Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy But Spacious Chalet at Mt. Mitchell Golf Course

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Chalet, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This cozy cabin offers everything you need for a great vacation or long weekend in the most beautiful setting imaginable. It is located in the Mt. Mitchell Golf Course community at the base of Mt. Mitchell, the highest elevation east of the Mississippi. October Hill is just across the street from the 14th fairway and just a few hundred yards from the South Toe River.

The location is very private but also convenient to everything you could want in the mountains. The golf course is rated 4-1/2 stars by Golf Digest and you won’t find a more beautiful course. The Blue Ridge Parkway, hiking trails, trout fishing, tubing, biking, and of course, spectacular golfing are all just minutes away.

October Hill is 3 levels, with a bedroom and full bathroom on each level. The huge family room has hardwood floors, a rock fireplace with gas logs, 25 foot vaulted ceiling and lots of glass to enjoy the beautiful views. A large deck wraps around the cabin for outside dining and relaxing. Two charcoal grills are provided. There is plenty of parking and a garage that accommodates 2 cars.

Our location is very close to the golf course and clubhouse, 20 minutes to Burnsville, 5 minutes to the Blue Ridge Parkway and 1 hour to Asheville.

October Hill was named for our Bed & Breakfast in Waynesville. When we sold the B & B, we wanted to keep the name, so when we acquired our mountain chalet home, it became October Hill.

Keywords: Mountain Chalet

More Details

Roger Winge
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 7, 2017


Burnsville Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6 ...
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • 1. There is no garbage pickup in our area so garbage should be taken to Yancey County Convenience Center off Hwy. 80. Bears love garbage left outside
  • 2. Please do not let dogs pee on outside bushes. We've had to replace several times due to this.
  • 3. Fire pit must be attended at all time by an adult. Firewood can be bought locally.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Main level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2nd level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Child Beds (1) cots
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • festivals
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
30% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Cozy But Spacious Chalet at Mt. Mitchell Golf Course
average rating of 4.4615383 based on 13 reviews

it was perfect! it was simple but complete set up. it was spacious and comfortable for the 6 of us!

  • 5 of 5

it was simple but complete set up. it was spacious and comfortable for the 6 of us!

instructions were perfect. everything was available. excellent wifi connection. there was space for at least 4 or 6 more. easy to take inflatables and counting the couches sleeps 11. lots of linens and pots and pans. owner was available on the phone and we had a great time.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Miggy, for your gracious review. We're so glad you and your party enjoyed your stay at October Hill and for being such great guests! Hope to have you back for another stay in the future. Best, Judy & Roger
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fall Family weekend

  • 4 of 5

Wonderful weekend with family. Cabin was very cozy and comfy.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Six Mile

We'll be back!!!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I really enjoyed staying at October Hill and we'll definitely be back but for a longer stay next time!!! Thank you Roger and Judy!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful roomy cabin tucked into the mountains! Perfect!!

  • 5 of 5

We loved everything about this cabin when evacuating from Hilton Head Island from Hurricane Irma. Great views from the huge living room, nice deck to enjoy the sun and bbq, even a hammock to relax in. Kitchen was well equipped to prepare all our meals, we just wanted to relax and it was perfect for that. Half an hour away from highest mountain in east US Mt. Mitchell, kids and us enjoyed a short hike to the peak and through the woods there. Walks from the cabin are pleasant too around the community and along the golf course, its a paradise! The house has that cabin feel that we like, not modern, but cozy, great to enjoy some time away from hectic life. We are planning to go again in the future to meet with family (-:

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Sylvia, for taking your time to write the kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at October Hill and for leaving the chalet in such pristine condition! Looking forward to having your family back in the future when you're not being chased by a hurricane!!! Thanks again, Roger & Judy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very comfortable, had everything we needed, awesome porch!

  • 4 of 5

Bring what you need, because it's a bit of a drive to get anywhere, but it's a lovely place. It's not updated, but it's clean, comfortable and very relaxing! The air is so fresh! Comfy beds and furniture. We had a great time relaxing there after our hikes, and enjoyed exploring the arts and crafts in the area.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful, spacious cabin. Great location, close to beautiful hiking spots.

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time. If you are looking for a fully renovated cabin, this is not the place for you. But, the cabin was perfect for us. A full bathroom on every floor was great. The kitchen had everything we needed. The living had seating for 6-7 and a beautiful fireplace. The wraparound porch was perfect to enjoy a cup of coffee. The neighborhood is beautiful and quiet. The owners were very helpful in telling us about nearby places to go for hikes and we discovered 2 beautiful waterfalls. Mount Mitchell was amazing and definitely worth going to the summit. Absolutely no complaints with our stay. I almost forgot, very short walk to the beautiful South Toe River. Highly recommend this cabin.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Emi, Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review on October Hill. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I enjoyed corresponding with you during the planning of your trip and am glad you had a chance to visit the waterfalls and Mt. Mitchell, some of our favorite places. We also want to thank you for taking such good care of our chalet and leaving it in spotless condition. You are perfect guests and we hope you will come back soon. Judy & Roger
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0





Additional information about rental rates

Cleanup Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 10.0%

All holiday weekends require a 3 night minimum. Rates are subject to change until reservation confirmation.
See our rental agreement for our cancellation policy.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties