Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Stunning Poipu Oceanfront, Groundfloor 2bd Condo Amazing Views

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Beautifully Remodeled, Top of the Line Oceanfront Condo!!

We would love to welcome you to Poipu Escapes, our oceanfront condo in Poipu. We are located on the south shore of Kauai, which is known for it’s great weather all year round.

Poipu Escapes is one of the units of the well known Kuhio Shores condo complex. If you plan on visiting the South shore, this is the place to stay. You cannot ask for a better location. The best snorkeling is at the beach, directly adjacent to this condo. It is where the tour groups even come! The best surf spots on this side of the island are right in front of the condo! One of four major beaches is here. Shopping is minutes away and spouting horn is minutes away. Fine dining is a walk next door. You simply cannot find a better place to stay, that is why we bought this condo!

Here, you will find the perfect balance of tranquility and fun.This beachfront condo situated in famous Poipu, is comfortably furnished for a family on vacation or a couple looking for a romantic getaway.

Literally steps to the Kauaian ocean, you cannot find a place more enjoyable. Wake up to the calming sound of the ocean. Watch surfers display local talent from the comfort of your living room. Then walk to one of two great snorkeling beaches on either side, that is, one beginner and one intermediate, or sunbathe oceanfront on the groomed grass right outside of your lanai! Enjoy dinner watching the sunset over the sparkling waters at the world class, Beach House restaurant next door. You may wish to end your evening by walking through Old Koloa Town, just a short distance away.

Poipu Escapes is a wonderful opportunity to enjoy Kaua’i to it's fullest. We hope you will enjoy it as much as we do.

This is unit number 114, facing south, with west (sunset) views as well.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2017

What makes this condo unique

There is nothing like staying this close to the ocean. Kuhio Shores is unique in this way and our unit is beautifully remodeled, certainly among the finest of the 2 Bedroom units in Kuhio Shores, making it the choice place to stay in Poipu. Beautiful, tastefully furnished and oceanfront in the best location.

Guestbook comments from the owner

My daughter and I had such a great time. The condo is very beautifully decorated. We felt very much at home. The condo was spotless. The furnishings were wonderful. The beds were so comfortable that we were able to greet each new day well rested. The view of the ocean was amazing. When we arrived there were fresh fresh flowers (what a nice touch). The ocean was so close, I could just sit and watch it all day but, of course, we didn't. We had too much to do. We took the helicopter tour, went to a luau and went ziplining. Check in was easy and uncomplicated. The complex was quiet at night. The only negative thing I can think of was that there wasn't any A/C. In April it was fine, but I wondered what it would be like during the summer months. It was just a great experience all around. I would highly recommend it.
Mar 2010
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Poipu Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
Stunning Poipu Oceanfront, Groundfloor 2bd Condo Amazing Views
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 15 reviews
5

Location amazing

  • 5 of 5

The location is amazing and the views were breathtaking with sea turtles in the breaking waves. It does sleep 6 but probably better for 4. Ryan was reachable and accommodating.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

The pictures are a bit misleading.

  • 2 of 5

I want to be balanced in my review, so I will start with the positives. The condo views are gorgeous. It is truly 40 feet from the water and maybe 300 feet from the Beach House restaurant. Every night we watched amazing surfers while drinking Mai Tais and enjoying unbelievably gorgeous sunsets. Additionally, for the very small size of the condo, it is for the most part very nicely furnished and appointed. And the owner -- Ryan -- was very responsive and professional in every interaction.

Now for the negatives. The condo is VERY small. I would guess it might be 700-800 square feet. It was impossible for my wife and I to both brush our teeth at the same time in the bathroom, and the shower was maybe 2-3 feet from our bed -- it is that small. Usually we stay in a 2 bedroom condo near Brenneke's that is more like 1,900 square feet, so it was a bit shocking. Also, the condo units themselves are right off the parking lot, so it felt very much like a motel. Another challenge is that it did not have air conditioning. I read reviews from prior occupants saying they opened windows to get air flow and had no issues. We tried opening all the windows, but it was still warm and uncomfortable at night. Also, people walk by outside the sliding glass doors regularly, which was unsettling. Finally, I had read there was a gas barbecue and a washing machine. Both are true, but . . . the gas barbecue is located in the far corner of the parking lot behind garbage dumpsters. In fairness, it was a great barbecue -- but creepy location. And the laundry is in a very small, hot communal laundry room. The overall "feel" when you arrive in the parking lot is that you have arrived at a cheap motel. We even considered just eating the cost and going elsewhere.

It is all about expectations. My wife and I had just traveled from Kolea at Waikoloa Village which was a 5-star 1,800 square foot condo, and we thought this was another top-notch property. Unfortunately it is not. If this was my first trip to Kauai or if I hadn't stayed at nicer condos before, I might be more forgiving on other aspects due to the views. But this was probably our 14th trip to Kaui -- with our kids -- and it was the only disappointing place I have ever stayed. Again, the views are truly amazing at this condo. But the small size, poor air flow and run-down condition of the place overall nullified the incredible views.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m very sorry to hear that you were disappointed, I really wish you would have let us know while you were here so that we could have worked something out, we would prefer you to be happy. However, I am glad that you were pleased with how the unit was appointed and furnished, as we work hard to maintain quality, and yes, the views are incredible. Unfortunately, many points here are against the Kuhio Shores building in general, and not so much our individual unit. Kuhio Shores has recently made AC available to each unit, and we are currently installing AC now for future guests, if you prefer, that will address any concern for temperature. It is true the BBQ area is in the parking lot and it is a communal laundry area on each floor, whether or not this is acceptable is a personal preference. And for the size of the unit, I’m sorry it felt small, it is actually nearly 1100 square feet.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great view of the water, wonderful snorkeling at the beach near by, and excellent sunsets!

  • 5 of 5

Clean, updated interior, good air flow once we got the windows open! Loved sitting in the shade on the lanai, and dining at the table with a 180 deg. view of the water. The dishwasher door was a little scary, as pulling out the shelf to unload tended to tilt the entire appliance. Also, pocket door in bath on right sticks and squeaks, but other than that, perfect! Would love to return sometime!

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review, we are so glad you enjoyed everything! We appreciate the notes as well, we will tend to those items right away to make it more enjoyable for our future guests! Hope to have you return again soon, thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Incredible views - beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

The view from this condo are breathtaking. And the condo is absolutely gorgeous! This was our 2nd time renting this condo and we hope to return again. The experience of relaxing to watch the waves and surfers, going for day adventures to see this amazing island will never disappoint. The hosts are so accommodating and this condo is the best you will find. Thank you for sharing your condo with us. We had an amazing time!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Reno, NV
5

Beautiful condo with amazing views

  • 5 of 5

The condo is beautiful and everything that the pictures describe it to be. It is very clean and updated. The location is wonderful and you can step right outside the lanai and watch the sunrise from one side and the sunset from the other or just spend some time watching the surfers who are out there everyday. We were lucky to also get to see some sea turtles swimming right in front of the unit. The views from this unit cannot be beat. We felt very spoiled and enjoyed are stay so much we cannot wait to go back. The owners are great to deal with. I would recommend this unit to anyone looking for a great condo to call home during their stay in Kauai. It is definitely the best island to stay on and there are alot of activities to keep you busy.

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wonderful Views - Outstanding location - Beautiful condo!

  • 5 of 5

This was a truly wonderful paradise get-away and the hosts could not have been easier to work with in planning our vacation. The location was perfect and within walking distance to shops, snorkeling and restaurants. We were able to enjoy watching the surfers and take in the sunsets each evening before heading out to dinner. The condo was a great place to come back to after an extremely fun and busy day on the island. We will definitely want to come back! Thanks Ryan and Avigale for sharing your lovely condo with us.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Beach House Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Spouting Horn
Nearest Point of Interest
Kukuiula Shopping Village
Nearest Point of Interest
Sheraton Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Poipu Beach Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Shipwrecks Beach

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $165
Damage Deposit $300

Hawaii Tax ID#900273975

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties