Stunning LIGHT FILLED UNDERGROUND Retreat - Earthworm House - Dugout - spacious!

Photo gallery for Stunning LIGHT FILLED UNDERGROUND Retreat - Earthworm House - Dugout - spacious!

A rustic room with a brick floor, a wooden table, a grill, and a view of the desert through large windows.
A bedroom with a bed, a small stool, and a wall-mounted shelf.
A dining area with a wooden table and chairs, a sofa, and a TV in a rustic room with exposed brick walls and a window.
A rustic room with a wooden sofa, a small tent, a desk, and a globe.
A kitchen with white cabinets, a microwave, a stove, and a sink. There are two stools and a shelf with glassware.

Reviews

9.0 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Arcade/game room
    A rare find - fun for all ages with on-site arcade/game room.

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Toys
  • On-site fitness centre
  • Barbecue grill
  • Air-conditioning
  • Pet-friendly

Explore the area

View in a map
Coober Pedy, SA
  • Place, Coober Pedy Park
    ‪6 min drive‬
  • Place, St Peter & Paul Catholic Church
    ‪8 min drive‬
  • Place, Umoona Opal Mine & Museum
    ‪9 min drive‬
  • Airport, Coober Pedy, SA (CPD)
    ‪11 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

4 bedrooms (sleeps 8)

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Separate dining area
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Coober Pedy

Coober Pedy is home to this holiday home. Tom's Working Opal Mine and Old Timers Mine are local landmarks, and the area's natural beauty can be seen at Water Conservation Reserve and Coober Pedy Park. Take the opportunity to explore the area for outdoor excitement like ecotours.
Map
Coober Pedy, SA

What's nearby

  • Coober Pedy Park - 6 min drive - 7.2 km
  • St Peter & Paul Catholic Church - 8 min drive - 8.6 km
  • Umoona Opal Mine & Museum - 9 min drive - 9.3 km
  • Catacomb Church - 9 min drive - 9.3 km
  • Josephine's Gallery & Kangaroo Orphanage - 9 min drive - 9.7 km

Getting around

  • Coober Pedy, SA (CPD) - 10 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Outback Bar and Grill - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪Opal Inn - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪Crystal Cafe - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪Waffles & Gems - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪SunsetViewDiner - ‬8 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Stunning LIGHT FILLED UNDERGROUND Retreat - Earthworm House - Dugout - spacious! pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Stunning LIGHT FILLED UNDERGROUND Retreat - Earthworm House - Dugout - spacious!?

As of 1 Nov, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Stunning LIGHT FILLED UNDERGROUND Retreat - Earthworm House - Dugout - spacious! on 27 Jan, 2027 start from S$438, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Stunning LIGHT FILLED UNDERGROUND Retreat - Earthworm House - Dugout - spacious!?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Stunning LIGHT FILLED UNDERGROUND Retreat - Earthworm House - Dugout - spacious!?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Stunning LIGHT FILLED UNDERGROUND Retreat - Earthworm House - Dugout - spacious!?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Stunning LIGHT FILLED UNDERGROUND Retreat - Earthworm House - Dugout - spacious! located?

Located in Coober Pedy, this family-friendly holiday home is 3 mi (4.8 km) from Water Conservation Reserve, and within 6 mi (10 km) of Josephine's Gallery & Kangaroo Orphanage and Coober Pedy Park. Umoona Opal Mine & Museum and Faye's Underground Display Home are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

9.0

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 16 out of 26 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 7 out of 26 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 3 out of 26 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 26 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 26 reviews

9.2/10

Cleanliness

9.2/10

Check-in

9.6/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

9.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great underground place, really authentic and a well loved vibe.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Aug, 2026
Thank you so much for your kind review... 10 out of 10 - wow that means so much to me and my family. I'm so glad you enjoyed the underground experience. I'm glad to see you are booked to return.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Quiet, out of town, very unique experience. House was clean, spacious & comfortable. We had everything we needed & enjoyed our stay
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, communication, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Check-in
Loved the property.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Oct, 2025
So glad you loved it! And thank you for your gorgeous message in the Guest Book. We look forward to hosting your again soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lovely unique experience

The property was perfect for our employees offering a unique experience, the comforts of home and somewhere we would stay at again :)
Stayed 9 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Oct, 2025
We look forward to hosting your team again very soon! - i'm glad they all loved their unique stay... they were a hoot when they checked in and couldn't stop having about "how cool" your booking for them was.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Underground excitement

Really loved staying in Coober Pedy!!!! It’s so interesting and this house added to our enjoyment.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Oct, 2025
We love it when people "get it" - the house is like nowhere else on earth... and its wonderful when it's appreciated. Thank you so much for this review.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
It was a completely unique experience. The family spent hours outside watching the stars.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Oct, 2025
The stars are beyond epic aren't they? If there's no moon you can reach out to touch the Milkyway (well, it seems like it) - and if there's a moon the night doesn't need lights as it's so bright. I'm glad your family loved it!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

What an experience

We absolutely loved staying in this property. We had been on the road for a week and on our way back down south so it was perfect to stop over in a house with some space for the kids to play, run around and lots of toys and DVDs. It was very clean and comfortable and not to mention the full experience of staying under ground.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2019
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great and different

A nice place to experience what it is like to live at cooper Pedy ..a nice size home that definetly does not disappoint...
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Oct, 2025
Thank you for your review. The accommodation is actually the largest in available in all of CP - so I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for your kind review- it means a lot to my mum and our family.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Cave stay

Interesting
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 13 Mar, 2025
Thank you for your review. We look forward to hosting your family when they come next month. Thanks for recommending us. We definitely agree we are interesting... and a bucket list and a beautiful place to make family memories in a huge spacious homely underground house. Safe onwards adventures
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
No National Park
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 13 May, 2026
I'm so confused by this review... We're an Underground House in Outback Coober Pedy - i don't think i ever said we were a National Park. I hope you otherwise had a great stay!?
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy

Very good

Dugout very clean apart from some crumbling of walls mainly bathroom walls could do with resealing.very happy with our stay would stay there again thankyou
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 13 May, 2026
Thank you for this great review... we booked in resealing immediately as soon as you let me know. Underground bathrooms are quite sensitive to humidity... so I appreciate you letting me know about the fretting. I assure you it's all scrapped and sealed again now.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Neat and roomy

The beds and living areas are very neat and tidy and roomy. Kitchen cupboards are ready for a Reno but serviceable. The only let down was the bathroom which had damp in the walls and a mould problem. Bit of exit mold solved some of it. Peaceful location and fair value
Stayed 4 nights in May 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Oct, 2025
Thank you for the review. We have re-tiled the bathroom and worked hard to remove and be on top of any mould. I hope you can come again. We haven't changed the kitchen as we love it - it's retro and clean (and we don't have carpenters in town, so it's best to love what we have)
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Recommended

I have lived and visited Coober Pedy over 50 years and often the living standards can be poles apart from what city living can offer as essentially this is a mining town dominated by male miners living on the edge, however this place ( Earthworm ) was a real surprise ( thankfully ) it had generous rooms all spaced around for privacy and convenience . Amenities , kitchen, air conditioning, BBQ, entertainment systems all worked well and super kid friendly, kids had a better time than adults. Cheers Ray
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Oct, 2025
THANK YOU SO MUCH!! - I'm so grateful you took the time to review our place and that you even know what you're talking about when comparing our accommodation to a city - it's wonderful to be appreciated, and in kind we appreciate you immensely!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Location
For the Price we paid, this was an underwhelming experience. No Wifi, TV did not work, broken shower valve, tiny and super soft bed in the second bedroom, no dishwashing detergent etc., no sofa - it feels like just a place with stuff in it. No problem if it is priced accordingly- but the only bit that was 5 star was the price- we stayed much better at a lower price in CP before
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Oct, 2025
Hi Holger, This is quite a poor review, my sincerest apologies if you felt the rate (for a single night) is too high... My single night rate isn't a bargain- i definitely make that clear... that is because it's only really available for people wanting the experience or who need space for a large group wanting to stay together. My cleaner requires the same amount if the stay is one or 3 nights - as the whole place does still get turned over - definitely making a single night stay a lot more when considering value - i pay them $165 (as they are the only reliable cleaners in town, I've had to fork out to be able to offer the experience) so if you take that in account, my taking is very minimal. I do apologise you couldn't find the dishwashing liquid - i wish you'd called and i would have told you where to find the stored bulk containers. And I wish I'd known sooner about the shower head - my cleaner cant see the problem when she is turning it on. As for the TV the stations, they aren't always available in the middle of the outback desert - but I have 100s of DVDs to enjoy a movie & TV shows "old school style" - and we are one of the only dugouts that gets phone/data as we have Windows and natural light so the reception is mostly available throughout (except the very back room) - as for a soft tiny bed - i don't understand this review (it's like it's for somewhere else) - as both my double beds are Queen sized (and extremely comfortable) and my 2 single beds are normal single bed sized - also, no sofa?? We have multiple... I don't understand this part? - the only bed that is only a double sized is our fold out futon Sofabed (which is actually a larger double than normal as we use Queen sheets) - it is recommended for young adults/teens/kids - as it is a futon. I'm sorry, I have never heard our beds were otherwise ever "too soft" or tiny - I'm assuming you stayed on one of the single beds, as it's the only soft bed - but it's my Mother's favourite bed by far. I'm inclined to prefer firmer beds too, but many like softer, and I've slept very comfortably on that bed myself. I may need to pull my single-night stays again, (I removed them for over 2 years) as this review is understandable if money is tight, but i opened it up at the request of many returning guests who think our accommodation is 2nd to none especially for large families who live in Alice Springs but stay overnight when travelling to Adelaide. As well as time poor bucket-Listers. I did make it clear that value for a single night isn't thr best if you are after anything other than those reasons. Being in a huge underground house - particularly in ALL NATURAL (unpainted) WALLS on one of the biggest blocks of land in Coober Pedy, does come with a price tag. If we are 2 nights or more, for more than 4 people, we actually work out far cheaper than any motel in town. I hope others see that. I'm very sorry you didn't see the value. I wish you well.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Love the Earthworm House

Great stay! Thanks for having us, Jess!
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 4 May, 2021
I'm so glad you had a great stay... We hope you're back very soon.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy

First time underground

Loved it very unique and amazing
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2019
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Underground adventure

This was an excellent option to really experience Coober Pedy - so cool to stay in an underground house!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Dugout

Very clean and comfortable property. Warm. Has everything you need there. Great spot.
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Mar, 2020
I'm so glad you had a great time!!  Look forward to having you again, and we might be able to throw in an extra special returning guests discount.  Thanks for the lovely review and leaving the dugout so beautifully.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Amazing place

Amazing place - loved it and loved Coober Pedy. Thanks Jess!
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Mar, 2020
It's it just the most incredible place!? - I'm thrilled you enjoyed the dugout and Coober Pedy so much... I'm so glad you had a great time!!  Look forward to having you again, and we might be able to throw in an extra special returning guests discount.  Thanks for the short but super accurate review!! ;)
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Amazing!

Our first experience in an underground home and we were not disappointed! Beautiful home, spotlessly clean, close enough to town. We only stayed one night but wish we stayed more! Coober Pedy was such an interesting town, one of the highlights of our trip. My 4 year old particularly enjoyed all the toys as she had been missing hers back home. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks Jessica. Amazing!!
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Mar, 2020
I'm so very glad you had a great time!! The place is sort of magical, I agree. Look forward to having you again, and we might be able to include an extra special returning guests discount.  Thanks for the kind review and leaving the dugout so well looked after.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Earthworm Stay Coober Pedy

A great family dugout with plenty of space for the family to enjoy this unique experience. Good location to the town centre of Coober Pedy and a nice distance away so you get to relax and unwind.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Amazing Stay in Coober Pedy

This has been the best home stay on our trip to Uluru. The house was beautifully presented and immaculately cleaned. Will go out of my way to stay here again. Thank you to the property owner.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

So interesting!

This was a great insight into living underground! We enjoyed our stay amongst the opal diggings!
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2019
Verified review

8/10 Good

Great start to our outback adventure!

Only stayed 1 night but it was the best place we could have hoped for. Very authentic Coober Pedy, giving you a great feel of the place.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

It was the experience we were hoping for

This house was amazing. It was clean, roomy and had everything needed. It was not claustrophobic and the beds were very comfy. Plenty of games and DVDs for the kids to. The views of the sunset sitting up in the roof were beautiful. The communication and assistance from the owners was first class. Would definitely come straight back here if we ever pass through Coober pedy again. Thank you
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Mar, 2020
I'm so glad you all had a great stay, and got to add a truly unique experience to your memories. If you ever do find yourself back we will make sure to give you a very special return guest discount or gift. Thank you kindly for your lovely review, and for how well you looked after the house, both are extremely appreciated.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback