Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Gorgeous views on the Animas River with wildlife and the sounds of the river.

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,250 sq ft
Property type guest house


About the property

This property sets by the Animas River 2 miles outside of Aztec NM. It has beautiful views of the river, farmland and the mountains. The elevation is about 5500 is close to hiking, Aztec Indian Ruins are just a mile and a half away. Navajo Dam is 25 minutes...Durango is about 25 minutes. This is an affordable home for being a base to many adventures. There are 2 bedrooms, and a nice mattress area, washer and dryer, gas fireplace, 1 full bathroom. French doors open from 1 bedroom and great livingroom onto a private patio, with a propane grill, firepit and plenty of geese, deer and sunsets to die for as you relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. If you look under the section ABOUT ME, you will see that I live upstairs by myself, and the whole 1250 sq ft bottom section is accessible privately down landscaped stairs, through a private gate and into French doors. I work full time and have another VRBO property in Bayfield Colorado that I manage, so I am not home much. I don't even see many of my guests.

Teresa D'Aun Nolen
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2018

About Teresa D'Aun Nolen

This is my 2nd Vacation Rental. I purchased it in November 2017 for myself to live in upstairs and to rent out to travelers for the bottom half. The bottom story has its own entrance with 3 sets of French patio and gorgeous views of the river, I still work full time for another 4 year years or so in radio broadcasting sales, which has been my passion for 30 years. I bowl on a league, love to travel and spend time with my grandkids.

Teresa D'Aun Nolen purchased this guest house in 2017

Why Teresa D'Aun Nolen chose Aztec

This property has the Animas River and a wide ditch out the back. The property goes into the river, so you can fish, hike around, quietly listen to the river up high, see wildlife on the river, and hear the farm animals from across the river. The weather is good most of the year, and the house is close to alot of destinations.


Aztec Guest House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • guest house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • This property has a 2 night minimum to book
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...


4/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
33% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Gorgeous views on the Animas River with wildlife and the sounds of the river.
average rating of 4.0 based on 3 reviews

Beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5

Teresa D' Aun Nolen was very accommodating to all our needs. We used the BBQ grill out front of on the patio facing the Animas river listen to wildlife & enjoyed the views.

Thank you Ms. D'Aun

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for spending time at my River Retreat. We have been blessed with much needed rain the last 3 days, and more on the way by midweek. Please come again when the river is running well, and the colors are changing. Have a blessed week D'Aun
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable, but with a few issues

  • 4 of 5

This is a comfortable unit and the location is good, but there are a few things to be aware of. I see the description of the property has recently been re-written from when I booked. I thought I was booking an entire house, but it is only the basement. The owner lives upstairs. As I see others have mentioned, the steps to get down to the unit are not really easy to navigate. They are gravel and landscape ties and are uneven. At night there are lights, but there are steps that get no light, so you are stepping into a black hole. Dragging a suitcase up and down those steps is not easy and not for anyone who has any physical limitations. Although it is likely not an issue in this location, it's really not possible to lock the unit. The second bedroom has sliding doors that do not have a lock. There is also no way to lock the door on the stairs leading to the owner's part of the house upstairs. This wasn't really a problem for us, but something to know. Not everyone is comfortable with an unlocked unit, even in a safe rural setting like this.

One other thing, one of the gps apps I use incorrectly identified the location of the address. Best to check a couple different apps if you are depending on them to help you find the house.

The beds were comfortable. The unit was the best equipped and supplied that I have ever stayed in. The owner was pleasant and accommodating. I would recommend this unit, as long as you are aware of the issues I've mentioned.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I rewrote my listing as another guest thought they were getting a 2500 sq. ft. house for $99.00-$110.00 a night. NOT POSSIBLE! I do have solar lights on my gravel and landscape ties...I will be purchasing more for night use...if you have any serious disabilities, as my last guest had back surgery a few weeks ago, I DO not recommend my place. It does involve stairs, and when I discovered the lady couldn't navigate the stairs, I let them come and go from my front entry, down the stairs daily. I work full-time and have another VRBO I own in Colorado, so I am not home much. I will be fixing the 2nd bedroom French door lock...there are 3 sets of French doors downstairs, and 3 keys for guests to lock up. My upstairs locks from their side, on the is very private, and I never go downstairs while guests are there, unless an emergency. There is a private patio area, and I can't see it even from my top balcony. Please be aware this is a nice getaway on the river, but my place is up high and does not have access to the river from the main property...a little ways down there is a bridge to the maintenance road...if you want to take a walk to the river, it is back by Aztec Ruins about a mile down. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sulphur, Oklahoma

Initial impression was good, pretty landscaping & the fenced in patio area was nice.

  • 3 of 5

This property in our opinion is NOT for 60+ people (mainly the stairs & privacy). We thought the rental was the picture we were seeing on VRBO ~ no, it was just the bottom part, the owner lives upstairs ~ which is fine but disclose that. One pic on the site appears to be taken from her balcony, we did not have that view. Not as private as we would like & the stairs for us were very dangerous especially @ night as well as the unloading & loading. We thought by the pics we could get to the river, no....VERY steep & we didn't see a way down. The bed was very good & the space was okay for a couple nights. We won't stay there again The owner was polite & responded to our questions.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review Linda. I am sorry you misunderstood the property. I tried to put what was allowed to check for the rental...I have solar lights and spot lights all over the stairs to allow for night entering and exiting. You can walk by the river 1 and a half miles down, by the Aztec Ruins...go across bridge and such. My property is up high, and the sounds of the river and wildlife are abundant. We are currently in a Stage 2 drought, but now the monsoons have started and the river is rising again. I apologize for the misinformation...I surely didn't mean to mislead anyone. I allowed for a dog, which I don't usually also. I live by myself and work daily, and care for another VRBO in Colorado, so I am not home much. I'm really sorry you didn't care for my place, as it is beautiful, and landscaped well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties