Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Bend Bungalow - a Walk in the Park to Downtown and River!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,199 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5)

Bend in the winter and spring is heavenly. Come stay, ski, dine & wine! We welcome you.

Looking for a special get-away vacation... you just found the right place! The Bend Bungalow is your delightful alternative to staying in a hotel, and for less money! Nestled in the desirable NorthWest neighborhood, this charming vacation rental cottage offers the quintessential Bend experience. You will love staying at the Bend Bungalow. . . fully stocked down to the wine bottle opener!

The bungalow has artistic décor and a clean yet homey feeling. Original hardwood floors, new windows, sustainable bamboo flooring in the kitchen and bonus room, warm and inviting colors all create the perfect place to relax after your busy days. The home is well maintained and spotlessly cleaned with green products.

Two bedrooms have queen size beds each (one is a Tempurpedic style memory bed great for your back!). The bonus room has a twin day bed, with a pull-out twin mattress underneath for another guest. The bathroom has a bathtub/shower. A single car garage can be accessed from the ally with additional storage (lockable) for your skies or kayaks or bikes. Our family’s inner tubes may be used for a refreshing summer float down the river or sledding down snowy hills in the winter. A covered patio offers a perfect BBQ retreat.

Experience the great location of the Bend Bungalow! Whether taking advantage the close proximity to the Deschuttes River, Mt. Bachelor or just wanting to explore the shops and restaurants of Bend, this location is close to the slopes (on the mountain in 30 minutes!) or a lovely walk across the river.

Neighborhood gourmet food market 'Newport Market', coffee houses, restaurants, frozen yogurt and shops are within three blocks of home. Old town shops and our family’s favorite, the Deschutes Brewery, is a six minute walk down the street and across the river. Children will love the 'boat park' one block away where there is also a ballpark and the walking bridge to Drake Park.

Don’t bother with driving and parking: Both the 4th of July and Christmas Parades start right in front of the cottage! Enjoy the three-minute walk to the summer time popular 'Munch-n-Music' with free concerts and movies at Drake Park and food from local restaurants.

Come be our guests and enjoy!

Keywords: House

More Details

Lesley Painter
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 13, 2018

About Lesley Painter

We are Oregon residents who love the outdoors, be it the mountains, rivers or coastal areas. We love to travel the world and have fell in love with Bend, which reminds us of time we spent in Taos, New Mexico. The high desert sun, smell of the sage and pine, the Deschutes River, surrounding lakes, and mountains all make Bend a wonderful place to get outdoors. Though we have to admit, the many good restaurants have us staying close to our home-away -from-home for an easy walk to dinner or a drink with friends.

Our children love being close to the park, Goodie's (ice cream parlor), Powell's Candy Store and a short walk to home after a float down the river.

We hope you will enjoy Bend and the surrounding area as much as we do.

Cheers! - Lesley & Daniel, Portland, OR

Lesley Painter purchased this bungalow in 2006

Why Lesley Painter chose River West

Location! Location! Location!

We love to walk or bike to get to the best restaurants or hiking trails. This location is easy to get to anywhere.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed at the Bend Bungalow for five days in July. We loved the house! My husband and I had our two sons with us: ages 4 and 2. The house was clean and there was plenty of room for our family. We found the owner, Lesley to be extremely gracious and so helpful! The location is excellent!! You can walk downtown, and if you have kids, there is a park right by the bridge. We couldn't have asked for a better location. We will definitely come back!!!
Jan 2011
  • 1 of 6


River West Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1199 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub with shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Other (See Description) - 1 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), extra mattress for floor use if necessary (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Bicycles ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 1 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Covered Patio, ceiling fans


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

53% Complete
39% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Bend Bungalow - a Walk in the Park to Downtown and River!
average rating of 4.4390244 based on 47 reviews

Warm & Cozy Christmas In Bend

  • 4 of 5

My sister and I spent a week in this cottage, for the 2nd time, and enjoyed it. The kitchen is quite adequately furnished with things one needs to prepare a family meal. We worked a 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle on the large dining room table. The house is roomy enough for grandchildren to play and create gifts for their parents, We may stay here again another year.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Bend Bungalow. It was nice to have you back again this year and look forward to your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It needs to be cleaner

  • 2 of 5

Stove & oven needed minor repair and cleaning, it needs better linens and one mini blind was broken. The house just a thorough going over. House was not up to VRBO cleanliness

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Rich- Thank you for your candid review. I am sorry that you caught the Bend Bungalow in a time when we were switching cleaning companies. I am disappointed that it was not up to our cleanliness standards and we have remedied the situation and it has received a good, deep cleaning. A clean home awaits! Your feed back helps us provide changes and updates to make sure all guests are welcomed to a clean home away from home. All the best, Lesley
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Davis, California

We loved the house and the location.

  • 4 of 5

The house is comfortable, homey, beds are comfortable and the location is great. Only two suggestions for the owners - new blinds and a new carafe for the coffee maker (it leaks when pouring!)

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bend Bungalow! Thank you for your input: we have a new coffee maker that it is just waiting to be put to good use! Happy travels, Lesley
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, great bungalow, great memories

  • 4 of 5

The Bend Bungalow was perfect for all aspects of vacation. We were close to downtown, grocery stores, and the home had plenty of space for our family of 5 to sleep.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bend Bungalow! Happy travels, Lesley
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable and quiet.

  • 4 of 5

We loved being able to take the short walk along the river walk to the downtown area.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Walking distance to downtown, great coffee shops, up-scale supermarket, restaurants (other than downtown), oops almost forgot drakes park mirror pond, a stones throw.

The house was well stocked with amenities. The one downside is the room we slept in had an odor I couldn't place. A friend came over and said it smelled like mold. Can't confirm or deny, just her thoughts. I don't know what mold

Smells like.

I'm sure the owner has made the necessary tests for mold spores. If not, it should be done.

Would stay again at this cute bungalow!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bend Bungalow! I apologize about the odor and I appreciate it being brought to our attention. We just had the carpets cleaned and I bet they were not completely dry yet. Thank goodness we have never had mold! We welcome you back any time! Happy travels, Lesley
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
17.3 Miles
Nearest Ski
21.5 Miles
Mt. Bachelor
Nearest Point of Interest
Munch and Music
Nearest Point of Interest
Deschuttes Brewery & Pub
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $85
Pet Fee $30
Damage Deposit $300

At certain times of year, rates are flexible. Please contact the owner for specials.
** Please note that vacation rental websites may charge their own service fee***

2 night minimum stay. Rates are negotiable; please ask.
$85 Cleaning Fee.
$300 Refundable security deposit required (or $59 non-refundable fee for $1500 worth of insurance)
Cancellation: $50 fee*; 15-30 days=$50+ 1/2 of rent amount unless another renter can be found;
Within 14 days = 100% forfeiture of entire amount.
*Summer, long-term exception (i.e. reservations a year in advance for a month during summer): Cancellation from 15-60 days before arrival = $100 + 1/2 rent unless we can rent out your time to another guest

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties