Lovely 3 bedroom house, one and half bathroom, 100 feet frontage on Lake Huron the world largest fresh water lake. This house is located 7 mile north of east tawas and 7 mile south of Oscoda. Close to shopping, Tawas Bay State Park, Tawas Marina and Oscoda's breath taking Sand Dunes (Lumber Jack Monument) and much more. Just sit in your living room and watch Lake Huron from your living room or bedroom, and enjoy the fireplace.
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
EJ responding to all inquiries by email, and text within minutes
- english, german
- Calendar last updated:
- Dec 15, 2018
About EJ responding to all inquiries by email, and text within minutes
Over 20 years experience in commercial lending and various banking positions, real estate investor and traveler. Water and nature lover.
EJ responding to all inquiries by email, and text within minutes purchased this House in 2007
Why EJ responding to all inquiries by email, and text within minutes chose East Tawas
Close to many attractions, and right on lake huron the world largest fresh water lake
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 12:00 PM
100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
Not what we were looking for....this place needs serious work
This property has such promise and potential because it is right on Lake Huron and the views are incredible! Unfortunately the view is not enough to overlook the many areas that are lacking in this rental. We would have never booked a supposedly relaxing weekend rental on the lake if we had known about the construction literally going on right in front of the house. The road was down to one lane for both directions of traffic meaning the construction crew could only let one direction go through for several minutes, then stop all vehicles while they let the other direction of traffic go through on the one lane. The road was completely ripped out in front of the house and just sand. We would have completely gotten stuck pulling in and out of the house if we brought a car. Thank goodness for our SUV! It was very noisy as well. I feel this should have been disclosed by the owner or at the least offered a discount if we were still willing to go knowing the circumstances. As far as the rental, I’m not sure where to start. Negatives- the home looks one step above an abandoned house, no exaggeration. The outside garage/basement had tarps unevenly covering it, broken window leaning up against the house, rusted shut can of paint where you walk in. House on outside is filthy, covered with cobwebs filled with dead bugs like no one has lived there in years. Kitchen is tiny, very outdated, poor selection of dishes, not well cleaned, again cobwebs and dead bugs in all windowsills. No Frappuccinos as shown in pic. Dirty coffee filter still in machine. Living room has very uncomfortable chaise lounge and futon, both outdated with stains, only seating in room. We didn’t feel comfortable sitting without putting something down first. Front and back door locks really have personality, as in, sometimes they work, sometimes they don’t. Outdoor area is not maintained at all and looks messy.Outdoor lights in back didn’t work which made going outdoors at night almost impossible, especially with the uneven grounds.
Positives- cool fireplace, would have been nice if wood was provided, we bought some in town. Bathrooms are small but cute. Bedrooms are cute, bed in master is very uncomfortable but I don’t expect comfortable beds in rentals. Btw, Lamp on nightstand is just for show, no outlet to plug into. Boathouse is nicer than house with beautiful view where you can hear the waves.
Overall this place needs some serious TLC. We will not be staying here again.
Could have been a lot better.
When we arrived we saw that lawn hadn't been cut and weeds we're a little tall. Cottage outside also needed some heavy duty cleaning. Once inside kitchen was a lot to be desired. Sink looked liked it hadn't been cleaned in years. Counter top we're dirty. The oven weather coated in grease and we could never use. One roll of paper towel for whole week for 4 adults. Main part of cottage is pretty quaint as I am partial to knotty pine. Good thing we brought our lounge chairs as living room furniture as living room furniture consists of futon and chaise. Never could find 1/2 bath. Come to find out it was in our bedroom.....our bad. We only found closets. Not nosy enough. Nicest part is boathouse. You'll really enjoy it. Let me also state that owner has had some health issues of late and he stated that kitchen would be redone in future. Our take is until that happens he needs to fix cleaning issues now. Sorry to say that we were looking for someplace to stay every year but C-Scape will not be the place.
Nice view, but...
The house had a nice view of the lake. I enjoyed sitting in the living room looking out (unfortunately we didn't have great weather). The location is nice in relation to beaches, restaurants, etc. However, the furniture left a lot to be desired. Not very comfortable beds, living room only had a rickety futon and an old lounge chair. House was clean but had a musty smell. Parking was also difficult as the driveway was very steep... Extra cars would have been hard to deal with. Overall it was ok.
Fantastic view of lake Huron
It was so restful and the lake view was amazing. Cabin was comfortable but locks on both outer doors didn't always work well. I was blessed with great weather most of the week I was there.
Drear Sharon, thank you very much for your review and I am happy you enjoyed your stay. I am so sorry you had problem with the locks. I wish you had contacted me to remedy the issue. I respect my guests privacy & stay out of their way but anytime their is a mechanical issue either myself or the local handy man is a minute away
Great view of Lake Huron from a home from a bygone era.
Wonderful views of Lake Huron. Beautiful interior. Nestled between East Tawas and Oscoda. The boat house is an added bonus. Great for naps right on the waters edge. Will rent again, but for a much longer stay.
Thank you so much for great review! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay and I always do my my best to make my guests feel like home.
Peaceful, beautiful and well-thought out
Firstly, the photos of the boathouse are inviting but they cannot possibly convey in full the delightful character of this interior space. If you crave a place to fall in love, rest, relax, and/or rejuvenate with a beautiful, ever changing great lake vista this is it.
The main cottage is well provided for. It feels as if you are walking into your own 'second home'. The owners have taken great care to achieve this environment. The mattresses on the beds were just perfect - there is not even a chance for a 'princess and the pea' situation. The linens were great quality and the blankets and towels were plentiful.
Each room was spacious - we never felt crammed into a space.
Thank you for making this available to the VRBO community.
A vacation here is a wonderful experience. From a quick weekend getaway to a totally relaxed vacation, this cabin is what you are looking for. Just relax in boathouse and watch the beauty of lake huron, you will feel like being in heaven.