy to pick you up and also drop you off from the Philip Goldson Intl. Airport Free of charge! We'll get you there on time!

If you are flying into Municiple Airport or coming in on the Water Taxis in Belize City, then we do charge $25.00usd for pick-up and/or drop-off each way as it is a good 12 miles and 1/2 hour drive time each way. It is the same as the regular taxis but without the hassles. Please confirm prior if you need us to do that.


Lake Gardens Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Outdoor Grill
  • limited accessibility
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Welcome To The Gecko Bungalow! Cutiest Lil' Cottage In The Caribbean!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 12 reviews
Limerick, Maine and Lakeland, Florida

Great host and hostess - convenient jump off point.

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was as described - cute, convenient, and well equipped. But the true strength of this rental are the hosts, Scott and Michelle. They answer questions, offer suggestions, and calm the nerves of travelers New to a foreign country. Picked us up and dropped us off at airport as we wished, and the rental car was so convenient. Felt like we were leaving two friends at the end of our stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing the Gecko Bungalow not just once, but on 3 different occasions during your vacation in Belize! It certainly made saying "goodbye" easier when we knew you'd be back in a few days!! It was fun hearing about each location you visited as you returned to us as your Home Base. Your sense of humor (and adventure) were a perfect fit for traveling throughout Belize! We look forward to your next visit, thanks again for staying at the Gecko Bungalow! Hosting you was our pleasure, we are blessed to have met so many wonderful people during our time here Michelle & Scott
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


  • 5 of 5

We were greeted at the airport by the owner, taken to the cute little bungalow and were given all the scoop about Belize. The car we rented from them did the trick, nothing fancy but in Belize there is no need for fancy. The bungalow was great with nice comfy beds and good air conditioners. A full kitchen was great. Scott was amazing and we enjoyed visiting every night on the patio. Would definately recommend and return!!! Being a dog lover really helps too..LOL

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cute cottage.

  • 2 of 5

Cute and probably good for short term stays of less than a week. We were booked for 8 weeks but left after 3.

Lots of bugs as they get in through the screens and there are no glass windows.

There are no cooking facilities which means you are eating out every meal which gets old when realizing the most consistently open restaurants are pseudo Chinese that get old quickly. There is nothing to do, and very little to eat in Ladyville. You will have to travel to enjoy the country.

The bungalow is not a separate entity but is attached to the house through a shared roof so there is no privacy as without air conditioning in the main room, the door has to be open.

Don’t rent the 2009 Kia. The power steering works selectively and only when the car is up to speed making it very difficult to leave a parking lot and the air conditioning only works at night or when it is cloudy.

The car was cheaper than the rental agencies but it was by no means cheap. An actual rental car would have had a/c that works which is almost necessary in Belize, and if one brought it back three weeks early there would have been some kind of refund.

I think they cater mostly to overnight backpackers which this would be appropriate for.

Michelle is an excellent host.

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write a review!We've previously replied that the Bungalow is not suited extended stays.Reservations are typically 1- 14 nights. While the beds are super comfy, it's not suitable for monthly rental.Against our better judgement, we made the exception when we saw you were traveling with a cat.("Puzzles" was charming, by the way!)Being animal lovers, we thought you might have trouble finding accomodations in Belize & accepted your reservation. Besides, we had to meet the couple that brings their cat on vacation! We haven't heard of bugs getting through the screens, but you do need to apply bug spray in the morning & evening. It's common in Belize to have louvers rather than glass.They still close tightly and our a/c's are awesome.The bungalow is a free standing guest house, & the door does not need to be open to the patio, it will definitely cool faster with the door shut. We rarely use our room nearest to the patio to give our guest have privacy, yet we are available to answer any questions during your stay. That seems to be a great benefit of having our home on the same property.We truly enjoyed visiting with you & certainly shared some laughs! As advertised in the stocked kitchenette, we have a new fridge, microwave, electric 2-burner unit, pots n' pans, teakettle, blender, toaster, & anything from our personal kitchen, offered on several occasions. About 15 menu's from local restaurants are on the info desk. Guests in Ladyville enjoy the nearby Eco Park with huge pool, horseback riding, river kayaking(4 miles away) Sports Bar or Marina Bar w/ full menu(3.5 miles) ShrimpFarm/Croc Rehab(2.5miles) AltunHa & Lamania Mayan ruins(30 & 45 minutes) Zoo or Baboon Sanctuary(25 minutes) Cave tubing/Zip Lining(40 minutes) Water taxi to the islands (half hour) & more! We show you as arriving Feb 9th & departing to Canada on March 23rd, 3 weeks early, for a reason unrelated to this review. I'm glad you decided to revisit many of the places we took you.The Cayo jungles are amazing, & we can see why you fell in love with the bay in Corozal.It was a pleasure having you ride along when I had to work in remote locations.Thanks for the heads up about the Kia, a bearing was in the a/c, causing the cooling issue & noise.The mechanic can't find anything wrong w/ the new power steering.Subsequent renters have not had an issue. For your lengthy stay, we were happy to discount the competitors rate by 50% :) Best of luck with your move & safe travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

I love the people who owned the bungalow mamma Scott and Scott, friendly, give you a lot information for things to do and see in Belize!!! They will honor any requests you need and the car is a deal! The bungalow is cleaned furnished cutely and Scott is an awesome painter!!! mamma Scott will call for reservations and help you out anytime!!! Go enjoy it !!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Beautifu bungalow..nice and helpful host. Visiting Belieze and being able to stay here felt like we were staying with friends. Will be back to visit again

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nothing More, Something Less

  • 2 of 5

We stayed in Gecko for 8 weeks, excluding 3 nights previously booked to someone else (see review below). One notices a lot in that time which isn't obvious in short stays.

Michelle is a professional real estate agent, she knows how to stage a house for photos.

The bungalow seems to be built next to the septic leach field. Very bad aromas, more than half the days of our stay.

Bedroom #1 mattress is comfortable but about 8" too short for the frame. Pillows and duvets kept falling between it and head- and foot-boards. Annoying, but not fatal.

Property description does not mention TV, but there is one. In the bedroom. On wall across from footboard. Screen is the size of a piece of printer paper - I measured. Small image if you are propped up at the headboard 20 feet away. No remote, an earlier guest packed it home. So how much to buy a universal remote, $20?

Bedroom #2. Air conditioner was broken the day we arrived, still broken the day we left. During height of tourist season. If you need 2 bedrooms, do not book this property.

Kitchen. A review below says "full kitchen." Not true. No oven. No stovetop. Only a 2-burner hotplate and one of those will only heat to medium. Small microwave does work, although it looks like it was hurricane salvage. However, the square dinner plates provided will not rotate on the turntable. One must pause the machine and rotate the plate by hand every 30 seconds to produce even cooking. Refrigerator in the photo has been removed and replaced by a smaller, older one, Freezer compartment is duct taped at all interior seams; why? Cheap cooking vessels. Frying pans were pitted and scratched, hard to cook with, we actually went out and bought a set to use (took them with us). Pots were so flimsy that one night when making pasta the handle fell off a pot full of boiling water. (No injury, and Michelle immediately replaced with one from her house.) Table is only 30x36 inches, room for 2 but not more. Gas BBQ was dirty & rusty. In 2 months we never saw the Lyons use it. We didn't either. Ate out a lot.

No where to sit inside except on the hard wooden kitchen chairs or on the bed. Outside the door there are 2 molded plastic adirondak chairs. One has a busted leg. What's a replacement cost, $20?

Patio does have table and chairs, however 30+ tiles are missing so the surface is uneven & unstable.

Overall, disappointing. Why not move? We had paid full rent months earlier and also had rented their vehicle for all our local driving.

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We offered a steep discount (during busy season) for the lengthy stay, specifically so that the Bungalow could be used as a home-base to explore the entire country. Guests, please venture out and experience Belize! It was not built or intended to be used as a long term unit (24/7) but rather a haven for vacationers. We live on the property, and enjoy visiting with guests and offering travel tips in Belize, arranging excursions & overnight trips elsewhere. Over the past 6 years, we've met folks from all over the world, receiving excellent reviews on each travel site. Bed#1 does have the correct size mattress for the frame, due to the design I can see how you could loose a pillow. Had we known, large body pillows could have been brought out for you to close the gap. No one has ever mentioned this, nor the septic aroma. The Bungalow is not in a leach field. The previous guests packed the remote control, we are sure sorry about that. Even though very few people who come to Belize watch t.v, we've ordered new flat screen t.v's for BOTH rooms! Bed #2 a/c is not broken, it was turned to Fan rather than Cool. Had we known you were having an issue, Scott could have assisted. In addition to the a/c units, both rooms also have large floor fans. We were unaware that both rooms were being used.(It should not have been necessary to run both a/c's) "Full Kitchen" is a box checked for this site. While very few people cook full meals in the Bungalow, we've provided basic items.The pot was not flimsy, it appears to have been broken at the weld of the handle to the pot. The "Welcome" info sheet, encourages guests to ask us for anything they need. Blender, blow dryer, iron, we've got it all! We're more than happy to accommodate all requests! In the tropics, items due tend to rust and age quickly.Our big BBQ is only 2 years old, the only way to prevent rust is to store it inside. We use it nearly every night that we don't have guests.Their use is our priority! The replacement cost of the adirondack chairs is seventy-five dollars each, in Belize.The first 3 were broken as soon as larger folks leaned back, that's why the 2 are stacked, to prevent the last one from breaking. Rainy season has been non-existent this year!Great for guests, but not for our grounds.As we explained, the tiles buckled and broke due to the ground shifting.To promote exploration, we gave a 75% discount on our rental car. We'd have HAPPILY refunded the money for car & rent for an early departure if asked!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3


Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Philip S.W. Goldson International Airport (PGIA)
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
The Rustic Korner
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Water Taxi's
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
New Moon
Nearest Beach
28 Miles
The Islands
Car: recommended

We are Perfectly Located to be your base for ALL of your fun mainland adventures!

Below are just a few things you can do over the course of a few days:

1) Altun Ha Ruins and Bacab Eco Park: About 30 miles away is Altun Ha ruins. Just head up the Northern Hwy about 10 miles and you will take the turnoff in Sandhill towards the Altun Ha ruins. This is the same ruin featured on the Belikin Beer bottles. When you get there, enjoy climbing up on the ruins and plan on getting some terrific pictures. You will be there probably around 2 -3 hours. Enjoy some of the local dishes available at a couple of the restaurant shacks there. When you're done, head back down the highway and turn right at the junction to Burrell Boom. Only go down 1/4th of a mile and you will immediately see the sign to Bacab Eco Park on the left. Head there and hang out by the big pool, have drinks, lunch and then go horseback riding or kayak the river.

*Most economical itinerary. Cost around $20-30 usd per person for combined park fees.

2) Lamanai Ruins and Altun Ha Ruins: You have to leave here by 8:00 am to catch a boat. Take the Northern Hwy about 45 miles north and just on the other side of the bridge past the little toll booth (.50-.75 cents bzd) board a boat and head up the jungle river to Lamanai Ruins. They are awesome with the carved rocks, ancient ruins and a temple that is higher than the jungle canopy. Climb around and take tons of pictures. You'll probably see Howler Monkeys, Quash, many birds and wildlife. They will serve you an authentic Belizean lunch that is included with your boat guide. The jungle boat ride to the ruins is probably just as cool as the site itself. Those guides are experts at sighting the many different birds, gators, snakes, bats and all kinds of wildlife on your way up and back. After you get back to your car, head back down and take the turn to Altun Ha ruins and enjoy that as described above in #1.

*Cost will be around $75 usd per person for the Lamanai trip including lunch, boat and park fee and $5 usd for the park fee at Altun Ha

3) Cave Tubing and Zip-lining and then the ZOO: Head up the Northern Highway about 3 miles and turn left towards Burrell Boom and Belmopan on the Western Highway. Drive around 40 minutes and you'll see the turn on the left to the most popular mainland excursion Cave Tubing (around mile marker 35). Can't miss it. Drive to the end of the road and you'll enter the parking lot about 5 miles up. You'll have the option of doing the Cave Tubing and/or Zip-lining. I highly recommend both! I believe a buffet lunch is included but please double check. They do have a restaurant. TIP: Only use the guides assigned when you actually buy your passes at the counter...Not the guys that will try to get you to hire them at the turnoff from the highway or in the parking lot.

After, head back and just after you see the intersection of the Coastal Hwy, about a half a mile, turn left into the entrance around mile marker 29 (you will have passed it on your way to go Cave Tubing) and go visit the Belize ZOO. It's really cool and unlike any zoo you have ever been to. Get your picture taken with a Jaguar. See Tapirs, Monkeys and many, many other species of wildlife up close and personal. Make sure to use one of the onsite guides as the information is invaluable! Everyone raves about the ZOO. It is self-funded and they have done an incredible job. Most animals are rescues

Cost will be around $35-40 usd for each activity. The Zoo is $8-10 usd

**NOTE: Please Note that it would be very difficult and next to impossible to mix and match what we have suggested only for the reasons of time and their individual locations to and from each other.



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $20

We also have a fully insured 2010 Kia Sportage rental vehicle available to our guest at $75.00 USD, less than any rental company in the country! Make our little bungalow you're home away from home!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties