Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Santorini Cave Houses - Traditional Village 4-16 persons

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 9
Bathrooms8
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

8 Bedroom, 5 Bathroom

This is a selection of several caves and a few traditional captain’s houses, metres apart of each other, located in the same secluded traditional settlement. Ideal for travelers seeking the authentic experience away from the touristic trail. Convenient for large groups, families, friends, wedding guests who would like to share their accommodation experience and be near each other while at the same time have space for privacy.

For each inquiry you will be allocated to the number of available caves necessary to meet your accommodation needs according to the number of people in your group. The cost of stay appearing in your search results, concerns every cave allocated on maximum capacity. If you’d like to add cave space for more comfort we can offer you a new quote.

Each request will be processed individually and is subject to availability.

Cave houses are created within the lava ashes & dressed with stones that arose from the heart of the island.

Vothonas village is situated in the centre of the island about 3 klm from the nearest beach, 2 klm from the airport / 8 klm from the port and 4 klm from the capital of the Island, Fira Town. Minimal decoration with traditional touches, fully equipped kitchens. It is also equipped with hairdryer, iron and iron board, tv, free wifi, bed linen and towels. There is a public parking area near by. Cave houses are characterized by their ability to preserve a stable interior temperature throughout the year (bio-climatic).

The property is ideal for relaxed holidays for serenity-seekers and peaceful memorable moments, in one of the most popular holiday destinations in the world. It combines the unique quietness of an isolated Greek village, only a few minutes drive from the buzz of the well-known Santorinian towns, full of life and energy.

The all-time classic cave house and/or the captain’s house combine the comforts of a modern apartment in a traditional setting and will definitely make your holidays unforgettable.

Since it is up in the village, a private transport mean is necessary, either a vehicle or a motorcycle.

In less than 10-minute walking, you may find one of Santorini's famous steak house restaurant and the Koutsogiannopoulos winery in another 5-minute walk.

A ten-minute drive will take you either to a family-oriented beach "Monolithos" or driving to the opposite side the famous "Kamari" black beach with black sand and many restaurants, beach front bars and tourist shops.

House 1 (max capacity 6 pax):

Cave House, 85 sq.m., 2 Double Bedrooms, Living Room, Fully Equipped Kitchen, Bathroom, Veranda, Roof Terrace

House 2 (max capacity 5 pax):

Captain's House, 75 sq.m., 2 Double Bedrooms, Living Room, open plan kitchen, Bathroom, private veranda, shared veranda and roof terrace

House 3 (max capacity 4 pax):

Cave House, 60sq. m., 1 Double Bedroom, Living Room, open plan kitchen, bathroom, veranda andshared roof terrace

House 4 (max capacity 5pax):

Cave House, 90 sq.m., 1 Double Bedroom, 1 Twin-bed Bedroom, Living Room, open plan kitchen, Bathroom, veranda

House 5 (max capacity 3 pax):

Cave House, 55 sq.m., Studio, open plan kitchen, Bathroom, veranda

All houses have washing machine, oven with stoves

Nearest Beach: 3 km

Airport: 3 km

Port: 8 km

Fira Town Centre: 4 km

Oia: 14km

Akrotiri: 10km

Guest access

There is a free parking area 80m away, about 11 wide flat steps away on an uphill path.

Amenities:

•Free island map

•Hairdryer

•Shampoo/Shower

•Free WiFi

•Iron

•Washing Machine

•Kitchen with oven

•Fridge with freezer

•Spacious shower

•Coffee maker

•Heated matress blanket

•Dehumidifier

•Linen and bath towels

•Beach towels

Services upon request:

We can help you book all of the following paid services so you don't have to do it yourselves. We make the reservation so you don't need to pay anything in advance.

•Taxi Service during your stay

•Shuttle Service from/to the airport/port. Rate starts at 25€ for 2 persons depending on the season and extra persons are charged on top. We will need flight or ferry details to book it in advance and you can pay either before or after you arrive. The best part with this option is that there will be a driver waiting for you at arrivals

•Cleaning during your stay

•Private Cooking lessons

•Private tours around the island

•Car/scooter/ATV rentals

•Restaurants

•Catamaran tours start from 85€ per person according to season and boat selected.

•Volcano and Hot Springs tours, we can get you your tickets at home.

•Snorkelling/Scuba diving

•Horseriding

•We can book and deliver your tickets for other islands, these will need to be paid in advance.

Interaction with guests

We respect your right to privacy so we won't bother or visit you unless you ask us to :)

If you need anything we are always one message or phone call away.

We appreciate all kinds of feedback but please try to make it during your stay so I have a chance to make up for it if necessary.

Other things to note:

In Santorini and most Greek islands we don't have street names or addresses. Please don’t ask us for a specific address. There are a few addresses that are automatically given to locations but those stand for everyone, they are not specific.

We will send you detailed directions of how to reach the house via email prior to your visit.

It is important to arrange your arrival to the house in advance so we minimise the waiting time for checking in.

Let us help you book a transfer, your tours or a rental car so deal with the lack of address situation instead of you :)

More Details

Owner
Alexandra
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, greek
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2018

Amenities

Vothonas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Smoking allowed
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 30 people
Bathrooms:
  • 8 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 7 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 8 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 9 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 8 - 2 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 9 - 1 double
    Bedroom 10 - 1 double , 1 baby crib
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff

Reviews

3/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
Santorini Cave Houses - Traditional Village 4-16 persons
average rating of 3.0 based on 3 reviews
1

disappointing

  • 1 of 5

We were really looking forward to stay at this property and upon arrival we immediately noticed a strong odor at the property. After inspection of the grounds we realized that this property is next to stable housing farm animals. The odor was very strong and uncomfortable for our stay. There were general trash and food remains next to the property attracting flies and animals. I contacted the property manager to inform her of the condition but she kept insisting that there is nothing wrong with the house and the odor is normal for this kind of property. After we realized that the property manager was not going to do any thing about the conditions we secured another property and moved out. Part of being on vacation is the comfort of staying at a place that is safe and pleasant unfortunately this property was not.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dr Andre Michelian is the worst guest a host can ask for. Arrogant, disrespectful, unpleasant and rude. He blackmailed me into giving him a refund on his non refundable reservation with leaving me a bad review. Using his own words he said “after I leave a review, noone else will ever want to stay here if you don’t give us a refund”. This is a property located in a traditional settlement away from the tourist hustle. This is a local residential area and guests prefer this area to experience the authenticity of architecture and local values, products and habits away from the crowds but at the same time 10 minutes away from the capital. One, while staying in this village, should expect to meet locals who are simple people but kind and respectful towards other human beings. Dr Andre Michelian checked in and everything went smoothly, he expressed no complaints and 2 hours later -after he used the facilities- he decided that this wasn’t the property for him and his family as they were expecting hotel services and caldera views which you cannot receive when you book a house away from the caldera as mentioned in the description. He then booked to stay in a hotel in the most expensive area of Santorini which was more appropriate for his attitude and expectations. He complained for having to carry his own suitcase, that the area around the house is rural even though it is clear that this is a traditional settlement and there are plots of lands around with vineyards and fig trees, prickly pear trees, almond trees and so on. As anyone might know already about Santorini, it is full of donkeys and mules. You’ll see donkeys everywhere especially in the capital of Fira and Oia town where the famous donkey rides take tourists up and down on the caldera. There are a few donkeys living in this settlement too, unfortunately we don’t have one ourselves even though I would love to. Note: Please avoid using the donkeys for transportation, they are over worked. He left the house without informing us to collect the keys, he left the doors and windows wide open endangering our property and resulted in some damaged furniture, torn curtains and broken glasses. We only had the chance to collect the keys many hours after he left unfortunately. We wouldn’t recommend this guest if you don’t own a 6 star hotel.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great host. Overall nice homes.

  • 3 of 5

Three individual houses when needing the 5 bedrooms. Two smaller homes are very nice. The cave house has a tight bathroom. Location was ok. Host was wonderful and extremely helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Authentic, quiet and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Our pre-arrival communication was excellent and helped build the anticipation of our stay in this unique and quiet getaway spot on Santorini. We were then greeted with friendly, helpful faces at the houses, given the contact for an amazing tour guide/driver, and assured that anything we might need was just a phone call away. The accommodations were breath-takingly unique and well-maintained and the location was superb: quiet and authentic in experience yet only a leisurely hour walk to the centre of Fira (10-minute drive) and even closer to other amenities and shops.

The location and the care given to us by our host, Alexandra, have made us all - we were a group of 7, 2 families, and we had plenty of room in the cave houses - start to think about when we could return to the island and, hopefully, to this great location in the future. Thanks for hosting us, Alexandra!

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties