check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Book for Thanksgiving week before it's gone!

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
14
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
5
Minimum Stay
4 - 7 nights

Description

Hilton Head Island House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Queen sofa bed, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 14)

Hilton Head is the GOLF MECCA of the southeast. GOLF DIGEST readers named Hilton Head Island Number 10 on its list of the WORLD'S BEST GOLF RESORTS.

Our 2nd Row home on HILTON HEAD ISLAND offers spectacular ocean views. No other home in the area has 3 spacious balconies, including one under roof. Our home has been rented for weddings, receptions and bridal parties.

Spacious and tranquil just begins to describe this beautiful house. With incredible sweeping views of the ocean and tidal marsh, the beach is only a short 3-4 minute walk away. A tidal marsh creates a peaceful buffer from beach noises and other homes, while providing a safe haven for egrets, sea turtles and other delightful creatures.

The generous top floor is an airy great room with vaulted ceiling, skylights and access to two balconies. The gourmet kitchen has granite countertops, a six-burner gas stove and an island with a breakfast bar. It is open to the dining area, which is furnished with a large table that comfortably seats ten.

A gas grill located on the deck by the kitchen is a perfect place for happy hour while watching the steaks grill or the sun rise with a hot cup of coffee in the morning. The gas grill is connected to our underground propane tank, so you don't have to worry about purchasing or running out of gas. A large covered porch, on the first floor, provides additional space for entertaining or to enjoy the view and tranquility.

Two living areas--a living room and a family room with TVs/DVDs--are perfect to gather for relaxation, movies or sports programs.

There are three elegant master suites and two bedrooms also with adjoining bathrooms. With one king, three queen and two double beds, plus one queen sofa sleeper, this home sleeps 14 in comfort and privacy.

Other amenities:

* Game area with foosball, ping pong and air hockey tables

* Private pool (heated upon request at additional cost)

* Large hot tub (hot tub heated upon request at additional cost)

* Garage parking for 2 vehicles plus additional parking for three to four vehicles

* Chaplin Park, a less than 10 min. walk, offers free tennis (first come, first serve), basketball courts, a playground and biking/walking trails

Keywords: Home, Ocean View, spacious, upscale

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Owner
Clara Hilgefort
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 6, 2016
Call Owner

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

Book for Thanksgiving week before it's gone!
average rating of 4.6896553 based on 29 reviews
4

Wonderful family vacation

  • 4 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay in this beautiful home. It is HUGE, and offers plenty of space to relax and spread out. We had 10 with us through the week and loved the accommodations, proximity to the beach, and convenience of having shopping and restaurants so close by.

We enjoyed walks along the beach as well as walks amongst the trails nearby. If you're into wildlife, you will absolutely love the wide variety of birds and waterfowl you're sure to see.

We were concerned about some of the amenities, like internet access, since a few of us had to tend to some office related projects while we were there. But we experienced no major issues whatsoever.

The most enjoyable aspect, at least for us, was just sitting around the pool relaxing, or being able to get to the beach in 3 minutes. The views from the family room, kitchen and balcony will not disappoint, I promise. And we experienced the true meaning of family again because all of us easily sat around the kitchen table for dinner together. Considering it had been years since we could coordinate everybody's schedule, having meals together again was a treat for us.

Overall, our experience was wonderful. The beach was not crowded and the girls enjoyed going over to the nearby Marriott pool to swim early morning laps. I would highly recommend this home for your vacation experience at Hilton Head.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Gary, for your kind words. We love hearing about families having a special time together at our home. We're happy that you and your family found so much to enjoy and remember. Blessings, Jim and Clara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just like home

  • 5 of 5

We were a party of twelve and had plenty of space to spread out. The bedrooms were spacious and very comfortable. The kitchen was stocked with everything you would need to make gourmet meals. Cooking on the six burner stove made me feel like a professional. The outdoor decks and pool area was where we spent most of our time. A truly enjoyable place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love having guests like you with such a wonderful and happy personality. We work really hard to maintain the house and feel very fortunate to have excellent service providers. It means a lot to us for our guests to have a great vacation, and positive comments like yours make our day!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect Location . . .

  • 4 of 5

The house was located perfectly to the beach by having a large public walkway right next to the house. We had a few little ones with us so that made the walk back and forth much easier. We were in town for a wedding so the owner graciously accommodated our party by letting us arrive a few hours early to be able to get moved in and ready for the event. I really appreciated Clara the owner talking to me a few times on the phone to get these special arrangements set! Would I stay there again? Yes. Are there items that need addressed? Yes. The cement columns on all the balconies are falling apart and crumbling, held together with zip ties. It is fine for adults but you have to be careful with little ones. The mattresses could be replaced as well as the furniture is dated and worn out. My son sat on an ottoman and it broke, probably from the previous renter usage but it needed to be replaced anyways so we did utilize the damage insurance and the owners had the item replaced. There were many light bulbs burnt out - we just replaced them ourselves so we didn't have to wait around for the maintenance guy to arrive. The sinks do tend to back up with water, slow draining; however it didn't hinder the vacation. The pool is small but great to cool off - just don't plan on swimming laps. The only problem was the water drained continually; we had to keep the hose in the pool to keep it full (which the pool guy told us to do). I did give this information to the owner so I hope they get that fixed as I can't imagine the water bill. Had some trouble with the internet throughout the day, however, unless you plan on working all day on your vacation it will suffice. Overall, it is a very good rental and great for large parties.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Tami, for sharing your thoughts. As I mentioned in a previous response, we are taking the house off the rental market this fall to do banister replacement. We had planned to do it two years ago bu had a shady contractor, and it's taken us this long to find somebody trustworthy and reasonable. We will also be taking the opportunity to do other upgrades as it's difficult to get them done when the house is rented. We do have a great handyman, housekeeping, pool service, HVAC company and pest control that continuously service the house. Therefore, we ask our guests to please contact us right away if anything needs attention so we can take care of it. We want everyone to have a happy and comfortable stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful, spacious home that was great!

  • 4 of 5

We rented the property for my daughters wedding and overall it was wonderful. The owners were very responsive to our questions and nice to work with. The house is in a great location - close to stores, grocery stores etc. and had beautiful beach access. A very nice home and we had a wonderful time. The pool/hot tub were great. We heated just the hot tub and the pool ended up being warm enough without it. I would have given this 5 stars but the house needs some maintenance. The cement banisters on the decks and walkways are crumbling and held by zip ties. These need to be fixed if for nothing else than safety. The windows are in need of replacement and the wireless internet comes and goes. We had a hot spot and used this much of the time. The decor is beautiful and the house is nicely decorated, but they could use a mattress upgrade. The King where we slept was not good- hard and uncomfortable. Other than this, it was an amazing house. Some small suggestions for the owners: Having a reference book on how the hot tub and electronics works would be nice. We figured out the tv, but couldn't figure out the switches for the radio/audio. The hot tub could have used instructions. We figured it out by trial and error. And it's kept draining for some reason at the end of the night. The pool guy told us just to use the hose and that worked but kind of a pain. Extra linnens would have been nice. There were no sheets for the pull out that we could find and only one extra blanket (more of a bed spread) in the whole house. Overall a fantastic week and everyone enjoyed the home and our stay.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Shelly, for your thoughtful feedback and suggestions. We are continuously working to maintain and improve the house. Sometimes, it is hard to keep up! We are taking the house off the rental market this fall to do banister replacement. We had planned to do it two years ago but, unfortunately, we had a shady contractor. It's taken us this long to find somebody trustworthy and reasonable. Come back and stay with us again for another great family vacation and to enjoy the new banisters :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful home with some disappointments

  • 3 of 5

We stayed in this vacation home last week. The home is spacious with large bedrooms and bathrooms and a short walk to beach with beautiful ocean views from the upper decks. The owner, Clara, was pleasant and responsive and their handyman Dennis was also nice.

However, after looking forward to our family vacation to celebrate my husband's milestone birthday with our 6 adult children and 2 young grandchildren, we did experience numerous disappointments.

For larger groups a house this size should accommodate, the pool was very small, more of an oversized wading pool than one where we could swim more than a few strokes and the kids could play - our 4 yr old grandson would jump in and be at the other side in one leap. I was constantly worried he'd hit his head. It also leaked all week. Pictures are deceiving and measurements not stated.

The Internet was pretty much useless all week, even after a visit from the cable company. We had to use our own hotspots all week.

Front entry driveway is unexpectedly dangerous as cars drive to the oceanfront homes behind the house by way of the driveway. Shortly after we arrived a car came barreling down the drive with our small grandkids in close proximity- scary.

Other minor things that nonetheless impacted our stay:

One downstairs queen bed was squeaky and sagged in center - so much so that our son and daughter in law couldn't sleep together and one or the other bunked in with their kids. Our bed pillows were thin and need replacing.

Mismatched, crowded plastic patio furniture , several with broken slats, on the only 'public' deck and by pool - other decks were better furnished but access was through bedrooms.

The burners on left side of gas stove didn't work.

We were told there would be a 'plethora' of beach items, but there were only five beach chairs, one of which was broken. I'm glad we brought some of our own umbrellas, chairs, beach toys, etc.

The AC seemed timed to shut down in late afternoon - it was uncomfortably warm during a special catered birthday dinner we had for my husband.

Decorative columns on decks crumbling and tied together with plastic ties.

Clara did say many times to call for any maintenance item (e.g. No blow dryers in two bedrooms were immediately replaced). But doing this puts the renters in the position of sacrificcing valuable vacation time reporting on a laundry list of 'honey do's' that should be discovered as a part of normal maintenance.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We work hard to maintain our home to provide a wonderful vacation for our guests. We have a team of professional service providers for housekeeping, HVAC, pool and pest control. In addition, our handyman Dennis goes every Saturday between 10 and 4 to make repairs and perform preventative maintenance, and is available through the week if any issues arise. Because our home has guests all summer long, things do break and are addressed as quickly as possible when the guests report it. We’re amazed to have had teak chairs, heavy duty resin chairs ($300/chair) and Frontgate chaise lounges somehow all get broken. They are continuously replaced throughout the season along with items like hairdryers. It is not feasible for us to provide pool toys or beach chairs. However, once the summer season commences, like the take a penny/leave a penny philosophy, there is usually an abundance of toys and beach chairs that are left by other guests. Our picture accurately reflects that we have a normal size kidney-shaped pool, not a lap pool, in an enclosed yard (not gated). Our many reviews tell the story; the vast majority of our guests thoroughly enjoy our home and its proximity to the beach, can see the professional maintenance, and appreciate our responsiveness to their needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Dunkirk, MD
5

Outstanding location, beautiful house, fantastic owners! A Must rent!

  • 5 of 5

We travelled to Hilton Head at the end of March for Spring Break and had 4 young boys with us (ages 10-15). My husband was back for a break from deployment which made our trip extra special. The house is just as spectacular as it looks with plenty of room to either get together as a group or disappear for some alone time. The location can't be beat - quiet cul-de-sac, safe neighbourhood, short walk to beach and yet, within a few minutes drive of anything you could need - stores, groceries, restaurants, mini-golf, golf, arcade (remember, we had a group of boys!) etc. So very convenient. A few standouts for us for folks who have kids tweens/teens - the Northridge movie theatre is the most comfortable theatre we've ever been in and just 2 miles from the house - full comfy leather recliners (and we had the theatre literally to ourselves which as a bonus!). Also, the local comedy club was PG rated, so kids under 21 could come in - all the comedy clubs in our area are 21 and over and my kids have always wanted to watch some stand-up comedy, so this was a treat. Finally, Chaplin Park which is half a mile from the house, is the best community park we have visited - excellent quality tennis courts, beautiful soccer fields (there's even a dog park) and great open space.....We did have a few glitches at the start of our stay which were swiftly rectified and did not impede on our great time. Overall it was an excellent visit - we are so grateful to the owners, Clara and Jim, for opening their lovely home to us and we hope to visit again next year. I did see some negative comments on the walking distance to the beach, the amount of stairs in the house and the broken columns on the balcony, so allow me to address them: the house is 2nd row with an unimpeded view of the ocean which can't be beat - for a healthy adult/kid, it's just a 3-4 minute comfortable walk with a relatively easy climb up a small dune. If mobility is a challenge, this may be difficult, but for others it should be fine. There are a lot of stairs in the house but I just appreciated the ability to work off all the delicious food we were consuming! Also, there is an elevator, which we didn't use, but could be used, if needed. There is some maintenance needed for the balconies, but it's only esthetic and the balconies are still spacious and lovely, so there was no real issue there. For our family, it was a spectacular visit, made better by a great place and great owners!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We feel really blessed to have shared our home with this special family. They were very understanding and patient as we addressed a few issues. Their focus on enjoying their time together as a family is a great reminder of what vacations should be all about. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Golf, Tennis, Shopping, Sightseeing, Restaurants, Kayaking, Sailing, Boating, Waterskiing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Shelling, Swimming, Windsurfing, Biking, Wildlife Viewing, Hiking, Fishing, Fitness Center/Gym, Racquetball, Basketball Court, Cinemas/Movie Theaters, Live Theatre, Museums, Miniature golf, Horseback Riding

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hilton Head Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas, New Year
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,495
 
 
Winter
Jan 3 2017 - Apr 7 2017
4 night minimum stay
$465
$2,795
 
 
Good Friday
Apr 8 2017 - Apr 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,495
Flat fee
 
 
Easter
Apr 15 2017 - Apr 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,495
Flat fee
 
 
Spring
Apr 22 2017 - May 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
$550
$3,295
 
 
Early Summer
May 27 2017 - Jun 9 2017
5 night minimum stay
$799
$4,795
 
 
Summer
Jun 10 2017 - Aug 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
$6,495
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 12 2017 - Sep 8 2017
5 night minimum stay
$750
$4,495
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Pet Fee $150
Tax Rate 11.0%

We accept credit cards with a 3% convenience fee.
Optional spa heating: $250/wk
Optional spa+pool heating: $750/wk

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hilton Head Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties