check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Largest Private Patio on the Ocean and Air-Conditioning

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Newly remodeled unit just made available for rentals. This was our home in the 70's and now our vacation home. We want you to enjoy old Hawaii the way we did when we were first married. This is a quiet get away from the hustle of Waikiki but can be reached in under an hour by taking a beautiful scenic drive along the beach and through the tunnels to the 'City' side on the island.

Life is slower here. Take a stroll on a beach right in front of the unit and never see more than a hand-full of people for miles. We furnished the unit for us to enjoy, not as a rental. You will feel that you are in your own home on the beach. Everything that you need is here, and our property manager is available at a moments notice if you should ever desire any services. Large private unit, a True One Bedroom, not a studio, don't be fooled by other listings. Over 200 sq ft private lanai on the beach and air-conditioning. GREAT BEDS!!! Great Kitchen!!! Great Vacation!!!

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Property Manager
Philip D. Hopkins
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2017

About Philip D. Hopkins

We are both teachers who moved to the mainland and stayed to raise our family. Now we return to our 'HOME' on the beach twice a year or more to return to the slow pace of the country for rest and relaxation.

Philip D. Hopkins purchased this condo in 1977

Why Philip D. Hopkins chose North Shore Oahu

We completely remodeled the whole unit from bare walls to make it comfortable. Luckily our unit is on the third floor with a large patio on the beach and is the only floor that can install full unit sized air-conditioning. After living in the mainland my wife, the native Hawaiian needs to have air-conditioning. I always enjoy the tropical breezes that rush through the unit from the ocean, but she's the boss. Either way you will be very comfortable.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Largest Private Patio on the Ocean and Air-Conditioning
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews

Loved this condo...lovely and cool AC.

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful stay at this property a few weeks ago. The place was clean and has a very comfortable king bed in the bedroom as well as the very comfy wall bed in the living room. This place has it all including an air conditioner that never let us down. Paul was a very good manager of the condo and made things so easy to check in and out. Thanks Paul, we'll definitely be staying here again. Aloha nui loa!

K.Harris/Utah and H. Zaha/ Washington

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Las Cruces, New Mexico

Spectacular Vacation Rental......

  • 5 of 5

We are currently staying at this VRBO rental condo unit. What a great way to end our vacation. We do not want to leave. The condo unit is beautiful, modern and very comfortable. The photos on this site do not do the condo interior or exterior views real justice. The interior looks much better and the ocean views are real, million dollar views. It is very hard to find any rental property for either short term or long term rental with the ocean views and sound of the ocean waves from this condo unit at the rental price. The views are simply stunning. Vast palm trees line the ocean landscape and the exterior grounds from the condo and are kept in impeccable fashion.

The beach frontage has almost total privacy and the ocean water is crystal clear, with stunning colors of blue, mixed with green. There is a large natural breakwater about 1000 feet from the shore which provides a friendly and safe water environment for those who enjoy swimming or basking in the ocean.

The condo unit offers a large outside patio or lanai. The pool is gated and uses an electronic entry to access the pool area. The pool is visible from all condo units and is just below this condo unit.

The unit interior offers beautiful granite counter tops and modern appliances and is well stocked for those guests who may prefer to complete some cooking inside. The master bedroom is very nice, offers a king size bed which we find to be very comfortable. The unit is well stocked with quality towels and nice pillows. The unit also offers a pull-down “murphy bed” for additional guests or family members. We are a party of 2 renting the unit this week.

The condo unit offers high-speed internet in a secure access and a large flat panel TV with HD cable channels for your enjoyment. A smaller flat panel TV is also available in the master bedroom.

All in all, we rate this condo a 5 Star rating, being the best. We encountered no problems that could not be resolved. 3 years ago we stayed in the same condo building, for one full month, but not this specific unit. We were pleased to come back to the same location 3 years later now in March 2016, with absolutely no disappointments.

The rental agent Paul was excellent and professional in handling all aspects of the condo reservations, deposits, and had great follow-up with us during the pre-rental and arrival process. He was at the condo unit waiting for our arrival.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. You are definitely a travel writer. We have own our condo on the beach, our first home, and after reading your prose can not wait to get back. Pat's is a special place. You have to live it to appreciate what it has to offer. We would love to have you return. As our special return guests we will honor a 20% discount to you for any length of stay if you book directly with us. Sincerely yours, Phil and Paulette 619-933-1616
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cute place

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here for a few days while we were in Oahu. If you're looking for luxury with all the bells and whistles, then this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a simple place that has access to a great beach, then this is your place. The condo met all of our needs, and we were happy with that. We had a little cleaning mishap, but it wasn't bad enough to leave a bad review. Paul, the rental manager, was fabulous and helped where he could. The only thing I have to say is that the main bedroom does get a bit stuffy, despite the a/c. It's a small a/c unit, but it served its purpose. Since I'm hot natured, I slept on the Murphy bed and was quite comfortable. I would def recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

I travelled to Honolulu to have a family reunion and I took some days up the coast. This condo was perfect for two of us traveling with 2 very comfortable beds in different rooms and an outstanding view of quite a private beach. There were very few people on the beach so it was lovely and felt like it was ours. The most important part of this review is what happened after we left. I got confused by the billing on my credit card statement from an esquare company from someone from California (having forgotten that the owner lived there) and cancelled the payment, My goodness, when I realized I had messed up I tried to stop the cancellation but it took months to work out for whatever reasons. I will have to say that the owner of this property was gracious, helpful, kind and above all.. patient. He is someone you can trust and depend on so feel free to book this condo knowing you are in good hands and enjoy a marvelous time on the beaches of Hawaii.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Pole, AK

Great Condo

  • 5 of 5

Our family just spent a week at this condo. It was great! The large lanai is as advertised. We used the bedroom and the pullout bed and had plenty of room for our family of four and our infant. That side of the island was great with the slower pace and fewer people, but still plenty of beach and activity options. Being from a northern climate, we appreciated the air conditioning too. The calm beach with plenty of sand right outside the building was great and the kids loved it. We even saw whales from the beach. I would highly recommend this condo to get away from it all. We plan to be back.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Snohomish, WA, USA

Great getaway at a reasonable price

  • 5 of 5

Great place! We would definitely stay again. The condo is located right on a sandy beach. There is a reef about a half a mile out that allows for safe swimming. We saw large sea turtles 20 yards out in the ocean every day, and could even see them from the lanai. The lanai offers a perfect view of the sunrise in the morning. The beach was not crowded.

The condo is outfitted with a great kitchen and literally all the kitchen equipment needed to do all your cooking. There is a large grocery store (Foodland) only 4 miles away in Laie, and other smaller grocery markets even closer by. We cooked every day. The BBQ grill outside is on the far end of the building and it isn't propane so you would have to buy briquettes. That's about the only thing that is not-so-great, but not a huge deal.

The condo is 5 miles from the Polynesian Cultural Center and not too far from Turtle Beach.

There are two beds: a king size bed in the master bedroom and a murphy bed hidden away in the living room.

The local manager was very responsive and arrived within minutes after calling to give us the keys and let us in.

The condo is clean and stylish.

There is a large TV with cable and wireless internet, and a small TV in the bedroom. There is a DVD player and a RedBox can be found at Foodland. There is a new stackable washer/dryer and plenty of linens. There is a dishwasher, air conditioning and ceiling fans. The A/C is in the living room. We stayed in November, so it never got hot. I'm not sure if the bedroom would get hot in the summer, but it does have a ceiling fan. There is a hair dryer and an iron/ironing board.

Security is great. They require digital access keys to even get in the elevator. Parking is free and there is a designated spot for the condo.

The pool water was cold, but it was cleaned every day. The cold water didn't matter though, our kids enjoyed playing in the ocean.

The northeast side of the island is very laid back. Not busy and touristy like Waikiki.

Not a review about the condo, but we tried 3 different shave ice places and liked Angel's Shave Ice in Laie the best. I really liked my burger at Kahuku Grill, but my wife didn't like hers (Pesto Burger).

Overall, we had a great time and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Brian for your kind words, as I write this I am on the private lani overlooking the ocean preparing to return to the peace and calm after a great get away. We always feel relaxed from our time at Pat's and have a hard time leaving. I hope that you will be able to return to our little hideaway in the future and maybe stay a little longer. The longer you stay the better it gets and the harder it becomes to leave. Thanks again for you flowing review and be sure to contact us directly for your next visit. Mahalo Phil and Paulette
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Honlulu International
Car: recommended

Very Close to Polynesian Culture Center and other North Shore attractions.


Rates & Availability

Hauula Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.95%

A Hawaii Hotel Tax of 13.962% will be included with all rentals. Hawaii Tax ID: W0225318-01. Hawaii Property Manager- Paul Comeau 808-293-8124.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Hauula Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
  • 8 stories
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1) In living room. Murphy bed completely hidden in wall behind mirrors. Top quality mattress not a pull out., Murphy Beds (1) Ask stated above. First quality sleeping experience not a pull out or fold out. Great mattress.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties