Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Seaside/3br/3bt/sauna/spabath/Wifi/3TV/parking/garden/2pets/gourmet kitchen /1tl

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 322 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights


About the property

Fishing, hillwalking,touring and exploring the islands & West Argyll, swimming.

Captains Quarters, is a Scandinavian house, has the living room, gourmet kitchen , toilet and dinning area, washing machine, a suite with a double bed ,TV,, en suite full bath room .Parking right out side the house. Downstairs are two more bedrooms, one with a king size bed, TV, en suite bath room, with spa bath ,shower and sauna. The next bed room has two twin beds, and full bath room en suite. When you arrive, all your beds are made, and the towels are ready for use. There is even toilet paper, and cleaning materials, kitchen towels.

The house is right by Loch Melfort, with a garden, play field and the private beach .

One can fish for free from our Pier and have the use of a small row boat, during the summer months .

Great swimming in our clean ocean Loch . Bring your kayak, surf board or boat.

We have a little private harbour, where you can keep you RIP, motor boat or sail boat for a small fee.

Melfort Pier & Harbour is in a stunning location, where the Highlands come down to the sea. The hillwalking is the best on the West Coast of Scotland.

The wildlife enthusiasts, this area is second to none, colonies of gray seals, otters, oyster catchers, herons, finches, wood peckers, cucokoo,eagles and deer.These are just a few of the many species on can find in our area.

We are only16 miles south of Oban , the gate way to the Isles, great shops and the Oban Whisky distillery. Argyll was an Ancient Kingdom , with lots of history, dramatic landscape, castles, gardens and museum.

I can write so much more, come and absorb the peace and beauty of the rugged coast line of Western Scotland.

More Details

Melfort Pier & Harbour
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, german, dutch, polish, Scottish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2018

About Melfort Pier & Harbour

Fruin and I are happy to welcome you to Melfort Pier & Harbour. If you have any questions , just ask me . I have been here over 11 years and love this place. I hope you feel the same when you stay here.

See you soon,


Melfort Pier & Harbour purchased this cottage in 1988

Why Melfort Pier & Harbour chose Oban

Because we care .We live in one of the most peaceful area's in the World. Come a judge yourself and let us know . You can still have an old fashion holiday here, where the kids play safely out side and get lots of fresh air . Also , because of the up stairs bed room, this is a great three generation house. Plenty of parking, up to three cars.

What makes this cottage unique

Fresh air and tranquility ....Come and feel the Magic of are right on the shores of Loch Melfort a sea Loch of the Atlantic Ocean . Bring your boat, we have a private harbour and moorings. Or your water board or blowup dingy, fishing rods. In the summer there is a lot of mackerel here to catch. Go for the day to Mull, Oban ,Ft. William . there is so much to do in this area. Or just relax at the water side. Give it a try , we would love to welcome you.


Oban Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 322 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Pick up after your pet. Pet on a lease on our estate Quiet time from 10:30 pm till 7:00 am
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , towel heater ,
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , towel heater
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , all one one level ,towel heater, small bath room stool.
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
  • one bath room has a spa bath and separate shower. All bath rooms have toilets, sinks and bath tubs. Plenty of towels for use. Towel heaters on all bath rooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , can put mattress in .,
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • two double bedrooms, one with twin beds. all en suite , one bed room and bath room is all on one level . All beds are made up and your towels are ready for use. There is a started pack of toilet paper & soap .
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
just come and relax and unwind , and explore this beautiful area.


3.3/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

0% Complete
75% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
Seaside/3br/3bt/sauna/spabath/Wifi/3TV/parking/garden/2pets/gourmet kitchen /1tl
average rating of 3.25 based on 4 reviews

Beautiful Family Holiday Memories

  • 4 of 5

We booked a last minute holiday - the weekend right before school started - with the idea of just getting a way from it all and taking some time to come together as a family before the madness of school began. We had an excellent time at Melfort Pier. The house was lovely and had all we needed. The surrounding area is beautiful to behold and gave rise to impromptu walks and some time by the water. Plus, the location is close to Oban so we were able to go into town and do a bit of touristy sight-seeing.

It was a short break and would have loved to stay longer. Hazel and her crew were very approachable and interactive, which gave us an even higher level of comfort in the accommodations. I would totally recommend Melfort Pier to others and would definitely come and stay again.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Annabel , Thank you so much for your review and recommendation....We are happy you had a good time. We love it here too. We hope to welcome you an other time for some R& R Best wishes, Hazel and the Melfort Team. .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

very outdated for the pricy rate; a duplex rather than a house as advertised; half of it is basement

  • 1 of 5

Very disappointed when entered the property. First of all, the description and the photos are very misleading which is used for many other duplex in the holiday rental estate, the beach is not private (shared by all other holiday rentals) nor near the property. Also It is NOT a house as described and advertised. It is a duplex shared with 2 other separate entrances in a house, an office at the front for all the rental properties within the estate and another apartment upstairs. The duplex itself is very small, the interior is very outdated 80' style. Most of all, the downstairs is a basement with tiny widow on the very top which is not listed or mentioned in the description. We wouldn't recommend it to anyone unless you wish to pay for a house but a duplex in reality and half of which is in a basement.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Hailing , As we advertise, we have Scandinavian houses, as we are in the Highlands of Scotland. One of their way of building to be green is to build below the ground...warm in the winter and cool in the summer . It is not a basement ... but two very spacious bed rooms, both with full bath rooms en suite , one even with a spa bath ,and there is a sauna ......upstairs you have a third bed room with a full bath room en suite . The there is an other toilet , brand new white kitchen .Large leather white furniture , 3 TV's , dinning area and a large garden. 20 steps from the beach !!!!! We have two private beaches ,just of our guests. They are NOT public beaches. After you told our office staff you were unhappy , you were moved to Boat House East . At Melfort Pier & Harbour ,we do our best to make every one happy .We have been here 26 years, and we get 6000 guests a year. Every one has a different taste, but you can give us some more information what your decoration idea's are ..we are always open for our guests advise . As you know our office is open 7 days a week, to make every guest a happy guest . Thank you for taking your time to write your review . Best wishes, Mary & Hazel . They are NOT p
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
San Antonio, Texas, USA

Wonderful and peaceful place to stay.

  • 4 of 5

Overall the cleanest and most comfortable place we stayed during out two week trip to England and Scotland! This place was what I would have designed if I were putting together my perfect getaway in Scotland. Be advised though that it is quite remote and getting there from the traditional highlands routes involves a fair amount of driving over some very narrow and winding (but extremely beautiful) roads. This place is best suited for a several day getaway, not a quick overnight stop.

I look forward to returning when I have more time time to really enjoy it.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Paul and family, It is good to see that you are home safe and well. Thank you so much for your review. You think Texas is big about our little Scotland. Yes, Melfort is an ideal touring base, so next time ....or tell your friends about us, We are looking forward to welcome you all back. We hope you get no hurricane . Stay safe, Mary & Hazel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto Canada/Scotland

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Milford Pier

  • 4 of 5

I was travelling with a couple of friends. The apartment met all my needs and the owners were available and helpful. I would book again.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Glen, Thank you so much for your review. We hope you had a safe trip home. We are looking forward to welcome you and your friends to Melfort Pier & Harbour. Kind Regards, Hazel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Glasgow Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.9 Miles
Shower of Herring
Nearest Ferry
16 Miles
Nearest Golf
16 Miles
Nearest Train
16 Miles
Nearest Motorway
100 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.9 Miles
Shower of Herring / Melfort Hotel
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Fort William
Nearest Beach
we have 2 private beaches
Car: necessary

We are right on one of the most beautiful sea Loch on the West Coast of Scotland. Surrounded by high hills one can roam in peace and tranquilly .Free sea fishing from our Pier & the use of a row boat. There is so much to do in our area. Melfort Pier & Harbour is your ideal touring base in the Oban area .


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $26.23

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties