Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

HUGE Historic Hollywood Hills Townhome! Views, Close2 everything!

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Gorgeous Views 2200sf 2-story Spanish 3 Bedrooms+2.25 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

PLEASE READ!!!: When making a request, please send an EMAIL request first before calling, thanks! We try to keep thorough electronic records so we can better serve you and avoid booking complications! There is a 3-Night Minimum Stay unless there's last minute vacancy, and there is also a cleaning fee of $150. Please ask about availability as the calendar is not always accurate, but we do our best to keep it current. For the refundable deposit, if there is no damage found post-stay or other expenses due, it is refunded automatically directly from VRBO after 7 days.

Amazing Enormous 2200 square foot Spanish-Style Two-story Townhome built in 1926 with BREATHTAKING VIEWS of Hollywood and downtown Los Angeles in the CHARMING, HISTORIC, neighborhood of HOLLYWOOD HEIGHTS. We ALSO have a large 2 bedroom unit in the same building, so if you have a larger group you may book both to accommodate your party if they are both available (#449198).

Hollywood Living at it's Finest! Just 5 BLOCKS from the Metro and the world-famous Grauman's Chinese Theatre, yet still private and intimate. Why drive when it's a quick walk down to EVERYTHING? Want to go to the Hollywood Bowl? Four blocks. Get on the freeway? Five blocks, yet it is completely unheard and unseen. LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!

Originally built for a silent film star, this home has had a long history of famous tenants, including the Oscar-Winning screenwriter of 'The Sting'! Ten-foot ceilings in the living room are flanked by 6' tall windows and fireplace and beautiful spiral staircase with original 1920's ironwork. The Master Bedroom has it's own fireplace, and Bedroom 2 has views of another less-known Hollywood landmark, the statuesque Hightower! Both full bathrooms have showers. There is a washer/dryer, and keyless entry. The courtyard is available for your use, and is shared with one permanent tenant, but the property has it's own entrance outside of the courtyard if complete privacy is desired. The double doors of the dining room open to the porch.

This townhome was gorgeously appointed by a professional designer with high-end furnishings including B&B Italia sofa, B&B Italia bed, mid-century modern pieces by top designers of the era, lots of fine art, as well as contemporary and antique pieces, custom window coverings, and four flat screen TVs. We know you will not want to leave this beautiful home. There is a small one car garage for your use. If you plan on using it (recommended!), please bring a small to medium size car, or be prepared for some extra maneuvering.


Hollywood Walk of Fame, Hollywood & Highland, Tours of the Stars Homes, Kodak Theatre, Disney's El Capitan Theatre, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Madam Tussauds, Hollywood Bowl, Hollywood & Vine, Pantages Theatre, Jimmy Kimmel Live, Hollywood Christmas Parade, as well as the newest and hottest night clubs, bars, & restaurants in Los Angeles.


Griffith Park, The Observatory, Downtown Los Angeles, Staples Center, LA County Museum, MOCA, Little Tokyo, Japanese American Museum of Art, Geffen Contemporary Museum, the Disney Music Hall, China Town, LA Zoo, Farmers Market at the Grove, West Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica Beach, Malibu, Pasadena Rose Bowl & Rose Parade, Getty Center Museum & Getty Villa Malibu, Norton Simon Museum, Disney Land, Six Flags, Watts Towers, Hollywood Sign, Malibu Beach, Los Angeles International Airport, Burbank, Burbank Airport, North Hollywood, Studio City, and MUCH MORE!

Keywords: Townhome, home, house, duplex

More Details

kevin stea
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, italian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 22, 2017

About kevin stea

Hello, we are Kevin and Michael. Michael is an Environmental Designer and Kevin is an Entertainer.

kevin stea purchased this townhome in 2004

Why kevin stea chose Los Angeles County


What makes this townhome unique


Guestbook comments from the owner

Hello, and welcome to our home in Hollywood California. The city of Hollywood

has experienced a multi billion dollar revitalization. Now home to the Academy

Awards, Broadway Plays, Historic Cinemas, coming soon the new show by Cirque

du Soleil, fabulous world class Shopping and Restaurants. Our home is true Old

Hollywood Glamour, quiet and residential but literally steps away from it all. So

come experience Hollywoods second golden age in comfort and style. We look

forward to making your stay with us a wonderful unforgettable experience.
Oct 2008
  • 1 of 1


Hollywood Hills Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.25
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (3) 3 queen beds with high thread count linens & all down & feather bedding, an inflatable queen mattress is also available
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(66 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
HUGE Historic Hollywood Hills Townhome! Views, Close2 everything!
average rating of 4.681818 based on 67 reviews

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here with a group of friends for the weekend. House definitely suited the needs for our group of 6! Location was close to everything for the L.A. night scene and the view of downtown L.A. from the living room is amazing and serene! Thank you for helping to make our trip memoriable and definitely look forward to returning in the future!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rochester Ny

We had a great time in a beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful place and a great view of the city. We loved our house.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fanatastic Hollywood Hills Retreat

  • 5 of 5

I had a vacation/wedding planned in L.A. for a family of 7 and after reviewing the cost of a hotel in the Hollywood Hills area I quickly found myself looking at thousands of dollars until I came across this GEM of a rental. A classic Hollywood Hills home minutes from the Hollywood Bowl and Chinese Theater, complete with 3 bedrooms, a huge living area, kitchen, parking for a mid sized car, courtyard and all the amenities you would expect from an expensive hotel for half the price and everything you would ever need, this place was a god send. The owner is completely professional, all communication was prompt and responded to my requests within minutes. 10/10 points from me.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great House!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed staying at this house in Hollywood Hills. It was beautiful inside and had tons of character. We weren't bothered by the uneven floors that have been mentioned by others. We had seven people and the house fit us perfectly. It was close to Hollywood Blvd. and we could just walk there. My husband enjoyed that part because he didn't have to drive down and find parking. We couldn't fit the SUV in the garage, but didn't have any trouble finding parking on the street. I would definitely recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Palm Harbor, Florida

Historic House/Location = Yes But would not do it again!

  • 2 of 5

Our family of 5 [4 adults & 1 child] were disappointed with this house. Pre-arrival communication was poor. The house was hot and while the room ACs did work their effectiveness varied greatly, so unless they ran all the time, stuffiness/warmth was an issue in some rooms more than others. Soap holders in the bathroom had rusted and been painted over with a white latex paint which resulted in a reddish-white gummy mess. Bath towels were adequate - but we expected washcloths and more than one hand towel. Kitchen pts & pans and small appliances were clean and appropriate. Silverware was a mishmash of cheap odds and ends. 6 out of 8 heavy square ceramic dinner plates were chipped and didn't fit into the microwave. Inadequate bowls, small plates, etc were not available to serve a meal. The half-bath on the main floor is a toilet-in-a-closet -- useable only if you leave the door open or stand up. We knew the Hollywood Hills had steep, curving roads and the owner did have a parking tag available. Our car might have fit into the very small garage, but the pick up trucks and large SUVs parked across from it didn't give us room to turn to get into the garage on any of the 4 days we were there -- nor a place to park near the house! The ability to walk to the Hollywood Bowl was the best feature of this location. Of the 19 VRBO homes we have been in, this is the ONLY one I would not rent again.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you felt disappointed in your stay. We would like to address a few of your comments. In the middle of summer like your stay, yes you will likely need to leave the AC running. We are very clear that we do not provide washcloths, unfortunately just like real glass wine glasses, they never lasted more than one guest's stay. The soap holder is original to this 1926 home, so we will not be replacing it. We assure you, it is clean. No one will find rust stains on their soap. I lived there for years and never had a problem getting my mustang in the garage no matter who was parked out front, but if someone was so poorly parked, they can be towed to allow access, so we wish you had mentioned your difficulties. There are other plates besides the heavy square ones, and we will feature them more prominently for guests to find in the future. I see we are missing some bowls, we will replace those immediately. We've been hosting for almost ten years now, so we do have mismatched items. For kitchenware we at least try to keep everything white or clear for simplicity. Safe travels in the future to wherever you travel to next.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

THE GOOD (charm, views, location,) THE BAD (lax housekeeping,) AND THE UGLY (parking)

  • 2 of 5

We know and love these quirky old hillside homes. That said, this one had problems we hadn't anticipated. Some are typical for the age and location of the house (which, BTW, is for sale,) but others can and should be addressed by the owner.

Location is great, except on Hollywood Bowl nights.

While the listing says that the place is air conditioned, that's only partially true. There is no central A/C; instead, each room has a unit. But the large unit in the dining room didn't work, so there was NO A/C in the entire upstairs. So we weren't able to use the upstairs, except for fast breakfasts before it got too hot. We loved being able to open the windows, but the LR curtains don't draw, so the sun beats in all day. The temperature on that floor was about 87*F the entire time. When we mentioned the busted A/C unit to the owner, he acknowledged that it wasn't working. That should have been fixed before we arrived.

Parking is a bust. Not his fault, though. We couldn't fit our vehicle into the garage, because it's a narrow 1926 garage, and there was a big car parked across the street the entire time. The owner left parking permits for us, but on two of our five nights, we had to hunt far and wide for a place and once wound up parking overnight in a red zone two blocks away. He told us about his secret parking place at the top of the street, but it's a long hike up and back in the dark. Bring your Fiat/Bug/Mini/Smart.

There is no bannister on the wall of the spiral staircase. If you want to hold the inside one, you'll be walking on the very narrow inside end of the wedge-shaped stairs. Not safe.

In one of the bedrooms, a large raccoon was glaring at us from outside. No screen, so we shut the window. The screen in the other window didn't fit, so we had to keep that room closed up. Stuffy and hot.

Housekeeping was a disaster. We found:

- two dirty towels hanging in one of the closets

- no hand towels or face cloths

- dirty kleenex under one of the beds and the living-room sofa

- sticky dining room table

- bed-sheets put on crosswise (and they were striped, too!)

- a nail on one of the rugs

- empty hand-soap dispensers in the bathrooms

- filter cones in the kitchen, when the coffee-maker uses basket filters, which we had to buy

- one dinner plate (we ate out, but really???)

- a strong odor of cat pee in one of the bedrooms

We can live with the inconveniences of an old hillside house, but careless housekeeping is inexcusable. My husband hated it.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you didn't find the AC in the living room just to the left of the fireplace, and thought you had to suffer through that heat. Yes, our dining room AC had just broken and it has been difficult to coordinate a replacement install during our busiest month and also the busiest month for AC installers. The living room unit is quite powerful and would have provided sufficient cooling had you found it. We wish you had mentioned something about the housekeeping, as our housekeeper takes her work very seriously and will come back if something is found to be not up to par. I've forwarded your list to her. I agree, dirty towels, Kleenex, and empty dispensers are not appropriate. We have dozens of dinner plates, I'm not sure why you didn't find them. We just bought a new coffee maker, so the filters you found were probably for the old one. We do not provide face cloths, and we state that in the description. We tried for a while, but never had a single one last longer than one guest's visit. I have no idea why you would smell cat pee in a bedroom, we've never allowed cats in the unit, but we wish you had mentioned it while we still could have done something about it. I'm glad to hear our wildlife is still roaming our hill :) we added screens on 8 more windows just last week. So I'm sure whatever window you're referring to is screened now. We never used screens, but realized that it's very nice to leave the windows open at night without thinking about bugs flying in. Also not sure why any of the bedrooms would be stuffy and hot with the windows closed, because each bedroom has its own AC. If you're speaking of the bedroom up the stairs, many people don't realize that the modern looking grey square on the wall is actually the AC. We're sorry your stay wasn't to your expectations. Please communicate more fully in your next travels, as we would have loved the chance to assist you. There's no need to suffer silently with resolvable issues. Safe travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night
Damage Deposit $400

For bookings of less than 3 nights, please send us an email inquiry to request an exception.
Pet Deposit is an additional $250.00. Pets ONLY accepted with prior approval. Your reservation may be cancelled without refund if a pet is brought without permission, or guests (or guests of guests) smoke inside the property. Do not move furniture without approval, as the only damage to ever occur at the property is from guests moving pieces improperly.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties