check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Fish Haven-Deep Water-Dock-Best Views-Peaceful-Linens Furnishe

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
7
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
5 nights

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 1.25 Baths, (Sleeps 4-7)

Perfect retreat for the fisherman, boaters or anyone that wants to peacefully enjoy the water! Fantastic crabbing and fishing off the brand new 34 foot dock. Crab traps are provided! Over 400 square foot of Private Dock with power. Over 600 square foot of new deck covered and open on main level of house. Fully decked under house (except for concrete covered parking. New concrete parking (enough for 9 vehicles). House has been updated with new windows, wains-coating, ceiling fans, light fixtures, stove, hot water heater, paint, etc. etc.

Million Dollar View - Unbelievable!

This is the perfect getaway! On Mississippi Sound with Great fishing and the best views on the Island. Quiet cul-de-sac that gets very little street traffic. This is a unique property that has of guests coming back year after year.

Call/Text me any time for more info or email me. 357 Port Royal, Dauphin Island

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
John Reeves
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 15, 2017

About John Reeves

We have two daughters, Tommie and Rachael. Tommie is a Senior at Auburn University. Rachael got her degree from Samford and her Masters from Auburn University. Martha is retired from the Mobile County School System. John works in real estate and owns a sign shop as well.

John Reeves purchased this house in 2007

Why John Reeves chose Dauphin Island

Great view and fishing. Cul-de-sac location with little traffic. The perfect quiet getaway with the best view on the Island. Great Neighbors.

View is worth the price!

What makes this house unique

The view. The quiet. The fishing.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

Fish Haven-Deep Water-Dock-Best Views-Peaceful-Linens Furnishe
average rating of 4.740741 based on 27 reviews
1

CAN'T UNDERSTAND THE 5 STAR REVIEWS

  • 1 of 5

I simply cannot understand how this place gets these reviews. Its unbelievable and I wish there were a way for me to upload all the photos we took of the property to prove that I am not over-exaggerating. We rented this home and stayed approximately 1 day. It was so bad that we threw away our entire rent for the week because it was simply misrepresented and filthy! I hesitate to write this but I feel its very important to know the reality of this property. First, this place is FAR from clean. Mold in the bathroom, peeling paint everywhere and not tiny spots, crud on almost every surface, the smell - like old oily roaches. I can't begin to describe the "fireplace". Hodge podge hangings. 3M hooks with twine holds up the "curtains". BTW..in the bathroom it is a table runner tossed over a curtain rod. The downstairs bathroom looks like something from a horror movie. Dark, dank, closed in under the home and is only a old toilet in the wide open "room". Regrettably, i didn't get a photo of this. All of the outside furniture is broken with the exception of the swing. Thank God that we don't have small children because there were more loose slats on the porch area than we could count. The redeemable part is the location and the dock. Regardless, because of the smell and how dirty it was, not one person in our family wanted to stay. So we left the next day. We emailed the owner or manager and never got a single response. Needless to say, I would not recommend this property to anyone.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So, You wait 4 months? To flame the property? When I came down to collect the rent (because you had not paid) you had destroyed the property and left. You never paid - you left without paying. You are spent one night, destroyed the house, never answered my calls or emails, wait months, then spew lies. Shame on you. I'm glad people like you are few and far between. Unreal.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome views

  • 5 of 5

My family thoroughly enjoyed our visit here. We were all excited to see the Island. When we got there, the wind was pretty rough. I heard it was a front coming off the mainland, but I think we had some of the outer bands of wind coming from Hurricane Matthew mixed in with it. After the winds died down, we got to do everything on the Island. We caught fish and crabs right off the back dock, made a few trips to the beach to gather shells, visited all of the attractions and gift shops, saw dolphins off the back deck plus managed to get in a little beach time as well. We also took a couple of days just to travel. We took a side trip on the Ferry one day to visit Florida and went to New Orleans (less than a 3 hour drive) another day.

The house was as advertised and we looked forward to collapsing in it every evening. I truly recommend this home. Even though we never needed John, I know he was just a phone call away. We had some great neighbors on both sides and it was just a wonderful, busy week. My wife has renamed the main road on the Island to Pineapple Blvd because the trees look like pineapples all lined up in a row.

Beautiful sunsets. I recommend taking a romantic walk down the West End beach before sunset and taking your camera. We found that JTs Sunset Bar and Grill had the best food on the Island and the Treasure Trove gift shop carried the best gifts for family and memories.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dacula, Georgia
5

Larry W, Dacula, Georgia

  • 5 of 5

I visited for the 4th time in 3 years on October 3. My visit was great as in the other visits. The home was clean and comfortable. All appliances were in working order. I caught lots of white trout and some specks !! Also, some nice crabs in the crab traps. John, thanks for the updated fish cleaning station and the updated electrical on the dock as this made it easier to clean all those fish ! Also, thanks for the brand new washing machine. I would recommend Fish Haven to anyone. Sunsets always beautiful ! Thanks again, and I will look forward to my visit next year !

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dacula, Georgia
5

Outstanding Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent a week here and had a great time. We caught several crabs and enjoyed the fishing. The area is very quiet and peaceful. Really enjoyed having a cup of coffee in the mornings on the deck and watch the sun come up. Would highly recommend this for a weeks get away.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Just what we needed!!

  • 5 of 5

What started out as a trip for just my significant other and our pup, ended up being a trip with three of our friends tagging along. Once we described the place to them, they just had to go too. We absolutely loves it! So calm and peaceful. We loved that there weren't people everywhere - including the beach. We would definitely love to come back. The home was clean and orderly and had everything we needed. Sunsets were beautiful and the view in general was great. We saw dolphins and what appeared to be a small shark. Caught some crab and several fish. Thank you for one of the greatest beach experiences, that I think, we all had!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I'm glad y'all had a great time - come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Dacula, Georgia
5

A GREAT TIME !

  • 5 of 5

Thanks for the opportunity to stay at Fish Haven. My best friend and I visited to relax and catch some fish and crabs. We did all of them. Caught all of the fish we could eat and brought some home. All of the appliances were in great working order, air conditioning worked perfectly, and house was clean and orderly. So very quiet and peaceful. Loved the decks and dock. Thanks for supplying the crab traps. The boiled crabs were delicious. The only thing I noticed that might need a minor repair in the future was the fish cleaning station....just a little brace....very minor. Thanks for providing a fish cleaning station....we put it to good use. I am planning to return TWICE next year. I can recommend staying here to anyone. Thanks again !

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. I will get the brace on the fish station. Come back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Mobile Airport
Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
At east end of the Island
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Isle Dauphin Golf Course - Dauphin Island
Car: recommended

Lots of History on the Island and surrounding area. Check out the towns website for upcoming events. There are nine public parks that you might want to visit.

Historic Fort Gaines is a must see!

The Dauphin Island Audubon Bird Sanctuary is 164 Acres of walking trails through woods, swamp and the gulf beach.

The Estuarium at the Sea Lab is also a must see.

Dauphin Island has a Marina with Charter boats available. Deep Sea or Inshore charters.

Lots to do on the Island...lots of choices.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Royal Lagoons House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall
Sep 17 2016 - Mar 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$122
$850
$2,500
 
 
Summer
Apr 1 2017 - Sep 16 2017
5 night minimum stay
$172
$1,200
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125 + Tax
Pet Fee $105
Tax Rate 11.0%

Check in is at 2pm with check out at 10am

Garbage can is picked up twice a week. Wednesday morning and Saturday mornings.

$500 upon reservation with balance being paid prior to check in. I can take cc info over the phone at my office or you can pay by check, money order, etc.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Royal Lagoons House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1.25 One full bath on main level with commode and sink at ground level.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Sleep on Sofa or Inflatable air mattress is available-please request if needed....
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
High Def. Tv - WiFi is Free You will find yourself fishing and crabbing off of the dock. One of the very BEST locations to be. Very unique location.

Partner Offers