Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gorgeous Secluded Island W/Creeks & Ocean Views & DOCK

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,520 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-8) + DOCK

'Spectacular!' 'Awesome!' 'Unique.' 'Beautiful.' 'Fun.' These are just a few of the words that have been used to describe the unspoiled natural setting for our vacation home, Sea Forest. Located on Cowpens, a small private island accessible by causeway, the house offers stunning views of marsh, creek and the Atlantic Ocean.

The island itself, with fifteen homes including ours, is situated just behind Edingsville Beach, an uninhabited barrier beach just north of Edisto Beach. The setting is secluded, relaxing, and peaceful.

Our home is designed to maximize enjoyment of its beautiful marsh and ocean views and abundant wildlife. The main level has an open floor plan with living area, dining room, kitchen, and master suite. In the summer you may enjoy the cool ocean breezes, or if you prefer, the air conditioning. In the colder months, the fireplace adds to the cozy comfort provided by central heating.

Large picture windows across the front and front-sides of the house provide unobstructed views of the ocean, creek and marshes. The outside deck provides a perfect seating area to enjoy the afternoon sea breezes while you watch the pelicans, great blue herons, egrets, wood storks and other shore birds fly overhead or feed in the marsh grasses a few feet away.

The back screened porch provides for panoramic views of the beautiful creek, marsh and gorgeous sunsets while you enjoy the peace and quiet. The additional fireplace on the porch provides the luxury of a cozy fire to gather 'round on chilly afternoons or evenings with friends and family, even when it's raining outside!

The master suite offers a large bedroom with a queen-sized bed, a deck overlooking the creek, and a bathroom with a walk-in shower. There are two bedrooms upstairs. One has a double bed and a small deck overlooking the creek and marsh. The other bedroom has a double and a single bed which is perfect for families with young children. There is also a fold-up cot for an additional guest.

A covered fixed pier with floating dock is on the creek behind the house. The dock provides additional 360-degree marsh/creek views and access to the creek for small boats (kayaks, jon boats, etc.), crabbing, fishing, and swimming, This is a wonderful swimming 'hole' and great for lazy afternoons spent relaxing in and on the water. There's a hammock to enjoy the breezes while you read or nap --- the perfect way to while away the hours on vacation.

The creek is navigable for small boats even at dead low tide (about 2 feet of water at the dock at low tide), and provides easy access to Edingsville Beach, Botany Bay Beach, and Frampton Inlet. (OWNER WILL ASSIST WITH LAUNCHING AND SECURING YOUR BOAT AT OWNER DOCK) Edingsville Beach has historic significance because it was the established beach community in the 1800's for the Edisto Island plantation owners until it was completely destroyed by the hurricane of 1893.

For the serious beachcomber, pieces of fine china and old wine bottles from the old Edingsville community can still be found on this beach today. Both Edingsville and Botany Bay Beaches are literally covered with numerous seashells and fossils, including sharks' teeth, and these beaches are prime locations for swimming, walking, sunning, and surf fishing. It is requested by creek property owners that jet skis not be used on the creek.

In addition to boat access to Edingsville Beach, one can walk from our home to the beach which is a distance of about a half mile through a private residential development. For other beach access, we also use the public path options at Edisto Beach.

Sea Forest is located about five miles from Edisto Beach with its restaurants, gift shops, grocery and hardware stores, golf course, tennis courts, churches, and special community events. It is about a forty-five minute drive south of romantic Charleston, SC, known for its outstanding gourmet restaurants, chic King Street shops, and historic sites and homes.

Yes, Sea Forest really is 'unique!' It's a comfortable home in an incredibly beautiful setting. There is lots to do and see, and yet it's so relaxing that you might not want to do anything at all!

Keywords: Home, fireplace, beach,island, secluded, ocean view, creek, DOCK

More Details

Owner
Mike Lumpkin
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 4, 2017

About Mike Lumpkin

The Lumpkin Family has owned this property since purchasing the original home in 1953. That home was destroyed by fire in 1971. This newer home was built in 1980 and has been re-modeled twice since then. We love using it as a year round retreat from the too-hurried pace of our daily lives.

Mike Lumpkin purchased this house in 1953

Why Mike Lumpkin chose Edisto Beach

The mystery and magic of Edisto Island has always been a draw for us. The privacy and isolation of this island community has been particularly rich for our lives.

What makes this house unique

The secluded location, along with the entertainment provided by nature and the spectacular views, provides an oasis conducive to relaxation. Here we can enjoy the truly rich pleasures of life. Some of the things we enjoy most are the peace and quiet...the birdlife (from painted buntings to pelicans)...the wildlife (porpoises, otters, deer) shelling...swimming... boating...fishing...crabbing...reading...napping. OWNER CAN SOMETIMES ASSIST WITH LAUNCHING AND SECURING YOUR BOAT AT THE DOCK--Jon boats and boats under 16' are ideal for this creek.

Guestbook comments from the owner

After months of moving, empty-nesting, and crisis-managing our aging parents, your home here welcomed us to much needed respite. It is so soothing to be surronded on two sides by the slow rhythms of the marsh tides, to sleep to the sound of breeze and surf, and to walk for hours along the beach. We too saw dolphins in the creek, giant horseshoe crabs, eagles and whooping crane. The bird life here is astonishing.



We read and wrote and talked-- even caught and ate some crab. The jon boat is lots of fun. The superb watercolors and pottery in your home attest to your own love of beauty. This is a beautiful place. We are blessed and refreshed for having been here.
Oct 2005
  • 1 of 17

Amenities

Jeremy Cay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1520 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Master bath with shower. Bathroom 2 with bathtub/shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • The master bedroom has a queen size bed. One of the upstairs bedrooms has a double bed and the other upstairs bedroom has a double bed and a single bed. Also, there is a fold-up cot available that can be set up anywhere inside or on the screened porch.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Please note that linens are not included. We will provide them for an additional fee of $150. 1000-Gallon Reverse-Osmosis Fresh-Water System.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Gorgeous Secluded Island W/Creeks & Ocean Views & DOCK
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 43 reviews
2

OK, but nothing to write home about

  • 2 of 5

Pros: Lovely view, quiet, great back porch, well stocked kitchen, great public beach which is about 4 miles away.

Cons: No dishwasher which is stated in the listing: The directions to the beach were less then helpful. And the distance is waaay over 1/2 mile. You can not use any bikes to get to the beach unless you want to go around a gate that is locked in the mud and water. You are not allowed to use golf carts although the people behind the gated area where the beach is are allowed. the screen on the door from the back porch to the deck was 1/2 off when we arrived. It fell off second day we were there. I took a knife from the kitchen and fixed the screen so we could be bug free. No directions on how to open the flu in the fireplace on the back porch so no roasted marsh-mellows. killed numerous roaches. The combination lock at the back door was difficult to open. Finally hit the schlage button which turned blue and then put in the code. The dead bolt lock from the living room to the back deck does not work. Clean-up directions which were sent were different than what was in the home. Oven had several pieces of pizza left on the racks which caught fire when i started the broiler for dinner on day 1. Stood by with the fire extinguisher until it burned off.

We have stayed at several VRBO homes over the last 5 years and have always been impressed. For the amount of money spent, this was less than expected. Would not recommend this home if you are a beach lover, as the proximity is difficult and certainly would not recommend if you have any type of mobility challenges.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always appreciative of helpful feedback....thank you. I'd like to respond to some of the concerns listed above. First, PLEASE, PLEASE call us if there are any particular concerns so that we can make repairs or answer questions. If we had only known or were made aware of some of these concerns, they are easily remedied. Access to the beach is not immediate. From the Jeremy Cay gate, it is more than 1/3 mile and less than 1/2 mile according to my 'MapMyRun' App. Maybe our guest took the wrong path to experience a distance 'waaay over 1/2 mile'? One of the pictures of our location on the website gives one an idea of our location in reference to the beach. To use a bike, one must go around the gate, down into the marsh, perhaps a distance of 8 feet. Screen on back porch was repaired within 24 hours after reading this. Flue in fireplace on back porch, since it is an outside fireplace, is always open. Please call with a question like this. I've never had anyone complain about using the combination lock on the back door. I don't know what went wrong here. Roaches? We have a 1/4ly exterminator come to the house. It is usually roach free. Please call and we'll get him there pronto. Checked dead bolt lock on living room back door. It works fine if lock it first. Pizza on oven racks? Must of been done by the previous guest and our housekeeper overlooked the need to clean the oven. Sorry that happened. Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Home & Location

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay on Edisto Island at this beautiful home. We loved sitting out on the deck and enjoying the view and sea breeze. The house is perfect for a beach vacation. Very comfortable and great for traveling with dogs. Especially loved that the deck was gated!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home in a great location. Nice quiet neighborhood, amazing views, close to Edisto beaches, and a lovely dock to watch the sunset.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect relaxing vacation for our family!

  • 5 of 5

This house is amazing! It fit our family of 7 perfectly with enough space to sleep, cook, eat and relax. The views from the house are breathtaking! I can't say enough about how great our stay was. If you are looking for a comfortable getaway I recommend this house. The setting is so peaceful and you're just a short bike ride away from the beach and a short drive from the town of Edisto Beach. Thank you Mike!

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very quaint comfortable gorgeous property!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay shelling, crabbing as well as exploring the private area we were staying at. Totally would recommend this home.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing View and Complete Serenity

  • 5 of 5

We loved this house. There is a gorgeous view in every direction. The shelling is beyond amazing. The fishing was just okay, probably too early in the season. It would be nice if someone built a walkway across the front marsh to the beach. The current walk is long, but you get in shape and it is very scenic. If you have a boat, the beach is easy to access. The entire location feels historic and hauntingly wonderful. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
49.6 Miles
Charleston International Airport
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Wyndham Resorts, Edisto Island
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Finn's, Edisto Beach Pavilion
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Edingsville Beach
Car: necessary

Birdwatching, Wonderful Marsh/Nature Scenes for artists who paint and for nature photographers. Fishing, crabbing, creek and ocean swimming.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $125

$125.00 fee for 1 or 2 dogs.

Can sometimes provide assistance in getting your boat launched and secured at the dock.

KITCHEN DISHES/POTS/PANS/ETC. NEED TO BE CLEAN AND PUT BACK WHERE YOU FOUND THEM, PLEASE.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.