About the property
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay1 - 3 nights
0.5 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 2
This cozy studio is located right on the beach in Carlsbad. A perfect get a way for 2 people. It is walking distance to all the great shops, restaurants, pubs, bars, and entertainment Carlsbad has to offer. This condo has a murphy bed that can be tucked away during the day time and brought down for sleeping and relaxing. The sliding glass door opens to a beautiful view of the pacific ocean. Enjoy the sound of the waves breaking on the shore, beautiful sunsets, and playing in the ocean. The home has a flat screen tv, cable tv and internet. The cozy kitchen is equipped with the supplies needed for cooking or BBQing. Pets on approval, for an additional fee.
This unit is NOT equipped with AC. We do provide fans.
- Response time:
- within a few days
- Calendar last updated:
- Apr 20, 2018
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
Carlsbad is one of my very favorite places. This little studio on the beach was perfect for me and my small dog. I spend a lot of time outside and in the Village and the access is perfect from the apartment. Sunsets are always beautiful in Carlsbad and you can't get a better front row seat than the patio.
The sound of the surf is like music and there is always something to watch.
Although not luxurious, the studio offered clean and sufficient accommodations.
I wil be back!
Watch out for hidden charges
I stayed in this condo for 4 days, it is right on the beach and a lovely place if you don't have a senior dog. A few hours before I arrived I received a message letting me know where to pick up the keys. When I got to the office to retrieve the keys there were no keys. I called the number and spoke to a rude woman who finally contacted someone to come and help me get the keys. I was a little irritated after driving 7 hours to get there but I was in no way yelling or cursing at her. The young man that finally arrived was very nice. I had my 12 year old shiz tuz with me. Because there is no yard I had to carry her up and down the stairs to the beach because she can't do stairs. The condo was clean but since I cook for myself the room got smoky one night and the smoke alarms went off. It would have been nice if there had been a window to open at night for the breeze. They sent the contract 2 days before my arrival, my fault I didn't read the contract but they added a $300 non refundable pet fee which was not listed in VRBO. If I had received the contact sooner though I might have caught the fee and made other arrangements. When I questioned the fee I was told they would get back to me but have not heard back. I understand that some guest would leave the condo a mess with their pets but I left the place as clean when I left as when I arrived. The only things they had to do was sweep the floors and collect the bedding, which I folded and left on the bed, the towels were folded and left in the shower. I could understand the fee if I had left a mess or smells in the condo but there was no trace of my dog left behind. She doesn't even sleep on the bed, I bring her own. I would only stay with this management company in the future if I wasn't taking my dog.
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing about your experience, whether good or bad, we can learn from it. First let me say, I am sorry that we dropped the ball with the keys. I was traveling out of town for a conference on the day you arrived. It was our mistake to forget to put the keys in the lockbox. I know that when you called the emergency line and talked to an associate, you were very upset, she tried her best to assure you that we would get someone over right away. I was called and my associate was called as soon as she heard your concerns. My assistant was dispatched immediately and was there in less than 15 minutes. Again, this was our mistake and I am very sorry that there was a short delay in getting you into your home. I would have been frustrated as well.
Regarding the pet fee: Very few owners of beach homes allow pets. The pet rent is not a cleaning fee, it is a fee that is charged as a concession to the owner to allow pets. Although you might be a great pet owner, not all pet owners are as considerate. The owner of the home is taking on a tremendous risk in allowing pets. At the time of signing the contract, you had the opportunity to not agree to the terms of the agreement and cancel the reservation. We had no hidden fees, it was clearly written in the agreement.
You mentioned in your review, that the contract was sent to you two days before you arrived. You booked the home online at 6:14pm on 11/2/17 and we sent you the contract for the rental at 10:23am on 11/3/17 and you moved in on 11/5/17. Since your reservation was made after hours (3 days before your arrival) I believe we acted quickly and efficiently by getting the contract to you. The contract was sent within an hour of our office opening.
You also mentioned in your review that the steps down to the unit were difficult for your pet. We have had many guests with pets stay in this unit and have enjoyed the close access to the beach and the patio in front to soak in the beautiful ocean. Some on of the upper units do not have as many stairs such as the one bedroom on the street level or the middle unit. The unit that you picked is closest to the beach and because of that has more steps but once you are sitting on that patio and enjoying that amazing sunset…it’s just beautiful.
Again, I am sorry that your stay was not as you had hoped.
Awesome Getaway Beach Studio
Stayed here for a few days with my 10 y.o. daughter. The studio worked great for us. The "living area" was quaint with a new comfy murphy bed, new wood look flooring, two barrel chairs and bench ottoman with storage. TV was new, although small for the space. It was set up with cable with access to Netflix, Roku, etc. WiFi is also included with the unit, so that was super convenient. There is no A/C, so fans were provided and much needed. The fans could have been a little stronger, but with the small space they seemed to keep the place okay as long as slider is open.
The kitchen has everything you'll need. Nice size fridge and stove, blender, toaster, pots, pans etc. Bathroom had full size shower (no tub), small sink and medicine cabinet on the wall. It look too to have been recently updated with new shower head, paint, etc.
The location of this property is PERFECT! Right at the end of Carlsbad Village Way, it's walking distance to everything in town. I also really like the beach access from the unit. I could see my daughter on the beach from the patio with out a problem. The patio garden is quite special. We really enjoyed the succulents and small beach treasures thoughtfully place throughout the garden.
Only reasons I didn't give 5 stars are: 1) no washer/dryer which could be problematic if we'd stayed longer. 2) Only window that opened is the slider, which creeped me out to leave open in the night. I would have like to close the slider and open a regular window. So really slept light, but it would have been too hot with the door closed.
I definitely recommend this unit for single or duo. It's very quaint and makes for a great getway.
Additional information about rental rates
Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees APM Clean $160 M: $160 Charge basis: STAY APM Clean $165 S: $165 Charge basis: STAY For stays between 1 and 29 nights CTBID: $1 Charge basis: NT For stays between 1 and 29 nights Reservation Fee: $60 Charge basis: STAY