Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Beachfront Home in Sunny Ewa Beach

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths

TidBIT: King Kamehameha II had a vacation home in Ewa Beach. He also mined salt nearby at White Plains in Kanehili.

Enjoy the comforts of a private, beachfront home on Ewa Beach Road. Ewa Beach Road has a small, sleepy beach-town atmosphere. Watch endangered birds, sealife, and flora from the lawn or sit with the sandcrabs on the beach. Spend quality family time tucked away in a well-furnished, traditional, beachfront home on sunny Ewa Beach Road with the convenience of shopping centers, banks, restaurants (personal favorite is Russo's coal-fired pizzas), and Hoakalei Resort just a mile away.

Get the local experience and have Karen, your host, show you everyone's favorite swimming spot. She can show you the birds she rescues and tell you where to go to see ancient ruins. Our local experience includes ukulele playing neighbors, watching them fish, relaxing on the patio at sunset, and walking miles of natural shoreline.

Have a romantic dinner at sunset under the umbrella on the patio. Help yourself to the Rosemary. They make excellent skewers for the BBQ.

The kitchen is equipped with microwave, china, crystal, cookware, coffee pot, toaster, blender, etc. There are surf boards, boogie boards and swim fins in the Hale Menehune (small shed) along with flippers, chairs, and sand toys.

The master bedroom to the north has a comfortable queen bed and private bath. The children's room on the west has two twin beds. The southwest facing bedroom has a queen-sized bed in an oriental theme.

The property is fenced to provide security and privacy. You can join the excitement downtown or sit on the beach lawn and enjoy the Honolulu city lights. The view of Diamond Head is unobstructed. The sunrises are warm and wonderful. The colorful sunsets are relaxing and the moon is cause for song.

Come prepared for the sun or stop at any of the convenient stores along the way for sunscreen. Do not purchase any sunscreen with oxybenzone. Hawaii bans wearing sunscreen or cosmetics that contain oxybenzone while on a beach because it kills coral. When you live on the beach, this means you cannot use any sunscreen with oxybenzone. Please do your part to save our coral reefs and use a sunscreen with a physical blocker like zinc oxide or titanium oxide. Mahalo, Karen

Christian-owned and operated, smoking is not permitted on the property and the State does not allow smoking on the beach. More than 2 million butts were found on our coastal shores on one day of cleanup. That's twice the amount of food wrappers and containers found on that day. Our shore birds eat the butts and die of starvation. We need to step up and help our environment to be able to continue to be the paradise everyone enjoys.

Thank you for your understanding and your effort to sustain the beauty of Hawaii. W00960618-01

Keywords: Oceanfront, sandy beach, private, view of Honolulu to Diamond Head, clean, family friendly, comfortable, spacious, open floor plan, private

More Details

Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 13, 2018

About Karen

I used to enjoy pole fishing, and in 2004, my friend talked me into accompanying him on a fishing trip in his 16-foot boat. Dinner was great.

Today my interests are in rescue work with birds and a few dogs. I'm an active member of Wild Bird Rehab Haven, Inc. and Basenji Rescue.

Karen purchased this house in 1994

Why Karen chose Ewa

You are on the beach at Ewa Beach with the best view on the island. You can walk miles of natural shoreline. The weather in Ewa Beach is wonderful. The surf is gentle and the waters safe. Songs have been sung for decades about the Ewa Moon and our pearly shells. This is nature at its best.

What makes this house unique

The sunsets on Ewa Beach are so picturesque and relaxing. The sunrise is awesome. There's a freshness in the air and excitement as the day unfolds with discoveries of shells washed ashore during the night. It's fun to make the first footsteps in the sand.

Guestbook comments from the owner

From the San Francisco Chronicle, Mar 3, 02.

"Secluded Oahu beachfront retreat

Weary of the noise and crowds of Waikiki, we were

delighted to discover a tranquil beachfront house on

the southwest coast of Oahu that reminded us of the

rustic charm of old Hawaii.

Hale Kahakai Ewa offers all the comfort and amenities

of a home away from home - including full kitchen,

washer/dryer and complimentary use of beach equipment

- for an unbelievably good value for families and

small groups. We enjoyed romantic moonlight walks on

uncrowded beaches, with gorgeous views of Diamond Head

and the Waikiki skyline a short drive away..."
Aug 2002
  • 1 of 1


Ewa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • One in the master bedroom and one in the hallway across from the bedrooms.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • golf
  • hiking
  • racquetball
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
16% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Private Beachfront Home in Sunny Ewa Beach
average rating of 4.785714 based on 43 reviews
San Diego, CA

Ewa Beach & Karen - We'll BE BAAACKK!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Unlike most visitors to the islands, we came not to vacation but to pay tribute to my beloved Uncle and attend his memorial service. I have to say that staying at this house made it easier, more enjoyable, and was exactly what our family needed. There were 5 of us traveling in our group, spanning 3 generations, and every single one of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

It was so peaceful to sit outside and take in the amazing sunsets, sunrises, rainbows and beautiful ocean. My son and nephew took advantage of the beach equipment provided by our hostess, and swam in the clear, warm and clean ocean right outside our door. This was something they were not planning on doing, as neither of them brought any gear themselves, but once seeing all the boogie boards & swim fins, they couldn't resist and it was such an enjoyable activity for them. One night Karen's son took the boys (these are adult boys), crab catching on the beach, and had the flashlights, pot and technique for them to have the time of their life!

We were able to easily cook as absolutely EVERYTHING is provided! This made it very nice so we could actually treat our families to home cooked meals when the restaurant food got tiresome. Wait!!!! Island food was not tiresome, it was nice to be able to BBQ though and sit outside and enjoy the views!

The location is far enough away from the hustle and bustle and traffic of Waikiki, but close enough and extremely convenient to drive to any locale on the island. Restaurant's & grocery stores are so close, you can even walk down to a neighborhood convenience store and get some shaved ice!

Karen is in the house right in front of this amazing beach house, and is available for anything you need! I even had an emergency Amazon delivery that she made sure was left inside for me upon delivery. She was so accommodating, so sweet, and felt like family to me, we are definitely coming back next year for a real family vacation, and this will be where we select to stay!

Special memories were made by all of us on this trip and this stay, this home, Karen and her family were part of the amazing memories we will talk, laugh, cry and smile about for years to come!

Mahalo from our Ohana Karen!


  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Family is very important to us and we're glad we were able to help you with accommodations for your beautiful and adventurous family. Until next time, mahalo, Karen in Ewa Beach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We greatly enjoyed our stay at this property and would definitely stay again.

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Karen for a sharing your beach home with us! We greatly enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for us, as we were looking to be outside of Honolulu and Waikiki and all of the tourist traffic, but we were close enough to everything. There were six of us staying and there was plenty of room for everyone. We loved having the beach right there in front of us and spent many mornings and evenings watching the sun rise and set. A vacation to remember for sure!!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having you and your adventurous family. Mr. Bean missed you all too.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Everything and more!

  • 5 of 5

What a great place. The description is perfect. Live the local life away from the crowds of Waikiki. The beach is beautiful. The house has everything you need except for food. Check in before you buy anything. There is beach stuff. We grilled. It was a perfect setting. It rained one day and we had hundreds of movies to choose from their collection. The house is a plantation style house with good flow through when the wind is blowing. There is a washer and dryer you can use so you don't have to pack heavy for a long stay. There are many local options for food if you don't want to cook. Ono Thai is some of the best Thai food you can get. If you want to go to Waikiki it takes about 40 minutes unless you're in peak traffic. The north shore isn't much farther. It is a trek to the windward side. Karen was available if needed but we didn't see her which was fine because we had all we needed.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

An AMAZING week!

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a wonderful week in Karen's beautiful home! It was even more relaxing than staying at the resorts that we usually frequent. We loved being "at home" in a real Hawaiian neighborhood, yet close to many tourist attractions. Karen supplied everything one could need; from shampoo and beach towels to spices and snorkel equipment. We loved being directly on the water with gorgeous views of Honolulu and Diamond Head. We highly recommend this home to anyone who would like a "true Hawaiian" experience! We hope to return in the future! Mahalo, Karen, for everything!!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha! Thank you for allowing us to host your very active vacation. We enjoyed having you as guests, even though we didn't see much of you because you were out exploring. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Mahalo, Karen in Ewa Beach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great beachfront vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. The family loved being at this beach house, we enjoyed swimming, fishing, and the view from Diamond Head to the sunset to the west. Thank You Karen, we're already talking about our return next year.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review, the pics of the family catch, and the relaxing sunset--poles at the ready. We also enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you again next year. Aloha, Karen in Ewa Beach
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Portland, Oregon

“Rustic” Beachfront Property Experience

  • 3 of 5

While the beautiful ocean view was spectacular, we were a little taken aback by the presence of bugs in the house. When we first arrived, there were a handful of dead cockroaches sprinkled through the kitchen, and live, very big one in one of the bedrooms. We chalked it up to the tropical location, but still didn’t feel comfortable leaving any food on the kitchen counters.

The following morning when I went to take a shower, I was greeted by a hand-sized cane spider in my shower (that I’m still having nightmares about!). Again, we thought…must have been a fluke. The house is VERY open to the outdoors. So it wasn’t super surprising to find cockroaches and lizards in the house. But the cane spider was a bit jarring. They are REALLY big.

I continued to stay at the property for three out of my eight nights in Hawaii, but on the third night, another cane spider was in my shower. It made it difficult to relax enough to go to sleep, so I left the property and got a hotel the following morning. My friends who I was staying with didn’t want to spend more money, so they stayed at the house, and continued to see cockroaches and lizards inside the property.

Maybe we were just naïve to the environment of Hawaii, but seeing these bugs in our house didn’t make us feel comfortable. In addition, we were disappointed with the quality of the linens in the house. The bath towels were pretty old and stained, as well as the sheets and bedding. At some point during our stay, we did inform Karen of the bugs in the house, and she did have someone come and spray the property with a can of Raid. So we appreciated that. But I unfortunately had to leave the property because I didn’t feel comfortable.

That all aside, we DID enjoy the beach front that the house sits on, and spent most of the day outside the house, so it didn’t matter that much…but nighttime was a little stressful having to check cushions and pillows for Hawaii’s little critters.

If you enjoy the manicured nature of resorts and cleanliness of hotels, I wouldn’t recommend this property. If you’re okay with a more rustic, outdoorsy, almost yurt-like Hawaiian vacation, this is your place.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. The view of the beach and Diamond Head is spectacular and while we enjoy the great weather, so do the bugs. The bug situation you describe in the house is unusual. The first service we provide our guests at check-in is a guided tour through the rooms to point out the various amenities. I’ll be sure to suggest to future guests that the kitchen trash be taken out daily or every other day to help keep the bugs away. Aloha, Karen in Ewa Beach
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Nearest Golf
0.7 Miles
Ewa Beach Golf Club
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Hawaii Railroad Society
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
H-1, Queen Liliuokalani Freeway
Nearest Restaurant
0.7 Miles
Ewa Beach Golf Club
Nearest Beach
Ewa Beach
Car: necessary

Golfing, Pearl Harbor Arizona Memorial, Water Slide, Ewa Train Ride, Ko'Olina, Waipahu Plantation Town, Hiking trails, Westlock Shoreline Park, Botanical Gardens and Beach Parks. Ask Bill, our neighbor, about golfing, He's played on all the courses.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Tax Rate 13.96%

Rates for longer stays:
$315/nite for 10 nights
$287/night for 14 nights

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.