Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Turtle Lake Ranch House with Private Family Owned Lake!

Bedrooms 2
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

THIS BEAUTIFUL CABIN AND LAKE is only minutes from Downtown Durango! Enjoy the use of your own Private Dock and Lake, Canoe and Paddleboat. Breathtaking Mountain Scenery in Peaceful Surroundings. Enjoy viewing the abundant wildlife like Elk, Deer, Eagles, Herons and Hawks while relaxing on your Large Deck overlook the Lake. Hiking on the Colorado Trail and rock climbing in immediate vicinity - just steps away!

This Historic Property has been family owned for over 70 years and was once a Working Ranch! Extended stay available Sept. thru May.


Keywords: House/Cabin

More Details

Property Manager
Deborah Whitley
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 22, 2018


Turtle Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Sofa may be made into a single bed, linens provided. May also be converted to queen hide-a-bed, both size linens.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

65% Complete
20% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
Turtle Lake Ranch House with Private Family Owned Lake!
average rating of 4.35 based on 20 reviews

Lovely property

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I took a long weekend in Durango and totally enjoyed our time there. Although we would rather it hadn't rained we made the best of it and enjoyed daily afternoon storms from the patio or the large bedroom window. We are from the Phoenix area and this was our first time to Colorado. It was really nice to get out of the desert and see forests and lakes again.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fantastic Lake Property

  • 5 of 5

The House is ok... Very Clean. Enugh room, but the property is amazing. Large yard, big deck, beautiful views.

The best part is the Lake. Nice dock, paddle boat, 4 kayaks, and a canoe. There is also a floating island in the middle of the lake.

Had a great time. Will return.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

For the sake of full disclosure

  • 1 of 5

We wanted to leave constructive criticism but, we are sure it will go unheard (as the owner was more apt to ignore/excuse any issues with the catchall: “The house is a 70-year old family home and everyone else said it was nice”) Before we booked we looked at the available images of the rental and read many of the reviews, most were positive; a good sign or so we thought however, this time the few negative reviewers were utterly correct (in particular a review left by cofrog). The house is old. This statement seems to be a convenient excuse for the house’s disrepair, because even an old house, if well maintained would not look like it did. It is a neighborhood eyesore and shows no pride of ownership at all. At best it receives superficial cleaning, no general maintenance or repairs. The only thing this property has going for it, is its view. The images are not recent and very poorly portray the property. The amenities listed are not all available, which the owners deny, stating they are in the pump house which was flooded when we arrived and in no condition to be used (likely hasn’t been for many years). We received an email stating: “Use the washer at your own risk”. When we asked about it we were told by members of the owner’s family that using the washer would turn our clothes orange. When we asked about the full-sized fridge the owner said: “We never use it, did you see the dorm fridge in the dining room?” The pump-house, the washer, and the fridge are putrid. If they won’t use it, they should not expect renters to. The kitchen is small, a slot, a single person standing in the center of it could touch both walls (there are no images of this or any of the bathrooms, because no one would want to stay if they saw these spaces; it would have changed our minds). The catamaran sunken at the end of the dock (which the owners have known about for a long time from what I see in other’s reviews) is a hazard. In response to one such review the owner says they had no luck removing it. It’s unacceptable. A member of my family was cut rather badly on the catamaran (which could not have happened if it had not been there). Suffice to say this was it; we left early though, not nearly early enough. We considered leaving as soon as we arrived, especially after discovering the flooding, too bad we tried to stick it out...we shouldn’t have. We do not recommend staying here and will never make a return visit.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am not sure how to respond to this review, I do not consider this review to be constructive criticism. I will start with facts, we replaced the siding four years ago with stucco, new insulation and a new porch. We had new carpet installed in the living room, new furniture in the living room and bedroom three years ago. The pictures accurately reflect the house and property that we have on VRBO. The house is over 70 years old, we give it a lot of TLC and we continue to upgrade the house every year. We have had hundreds of guests who love the house and property and many guests that come year after year. In the pump house is the washing machine ( 4 years old), dryer and a full sized refrigerator. The washing machine works and does not turn clothes orange. The refrigerator is older and we leave it unplugged but is available for our guests use. When our guests arrived there was a problem with our pump that caused the pump house to flood. When our guest called we sent someone there that evening to check out the problem and it was fixed the next day. At no time was there not water in the house. The housekeeper had cleaned the house the day before and there was no problem at that time. We have a pontoon boat that sank in a storm and we have tried to get it out but have not been successful. This fall we are going to build a deck over the boat, extending the dock. This guests did leave early, and we refunded her for the two nights that they were not there. We are sorry that she did not enjoy the house and property and that she chose to write the this review which is grossly exaggerated.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Wonderful beautiful retreat!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our visit here.

We visit Durango about three time a year and hope to stay here when we come back.

The house is really nice and the views are amazing. Loved the lake and all included.

Thank you,

The Bakers


  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We are very happy we chose Turtle Lake Ranch House for our short get away. The House is well appointed and comfortable and the Lake is magnificent!!! The drive to the end of route 205, a few minutes from the house, was amazing!! One of the most spectacular mountain valleys we have ever seen!! Great place, Great Stay, Loved Durango!! We will be back!!

Rick & Anne

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A relaxing southwest feel

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in your lovely Turtle Lake cabin July 14th-17th. We had a lovely time. I loved all the great items you used to decorate with. We felt so blessed to have had a view of a private lake as we sat on the deck every night. The story about the turtles was very interesting. I would recommend if you are looking for a southwest feel and a relaxing time. Thank you for allowing us to stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Our Turtle Lake Ranch House is located three miles from Main Ave on 25th Street in Durango. The Narrow Gauge Train is located at 5th Street and Main Ave and has several trains that go to and from Silverton daily in the summer months. It travels though some of the most beautiful scenery in this country. Mesa Verde is just 50 miles from Durango. There is hiking and biking trails all around the area with a trail along the Animas River that goes from on end of town to the other. There are several rafting companies that offer river rafting on the Animas River from the mild to the wild.

Durango offers great shopping and fine dining.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175
Damage Deposit $400

Last fall we insulated and stuccoed the house. The house looks amazing and for much warmer for the cold winter nights in Colorado!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.