Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Banked farmhouse, self catering, private equestrian facility (Offers available )

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Space 2,152 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 8 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautifully situated counnty house, 5 bedrooms , outstanding views .

This house can only be discribed as a home from home. Furnished to a high standard, providing everything you need in a family holiday . Perfect as a base for guests wanting to explore Scotland or relax in outstanding countryside ,surrounded by fantastic views. It offers masses of space inside and out, close proximity to main road network makes for easy access to travel around The house offers 5 bedrooms and 2 reception rooms, all with glorious views, of Stirling Castle and Wallace Monument, Ochill hill .Downstairs there are 2 public rooms and a large modern shower room. The sitting room looks directly at Stirling Castle and overlooks the large secure garden A lovely wood burning stove and flat screen TV are in the sitting room close to the large kitchen /dining area which leads via French doors to all fresco dining and barbecue area. The front garden enclosed enjoys morning sunshine, and the patio collects all the afternoon sun.

Upstairs we have 3 bedrooms ,1-is a king sized bed in the smallest room.

Bedroom 2 has twin beds , bedroom 3 ,has 3 single beds this is a huge bedroom.

Downstairs 1 large room with super king bed, and another twin room (2 beds ) looking out into the garden.

All the bedrooms are light, spacious with super views. , all bed linen and towels supplied.

Golfing enthusiasts, there are golf courses galore, two are visible from the farmhouse. Gleneagles is 20 minutes up the motorway. St Andrews Old Course is 1 hour away.

There is lots of fishing locally, If you prefer a bit of history , Stirling is steeped in it, Stirling Castle, Wallaces Monument, Bannokburn Heritage Centre. The tollboth, Old Town Jail, and loads more. The Safari Park is 5mins away, Go Ape, for a zip wire treat for the energetic.

Boat trips on Loch Lomond 25mins away, Stirling University is available for the complete sports facility.

We have The Peak , there are so many places to eat in Stirling and lovely local pubs within a few miles The Crown in Kippen, The Gargunnock Inn ,home made food, reasonable prices.

It's possible to visit the islands on the west coast in a day trip, or Edinburgh 50 minutes away .

More Details

Owner
Val Gair
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 16, 2018

About Val Gair

This house and farm has been in my family for 3 generations.

It's still a working farm but not so intensely by me now.

There's always masses to do, especially at hay time, we have horses and of course the holiday house.

My daughter helps, when around as we breed a few horses still .

Why Val Gair chose Stirling

Bankend, has been a great family home for generations of , it's always been a very sociable place, and holds great memories of fun times for many of my relations and friends going back through the generations .

I think when you stay here you will understand why.

Lovely relaxing, and super handy for everything.

What makes this house unique

Proximity to Stirling. Main road networks, train station to go to Edinburgh and Glasgow.are massive plus points to this property.

Defiantly has a unique location, as you benefit from lovely views a beautiful comfortable house, but not isolated.

It's cosy and you don't have to be a large group to enjoy it.the house evolves , therefore you don't feel you are living in a big house. Also it looks like a cottage , but it's a little tardus . The house also has many original features , beautiful old fireplaces and some original pieces .

There is a good patio with large dining table and barebeque, the field next to the house usually has horses in it , so you tend to get visits from them.

I am sure you will enjoy your stay . We just pray for sunshine !,

Guestbook comments from the owner

Val,



I just wanted to send a message re the house this weekend. We had a great time and all of the party had only great things to say about the accommodation.



Very comfy beds, beautiful style and interiors, an abundance if space and a great location made up for the unfortunate weather we had for June.
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Stirling House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2152 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Tiled Stove
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • The family upstairs bathroom, has an electric shower over a large bath, toilet and wash hand basin. Downstairs there is a large shower room with soaker shower complete with hand shower, toilet and wash hand basin. All bathrooms are new. The TV room has seats in place for 7 people more seats can be added if necessary
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 double , 6 twin/ single , 2 child bed , 1 sleep sofa /futon , All twins can zip and link to make king
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 double , 6 twin/ single , 2 child bed , 1 sleep sofa /futon , All twins can zip and link to make king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , All twins can zip and link to make king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , All twins can zip and link to make king
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , All twins can zip and link to make king
  • This house has 5 bedrooms, downstairs we have 1 king bed and 1 twin room, upstairs we have 1 double bedroom and 2 more twin bedrooms. All bedrooms are large, light and have superb views over the surrounding countryside. They have superior mattresses which are new, lovely bed linen and large bath towels.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Sand Box
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We can and will be pleased to provide anything that our guests desire where ever possible.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
Banked farmhouse, self catering, private equestrian facility (Offers available )
average rating of 4.478261 based on 25 reviews
5

Lovely cottage in idyllic surroundings

  • 5 of 5

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at Bankend Farmhouse. What a lovely place to stay! The cottage was perfectly placed for exploring the area and very well equipped. There were 5 very comfortable bedrooms with ample bedding, a large kitchen that easily seated 11 of us and 2 good sized sitting rooms, one with a lovely open fire. We were made to feel so welcome on arrival and Val gave us loads of helpful advice on places to visit and where to eat. Our boys (8 & 12), very much enjoyed spending time with the horses (especially the foal!) and loved playing with the friendly dogs. We will most definitely be looking for an excuse to return and highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to meet you all, lovely people, great guests, super boys.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cozy house in beautiful holiday destination

  • 5 of 5

The house is spacious with enough room for groups of up to 11 people and the marvelous vista includes genuinly Scottish countryside as well as the impressive silhouette of Stirling castle.

All kinds of attractions are close by, the major cities Edinburgh and Glasgow can both be reached in less than an hour by car.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the trouble to submit your review. I am glad you enjoyed staying with us and appreciated the lovely setting and views. Thanks again, Val.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An Idyllic Vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

Val is a wonderful host - very helpful and available to answer any questions we had. The house was great and very comfortable. We had 6 adults in our party and there was plenty of room. The location couldn't have been more idyllic - with friendly horses roaming in the paddock right outside our windows. The view of the castle, and the Scottish countryside made this a restful home to return to after our long days of exploring the area.

Stirling was the perfect launching point for us to see the lochs, and Edinburgh, Glasgow, and more. We would definitely return to this lovely farmhouse.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was very nice to meet you and your family, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Looking forward to seeing you again, let’s hope you get the marvellous weather again. All the best , Val.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Large 5 bedroomed well furnished farmhouse

  • 5 of 5

We are a family of 8 adults and 2 young children who stayed over Easter weekend. Val met us on arrival and showed us around the house. We were welcomed with mini Easter eggs for the children and flowers on the table.

The weather was very cold but once Val got the heating going and the log burner lit the house soon warmed up.

The house is very well furnished and has a large dining table that can easily seat 10. The kitchen is well equipped with dish washer , washing machine and tumble drier.

Val was happy for our 2 children to feed the horses and wander about the farmyard, which they really enjoyed.

The house has amazing views of Stirling Castle and surrounding countryside and is close to all Stirling’s amenities.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the review , very good of you to take the time to submit it. Hopefully we may see you all again! Thank you , Val.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely house!

  • 5 of 5

Great house very near Stirling. We were a group of 8 celebrating our annual reunion and it was the perfect size and location for us! Lovely views of the monument and castle. We particularly loved the dogs!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, you kept your promise ! Hope to see you again .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

House is lovely, owner less so.

  • 1 of 5

We enjoyed the house and our family break but would never go back and would never recommend to anyone. This would be due to Val the owner who unfortunately has a rude and antagonising manner. Sorry to say this, but it's true.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted you enjoyed your 70th Birthday celebrations at Bankend . Sorry for the confusion but a weekend break is Friday - Monday morning, not Tuesday. Can I also add, we refunded your £250 good house keeping deposit in full on your departure.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 4

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Edinburgh or Glasgow
Nearest Barpub
2 Kilometres
Stirling
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Loch Lomond
Nearest Golf
2 Kilometres
Kings Park Golf Club
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Stirling
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
A9
Nearest Restaurant
2 Kilometres
River House
Nearest Beach
40 Miles
Ayr ,St Andrews,
Car: recommended

Stirling Castle , Wallace Monument, Go Ape, Falkirk Wheel,Safarie Park, Stirling Uni, sports centre,Edinburgh Zoo, pony tracking, Callander.walking and hill climbing on Damyat.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $392.16

The above prices are for 8 persons sharing.

A supplementary charge will be added for each extra person per day
£25 per person per day.
Refundable damage disposit is required upon booking.
Weekend breaks are available in mid /low season only, weekend break 3 nights £660.

Please contact me for Christmas week price
All bedlinen and towels are supplied , £10 of electricity, large basket of logs, kindling

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties