Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

(E) Tremé Creole Cottage Sleeps 10-15 Great for larger Groups !

Bedrooms 5
Space 1,400 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights


About the property

Treme Creole Cottage (E)

We manage 6 neighboring units, if you have larger groups we can accommodate them next door !

Beautiful, fun, & funky 200-year-old historic home in the heart of downtown. Soaring ceilings, gorgeous architecture. 4 blocks to the French Quarter, half a mile to frenchmen and the river, super close to fun bars, food, coffee, and public transport.

Please be courteous to my neighbors and respectful of my home. Keep the noise inside the house and the partying in the French Quarter. Additionally, This is my house, it is not a hotel. If you want a sterile environment devoid of any traces of other people having ever been there, book a hotel. If you want to stay in my house, which has a few cracks in the plaster and has books on the shelf, this is the place for you.

The house is a traditional creole cottage with a unique "double shotgun" victorian facade with side gallery in the rear. The rooms flow one into the other in a straight line, and the 12 ft ceilings and transoms above each door are charming vestiges of how these houses were designed to keep cool in the summer before the advent of central air. These homes really only exist in New Orleans anymore. This neighborhood is one of the most vibrant in town, a few blocks from the French Quarter and even closer to Louis Armstrong park, where there's always a neighborhood or cultural event happening. Come stay with us to get a true New Orleans experience.

Guests will enjoy tv and wi-fi, a full private kitchen and three bathrooms, Porch and backyard are shared spaces.

The homeowner and manager lives next door, and has an assistant who lives 4 blocks away. We will always be happy to suggest a destination, or answer any questions. We are thirtysomething, easygoing, and fun yet responsible people. Have as little interaction with us as you like, or hit us up for whatever. We're happy to oblige.

The Treme is a fantastically bright, safe, beautifully historical neighborhood! Lots of families, lots of community, and gorgeous old homes that you won't see anywhere else in the world. It's a true gem. With gorgeous Louis Armstrong Park coming alive on the weekends with concerts and cultural events, you can't go wrong hanging out in the Treme. Plus, it's right across the street from the Quarter.

We are a couple blocks walk to 4 different bus lines that will connect you to the streetcar or carry you uptown. 4 blocks to new rampart street car line. Uber and taxis are abundant if you want to cab it.

This listing is 1 private unit of 2-plex. Inquire about other units if you have larger groups. Other units may occupied in the building, though they have separate entrances and the only shared area is the backyard.

For larger groups please look at my other VRBO Listings

1522 Ursulines (A)


1520 Ursulines (B)


1520 Ursulines UP (C)


1518 Ursulines (D)


1516 Ursulines (E)


1512 Ursulines (F)


1257 Kerlerec


1125 Mandeville


1312 Frenchmen


More Details

Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

What makes this house unique

VRBO Listings

1522 Ursulines (A)

3 Bed/3 Bath

9 beds - 4 fulls 3 twins 2 full futons

1520 Ursulines (B)

2 Bed/2 Bath

8 beds - 4 fulls 1 twin 3 nice full futons

1520 Ursulines UP (C)

3 Bed/2 Bath

1518 Ursulines (D)

4 Bed/3 Bath

1516 Ursulines (E)

4 Bed/3 Bath

1512 Ursulines (F)

5 Bed/2.5 Bath

1257 Kerlerec

5 Bed/3.5 Bath

sleeps 15

1125 Mandeville

3 Bed/3 Bath

10 Beds - 2 queens 5 twins 3 nice full futons

1312-14 Frenchmen

Duplex - 6 bed/2 Bath / 2 kitchens / 2 living rooms


Treme - Lafitte House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq ft
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10


3.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
(E) Tremé Creole Cottage Sleeps 10-15 Great for larger Groups !
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews

Historic, Charming, Large Place - very cool!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at several of the owner's properties over the years. this unit has a ton of character, and is in a great neighborhood. The ceilings are probably 12' tall and the rooms are very large and spacious. They have installed a brand new central heat/cool system which works very well and have a Nest thermostat. Very cool art on the walls. place was very tidy and clean. We'll definitely be back again.

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

My family stay was ok

  • 3 of 5

It was ok

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Chatsworth, Ga

Not a great place to stay

  • 1 of 5

This house is more like a frat house, Wall to Wall beds & I was deeply concerned about the mattresses, If I could have gone and gotten another place I would have but you pay up front and even if you get there and its this bad you don't get your money back. So out of 7, three of us stayed. This was in my opinion only a money maker for the owner. I don't think that is what Home Away was intended to be but maybe what it has become. Living room is crowded with 3 couches, rugs and floor needed cleaning, there was a big hole in the ceiling. No dining area, bathrooms are the worst, towels were old and dingy. Bathroom fan was cover in dust. It was bad. Kitchen just thrown together with no counter space or room and cabinets as falling off the wall. Food was left in the oven from previous. no real dishes, no coffee cups but coffee pot. It was too far away from town to walk, It is not as advertised. We had no hot water for two days and until we kept calling it wasn't important to the owner or manager. Finally got Hot water and we received a small refund.

I did explain to the owner that we were an older group of people and he should have said this is not the place for you, Actually this is not the place for anyone. There is a great coffee shop around the corner that was nice and clean and the food is good.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am really sorry that you had a negative experience. Across 3 platforms for 2 years of rentals we have never received anything but positive feedback from our groups in this unit. We did provide a partial refund based on the guests feedback at the time and sent our cleaning service twice during their stay to address any issues they were having. My property manager, my cleaning staff manager and three cleaning staff all visited the property to address the guests concerns and were not able to confirm anything out of order other than a bagel left in the toaster oven. also, since this guests stay the unit has received its quarterly maintenance and repairs, plus a deep clean. Mattresses are new and cleaned between each guest. The public gas utility was performing work on the gas lines and had turned off gas service, unscheduled, to our block for several hours - not days. This house is 150 years old so if you are looking for more contemporary accommodations please look at some of my other listings.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Treme House

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Ben's Treme Cottage for 6 nights and had a blast. I found it to be a great location, walking distance to many of the main parts of NO (Frenchman St, Bourbon St, Downtown/casino area). The house is old, so it's not as sleek as a hotel, but it has so much character and charm. There were 8 guys in there and it felt pretty spacious. Nichole, the property manager, checked in a few times to see if we needed anything and dropped off beer, candy, and snacks. All in all, we had a great time, and I would recommend staying here.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Stay - Highly recommended!!

  • 5 of 5

Nola's home was great. I come through downtown new orleans pretty often for work (and play) and have stayed at a few of Nola's places. The owner is really sweet and always gives me good recommendations for places to eat and drink and good music to see. The house has really unique art and awesome antique furniture which gives it a very classy feel. Beds are super comfy. Treme is a super close walk to pretty much everything, so you won't need to rent a car. We'll def be back again! Thanks!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $200 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties