Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Chateau Reminiscent of European Estate Overlooking All of Carmel Valley & Ocean

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths2
Space 8,300 sq. ft.
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Estate, 6 Bedrooms With Detached Unit, 4 Full & 2 Half Baths, (Sleeps 15)

Chateau Carmel is a beautiful Estate reminiscent of a French Villa on 15+ private acres. There are incredible 360 degree views - including distant ocean views and the entire Carmel Valley. You approach the Chateau thru a private gate up a paved, majestic 100+ cypress-tree-lined drive.

The Chateau is over 8,300 sq.ft., with 6 bedrooms and 4 full baths plus 2 half baths, and a wonderful kitchen. Take a swim in the 'endless pool' and enjoy the solarium and sauna while viewing gorgeous valley and mountain views. The living room has a magnificent fireplace as does the great room. There are imported marble floors throughout, a formal dining room, breakfast room, large exquisite library with fireplace and stunning ocean and valley views. Enter the Rotunda room with skylights and fountain, that can host a formal dinner. The main residence is all on one level with a master- suite quarters upstairs.

The outdoor pool area has an incredible stone fireplace, outdoor kitchen, cabana/meeting event studio and huge patio area with comfortable outdoor furniture.

This estate is perfect for a memorable family vacation, unforgettable wedding or corporate retreat.

A Top Chef, daily maid service and massage can be obtained for an additional charge. Located approx 1 mile from Bernardus Lodge, a world-class spa and resort.

Please contact Anthony even if property appears booked. We have other stunning estates in the Carmel area that might meet your interest.

Keywords: Chateau

Estate

Vacation

Carmel

Wedding

More Details

Property Manager
Anthony
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 5, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Monterey Airport
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Pebble Beach
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Bernardus Lodge
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Carmel Beach
Car: necessary

Local wine tasting, great Wineries only minutes away. Male and female Yoga instructors available to teach personalized beginner-advanced classes for an additional fee.

Amenities

Carmel Valley Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 8300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • An additional fee is charged for parties and special events Only 50% of rent will be charged if cancelation is 60 days or more before check-in date
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 6 - toilet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
  • 4 full bathrooms and 2 half bathrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Queen size Beds (5), Twin or Single Beds (3), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Chateau Reminiscent of European Estate Overlooking All of Carmel Valley & Ocean
average rating of 4.8285713 based on 35 reviews
5

Beautiful, One of a Kind Wedding Venue

  • 5 of 5

We had the most incredible wedding at Chateau Carmel -- it was honestly magical. Just stunning. The views, the greenery, the house's facade, it was all something out of a dream. Anthony was responsive and accommodating--he was always a pleasure to work with. The house is very well provisioned with everything a large family could need. We enjoyed the pool, the games and music, we just had a great time and everyone raved about it. I am so glad we found this property for our wedding, I couldn't imagine having it anywhere else.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 14
Orinda, CA
5

Great house for a large group

  • 5 of 5

Booked the Chateau for a large group for a 40th b-day party. Amazing 360 views. We spent a lot of time outside around the pool and the massive outdoor fireplace. Thanks for a great trip!

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing location and super helpful owner!

  • 5 of 5

This is a breathtaking property with a ton of space to enjoy while still having a friendly family home feel. The owner was great to work with in helping coordinate all the details of our stay. We look forward to booking another visit soon.

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 13
1

False Advertising

  • 1 of 5

This property was deceptively advertised. We paid a premium for an 8 night family vacation (7/2016) and were so unhappy, we left 3 days early. Anthony may say we left because of the California wildfires, but we couldn’t bear another moment and paid extra to change our flights and go HOME.

This property puts a blemish on all the great experiences we have had through VRBO. It makes me wonder if the prior reviews on this property were submitted by friends or relatives.

Deceptive Advertising: VRBO lists 6 bedrooms 4.75 baths, including a “stunning master - suite quarters” upstairs. Sotheby’s and Realtors.com lists: 4 bedrooms, 5 baths/2 half baths. Our experience matches the RE listings: Main house- 3 bedrooms; Outside Cabana- 1 bedroom. Master suite in the main house was off limits to us. Leaving 3 workable bedrooms for 11 adults + 2 children. This is not what we were expecting for this price.

All bathrooms had undersized pre-fab showers. There was not a single bathtub we could use (master off-limits)for adults or the children. Anthony suggested we use the hot tub (to bathe?) Mismatched linens, pillows and towels were out of an 80’s dorm room. The only working tv I saw in a bedroom was one that was 12"wide x 24" deep. Only 1 flat screen tv was in bar area of house..with insufficient seating for a group of 11. Dining table seats 8 so for family dinner, we dragged up the bar table. The kitchen furniture barely seated 6 and was old, broken down and uncomfortable.

Bedrooms were a disaster: One room in main house set up as a bedroom was an office off the main room that used a ½ bath guest powder room but offered very little privacy or quiet. The Outside Cabana had a bedroom on the 2nd floor with no air conditioning and a bedroom downstairs with no windows, A/C or ANY air circulation. Another outside room with twin beds had no bathroom at all. Going to other peoples bedrooms to use the bathroom was not ideal for grown guests and unsafe for children to be by the pool.

The views are great and there are several porch areas but very little outdoor furniture. We pulled a few mis-matched chairs up to the pool but there weren't enough. There wasn't adequate seating inside or out of this house.

Best part of the stay? The services we brought in: Great Messages and Great Yoga/Pilates instructor obtained through Tracey Healey at VIP Well Fit. Too bad the floor of the Chateau was so dirty that we ran to wash off our feet after working out.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is absolutely incorrect in claiming that the property was falsely advertised. For example, it is just not true that there are only three bedrooms as this review absurdly states. If anyone takes the time to count the bedrooms they will see that there are in fact six bedrooms, as described in the VRBO listing. The statement that one bedroom doesn't have a window is just not true. Everyone of the six bedrooms has one or more windows. The reference in the review to Southby's and Realtors.com is very misleading and irrelevant, because that description pertained to property that was being sold and is not the same as the property that is described in VRBO for rent. The VRBO description is accurate. The suggestion that the glowing reviews of the property in VRBO were submitted by friends or relatives is mean-spirited, insulting and untrue. VRBO only includes reviews that are written by guests who have rented and stayed at the property. The indoor and outdoor furniture are no less than as shown in the pictures in VRBO. In fact, furniture was added after the pictures were taken, so it is unfair for the review to complain that the furniture was inadequate. The statement in the review that the showers were under-sized and prefabricated is just not true. They are standard sized and not prefabricated. The statement that it was suggested that the guests use the hot tub to bathe is ludicrous. It was suggested that they use the spa for hot water soaking. The statement in the review that the only flat screen TV was in a bar area with inadequate seating is misleading. There is a very nice big-screen Samsung TV in the living room and there is more than enough seating available on very expensive leather couches. The complaint about a floor being dirty ignores the fact that at that time the Soberanes Fire was raging and came as close as five miles away. That fire was reported on national TV and in the newspapers as burning over 100,000 acres and ashes from the fire fell on our floors. If this guest had complained about some of these matters before leaving we would have had an opportunity to prove that the photos and description in VRBO are a truthful representation of the actual estate.
Did you find this review helpful?
22 3
5

Chateau for family Christmas

  • 5 of 5

Anthony makes the Chateau as great as it is because he takes care of details and goes beyond what is expected.He was instantly responsive to our few extra needs.

We spent lots of time outside in the pool and cooked some large meals in the outdoor fireplace.The bar,with it's terrific view of the whole valley was a great gathering place. It's big enough where our whole family of 12 to hang out.

The views are spectacular from up the hill, yet the drive is but a few minutes and well worth it.

We all commented on how completely quiet it was there.

We had a 1st rate family gathering in no small part because of the Chateau and Anthony.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 7
Dublin, CA
5

A fabulous getaway

  • 5 of 5

Châteaux Carmel was the perfect place for our recent family vacation. We ranged in age from four to seventy, and there was something for everyone. There were coming-together spots, but plenty of room to enjoy a bit of privacy. The huge back patio was our favorite gathering place. It provided a pool, a hot tub that was never empty, a stone fireplace where the children roasted marshmallows for s’mores, and we grown-ups enjoyed a glass of wine while taking in the breathtaking views. Anthony met us on arrival and gave us a detailed tour so we knew how to use the special lighting and where to find everything we could possibly need. He was also available at all times for any questions that arose. We were sorry to see our special time at Châteaux Carmel end, but the memories will be with us forever.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 8

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $2,500
Cleaning Fee $450

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties