Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Boyle River Lodge-Sierra at Tahoe, ON THE RIVER

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,600 sq. ft.
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Lodge, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

***Temporarily**** closed for Construction due to SNOW Damage-LARGE, Family Cabin right ON THE RIVER, by SIERRA AT TAHOE where you can also snowmobile right out the front door. You can walk to the ski slopes if you are an experienced skier. Our lodge is tucked away, not far off Highway 50 (ALMOST NO HIGHWAY 50 ROAD NOISE) with only 5 other privately owned cabins on our cul-da-sac road. The little ones can play right outside in the winter or summer. Our road and driveway are plowed in the winter. There are endless hiking areas, sleding right next to the cabin and loads of wintertime fun!!!

We are also right on the South Fork of the American RIVER (less than 100 feet from the back of the cabin) with 170 ft. of river frontage. During the summer, it is incredible to sit by the water and relax in a hammock or relaxing lounge chair.

As far as furnishings, the downstairs is all wood and decorated with a 'fishing' room (king bed) and 'ski' room (double bed). Upstairs is decorated with a 'moose (queen bed), "Deer' (king bed-master), and "Bear" (2 twins and 1 queen-memory foam and a bunk bed)' room for the kids. The living room furniture is furnished with 2 very comfortable Full length couches and 2 leather recliners. There are also bean bags and additional chairs for extra quests. Our cabin is not FANCY, but it is clean cabin living!!

We have a great kitchen with full appliances and a huge dining room table. Great for a family gathering for eating, hanging out or playing a card game by the fireplace. The dining table can easily seat 10-14 people.

The cabin is great in any season and Lake Tahoe is only about ten minutes down the hill. We are five miles from Strawberry Lodge. The cabin is away from the crowded downtown area, but close enough to be there in minutes. Our location is awesome for Sierra At Tahoe, 1.5 miles from the entrance.

We are in a heavy snow area during the winter, so you may need four-wheel drive and or chains. We have a cleaning service that will clean the cabin for the fee, tenants just need to leave it picked up before they leave.

To really get an idea about our cabin READ THE PRIOR RENTER'S COMMENTS, THEY TELL IT BEST!!!! And go to our Facebook page....BOYLE RIVER LODGE... and check out the pictures and add your own!!

WE NOW HAVE INTERNET AND DIRECTV.

Keywords: Large Cabin

More Details

Owner
Barbi Boyle
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2017

About Barbi Boyle

My husband and I own and operate Boyle Ranch, a Reining Horse show horse barn in Ione, Ca. Barbi is also a Real Estate Agent in Sutter Creek, Ca. We have two children and we all show horses competitively thru out the US.

Barbi Boyle purchased this lodge in 2004

Why Barbi Boyle chose Lake Tahoe South Shore CA

We purchased our vacation rental in this area because we wanted to have a place to go that was great in the winter, was close to a Ski Resort (Sierra at Tahoe) and also a fabulous place in the summer (170 foot of South Fork of the American River). We spent a year trying to get the owner to sell to us and finally was able to complete the purchase. We also wanted to be away from the Casino's and have some privacy, but close enough (15 mins) to be able to go there if we wanted to. We truely found Location Location Location.

What makes this lodge unique

Our cabin is large, peaceful and a wonderful place if you like snow or you want to be in the forest in the summer/spring. It is close to Highway 50, for convienence, but also very private. Great hiking, Horsetail Falls and Echo Lakes are very close and a must see. You can hike to Camp Sacramento for dinner in the summer or sit out by the river at night and listen to the water go by. We especially like sitting in a hammock and reading a book.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have stayed at the Boyle River Lodge several times and have loved it every time. The owner is VERY responsive and helpful. We love the area, it is right on the river and the back yard is quiet and peaceful. There are many hiking areas that you go to right from the cabin. You can also go short distances to Horse Tail Falls and Echo Lakes.



The cabin is rustic but has all the modern conveniences that is needed. The kitchen is better equipped than most VRBO rentals that we have stayed in. The kitchen table is large and wide and worked perfectly to feed our group of 13. We also like the table on the deck by the barbecue so that we could sit and talk while cooking some of our meals. The chairs and hammocks by the river are amazing.



The cabin is very spacious with it's 5 bedrooms! The living room is extremely large. The bedrooms all have very nice beds and mattresses along with very nice linens, they even have a Memory foam mattress on a Queen bed in case anyone needs that.



We will definitely be back!!! Thank you Boyle Family for sharing!
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

South Lake Tahoe Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Downstairs
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Upstairs with sink and toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Upstairs in master bedroom
  • One full bath upstairs and one downstairs and a half bath upstairs.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master bedroom, upstairs with sitting area
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , downstairs right by bathroom
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upstairs
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Kids room, upstairs, 1 QUEEN, 2 twins and twin bunk bed
  • King size beds (2) One in the master upstairs and one in a downstairs bedroom, Queen size Beds (2) In upstairs middle bedroom and upstairs, Double Beds (1) 1in downstairs bedroom by itself, Twin or Single Beds (4) 2 twins and 1 bunkbed in Kids room along with the 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
Notes:
Heat is woodstove and propane heaters

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
9% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
Boyle River Lodge-Sierra at Tahoe, ON THE RIVER
average rating of 4.642857 based on 43 reviews
Beverly Hills, CA
5

Great gathering spot for a large family or friends right on the river. Lots of character.

  • 5 of 5

This is our second visit to the property and we are definitely returning!.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Steve and family!! We look forward to your next visit !!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Stockton, CA
5

Perfect for Large Families!

  • 5 of 5

Our family enjoyed our stay here at the cabin. There are plenty of rooms and space for both the kids and adults. From the large selection of movies and board games, the bbq grill on the deck, and the spacious backyard, we had little reason going outside of the area other than spending the day at the beach. The location of the cabin is perfect if you are avoiding downtown South Lake Tahoe; though it is about 30 minutes away. We would definitely come back!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the great response to our cabin!!! We are so glad that you enjoyed it!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Happy to see smiling faces and relaxed people!

  • 5 of 5

Overall our weekend was just perfect! Can't wait to do it again.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much!!! We are doing a remodel on the cabin, but we should be back going this next year!! Barbi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous Riverfront Location

  • 5 of 5

We loved being at the cabin. It has the rustic charm that we were looking for. We went hiking up thru the Forest Service Cabins and beyond. Several trips were made into South Lake Tahoe, breakfast at Red Hut Cafe, a trip to walk around the lake, we took a water taxi across Echo Lakes and then hiked back and just barbecued and enjoyed the river. We will definitely be back. Next time we want to hike up Horsetail Falls.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Rustic feel with modern convenience. Very peaceful. Just what the soul needs.

  • 4 of 5

Had a very comfortable stay. After dealing with the rudeness of the tourists at Lake Tahoe it was such a pleasure coming back to the serenity of this house.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you were able to spend some peaceful time at our cabin! Thank you, Barbi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Murrieta California
2

Home is situated on a beautiful piece of property but the house itself needs some attention.

  • 2 of 5

Let me first start off by saying that we had a wonderful stay! The sole reason for this is because the property sits on the American River with beautiful pines trees all around. It's hard not to enjoy yourself with all of this and your family. That said and the reason for the 2-star rating, is because the cabin leaves much to be desired. I have stayed at many Vrbo's and have always had wonderful stays. This is the first time I felt compelled to write a negative review. Let me explain why....

Upon arrival the home looks quaint, albeit a little outdated. But for me, that's part of the mountain experience. The problem was that were a few things in need of repair. There was a glass pain door that was broken and the glass started falling to the floor. Within the first hour of our arrival I had to cardboard it so no one would cut themselves. Next, an upstairs door knob fell off. As far as cleanliness, let's just say there was a lot to be desired.

There were cobwebs in the window sills, dried dog poop in the corner of one of the bedrooms and it didnt look like anyone's looked under a sofa cushion in ages. It was disgusting! We tried to do some vacuuming but the vacuum cleaner bag was full and we couldn't find any replacements. I hate nitpicking, but these are things that are hard to swallow when you're paying a premium on a place to stay. You also pay a substantial cleaning fee when renting this property! I've never paid such a high cost for a cleaning fee for any Vrbo!

We also had a little problem with our departure. The owner claims that we broke out a couple of window screens. I told her I wasn't aware of anything happening but couldn't be sure because it's hard to track everything that goes on with 14 bodies. When you walk into a home that's older and has issues like a broken glass door you kind of overlook the minor things and just assume it's the way it is. I was charged for these items. I did purchase the incidental property damage insurance but I'm still trying to get the information I need to file the claim.

This is a hard review to write. First off, our family had a terrific stay. It's hard not to when your in So. Lake Tahoe and surrounded by family. It's just unfortunate things went this way. I think it's sometimes hard for owners to see their homes for what they really are.

My best advice is that there are a lot of homes being rented out in the area and at this price you could can do better.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you had a Wonderful stay with your family and thank you for the really nice remarks that you left in our guest book at the cabin, we feel that those are your true feelings about your experience. What you wrote here is in Retaliation to us taking a very small portion of your deposit to repair the items that your group damaged. Unfortunately, our experience from the owners side was not the same as yours. My husband and I personally arrived at the cabin to check out a few things and were VERY disappointed in the way that your group took care of the cabin. In almost 15 years of sharing our family cabin we have NEVER felt that we needed to take out a portion of the deposit to pay for items that had to be repaired and items on the check out list not done. MOST guest have been extremely respectful and caring of our cabin. Your correct when you say that you couldn't keep track of 14 bodies (probably the children). It was evident from the screens that had been punched out (new screens that were custom made within the past 2 months ), the lock that had been broken off the bathroom window, the glass pane that you said your children broke out, the new hammock ties outside that were all knotted, along with bedding thrown all over, that no one even tried to keep track of the 14 bodies. The cabin was left very dirty, dishes etc.. And that didn't account for the disregard for the check out instructions that clearly state "in order to get your full refund you must do the following"...your group didn't even try to do them. But probably the worst part (no cost) is that we have clearly stated that there is to be NO outside Fires from May until Winter and your group had an outside bonfire, endangering the cabin and forest around us. We sent photos of everything that was damaged. The cleaning fee is substantially less than any other VRBO rental that has 5 bedrooms- 9 beds (your group used every one) and less than the cost that we have to pay to have it cleaned and the garbage taken down to So. Lake Tahoe refuge. What we can agree on, the windows are the original older windows, between the glass (in 1) there is a web that you can not get to, to clean. We are in the process of getting the windows replaced, with new ones this year. We tried resolving this over the phone for over 40 minutes and even explained the time and cost to fix the items and for you to come up with a number that was fair and you didn't want to take any responsibility.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Strawberry Lodge
Nearest Golf
13 Miles
South Lake Tahoe
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 50
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Strawberry Lodge
Nearest Ski
1.5 Miles
Sierra At Tahoe
Nearest Point of Interest
7760 Tamarack Pines Road
Car: necessary

Hammocks right next to the River

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $190 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $350
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates are subject to change until confirmed. NO REFUNDS OF ANY MONEY PAID ON RENTAL FOR CANCELLATIONS.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund