Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ski In/Ski Out! Luxury Condo close to Town Centre-Perfect for 2 couples!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed, sleeps 6, 2 Baths, private hot tub & Mtn. View

One of the Best Locations at Big White! 'The Powder Den' is close to all the action and excitement of Town Centre and Happy Valley but in a quiet area of exclusive homes. 'The Crescent' is a 10 unit luxury boutique condo building situated in White Forest Estates. The Happy Valley lighted ski trail is right outside the backdoor and leads directly to Town Centre or to Happy Valley where you will find the Gondola, Outdoor skating rink, Ice Climbing Tower, Tubing, Horse Drawn Sleigh Rides, Kids snow mobiling, Snow Shoeing and Tours.

In our Guests own words (see our reviews) The Powder Den is ideal for romantic get-away, Girl's get-away, Tourist's without a car, 55+, adventure seeker's and families with teens or young children.

Our unit is tastefully decorated with leather furniture, original artwork, vintage ski posters and of course a decorated Christmas Tree. The kitchen is stocked with basic cooking supplies and everything you need for gourmet cooking. The 9' ceilings give an airy feeling and the entry and bathroom floors are heated slate. All counters are granite, Stainless Steel Appliances and high end fixtures. The private hot tub and private steam shower are a real treat after a hard days skiing and you'll drift off to sleep in the beautiful beds topped with feather beds and down duvets and be ready for the next days activities!

Our Guest's have mentioned how much they appreciate having robes to use especially for the hot tub. This was a must have for us when we were outfitting The Powder Den because our experience was that very few ski rental's supplied them and they are one of the things you don't want to pack because of the bulk.

We have tried to think of everything that would ensure that our guest's have the best ski vacation ever!

Keywords: Luxury, Boutique, Condo,

More Details

Cheryl Read
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 16, 2017

About Cheryl Read

My husband and I retired from the Real Estate profession this year now we have time to enjoy the things that we love...Our Standard Poodle Liza, kayaking, cycling, hiking and learning all about our new Sailboat!

Cheryl Read purchased this condo in 2007

Why Cheryl Read chose Kootenay Boundary E

We bought this property because of the true ski-in/ski-out and that it was a small (only 10 units) upscale condo in an area close to town centre yet not right in town centre.

What makes this condo unique

We can walk to town centre for shopping etc. but are not disturbed by the rowdyness of being right in TC. Of course the most important is that we are truly ski-in/ski-out!


Kootenay Boundary E Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Steam Shower, heated floors and granite counters
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Ensuite, heated floors, granite counters
  • Master bedroom has a 4 pce. ensuite, granite counters and heated floors. Main bathroom is 4 pce. with steam shower, granite counters and heated floors.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen sofa bed in living room
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Ski In/Ski Out! Luxury Condo close to Town Centre-Perfect for 2 couples!
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 30 reviews

Fabulous Ski-In Ski-Out Vacation

  • 5 of 5

The Powder Den is truly a home away from home. It has everything you could ask for. The condo is very well appointed including heated ceramic floors, steam shower and private hot tub. The kitchen is very well equipped and stocked with those little things to make you comfortable. It is also a short walk to the village for shopping or a night out. Cheryl and Doug are wonderful hosts and provide excellent management. Of course the best part is the super convenient ski-in ski- out access. This year's stay was once again excellent and we are looking forward to our stay next year.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kevin, Thank you for the wonderful review! We want to thank YOU for taking such good care of our winter home and we are grateful to have you as our guest. Cheryl and Doug
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cute place, has its own hot tub, fireplace, ski-in/ski out, etc.

  • 5 of 5

Great value for the cash conscious. I highly recommend and hope to stay there again. Tip: Haul in your week's worth of duffel bags from the outdoor parking lot, then park in the garage. Do not do what I did, which was to park in the garage, then hoof everything up two floors, through several heavy fire doors.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for helpful feedback. We always do what you didn't and it is easy peasy.....I will add that very important information to the check in instructions. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back at the Powder Den! Cheers Cheryl
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Powder Den for 10 nights and our only mistake was that it should have been for longer. The Powder Den was in the perfect location to enjoy Big White. Ski in/ski out is not available to every condo but it is to the Powder Den. A short walk to the village made a night out or grocery shopping in the village convenient. It's also a short ski to the gondola. It is beautifully appointed, has everything you need to cook meals and comfortable lounge area. The beds are comfortable and even robes are provided for when you get out of the outdoor spa. Cheryl and Doug have been a great help in answering any queries we have had since booking almost 12 months earlier and it ensured we had the perfect stay. We will definitely be back, but for longer.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Michelle and Family, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted that you found that the Powder Den meeting your needs. I also want to thank you for leaving our winter Home in immaculate condition and we would love to have you come and stay again. Warmly Cheryl and Doug
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Just OK

  • 2 of 5

Upon arrival we discovered that the BBQ, which we had planned to use, was broken. Emails and phone calls produced no reply for 3 days. The eventual solution offered was to use the broiler in the oven. This was even though the owners had been aware of the problem for some time. The owners plan to replace the BBQ with an hibachi and charcoal. Not a good choice in my opinion. The cleaning of the apartment left much to be desired. We had to vacuum up the popcorn and peanuts left in the carpet and found a used bandaid under the couch...some what gross. Dust also present on many surfaces.

The unit is advertised as a 2 bedroom luxury condo. It is actually a 1 bedroom plus den.

The "second bedroom" does not have a window or a closet so therefore does qualify as a bedroom. Kitchen was minimally equipped for guests who prepare their own meals. Only one tea towel and one dish cloth for instance.

Overall a disappointment in view of the amount of money being charged for this ordinary property.

The location is great with ski in ski out and the resort itself is terrific.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As proud Vacation Rental owners for the past 8 years we strive to live up to our Guests expectations and hopefully exceed them and by previous Guests reviews we have done so. We understand this Guests disappointment in not having a BBQ however we were not able to solve the problem for his stay but we did try and also offered the Guest a monetary consideration for the inconvenience. There will be a new BBQ for next season when we do our refresh. We are surprised by the other comments as our Guests reply to our Welcome email stated that everything was fine with the accommodation with the exception of the BBQ. It is our intention to continue to offer a high quality ski vacation at Big White. Sincerely, Cheryl and Doug
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fabulous stay at the Powder Den

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a fabulous stay at the Powder Den. We loved everything about it. You can't ask for a better location. We walked out the back door right onto the Happy Valley trail And skied down to the Gondola or you could walk a short distance along the trail and be in the village. So handy for picking up groceries or grabbing a bite to eat. The Powder Den is very well appointed with hot tub, steam shower, heated floors, robes and Wii. The kitchen was well equipped with all the appliances and utensils one would need. It even came with olive oil, sugar, tea, coffee and spices. It's apparent that the unit and building is well looked after. Our hosts, Cheryl and Doug were wonderful to deal with. Any questions were quickly responded to. There is no other place we would stay in Big White. Thank you Cheryl and Doug for providing such a wonderful accommodation. We will be back

Ann, Todd and Scott

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Powder Den is Awesome

  • 5 of 5

Just finished a 3 week stay at the Powder Den. It really is a home away from home. It is well appointed with heated floors, private hot tub and steam shower. My wife and I enjoyed every minute. Ski-In Ski-Out is so convenient. Already booked for next year. I highly recommend this condo for anyone.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Okanagan Wine Region
"Great Place to visit in the, cycle or take a limo to all the great award winn..."
Cactus Club Cafe
"Great Food...Great Ambience and Great Server's.....Great place for a meal when going through..."
Misson Creek Greenway
"Awesome place to go for a walk or cycle when in Kelowna any time of the year."
"Beautiful City any time of the year and only 45 minutes to Big White Ski Resort!"
Waterfront Park
Big White Ski Resort
Costco Kelowna
"The largest shopping store on the way to the mountain."
Kelowna International Airport
"YLW is serviced by many Canadian airlines and they partner with many international carriers...."
Nearest Airport
32 Miles
YLW - Kelowna Internation Airport
Nearest Barpub
18 restaurants, bars, cafes & clubs on mtn.
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Highway 33
Nearest Ski
Best Snow in North America at your doorstep
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Liquor Store
Nearest Point of Interest
Market Place IGA
Nearest Point of Interest
Kelowna International Airport YLW
Nearest Point of Interest
The Crescent
Car: not necessary

Discover a true Canadian experience at Big White Ski Resort. Mild sunny climate, dry, fluffy powder and endless activities for the entire family. Awarded with 'The best place to go for quality snow' by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine. Progressive terrain offers 118 runs, 16 lifts (6 hi-speed), Telus Terrain Park (rated as the best progressive park in North America and 25 km. of incredible Nordic Trails, groomed with state-of-the-art equipment for both skate and classic technique.

Big White is also BC's premier family destination~outdoor skating, tubing, mega coasters, ice tower (60 feet), snow mobiles, snow shoeing, dog sledding or snuggled under blankets on a horse drawn sleigh ride, climbing wall, kids movie nights, Wii Nights, Bingo Night and Skating parties. So much to choose from.

After the days activites there are many restaurants, pubs or coffee shops to choose and fine shopping.

The Visitors Guide offers detailed information and you will find one in the Powder Den.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $388.62
Tax Rate 5.0%

Rates based on 2 people. $25 extra per person per night for up to 6 guests in total.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.