Mallard Lake - 2BR, Sleeps 6-8 Waterfront, Nice Cozy Cabin
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:N/A
- Pets allowed:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Great get away Cottage completely renovated located just NE of the Twin Cities for less than a 2 hour drive. 20 minutes to Siren where miniature golf, a movie theater and plenty of shopping is. Voyager Village Golf and Resort is just 10 minutes away & it includes a Par 3, so bring you clubs! Spooner is 20 minutes and Hayward is 35 minutes away for more shopping and activities. Mallard Lake is approx. 150 acres, and is one of the warmest, cleanest and clearest lakes in the area with excellent swimming, boating, and fishing. Trails nearby for 4 wheeling and muling!!
This Cozy Cabin was completely updated in 2007 and features birch hardwood floors throughout, pine 2 panel doors, nice 3/4 bath, dining area with patio door to deck & Andersen Windows. Fire pit and outhouse too! Space for tenting. Private dock and a paddle boat included. Pontoon Boat available at $350/wk - $70/day. Mallard Lake Campground & Resort is located on the lake and features a campground.
Keywords: Four Season Cottage located on a recreational lake, 100 ft. of frontage, wooded
- Vacation Rental
- Children Welcome
- Pets Considered
- Non Smoking Only
- 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, Beds for 2-8
- Bedroom 1
- Bedroom 2
- Convertible bed(s)
- Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
- 1.0 Bathrooms
- Bathroom 1
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Linens Provided
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- DVD Player
- Satellite / Cable
- CD Player
- Outdoor Grill
- Deck / Patio
Location & View
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Water Skiing
- Jet Skiing
- Miniature Golf
- Sight Seeing
- Go Carts - Spooner, WI
ReviewsWrite a review
Great Overall Experience
Great Overall Experience
We spent 5 nights at this cozy, clean, functional cabin. Owners were next door when we arrived and came over to introduce themselves. They were super helpful with the TV (turning satellite on) and a quick lesson with the boat. We had several people in and out for the duration of our stay with a total of 4 kids and three adults. Everything worked very well including the pontoon boat which provided many fishing excursions around the very quiet, serene lake. The kitchen is small, but totally updated and functional. We cooked every meal there and had plenty of room, especially since it is an open concept space to the rest of the dining and living areas. It was well stocked with utensils, pans, platters and more. The dining room table is beautiful and fits large groups quite well. The solid birch flooring through out the entire cabin is both funtional and gorgeous. Great finishes, with solid wood doors, beautiful windows, and a very nice bathroom. We had plenty of storage for our food, as the fridge is full size and we moved a few things around to make room for our dry goods. The water in that entire area of Wisconsin has a heavy iron content, so you have to bring your own drinking water which the owners made very clear in all the literature. The kids loved the satellite TV for their morning cartoons. The deck is a nice large space to sip coffee and enjoy the view. The cabin was clean and well organized. There wasn't much storage in the bedrooms for clothes and such, but the rooms are small (though the front room is big enough for an air mattress on the floor) and we weren't expecting anything like that since it's a cabin in the woods for vacation and thus didn't care. Plenty of hooks everywhere to hang items. We hardly spent any time in our room anyway. This is definitely a well-maintaned property; the owner even put towels and soap out for us. It was the perfect north woods experience. Would totally rent this house again.
- Guest Jenna
- Date of stay 08/24/12
- Review Submitted 09/01/12
Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, age 55+, families with teenagers.
Owner response: Thanks Jenna, it was a pleasure to have you, your family and guests at the cabin. Thanks for the nice review and we plan to also do some improvements for next year. You took great care of everything and we really appreciated it! Would love to have you all back:)
Rented the jet ski for two days. It broke down on the lake after 1/2 hour of use. This after the owner put "new" battery in it while we waited to use it. In trying to get the grandchildren off the stalled ski it tiped over spilling them into the lake. They were terrified! We flipped it back and towed it to shore where the owner pulled it out and then left that evening (Thurs.) and we never heard anything more about it. No one was around and never explained what was going on. Never got to use it the next day. Chg'd us for 1/2 day for "getting it ready" and for gas. You would think that if you are renting equipment it would have been ready for use and gas would be part of fee. Nothing in contract to state otherwise. This was to be the highlight of our grandchildrens' visit. They were so disappointed. The cabin is not functional either. One small cabinet in kitchen (about 11" wide) to store all your food. No towel bars in bathroom,only hook on back of door for three towels(try that with six people) Bedrooms only have beds in them and one has a plastic table. A place to hang your clothes but no dressers, or storage for socks, etc. One bed has a bad mattress on a plywood frame. Hall closet has no shelves or hooks and had an odor. Useless unless you want to put everything on floor but that too was cluttered with mops, brooms, etc. I bought two deodorizers which helped some. The water is awful. Rusty and smells. Must provide your own drinking and cooking water. We were there for two weeks, never again! I would never recommend this property to anyone.
- Guest Rosie
- Date of stay 08/04/12
- Review Submitted 08/29/12
Owner response: Hi Rosie, Sorry you were so disappointed. I wish you would have called to inform us how unhappy you really were; maybe we could have done something about it. With regard to the rental of the 3 man Sea Doo, we will send you the $55.00 that we kept, at the end of the day it's not worth it! Yes, you had to wait 15/20 minutes to use the Sea Doo & my husband put in a new battery & took it for a spin & it ran great. We have owned that Sea Doo for 10 yrs had no problems ever & have rented it to many other renters. I sent you your full deposit back; I took you at your word of what happened. I would like to share what my husband saw. Your granddaughter was in the front driving, your son in the middle, your grandson in the back. They drove around for about 15 minutes, came back between the docks, then your granddaughter switched to the back & your grandson was in the front, at some point they went out of site around the point where my husband could not see. You said, "the Sea Doo stalled & they tipped over" (by the way anyone born after the age of 1990 in WI is required to have a boaters safety class to be legal to drive, even if you are with your parents). Next thing my husband saw was you towing it back with the Pontoon you rented & then my husband put it on the lift. It was overfilled with water like he has never seen before. He pulled the drain plugs out of the back, drained the water & pulled the sparked plugs out & tried to turn it over, water shot out of the spark plug holes. The Sea Doo is currently in the shop & the mechanic said, “if it happened the way they said, then the motor should not have been that full of water". It is still in the shop & we have no idea how much it will cost us to fix or even if it can be! My husband worked on it all night Thursday & Friday morning, he didn't leave until early afternoon on Friday all the while talking to your son, your husband & your grandson regarding the status of the sea doo. My husband even offered your son the use of our 2 man Sea Doo & he said "no that's alright". In response to the cabin water, you were informed of that on the check-in information, the water does not smell, it is a sand point well. That is what most people have on a lake in the north woods. Yes, we need to upgrade the mattresses, yes there are no dressers, yes there is no towel racks (which were broken by previous renters & we decided not re-install. Yes there could be more storage. Most renters think it is clean & cozy
great week, great lake!
great week, great lake!
The listing was exactly as you see it! As for sleeping 6-8, it is a little tight-We had 3 little kids and 4 adults BUT it was well taken care of and very clean! It has everything you need minus food! Nanci was able to answer all my questions -no matter how many different times I called her. Randy was very helpful with anything we needed. Randi and Naci were around it we needed anything but I appreciated they did not infringe on our family time. It felt like "our place". We did have a problem with raccoons in the trash but that was the only negative thing. The fishing is excellent for little boys -right off the dock, while adults relaxed in the water! The lake was warm and shallow perfect for all ages....we loved our stay! We never left, so as for other activites near by I have no comments the lake house was exactly what my family needed!
- Guest A&A
- Date of stay 07/11/11
- Review Submitted 09/26/11
Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, age 55+, families with teenagers.
Owner response: Thanks Amanda and Andrew! You have a wonderful family and it was so nice to meet you and hope to see you again!! Take care, Randy and Nanci
The listing description was fairly accurate regarding appearance and amenities, The inside of the cabin was clean, but the garbage can was tipped over and I had to pick up previous renters garbage. The home owners were next door for 3 days of our stay and never stopped over to see if we needed anything. We would not recommend this property.
- Guest Annie
- Date of stay 08/01/11
- Review Submitted 08/20/11
Owner response: Hi Deanna, I appoligize that you had to pick up garbage. I personally had emptied both containers after the last renter's checked out the Saturday just prior to you checking in so I don't know where the garbage came from unless a neighbor had used it to through some of theirs in it.... Also, many of our renter's choose not to be interuppted or do not want us stopping over at anytime so because they value their privacy so again I appoligize for not stopping by. I felt if you needed something you would have called my cell or my husbands cell. Take care, Nanci
In-Season Rates(Memorial Day weekend-Labor Day weekend) $750/week & $145/night with 3 night minimum Off-Season Rates-$550/week & 105/night(call for info.) Check in 3:30pm/Check out 9:30am - 40% reservation fee Damage Deposite/$350 due 1 wk prior to check in Well trained dog/cat permitted. $12/day fee per dog/cat Above Rates are based on a family of 1-4 people.Extra people are $15/per person per day or $70/per person for the week
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Before paying contact the owner to confirm payment details.
Call the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Year Purchased: 2006
About the owner: We purchased this cottage in 2006 as a rental investment property as well as an overflow to accommodate our children and extended family while we enjoyed time at the Lake. We own the adjacent Lake home and enjoy spring, summer and fall seasons here. We have owned here since 1993. Randy is employed at Andersen Windows in Bayport, MN and has been there since 1977, I have been in Real Estate since 1992. We have three children and a grand daughter & we all enjoy life up at the lake! :-)
- Primary: (715) 377-6801 (Wisconsin, USA)
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Deck and Back of Cottage Facing Mallard Lake
From Living Room Looking Towards the Kitchen
Living Room Area with Two Sleeper Sofa's
Nice Private Fire Pit Area
Pontoon Available For Rent at $350/week or $70/day
Front of the Cottage Facing the Driveway
From Kitchen Looking to the Dining with 12' patio door to lake side deck
Newly Updated Bath with 3/4 Shower and Birch Flooring
Looking Towards Door to the Driveway
View From Front Yard Out to Corbin Rd.
Beautiful Sunset on Mallard Lake 150 acres Clean, Clear, Recreational & Fishing
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2008.
Date last modified - Thursday, February 07, 2013