Apartment

Only 1 dollar cleaning fee at Pictured Rocks Basecamp on the Manistique River!

Photo gallery for Only 1 dollar cleaning fee at Pictured Rocks Basecamp on the Manistique River!

A brick building with a white porch and a lighthouse in the background.
An outdoor seating area with three folding chairs and a swing set.
A living room with a sofa, a dining area with a table and chairs, and a kitchen with cabinets and a countertop.
A kitchen with wooden cabinets, a white countertop, and a small island with stools.
A kitchen with wooden cabinets, a white countertop, a stove, and a sink.

Reviews

9.0 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Garage parking available
    Enjoy the convenience of garage parking - a rare offering in the area.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Seney National Wildlife Refuge

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Barbecue grill
  • Washing machine
  • Refrigerator
  • Garage parking available
  • Internet

Explore the area

View in a map
Germfask, MI
  • Place, Seney National Wildlife Refuge
    ‪7 min walk‬
  • Place, Manistique River Roadside Park
    ‪1 min drive‬
  • Place, Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore
    ‪36 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 8)

Birder's Bedroom

2 Single Beds

Master bedroom

1 Queen Bed

Miners Bedroom

1 Double Bed

Studio Bedroom / Dining Room

1 Double Sofa Bed

2 bathrooms

Master Bed Bathroom

Soap · Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Shampoo

Miners & Birders Bath

Soap · Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet · Shampoo

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Separate dining area
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Germfask

Located in Germfask, this apartment is in a rural area and on the waterfront. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Seney National Wildlife Refuge and Manistique River Roadside Park. Enjoy the area's slopes with cross-country skiing and skiing, and don't miss out on the snowmobiling and sledging.
Map
Germfask, MI

What's nearby

  • Seney National Wildlife Refuge - 7 min walk - 0.6 km
  • Manistique River Roadside Park - 1 min drive - 2.2 km
  • Manistique Boardwalk - 33 min drive - 62.3 km
  • Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore - 36 min drive - 55.9 km
  • Palms Book State Park - 53 min drive - 91.2 km

Restaurants

  • ‪Tovey's Jolly Inn - ‬1 min walk
  • ‪bryants highbanks restaurant and lounge - ‬11 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Only 1 dollar cleaning fee at Pictured Rocks Basecamp on the Manistique River! pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Only 1 dollar cleaning fee at Pictured Rocks Basecamp on the Manistique River!?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Only 1 dollar cleaning fee at Pictured Rocks Basecamp on the Manistique River!?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Only 1 dollar cleaning fee at Pictured Rocks Basecamp on the Manistique River!?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Only 1 dollar cleaning fee at Pictured Rocks Basecamp on the Manistique River! located?

Situated on the waterfront, this apartment building is within 1 mile (2 km) of Seney National Wildlife Refuge and Manistique River Roadside Park. Kennedy Lake and Chip Lake are also within 9 miles (15 km).

Reviews

9.0

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 52 out of 94 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 31 out of 94 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 9 out of 94 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 94 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 94 reviews

8.6/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Staff & service

9.0/10

Amenities

9.0/10

Property conditions & facilities

9.6/10

Check-in

9.4/10

Communication

9.0/10

Location

9.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great place to stay with lots of books, maps and pamphlets related to local history, landmarks and activities. The beds were firm but comfortable. There was plenty of living spaces. Kitchen was adequate with dishes and appliances available. The washer and dryer worked great. We enjoyed the outside area including the firepit, lawn chairs and river overlook. Overall we had a fantastic trip and a great experience.
Stayed 8 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Spring Fishing

Great place to stay and good location for Fox River fishing .
Stayed 4 nights in May 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept, 2023
Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed your trip.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
It was in the middle of town, easy to find!
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Mrs

We will be staying again
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 5 May, 2023
Thanks for the review!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication

Germfask 2023

Nice place to stay for 6 guy’s on a snowmobile trip. Plenty of parking spaces for truck and trailer. Place is old but has a lot up north appeal. Will be looking to stay here again next year
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept, 2023
It's one of the, if not the oldest buildings in the town. Thanks for your stay.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

2023 Snowmobile Trip

The property was as defined online. The extra space was useful and the use of the garage was a great benefit.
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept, 2023
Set up perfect for large snowmobile groups, all their gear, and the likely shenanigans.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Review

Needs to be cleaner and updated.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 13 Sept, 2023
As advertised, this spot is just an old house (one of the oldest) in Germfask that I offer to the public, as there are limited options available in the area.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Exactly what we needed

This is our second time staying at this property. We love the size of the home and 2 bathrooms! I have teenagers so it’s enough space for Us all to relax after a busy day of hiking and seeing the sites. The host is always easy to communicate with. The Jolly Inn is always a treat for dinner. One great thing about this home is it’s location. It’s in the middle of everything to see this side of the UP. Since we do a lot of hiking, we get dirty and the washer and dryer is a huge help after a fun filled day. We are a family of woman and all feel very safe in this home. We will always stay here when we travel up north! Thanks for a wonderful, safe home for Us to stay and enjoy nature.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

snowmobile trip

Like any snowmobile trip the weather plays a big part. When there is good snow cover,can ride from place, trail about 1/2mi.,otherwise trailer to Seney 7mi, as alot of shoulder (pavement) riding to get Seney parking lot and pick up trails,this has nothing to do with the property. The place has all kind of room for a group. Full kitchen, washer/dryer if needed.Lot of history of the area in the house. Easy access to local bar,food right across the street. Grocery store 3blks away great selection.We try a new area in UP each, year lots of trails. Very center located.
Stayed 7 nights in Feb 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 5 May, 2023
Thanks for the informative review!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Fit our needs

First impression was a little dreary, but the place grew on us. Mostly used as a good spot for all-day trips to pictured rocks, Tahquamenon Falls and then rafting on menominee river on the way home. Easy to find since on a main road, but that made it kind of noisy (for the UP). Beds, kitchen, 2 bathrooms were all functional for a 3 night stay. Enjoyed fire pit, watched shooting stars at night. Internet did not work for us, calls/texts very spotty and DVD collection was limited/damaged. A place to go and make your own fun. Which is what we were looking for. Overall good value for the $.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 26 Sept, 2023
Thanks for the review. Yes the entrance way between the three parts of the building needs modernizing but its that way due to the high traffic of the snowmobilers and all their gear that that section gets every year.
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication, location, listing accuracy

Renter beware

No pictures posted, keeping it classy. Not often is there time to write reviews. Always challenging to not be too wordy or not wordy enough. Not too witty but not too boring. However, the responses from this homeowner practically wrote the review so poignantly it made the review process effortless. We made a request for all or a partial refund in response to the countless dead bugs, live spiders and dirty floors encountered in this home; we left 2 hrs after arrival, painstakingly rearranging our entire vacation to accommodate. “That's why it's so cheap because folks know that sometimes it's not going to be perfect.“ “I have a very strict refund policy because my home is sometimes not what people expect from a VRBO even though I try to be very transparent in my home description.”
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Aug, 2023
I was quite disappointed after I drove 7 and a half hours to find two dead black flies in the entrance to the rental. This was the only contrast to an immaculately cleaned home. Multiple requests were made for pictures which were never provided. It is unfortunate that there are renters that think they are renting at the Hyatt. I am transparent in my rental is just a house that you can use instead of a hotel. Sorry you were disappointed.
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication, listing accuracy

Not what we expected at all

I'm unsure where to start but want to give an honest review so others know what to expect. We weren't expecting perfection but we were pretty shocked to find how dirty/run down it was. Starting with the good: Great location. Jolly Inn had great food! Seney Natl. Wildlife Preserve is just down the road and is awesome. Living room furniture and beds pretty comfortable; showers pretty good. Now for the need-to-know: This place was filthy dirty. Had to buy some cleaner and do it ourselves to stay. Fridge/freezer had old, part-used foods & leftovers- some moldy. Towels in linen closet were damp and stunk! Had to wash and dry them again. Stiff, wadded up used cloths found on dryer and in the linen closet. Broken stuff everywhere- windows, cabinets, doors, blinds, lampshades etc. Floors so dirty around edges & corners- sooo many dead bugs and cobwebs and dirt. Front bedroom infested with spiders!!! I killed at least 15 spiders in there! Dead, dried up smashed bugs were all over the walls in that room also. The "breezeway" into the house was dirty like an old garage- step into house very unsafe/unsteady and tipped if you didn't step on it right. I tried contacting the host twice but got no reply. I know he got the message because he had answered a previous message before we got there. I did contact VRBO and did not request my money back for the stay as we chose to stay, but I did request the "housekeeping fee" back as we had to clean our place to stay there!
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 13 Sept, 2023
As advertised, this spot is just an old house (one of the oldest) in Germfask that I offer to the public, as there are limited options available in the area.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location

Nort Woods Escape

Excellent spot
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept, 2023
Thank you for your review. Center of it all.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Unassuming and perfect!

Enjoyed our stay in this spacious place with lots of books in the little town of Germfask. Centrally located near so many great places!
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 5 May, 2023
Thank you for your review!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect lodge

I have 2 teens and this was just perfect for Us. We all had enough space to relax at the end of our busy days of site seeing. We also enjoyed dinner across the road at the Jolly Inn. The hosts were very quick to respond to any questions. Thank you for a wonderful place to stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 5 May, 2023
Thank you for the review!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Summer getaway

Property was a great location for us to day trip and see all the things we needed in the U.P.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept, 2023
Thanks for your stay!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Small little town in the middle of everything.

The lodge in Germfask is a great place in a cozy little town that was in the middle of everything we wanted to do. It was a great space to recoup after running around all day. There was enough room for cooking and hanging out. The restaurant across the street was awesome. We had a blast.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 5 May, 2023
Thank you for your review!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great stay!

Our stay in Germfask was great. The property owners were very quick and great with getting back to me on anything I had questions with. Everything was easy to find, very interesting, and comfortable! My family and i really enjoyed ourselves!!
Stayed 8 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept, 2023
Glad you had a great stay!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Good parking for trailer and plenty of room for 5 guys for snowmobile trip.

Good location for snowmobile trip.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept, 2023
Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great spot

Cool old building with interesting history. Worked just fine for our group on a snowmobile trip. Not too much road to get to the trail and it was fine for us since there was a lot of snow. Had pretty much everything we needed for our trip and super convenient having the Jolly Inn across the street. The owners were awesome with communication and kind enough to allow us in early. It was tidy but could just use a seasonal deep cleaning. No complaints!
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 5 May, 2023
Thank you for the review!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great place to stay for snowmobiling

Slight issue with furnace but was fixed same day. Lots of space , and beds to sleep
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept, 2023
New furnace now...finally!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Comfortable

The property is a great place to stay, we had a group of 8 and were very comfortable. This property has easy access to the trails for both side by side and snowmoboles. The house was not stocked well with towels but I contacted the owner and towels were brought over .overall good place to stay
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept, 2023
Folks love to take towels, not you, but it happens more than I like.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Awesome family getaway

Rental was clean and roomy. Had everything we needed and then some. Check in was easy. We would definitely do it again.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept, 2023
Thanks for your review.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Affordable central up place to stay

Fun adorable place to stay when exploring that aria of the Up. The masses are not the softest but definitely work. The only thing I would say is there is a lot of dust on the ceiling fans expecting in the medium bedroom. Other than that had everything we need. Thanks
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept, 2023
Got those fans cleaned up. Thanks for letting me know.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Centrally located

Property is spacious and was clean with everything needed linens, cookware, satellite TV, dads, etc.. Located centrally in the Eastern UP, making sightseeing day trips manageable. Property manager was easy to communicate with.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept, 2023
Glad you had a great time.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback