expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Beautiful Historic Lake Michigan Home w/ Private Beach

South Haven, MI, USA
  • Cottage
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths1
  • Minimum Stay2 - 7 nights

5 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 14

This historic home perches atop a coastal bluff overlooking Lake Michigan. Ideal for large groups, Blackstone on the Bluff has many gorgeous spaces in which to entertain and relax. This lakeside vacation rental is dog friendly and has its own private beach.

Previously known as "The Blackstone," this former boarding house was moved from across the street and restored by its current owners to maintain the charm and character of its past with all the modern conveniences of today.

The home’s spacious kitchen is a cook’s dream, with plenty of counter space for prep, beautiful stainless steel appliances, and a panoramic view of the lake. Enjoy each other’s company in the dining area, or pair your meal with a lake breeze in the spacious screened-in porch.

Sunbathe on the bluff in the comfortable outdoor seating, or descend the stairs to the large private beach (there are 100 steps with multiple landings). When night falls, make your way back up to the fire pit and enjoy a bonfire in the adirondack chairs. Stargazing on the bluff is unrivaled. When it’s time for bed, retreat to one of the 5 comfy bedrooms. Leave a window open to let the crashing waves lull you to sleep.

Property Manager

Blackstone on the Bluff

Member Since 2012
Premier Partner
This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response time:
within one hour
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 20, 2018
About Blackstone on the Bluff

Lakeshore Lodging has been managing the finest Vacation Homes in West Michigan since 1999. We know we have the perfect home for you and we can't wait to welcome you to the Lakeshore!

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Pets Welcome
    • Air Conditioning
    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Hot Tub
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
        • 1 King bed, 2 Queen beds, 2 Twin beds, 1 Sofa Bed, 2 Bunk beds

        Bathrooms

        • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
          • Additional Hot/Cold Outdoor Shower

          Location Type

            • Beachfront
            • Lakefront
            • Waterfront

              Meals

                • Catering available

                  General

                    • Iron & Board
                    • Air Conditioning
                    • Fireplace
                    • Hair Dryer
                    • Heating
                    • Internet
                    • Clothes Dryer
                    • Linens Provided
                    • Living Room
                    • Parking
                    • Towels Provided
                    • Washing Machine

                      Kitchen

                        • Coffee Maker
                        • Dishes & Utensils
                        • Dishwasher
                        • Kitchen
                        • Microwave
                        • Oven
                        • Refrigerator
                        • Stove
                        • Toaster

                          Entertainment

                            • DVD Player
                            • Pool Table
                            • Satellite / Cable
                            • Television

                              Outside

                                • Golf
                                • Lanai / Gazebo
                                • Lawn / Garden
                                • Outdoor Grill
                                • Tennis

                                  Suitability

                                    • wheelchair inaccessible

                                      Pool / Spa

                                        • Hot Tub

                                          Attractions

                                            • live theater
                                            • autumn foliage
                                            • coin laundry
                                            • festivals
                                            • forests
                                            • library
                                            • churches
                                            • marina
                                            • museums
                                            • playground
                                            • restaurants
                                            • winery tours

                                              Leisure Activities

                                                • antiquing
                                                • beachcombing
                                                • bird watching
                                                • photography
                                                • scenic drives
                                                • sight seeing
                                                • walking

                                                  Local Services & Businesses

                                                    • ATM/bank
                                                    • fitness center
                                                    • groceries
                                                    • hospital
                                                    • laundromat
                                                    • massage therapist

                                                      Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                        • jet skiing
                                                        • basketball court
                                                        • fishing
                                                        • freshwater fishing
                                                        • golf
                                                        • hiking
                                                        • hunting
                                                        • cycling
                                                        • mountain biking
                                                        • sailing
                                                        • swimming
                                                        • tennis
                                                        • water skiing
                                                        • water tubing

                                                          Notes

                                                            • Central AC on the main level, window units for the upper level bedrooms as well as a whole house attic fan. Arrangements can be made for additional housekeeping during your stay.

                                                              House Rules

                                                              Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                              Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                                              13 Reviews

                                                              Very Good4.2/5

                                                              Latest reviews

                                                              Blackstone Review

                                                              Colleen S.Indianapolis, IN

                                                              Rating Details:

                                                              The property manager was adequately helpful.

                                                              The vacation rental was spotless.

                                                              I was very happy with the location.

                                                              I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                                              Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

                                                              Reviewer Comments:

                                                              Great vacation for the family

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Glad to hear that Blackstone on the Bluff provided a great spot for your family vacation.

                                                              Wonderful Lake Getaway

                                                              Brooke W.

                                                              Beautiful location and home! A total getaway. The home is really roomy with a large spacious yard down to the lake. A treat and a great retreat, we will no doubt revisit!

                                                              Blackstone Adventure

                                                              Clare B.

                                                              We felt blessed to be able to experience seven days in such a spectacular corner of the planet. The house is spacious and comfortable. The expansive, well-equipped kitchen accommodates many cooks and the view is priceless. The double set of stairs to the upper floor delighted the kids.

                                                              The steps to the beach are sturdy with a double railing and many landings. The yard is huge, nicely landscaped, good for games. There's a nice fire pit with plenty of chairs at the top of the bluff. Located between South Haven and Saugatuck, there is much to do in the area for all ages and interests.

                                                              We came in with seven adults and seven children. All had a wonderful week.

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              This home has received lots of attention this season and it is our hope that it will continue to provide wonderful experiences for future guests.

                                                              July 2016 Stay

                                                              Brian G.Chicago

                                                              Place was not clean when we check in. Bugs were on the bedspread. The internet they provide does not work. There is no phone and cell service is poor so impossible to work (if you need to). The kayaks were missing but they got some new ones. The stove top was broken. The place has ants. No one removed the trash from the previous week and there is only one garbage can so animals got into the bags and we stored the garbage in the kitchen. The fertilizer guy came on thursday so no one could be on the lawn for 24 hours (including our dog). Natalie was helpful but only so much she could do. Lakeshore Lodging does not appear to be a well run operation (cleaning, garbage) and the house needs some serious capex (new screens to keep bugs out?). We will not be back.

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              This same guest reviewed their stay twice. Please see response in other review for July 11, 2016.

                                                              Beautiful Setting but house needs work

                                                              B g.chicago

                                                              We got off on the wrong foot with this house. We entered a poorly cleaned house with bugs on the bedspreads, crumbs on the kitchen floor and a filthy back deck and it did not get much better after that. The garbage had been neglected to be picked up from the week before so we stored it in the kitchen after animals got into it when we stored it outside...might need more than one can? I am sure that did not help the ant or earwig problem that the house has. We had to have the stove repaired while we were there (on july 3). Oh yeah and they decided to fertilize the lawn on thursday am so our dog or friend's children could not play outside. So we ended up leaving early. There is also no internet and spotty cell phone. The internet hotspot they provide did not work. Lakeshore lodging failed to execute the simple stuff ( cleaning, trash, pouring chemicals on a lawn) while the owners need to call the Orkin man and buy some new screens. Judging by the trees growing out of the roof, maintenance capex does not seem to be a priority.

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              No one understands the importance of the "simple stuff" on a guest's experience like we do. We have a full in-house team of housekeepers and ground/maintenance crew. This allows us to ensure the simple stuff is perfect for all our guests and should something fall through we have the ability to make it right. Which is why we were able to address some of these issues during the guests stay despite the holiday weekend because we're local and we'll do what it takes to make sure you're not left without a stove during a barbecue.

                                                              When things are missed, even blatantly- we want to know so we can make it right. Not only to the current guests but all future guests. It is unfortunate that this particular guest did not experience this home in the same manner as so many other past guests that come back to this home year after year.

                                                              About Cell Phone Service

                                                              This home is located between the towns of Saugatuck and South Haven and sits right on Lake Michigan. This area is known for having spotty cellular coverage and is something we tell all our guests. There is a hot spot to provide an internet connection but this is also a cellular device subject to the same coverage limitations.

                                                              Incredible Michigan Vacation home w/ private beach

                                                              Karen R.

                                                              We came up for a girls weekend and ended up having so much fun we barely left the property! From the minute you drive up the picturesque driveway your vacation begins! The home is well appointed with a large kitchen great for cooking and hanging out. The rest of the main floor offers great options for dining causal or formal and additional rooms perfect for game playing, reading or just relaxing. The bedrooms were all spacious very clean and comfortable as well as the bathrooms. The back yard offered endless fun and beautiful sunsets and the private beach was an added treat. We will be sure to come back again!!!

                                                              Location

                                                              South Haven, MI, USA

                                                              The absolute perfect location for anyone looking for a true beach-front getaway

                                                              Availability

                                                              Additional information about rental rates

                                                              Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

                                                              $635avg/night
                                                              13 Reviews
                                                              Very Good 4.2/5
                                                              Premier Partner
                                                              Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                              Instant Confirmation
                                                              For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                              Property # 972476ha

                                                              x