check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Cozy But Spacious Chalet at Mt. Mitchell Golf Course

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
Sleeps
9
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

Chalet, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This cozy cabin offers everything you need for a great vacation or long weekend in the most beautiful setting imaginable. It is located in the Mt. Mitchell Golf Course community at the base of Mt. Mitchell, the highest elevation east of the Mississippi. October Hill is just across the street from the 14th fairway and just a few hundred yards from the South Toe River.

The location is very private but also convenient to everything you could want in the mountains. The golf course is rated 4-1/2 stars by Golf Digest and you won’t find a more beautiful course. The Blue Ridge Parkway, hiking trails, trout fishing, tubing, biking, and of course, spectacular golfing are all just minutes away.

October Hill is 3 levels, with a bedroom and full bathroom on each level. The huge family room has hardwood floors, a rock fireplace with gas logs, 25 foot vaulted ceiling and lots of glass to enjoy the beautiful views. A large deck wraps around the cabin for outside dining and relaxing. Two charcoal grills are provided. There is plenty of parking and a garage that accommodates 2 cars.

Our location is very close to the golf course and clubhouse, 20 minutes to Burnsville, 5 minutes to the Blue Ridge Parkway and 1 hour to Asheville.

October Hill was named for our Bed & Breakfast in Waynesville. When we sold the B & B, we wanted to keep the name, so when we acquired our mountain chalet home, it became October Hill.

Keywords: Mountain Chalet

More Details

Owner
Roger Winge
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 9, 2016

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Cozy But Spacious Chalet at Mt. Mitchell Golf Course
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
5

Wonderful, spacious cabin. Great location, close to beautiful hiking spots.

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time. If you are looking for a fully renovated cabin, this is not the place for you. But, the cabin was perfect for us. A full bathroom on every floor was great. The kitchen had everything we needed. The living had seating for 6-7 and a beautiful fireplace. The wraparound porch was perfect to enjoy a cup of coffee. The neighborhood is beautiful and quiet. The owners were very helpful in telling us about nearby places to go for hikes and we discovered 2 beautiful waterfalls. Mount Mitchell was amazing and definitely worth going to the summit. Absolutely no complaints with our stay. I almost forgot, very short walk to the beautiful South Toe River. Highly recommend this cabin.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Emi, Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review on October Hill. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I enjoyed corresponding with you during the planning of your trip and am glad you had a chance to visit the waterfalls and Mt. Mitchell, some of our favorite places. We also want to thank you for taking such good care of our chalet and leaving it in spotless condition. You are perfect guests and we hope you will come back soon. Judy & Roger
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Rustic and furnished well.

  • 4 of 5

31 days in the cool mountain air. Great stay, great places to visit. Mt Mitchell State Park was spectacular. Enjoyed several waterfalls. Nothing compared to waking up to 60 degree weather in July.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for our family of 4 plus mother-in-law and one dog. There was plenty of room for everyone to have their own space. We hiked different parts of the Blue Ridge Parkway. Since it's so close, we were even able to do that on Thanksgiving & come back in time to put together a meal. We truly enjoyed our time in the chalet.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

If you are looking to xscape look no further!!!!

  • 5 of 5

I booked October Hill (cabin name) within 72 hours of leaving on a last minute trip. Needless to say that part went super smooth. After a 11 hour trip through rain and high winds we arrived at the cabin. To be honest its a little hard to locate (A total plus) however upon laying eyes on this three story cabin the sun came out and the rain stopped and my wife and I were transported to Xanadu. It only got better from there. The temperature started to fall and before we knew it we could see our breath in the cold crisp air. I have traveled by war ship around most of this planet and to be able to see the milky way with the unaided eye was once again amazing. Living on the water in Florida has its advantages however this experience was straight out of one of those books that keep you up late at night when you have that (so called) important meeting early in the morning. If you ever want to truly get away from the grind this is the area for you. Hurry because the Eagles said it best in the song last resort "if you call someplace paradise you can kiss it good by". Perhaps this is not for the 5 star crowd but most of them just talk because they need to be heard and I for one have spent enough time with my neighbors. There is Wi-Fi and TV however it is a plus to be able to say I hade no service!!!! We will never forget our week at October Hill. :-0

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Charlotte nc
5

Great cabin

  • 5 of 5

Well stocked cabin with all of the amenities! It's in a great location and has awesome peaceful views! Don't hesitate to go and enjoy the area or the hiking!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Morristown, Tennessee USA
2

Dated and not what promised

  • 2 of 5

We chose this cabin since it was pet friendly and near the golf course. The cabin is quite dated. The internet access code furnished by the owner did not work. We don't stay at places without internet access because I need it for my work. The third bedroom is in the basement. I would not have wanted to stay in that bedroom. The carpet in there was supposed to be in the process of being changed so all the furniture was stacked in front of the washer and dryer so we couldn't use them. We went for a walk, got caught in the rain and would have liked to use the washer and dryer but couldn't. I think we should have received some sort of discount or refund since the internet access code was wrong and we couldn't use the washer and dryer but never heard from the owner even though I emailed him these issues. The steps to the deck to enter the cabin are very steep so I definitely would not recommend this cabin to someone with mobility issues. One reviewer said there was a play area which is not true and you cannot see the golf course from the cabin. This cabin is overpriced. Don't stay here unless the owner makes some changes. This is the worst VRBO place we have ever stayed.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: 1. We recently changed internet service and there is a chance that we sent an old information sheet to you with the old internet information. However, there is an information sheet posted at the chalet that has the correct information. As far as you calling to inform me that you could not get on the internet, I would certainly have responded to your message. 2. As far as not being able to use the washer/dryer, we apologize for that. As I explained to you prior to your stay, we were in the process of replacing the floor in the lower bedroom. We should have left a pathway to the washer/dryer for your use. 3. We did indeed have some playground equipment in the back yard but donated it because our grandaughter outgrew it. One of our previous guests mentioned the play area in his review. Since there were no children in your party, I fail to see how this impacted your stay. 4. We do not advertise a golf course view. We are, however, across the street from the course. 5. The 3rd bedroom is on ground level and is accessible by glass doors from the outside and stairs from the inside. This is typical construction of chalets in this area and is not a basement. 6. Regarding the steps to the deck and the main entrance, if anyone has a mobility problem and asks us about accessibility to the house, we always caution them that there are stairs to negotiate and let them make their decision as to whether our house would be a good fit. 7. Finally, our chalet was built in the 1980's. We have made many upgrades since we purchased it and continue to do so. The pictures on our site clearly show all rooms, furnishings and interior and exterior of the house. It is clean, comfortable and tastefully furnished, some of the furniture being antiques. We do not, in way, misrepresent the property. We have been renting the house since 2005 and have never had any issues with our guests. Although we feel that this review is unwarranted and unfair, we are sending you a check which should more than compensate for not being able to use the washer/dryer.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Burnsville Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$145
$900
$2,150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleanup Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 10.0%

All holiday weekends require a 3 night minimum. Rates are subject to change until reservation confirmation.
See our rental agreement for our cancellation policy.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Burnsville Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Child Beds (1) 2 cots
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties