Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Boyle River Lodge-Sierra at Tahoe, ON THE RIVER

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,600 sq. ft.
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Lodge, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

LARGE, Family Cabin right ON THE RIVER, by SIERRA AT TAHOE where you can also snowmobile right out the front door. You can walk to the ski slopes if you are an experienced skier. Our lodge is tucked away, not far off Highway 50 (ALMOST NO HIGHWAY 50 ROAD NOISE) with only 5 other privately owned cabins on our cul-da-sac road. The little ones can play right outside in the winter or summer. Our road and driveway are plowed in the winter. There are endless hiking areas, sleding right next to the cabin and loads of wintertime fun!!!

We are also right on the South Fork of the American RIVER (less than 100 feet from the back of the cabin) with 170 ft. of river frontage. During the summer, it is incredible to sit by the water and relax in a hammock or relaxing lounge chair.

As far as furnishings, the downstairs is all wood and decorated with a 'fishing' room (king bed) and 'ski' room (double bed). Upstairs is decorated with a 'moose (queen bed), "Deer' (king bed-master), and "Bear" (2 twins and 1 queen-memory foam and a bunk bed)' room for the kids. The living room furniture is furnished with 2 very comfortable Full length couches and 2 leather recliners. There are also bean bags and additional chairs for extra quests. Our cabin is not FANCY, but it is clean cabin living!!

We have a great kitchen with full appliances and a huge dining room table. Great for a family gathering for eating, hanging out or playing a card game by the fireplace. The dining table can easily seat 10-14 people.

The cabin is great in any season and Lake Tahoe is only about ten minutes down the hill. We are five miles from Strawberry Lodge. The cabin is away from the crowded downtown area, but close enough to be there in minutes. Our location is awesome for Sierra At Tahoe, 1.5 miles from the entrance.

We are in a heavy snow area during the winter, so you may need four-wheel drive and or chains. We have a cleaning service that will clean the cabin for the fee, tenants just need to leave it picked up before they leave.

To really get an idea about our cabin READ THE PRIOR RENTER'S COMMENTS, THEY TELL IT BEST!!!! And go to our Facebook page....BOYLE RIVER LODGE... and check out the pictures and add your own!!

WE NOW HAVE INTERNET AND DIRECTV.

Keywords: Large Cabin

More Details

Owner
Barbi Boyle
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2017

About Barbi Boyle

My husband and I own and operate Boyle Ranch, a Reining Horse show horse barn in Ione, Ca. Barbi is also a Real Estate Agent in Sutter Creek, Ca. We have two children and we all show horses competitively thru out the US.

Barbi Boyle purchased this lodge in 2004

Why Barbi Boyle chose Lake Tahoe South Shore CA

We purchased our vacation rental in this area because we wanted to have a place to go that was great in the winter, was close to a Ski Resort (Sierra at Tahoe) and also a fabulous place in the summer (170 foot of South Fork of the American River). We spent a year trying to get the owner to sell to us and finally was able to complete the purchase. We also wanted to be away from the Casino's and have some privacy, but close enough (15 mins) to be able to go there if we wanted to. We truely found Location Location Location.

What makes this lodge unique

Our cabin is large, peaceful and a wonderful place if you like snow or you want to be in the forest in the summer/spring. It is close to Highway 50, for convienence, but also very private. Great hiking, Horsetail Falls and Echo Lakes are very close and a must see. You can hike to Camp Sacramento for dinner in the summer or sit out by the river at night and listen to the water go by. We especially like sitting in a hammock and reading a book.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have stayed at the Boyle River Lodge several times and have loved it every time. The owner is VERY responsive and helpful. We love the area, it is right on the river and the back yard is quiet and peaceful. There are many hiking areas that you go to right from the cabin. You can also go short distances to Horse Tail Falls and Echo Lakes.



The cabin is rustic but has all the modern conveniences that is needed. The kitchen is better equipped than most VRBO rentals that we have stayed in. The kitchen table is large and wide and worked perfectly to feed our group of 13. We also like the table on the deck by the barbecue so that we could sit and talk while cooking some of our meals. The chairs and hammocks by the river are amazing.



The cabin is very spacious with it's 5 bedrooms! The living room is extremely large. The bedrooms all have very nice beds and mattresses along with very nice linens, they even have a Memory foam mattress on a Queen bed in case anyone needs that.



We will definitely be back!!! Thank you Boyle Family for sharing!
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

South Lake Tahoe Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Downstairs
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Upstairs with sink and toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Upstairs in master bedroom
  • One full bath upstairs and one downstairs and a half bath upstairs.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master bedroom, upstairs with sitting area
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , downstairs right by bathroom
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upstairs
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Kids room, upstairs, 1 QUEEN, 2 twins and twin bunk bed
  • King size beds (2) One in the master upstairs and one in a downstairs bedroom, Queen size Beds (2) In upstairs middle bedroom and upstairs, Double Beds (1) 1in downstairs bedroom by itself, Twin or Single Beds (4) 2 twins and 1 bunkbed in Kids room along with the 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
Notes:
Heat is woodstove and propane heaters

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

Boyle River Lodge-Sierra at Tahoe, ON THE RIVER
average rating of 4.6944447 based on 37 reviews
5

Such a cozy cabin perfect for family trips!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was perfect for our family trip!! There's really no complaints. The river in the back yard was amazingly beautiful, there was some things not working but Barbie let me know ahead of time of those things. Everything was well stocked and Barbie was very helpful and informative. We will definitely come back!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much and we are so glad that you enjoyed the cabin!! Barbi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Great space for a group of families with little ones

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Very snowy

  • 3 of 5

Let me start by saying it is a well kept cabin, positive comments from my family and our friends that came with us, they are already telling me to rent it again for summer. Lots of room we even had extra bed.

Everything would have been so nice even if there was no actual snow fall that we hoped for that wk but due to the weather a few problems occured and I am not blaming that to the owner or to the cabin.

Due to some snow storm there was a power outage which also led to not having water. So if you are going to rent this cabin on winter season, expect the unexpected bring extra water, cleansing wipes, candles/flashlights, batterries and ready to eat meals. More importantly make sure to use a 4WD car bec the road off hwy 50 coming in to the cabin gets very much snowy and might be impossible for cars to pass through without getting stuck. Otherwise we still had a blast playing in the snow outside of the house itself and @StrawberryLodge and just hanging out just getting away from the city and work. The kids couldn't get enough of the snow. I wish there would be a drum or big bucket to store water. And due to the power outage the cabin was not dusted & vaccumed as well. But that was not the big issue at all. Not having water for 10 adults and 5 kids (below 8yrs) was difficult especially when u need to use the toilet. But we arrived @4pm and the power came back @around 5ish follwed by water @6ish that went away again @9ish pm but came back on again the next morning after lunch. Another suggestion might a generator? For power back up. ;) otherwise again it is a nice cabin and would probably appreciate it more during non winter time...especially the backyard!

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, unfortunately you were at the cabin when we had one of the biggest storms that we have had in probably 10 years. Highway 50, 80 and 88 was closed for 24-48 hours. Sierra At Tahoe was closed due to sooooo much snow. Mother Nature did not cooperate, however, we are glad that you had a great time in the snow. There is always snow to melt to flush the toilets with.....lots of that!! The last time that happened was about 10 years ago, guest melted water and used the bathtub as a storage. And we do have many candles, flashlights along with propane and wood stove heat. So, yes, due to Mother Nature, if you stay there during an extreme storm you have to have a bit of a "Pioneering Spirit". We are glad that you are wanting to come back!!!.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Home

  • 5 of 5

We rented it the week of Thanksgiving there were 10 of us and we had a great time. They call this place a cabin but it's really a home it has 5 bedrooms with beautiful furnishings comfortable large beds. The Kitchen is well stocked with everything and anything you can think of. We cooked a Thanksgiving fest for 10 people and everything was there that we needed. Pots and Pans, dishes, silverware etc. The kitchen and dinning room is large the table is so large we were able to put all the food on the table plus having 10 people to all sit around the table with plenty of room left. The living room is large and very comfortable with a large fire place. The outside while we were there it snowed but it looked just like a picture postcard just beautiful. We all had so much fun in the snow and they supply all the wood for the fireplace we were very warm. The reason I said this place is a home more than a cabin is because the owners have made it a place so warm and inviting with the furnishing it's like a home. We all loved it here and I can't wait to rent this home again maybe in the summer.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We welcome you back anytime! Barbi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxation and great family time

  • 5 of 5

Our family enjoyed a family vacation at the Boyle River Lodge. Our family at this time is made up of 4 married couples and 7 grandchildren (ages 6 yrs to 8 months). We loved our stay at the lodge and only wish that it had been longer. We all had our own room and the older children enjoyed the room full of cousins. Space was not an issue even with a group this size. The kids were able to play outside and enjoy the simplicity of the natural surroundings. This home brings you back to a simpler time and yet it is comfortable with some of the features that we enjoy. We enjoyed a day of hiking, a day at Lake Tahoe, a day just hanging out at the house and playing in the river. We enjoyed cooking together and playing games for hours. This is a perfect location for a great family time. Packing was simple due to the many provisions at the lodge. Staying at this home was one of the easiest arrivals, and departures that we have experienced when using a home rental for a vacation. Thank you again for offering this home to us. We plan to go back again.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great Review! We are happy to share our cabin with your family!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Setting was beautiful, but cabin needs some serious TLC

  • 3 of 5

If you're into shappy chic (with the emphasis on shappy) this is the cabin for you. It is spacious. The beds are comfortable and clean. The location is beautiful and convenient. Everything in the kitchen works, but is old and in need of a deep cleaning. The bathroom doors don't lock and the showers leave something to be desired. The lawn area by the river was beautiful.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that this guest gave us such a poor review...only a 3! There were only 3 negative things mentioned in the review with many more positives. The Kitchen is very well stocked with lots of dishes, pots, pans etc. Some of the pots are older (cast iron) and some are very new. If you read some of the other reviews, our kitchen is one of the best stocked with every imaginable item that you might need. There is also a Brand new coffee machine that uses both ground and K-cups, brand new kitchen rugs, newer microwave and our dishwasher is also fairly new. As far as the bathrooms, they do not lock, this is something that we will look into, it hasn't been brought up to us before. As for the showers, there is one shower downstairs that is above the claw tub and that is in excellent shape and the upstairs shower in the master that has been all newly painted and redone within the past 3 weeks, so I am not sure what they are saying there. We have a cleaning professional clean the cabin and disinfect between each guest, however, it is a cabin in the high sierras. As far as the positives that she wrote about,, YES...it is extremely spacious, the beds are CLEAN with mostly newer sheets and most beds are newer....we even have a Brand new Memory Foam Queen bed, the location is incredible and convenient. Please read the other reviews to get an idea of what our cabin in all about!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Strawberry Lodge
Nearest Golf
13 Miles
South Lake Tahoe
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 50
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Strawberry Lodge
Nearest Ski
1.5 Miles
Sierra At Tahoe
Nearest Point of Interest
7760 Tamarack Pines Road
Car: necessary

Hammocks right next to the River

Photos

Rates & Availability

South Lake Tahoe Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$340
From
$360
Fri,Sat
$2,250
$8,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $190 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $350
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates are subject to change until confirmed. NO REFUNDS OF ANY MONEY PAID ON RENTAL FOR CANCELLATIONS.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties