Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Teak Room - Steps from the Beach

Bedrooms Studio
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights


About the property

House, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Experience the incredible beauty of the north shore at the Teak Room in Haena, Kauai, located in the heart of the most beautiful 10 miles of the island. We are close to Tunnels Beach, and set between two of the top five rated beaches on the islands. Kepuhi beach is 50 yards down the driveway; directly behind is lush jungle hillside, the border to 1000's of acres of private nature conservancy land. All tucked into a quiet, secluded, tree lined cul-de-sac.

Private, comfortable, and luxurious, the Teak Room interior features a hand carved four poster king-size bed, wood floors, and tropical décor, along with an equipped kitchenette and an extra large walk in closet. Outside are 2 lanais with a bbq, and an additional private hot shower, all in the style of old Hawaii. This downstairs unit has its own private entrance, garden views, and covered parking.

Relax to the soothing sound of rolling surf and just minutes away is Hanalei town with restaurants, dancing and entertainment. You can walk by beach the entire final two miles to Ke’e, where the road ends and the famous Napali coast begins. Or you can walk the beach just 300 yards to the Hanalei Colony Resort, for the only (award winning) restaurant and coffee house on this part of the island. Or just take our beach chairs and walk the 120 steps to the beach out front!

Keywords: House

More Details

Katie Howland
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 8, 2018

About Katie Howland

About the owners Doug, Bev, Miranda, and Katie Howland: Doug and Bev were first drawn to Kauai in the early 80’s, after many visits they finally decided to buy this wonderful property in 2006. Doug, a 35-year designer/builder, has spent the last 10 years personalizing the house. Bev, a jack-of-all-trades, has owned a health food store, opened a charter elementary school, run a motel, and managed their various properties over the years. Their youngest daughter Katie lives in Portland with her older sister Miranda. After a career in the arts, Katie now manages the family’s properties. Doug and Beverly now migrate between their properties in Arizona, Utah, and Hawaii. They like to hike, horseback ride, ski, practice yoga, whitewater raft, dance, and travel in their free time.

They also have vacation rentals in the Escalante Canyons of Southern Utah and in the town of Sedona in Northern Arizona.

Katie Howland purchased this house in 2006

Why Katie Howland chose Haena

Doug and Bev were always drawn to the North Shore, when making the decision to put down roots, they couldn’t resist the best part of the island. They fell in love with the unique beauty of their home that balances both accessibility and seclusion.

What makes this house unique

There are many amazing natural wonders right out the front door (see above). This home offers the lush mountainous jungle of Kauai out the back door and the soothing beach and ocean out the front door.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Although we have been married 42 years; this was like a second honeymoon. The accommodations were amazing and so were the surplus of towels. The grandeur of this spot in Kauai, is stupendous. We so enjoyed meeting such gracious folks.
Nov 2014
  • 1 of 92


Haena House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:30 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • King size beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Location is 50 yards from beach which has little public use. Cell service is available. Additional private outdoor hot shower.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
The Teak Room - Steps from the Beach
average rating of 4.631579 based on 111 reviews

Great location and cozy space

  • 5 of 5

We couldn't recommend this unit more. It is steps from the beach and has all amenities to enjoy your time on Kauai (towels, ice chest, beach chairs, umbrella, etc). The location was great! It's within minutes to Tunnels for great snorkeling and a very short drive to Hanalei, where we ate dinner on most nights. The bed was really comfortable and the unit was very spacious. We met Doug, the owner, and he was really friendly. Patricia was a great resource as well. We're already thinking about planning our next trip and will be looking into renting the entire house when we bring the family!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Longmont, CO

The Teak room was super clean, simple, and well organized! Thank you for the great stay.

  • 5 of 5

The Teak Room was perfect for the two of us. It was conveniently located, private, and had all that we needed in a clean, organized and simple setting. Patricia was available with any questions or needs and shared some great recommendations for good local food. I would def stay again at the Teak Room!

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Somerville, MA

perfect home base for exploring Kauai

  • 5 of 5

The Teak Room was the perfect home base for us as we explored the beautiful island of Kauai. The location is ideal if you want to be away from the crowds and surrounded by nature. It was just what we were looking for- secluded, steps from the beach, plenty of great hiking opportunities, yet close to Hanalei's amenities. The apartment was very comfortable, clean and well stocked. The jacuzzi tub and outdoor shower were great to have! We chatted with Doug a few times during our stay and he was incredibly kind. There were a number of people staying upstairs, but we were pleasantly surprised to find that we could barely hear them. The only improvement would be a binder with check in/check out information clearly listed, as we were a bit unsure about the expectations.

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location, bed, coziness all GREAT; Rat droppings not so much

  • 3 of 5

So much of this place was just right! Great location with easy access to beach and fun. Very comfortable bed and nice shower/tub. Unfortunately, we had an unplanned extra roommate, that left droppings all over the kitchen, bedroom and bathroom, and found it’s way into our food in the pantry. House probably needs sealable bins for food storage.

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so very happy that you enjoyed the location and amenities of our home. Alternately we are so very sorry for the presence of the extra roommate you mentioned. As soon as we were made aware there were droppings in the unit, we called our pest control company and they were out the very next morning to catch it. The rat was caught and disposed of within 24 hours of us becoming aware of its existence. Unfortunately rats are a problem on the whole island of Kauai, even the major resorts have rat issues. We have regular rodent inspections on the house and we, as well as all of our neighbors, have rat trap stations set up around the property. I am so very sorry this happened, but I do want to assure you this is a very unusual occurrence that we quickly took care of. Regardless, we appreciate your suggestion about the sealable bins and will look into that. Again we sincerely apologize that your stay with us was anything but perfectly relaxing and enjoyable, I hope you will stay with us again so that we can show that this was an isolated incident and that we take great pride in the cleanliness and upkeep of our home. 
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely spot to visit North Shore

  • 5 of 5

This is a great location for visiting the North Shore and the home is very inviting and comfortable. It is almost at "the end of the road", in Haena, and thus very quiet. Right across the driveway is a beautiful beach, with great views. The water was too wild at this time of year to go in, but I'm sure it's swimmable at other times. At any rate, it is wonderful for sitting on a log and having a nice mai tai while looking out at the ocean.

The room was very comfortable and roomy. The bed was amazing, really. The kitchen was tiny, but adequate for small meals or breakfast. Tons of closet space. And the bathroom was large and comfortable. There is a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom (we didn't use it) that has a showerhead on it, but no shower curtain, so we were hesitant to use it. But now worries--the outdoor (private) shower was wonderful. During out stay the weather was a bit cool, but that didnt' matter since there was plenty of hot water. It's fun to shower there!

Barbara, the local host, was very responsive to our request (more spoons) and super nice when we met her.

On the property is also a lovely little cottage that they rent out, which we took a quick look at. Also very cute!

We will be back! Maybe with the whole family (and then we'd also rent out the upstairs as well).

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York, NY

A slice of cozy paradise

  • 5 of 5

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Teak Room for a week and we only wish that we had booked it for longer. This is the place to come if you want to get away from it all and truly unwind. Even though there is another apartment upstairs, we felt like we had ample privacy. The apartment was spotless and had everything we needed to feel at home, and at the end of a long day of exploring, it was nice to come back to the comfy bed. We had a nice night out at the nearby (walkable) Opakapaka restaurant. Can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $99
Damage Deposit $100

If you pay via eCheck instead of credit card we will offer you a 3% discount on our nightly rate ($160 standard and $170 holiday rate). We can also split payment into multiple installments if need be.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties